Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-4, 10-12, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species I, Figs. 7-10, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/13/2026.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that search and consideration of all claims can be carried out without a serious burden. This is not found persuasive because even though the Species I and Species II claimed in the application are classified together, each of the Species I-II disclose a different configuration of a valve actuating mechanism assembly, each of which having a different arrangement among various valve components and a different coupling configuration between the valve actuating mechanism assembly and the pressure vessel, as explained in the original Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed on 01/15/2026. For instance, the valve actuating mechanism assembly in Species I only comprising one fastener having threads at an internal surface of said fastener that mates with one end of the axle via threads provided at an external surface of said one end of the axle, wherein both of the fastener and axle are rotatably coupled to the pressure vessel, while the valve actuating mechanism assembly in Species II comprising a first fastener and a second fastener respectively having threads at a respective external surface of the first fastener and the second fastener that respectively mates with a respective end of the pressure vessel via respective threads provided at a respective internal surface of each of said respective ends of the pressure vessel, wherein the axle is rotatably coupled to the first and second fasteners. Therefore, the structural differences of Species I-II require different text-limiting search strings/queries and the results of one query applicable to one species are not likely to fully cover the structures of the other species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 1, 5-9, 13-17 and 19-20 are examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 152 and 205.
The drawings are further objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 177, 188, 161, 190, 194 in Fig. 4.
The drawing of Fig. 4 is further objected because it is unclear what component the reference number 194 is directed to.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 15, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Regarding claim 7, recitation “the fastener comprises a first fastener including a first hole configured to receive a first portion of the axle and first threads, on an exterior surface of the first fastener, configured to mate with first threads of the pressure vessel, the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising: a second fastener including a second hole configured to receive a second portion of the axle and second threads, on an exterior surface of the second fastener, configured to mate with second threads of the pressure vessel” is believed to be in error for - - the fastener comprises a first fastener, the hole is the portion of the axle that is a first portion of the axle, and the threads are first threads[[,]] provided on an exterior surface of the first fastener[[,]] and configured to mate with first threads of the pressure vessel, the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising: a second fastener including a second hole and second threads, the second hole configured to receive a second portion of the axle, and the second threads[[,]] provided on an exterior surface of the second fastener[[,]] and configured to mate with second threads of the pressure vessel - -
Regarding claim 15, recitation “wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener including a first hole configured to receive a first portion of the axle and first threads, on an exterior surface of the first fastener, configured to mate with first threads of the body of the fluid spray gun, the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising: a second fastener including a second hole configured to receive a second portion of the axle and second threads, on an exterior surface of the second fastener, configured to mate with second threads of the body of the fluid spray gun” is believed to be in error for - - wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener, the hole is the portion of the axle that is a first portion of the axle, and the threads are first threads[[,]] provided on an exterior surface of the first fastener[[,]] and configured to mate with first threads of the body of the fluid spray gun, the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising: a second fastener including a second hole and second threads, the second hole configured to receive a second portion of the axle, and the second threads[[,]] provided on an exterior surface of the second fastener[[,]] and configured to mate with second threads of the body of the fluid spray gun - -
Regarding claim 20, recitation “wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener including a first hole configured to receive the first end of the axle and first threads, on an exterior surface of the first fastener, configured to mate with first threads of the pressure vessel, the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising: a second fastener including a second hole configured to receive a second end of the axle and second threads, on an exterior surface of the second fastener, configured to mate with second threads of the pressure vessel, …” is believed to be in error for - - wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener, the hole is , and the threads are first threads[[,]] provided on an exterior surface of the first fastener[[,]] and configured to mate with first threads of the pressure vessel, the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising: a second fastener including a second hole and second threads, the second hole configured to receive a second end of the axle, and second threads[[,]] provided on an exterior surface of the second fastener[[,]] and configured to mate with second threads of the pressure vessel - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, recitation “wherein the axle includes an end configured to be disposed through the hole of the fastener …” is unclear whether term “an end” refers to i) the previously claimed portion of the axle in claim 1/claim 9; or ii) a different portion of the axle.
Regarding claims 8 and 16, recitations “the axle includes a first end configured to be disposed through the first hole of the first fastener” and “a second end configured to be disposed through the second hole of the second fastener” are indefinite because:
i) it is unclear whether “a first end” refers to a) the previously claimed first portion of the axle in claim 7/claim 15; or b) a different portion of the axle;
ii) it is unclear whether “a second end” refers to a) the previously claimed second portion of the axle in claim 7/claim 15; or b) a different portion of the axle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MATARESE 2753129.
Regarding claim 1, MATARESE teaches the invention as claimed: A fluid spray gun (Fig. 1-8) comprising:
a pressure vessel (10, see Figs. 2-4);
a valve (comprising tip 76 and rods 88 and 90, see Figs. 7-8) disposed in the pressure vessel (10, see Figs. 2-4) and configured to be actuated between an open position (corresponding to positions O, I2, and I1 in Fig. 8) and a closed position (corresponding to position S in Fig. 8);
a trigger (126, Fig. 4) actuatable to actuate the valve (by moving rods 88 and 90) between the open and closed positions (see Figs. 7-8 and col. 5, ll. 10-25); and
a valve actuating mechanism assembly (annotated Fig. 2) partially disposed in the pressure vessel (see Figs. 2-4) and coupled to the trigger (126, see Figs. 2-4), the valve actuating mechanism assembly comprising:
an axle (comprising a set of 38, 44, and 60 and a set of 38’, 42, and 58, see Figs. 2 and 4);
a valve contacting member (comprising 110 and 112, 110 couples to groove 114 in order to move 90, and 112 couples to groove 116 in order to move 88, see Figs. 4 and Figs. 7-8) disposed along the axle (110 at 38 part and 112 at 38’ part, see Figs. 4 and 7-8) and configured to contact the valve (110 at groove 114 and 112 at groove 116, see Figs. 4-8);
a first sealing element (48, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed in the pressure vessel (see Figs. 2 and 4) and configured to create a first seal (at the circumferential inner portion of 48, see annotated Fig. 2) against the axle (at 60 part) and a first seal (at the circumferential outer portion of 48) against the pressure vessel (at the marked portion in annotated Fig. 2; it is noted the claim language does not require no structure(s) is provided between the claimed first seal and the claimed pressure vessel, and 48 prevent fluid leakage between pressure vessel 10 and the 60 part of the axle);
a second sealing element (46, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed in the pressure vessel (see Figs. 2 and 4) and configured to create a second seal (at the circumferential inner portion of 46, demonstrated by annotation for 48 in Fig. 2) against the axle (at 58 part) and a second seal (at the circumferential outer portion of 46; demonstrated by annotation for 48 in Fig. 2) against the pressure vessel (at 22, see Fig. 2; it is noted the claim language does not require no structure(s) is provided between the claimed second seal and the claimed pressure vessel, and 46 prevent fluid leakage between the claimed pressure vessel and the 58 part of the axle); and
a fastener (26, Figs. 2 and 4) including threads (the threads on 26, see Fig. 2 and col. 3, ll. 28-31) and a hole (where 60 part insert into 26, see Figs. 2 and 4) configured to receive a portion of the axle (the 60 part of the claimed axle).
Regarding claim 5, MATARESE further teaches wherein the axle (comprising a set of 38, 44, and 60 and a set of 38’, 42, and 58, see Figs. 2 and 4) includes an end (60) configured to be disposed through the hole (where 60 insert into 26, see Figs. 2 and 4) of the fastener (26) and wherein the trigger (126) is configured to mount to the end of the axle (via screw 50 at plate 130, see Fig. 4 and col. 5, ll. 9-25).
Regarding claim 6, MATARESE further teaches wherein the threads (the threads on 26, see Fig. 2 and col. 3, ll. 28-31) of the fastener (26) are on an exterior surface of the fastener (see Fig. 4) and are configured to mate with threads (28) of the pressure vessel (10, see Fig. 2 and col. 3, ll. 28-31).
Regarding claim 9, MATARESE teaches the invention as claimed: A valve actuating mechanism assembly (annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1) for use in a fluid spray gun (Fig. 1-8), the valve actuating mechanism assembly comprising:
an axle (comprising a set of 38, 44, and 60 and a set of 38’, 42, and 58, see Figs. 2 and 4);
a valve contacting member (comprising 110 and 112, 110 couples to groove 114 in order to move 90, and 112 couples to groove 116 in order to move 88, see Figs. 4 and Figs. 7-8) disposed along the axle (110 at 38 part and 112 at 38’ part, see Figs. 4 and 7-8) and configured to contact a valve (comprising tip 76 and rods 88 and 90, see Figs. 7-8, wherein 110 at groove 114 of 90 and 112 at groove 116 of 88, see Figs. 4-8);
a first sealing element (48, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed along the axle (at 60 part, see Figs. 2 and 4) and configured to create a first seal (at the circumferential inner portion of 48, see annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1) against the axle (at 60 part) and a first seal (at the circumferential outer portion of 48, see annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1) against a body (the portion of 10 forms the space contains 18, 16, and 20, see Fig. 2) of the fluid spray gun (10; it is noted the claim language does not require no structure(s) is provided between the claimed first seal and the claimed body, and 48 prevent fluid leakage between the body of fluid spray gun and the 60 part of the axle);
a second sealing element (46, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed along the axle (at 58 part, see Figs. 2 and 4) and configured to create a second seal (at the circumferential outer portion of 46, demonstrated by annotation for 48 in annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1) against the axle (at 58 part) and a second seal (at the circumferential inner portion of 46; demonstrated by annotation for 48 in Fig. annotated 2 in claim 1) against the body (the portion of 10 forms the space contains 18, 16, and 20, see Fig. 2) of the fluid spray gun (10; it is noted the claim language does not require no structure(s) is provided between the claimed second seal and the claimed body, and 46 prevent fluid leakage between the body of fluid spray gun and the 58 part of the axle); and
a fastener (26, Figs. 2 and 4) including threads (the threads on 26, see Fig. 2 and col. 3, ll. 28-31) and a hole (where 60 part insert into 26, see Figs. 2 and 4) configured to receive a portion of the axle (the 60 part of the claimed axle).
Regarding claim 13, MATARESE further teaches wherein the axle (comprising a set of 38, 44, and 60 and a set of 38’, 42, and 58, see Figs. 2 and 4) includes an end (60) configured to be disposed through the hole (where 60 insert into 26, see Figs. 2 and 4) of the fastener (26) and to receive a trigger (126) of the fluid spray gun (see Fig. 4 and col. 5, ll. 9-25).
Regarding claim 14, MATARESE further teaches wherein the threads (the threads on 26, see Fig. 2 and col. 3, ll. 28-31) of the fastener (26) are on an exterior surface of the fastener (see Fig. 4) and are configured to mate with threads (28) of the body (the portion of 10 forms the space contains 18, 16, and 20, see Fig. 2) of the fluid spray gun (10, see Fig. 2 and col. 3, ll. 28-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marino 20030127541 in view of MATARESE 2753129.
Regarding claim 1, Marino teaches the invention as claimed: A fluid spray gun (Figs. 1-8) comprising:
a pressure vessel (10);
a valve (44) disposed in the pressure vessel (10) and configured to be actuated between an open position (see Fig. 5) and a closed position (Figs. 2-4; also see [0051-0052]);
a trigger (54) actuatable to actuate the valve (44) between the open and closed positions (see Figs. 2-5 and [0051-0052]); and
a valve actuating mechanism assembly (comprising 52 and 50, see Figs. 2 and 4) partially disposed in the pressure vessel (10) and coupled to the trigger (52, see Figs. 2-5), the valve actuating mechanism assembly comprising:
an axle (52 is a cam shaft, see [0052] and Fig. 4);
a valve contacting member (50) disposed along the axle (at where 50 connects with 50, see Fig. 4) and configured to contact the valve (44, in order to selectively open and close 44, see Figs. 2-5);
a fastener (provided radially between 52 and 64, see annotated Fig. 4) including threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls) and a hole (annotated Fig. 4) configured to receive a portion (the end of 52 that inserted into the fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4).
Marino does not teach a first sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and configured to create a first seal against the axle and a first seal against the pressure vessel; a second sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and configured to create a second seal against the axle and a second seal against the pressure vessel.
However, MATARESE teaches a sealing element (48, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed in the pressure vessel (see Figs. 2 and 4) between a fastener (26) and a portion of the axle (end 60 of the axle comprising 60, 44, and 38, see Figs. 2 and 4) and configured to create a seal (at the circumferential inner portion of 48, see annotated Fig. 2) against the axle (at 60 part, which is an end of axle comprising 60, 44, and 38, see Fig. 2) and a seal (at the circumferential outer portion of 48, see annotated Fig. 2) against the pressure vessel (the portion of the pressure vessel marked in see annotated Fig. 2; it is noted the claim language does not require no structure(s) is provided between the claimed seal and the claimed pressure vessel, and 48 prevent fluid leakage between pressure vessel 10 and the 60 part of the axle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Marino with MATARESE’s sealing element between each pair of the two pairs of fastener and an end of axle, such that
a first sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and configured to create a first seal against the axle and a first seal against the pressure vessel; a second sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and configured to create a second seal against the axle and a second seal against the pressure vessel (the modification is to respectively provide a Marino’s sealing element 48 between each pair of MATARESE’s two pairs of MATARESE’s fasteners and MATARESE’s respective end of axle 52, and such modification read on the claim limitation)
in order to prove fluid tight seal between valve actuating mechanism assembly and the pressure vessel (MATARESE, col. 3, ll. 50-55).
Regarding claim 6, Marino further teaches wherein the threads of the fastener (see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) are on an exterior surface (see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) of the fastener and are configured to mate with threads of the pressure vessel (threads on wall 22, which is part of the claimed pressure vessel 10, and such threads are required for coupling with the threads of the fastener, see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Marino further teaches wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener (annotated Fig. 4) including a first hole (annotated Fig. 4) configured to receive a first portion of the axle (the first end of 52 inserted into the first fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4) and first threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls), on an exterior surface of the first fastener (see annotated Fig. 4), configured to mate with first threads of the pressure vessel (the first threads of the wall 22 where the first fastener coupled to as shown in annotated Fig. 4, wherein said first threads are required for coupling to the first threads on the first fastener), the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising:
a second fastener (annotated Fig. 4) including a second hole (annotated Fig. 4) configured to receive a second portion of the axle (a second end of 52 inserted into the second fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4) and second threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls), on an exterior surface of the second fastener (see annotated Fig. 4), configured to mate with second threads of the pressure vessel (second threads of the wall 22 where the second fastener coupled to as shown in annotated Fig. 4, wherein said second threads are required for coupling to the second threads on the second fastener).
Regarding claim 8, Marino further teaches wherein the axle includes a first end (the first end of 52 inserted into the first fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to be disposed through the first hole (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) of the first fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and a second end (the second end of 52 inserted into the second fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to be disposed through the second hole (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) of the second fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7), and wherein the trigger (54) is configured to mount to the first end of the axle and the second end of the axle (see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 9, Marino teaches the invention as claimed: A valve actuating mechanism assembly (comprising 52 and 50, see Figs. 2 and 4) for use in a fluid spray gun (10, see Figs. 1-8), the valve actuating mechanism assembly comprising:
an axle (52 is a cam shaft, see [0052] and Fig. 4);
a valve contacting member (50) disposed along the axle (at where 50 connect with 50, see Fig. 4) and configured to contact the valve (44, in order to selectively open and close 44, see Figs. 2-5);
a fastener (provided radially between 52 and 64, see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) including threads (see the largened part in Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls) and a hole (Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) configured to receive a portion (the end of 52 that inserted into the fastener marked in Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1).
Marino does not a first sealing element disposed along the axle and configured to create a first seal against the axle and a first seal against a body of the fluid spray gun; a second sealing element disposed along the axle and configured to create a second seal against the axle and a second seal against the body of the fluid spray gun.
However, MATARESE teaches a sealing element (48, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed along the axle (at 60 part, see Figs. 2 and 4) between a fastener (26) and a portion of the axle (end 60 of the axle comprising 60, 44, and 38, see Figs. 2 and 4) and configured to create a seal (at the circumferential inner portion of 48, see MATARESE’s annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1) against the axle (at 60 part, which is an end of axle comprising 60, 44, and 38, see Fig. 2) and a seal (at the circumferential outer portion of 48, see MATARESE’s annotated Fig. 2 in claim 1) against a body (the portion of 10 forms a spaces contains 18, 16, and 20, see Fig. 2) of the fluid spray gun (10; it is noted that the claim language does not require no structure(s) is provided between the claimed seal and the claimed body, and 48 prevent fluid leakage between the body and the 60 part of the axle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Marino with MATARESE’s sealing element between each pair of the two pairs of fastener and an end of axle, such that
a first sealing element disposed along the axle and configured to create a first seal against the axle and a first seal against a body of the fluid spray gun; a second sealing element disposed along the axle and configured to create a second seal against the axle and a second seal against the body of the fluid spray gun (the modification is to respectively provide a Marino’s sealing element 48 between each pair of MATARESE’s two pairs of MATARESE’s fasteners and MATARESE’s respective end of axle 52, and such modification read on the claim limitation)
in order to prove fluid tight seal between valve actuating mechanism assembly and the body of the fluid spray gun (MATARESE, col. 3, ll. 50-55).
Regarding claim 14, Marino further teaches wherein the threads of the fastener (see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) are on an exterior surface (see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) of the fastener and are configured to mate with threads of the body of the fluid spray gun (threads on wall 22, which is the body of the fluid spray gun 10, and such threads are required for coupling with the threads of the fastener, see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Marino further teaches wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) including a first hole (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to receive a first portion of the axle (the first end of 52 inserted into the first fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and first threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls), on an exterior surface of the first fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7), configured to mate with first threads of the body of the fluid spray gun (the first threads on wall 22, which is the body of the fluid spray gun 10, and such first threads are required for coupling with the threads of the first fastener, see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7), the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising:
a second fastener (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) including a second hole (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to receive a second portion of the axle (a second end of 52 inserted into the second fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and second threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls), on an exterior surface of the second fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7), configured to mate with second of the body of the fluid spray gun (the second threads on wall 22, which is the body of the fluid spray gun 10, and such second threads are required for coupling with the threads of the second fastener, see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7).
Regarding claim 16, Marino further teaches wherein the axle includes:
a first end (the first end of 52 inserted into the first fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to be disposed through the first hole (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) of the first fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and to receive a trigger (54) of the fluid spray gun (10, see Figs. 3-4); and
a second end (the second end of 52 inserted into the second fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to be disposed through the second hole (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) of the second fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and to receive the trigger (54) of the fluid spray gun (10, see Figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 17, Marino teaches the invention as claimed: A fluid spray system comprising:
a pump (pump per [0043]) configured to pressurize fluid (see [0043]);
a fluid spray gun (Figs. 1-8) configured to receive the pressurized fluid from the pump ([0043]), the fluid spray gun comprising:
a spray tip (16) configured to emit the pressurized fluid in a spray pattern ([0057]);
a pressure vessel (10);
a valve (44) disposed in the pressure vessel (10) and actuatable to control flow of the pressurized fluid (by selectively being opened and closed, see Figs. 2-4 and [0051-0052]);
a trigger (54) actuatable to actuate the valve (44; see Figs. 2-5 and [0051-0052]); and
a valve actuating mechanism assembly (comprising 52 and 50, see Figs. 2 and 4) partially disposed in the pressure vessel (10) and coupled to the trigger (52, see Figs. 2-5), the valve actuating mechanism assembly comprising:
an axle (52 is a cam shaft, see [0052] and Fig. 4);
a valve contacting member (50) disposed along the axle (at where 50 connect with 50, see Fig. 4) and configured to contact the valve (44, in order to selectively open and close 44, see Figs. 2-5);
a fastener (provided radially between 52 and 64, see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) including threads (see the largened part in Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling of said two walls) and a hole (see Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1) configured to receive a first end of the axle (a first end of 52 that inserted into the fastener marked in Marino’s annotated Fig. 4 in claim 1).
Marino does not teach a first sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and along the axle; a second sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and along the axle.
However, MATARESE teaches a sealing element (48, see Figs. 2 and 4, col. 3, ll. 45-55) disposed in the pressure vessel (10) and along the axle (at 60 part, see Figs. 2 and 4) between a fastener (26) and an end of the axle (end 60 of the axle comprising 60, 44, and 38, see Figs. 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide Marino with MATARESE’s sealing element between each pair of the two pairs of fastener and an end of axle, such that
a first sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and along the axle; a second sealing element disposed in the pressure vessel and along the axle (the modification is to respectively provide a Marino’s sealing element 48 between each pair of MATARESE’s two pairs of MATARESE’s fasteners and MATARESE’s respective end of axle 52, and such modification read on the claim limitation)
in order to prove fluid tight seal between valve actuating mechanism assembly and the pressure vessel (MATARESE, col. 3, ll. 50-55).
Regarding claim 19, Marino further teaches the claim limitation, see rejection for claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 20, Marino further teaches wherein the fastener comprises a first fastener (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) including a first hole (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to receive the first end of the axle (the first end of 52 inserted into the first fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and first threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling between said two walls), on an exterior surface of the first fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7), configured to mate with first threads of the pressure vessel (the first threads of the wall 22 where the first fastener coupled to as shown in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7, wherein said first threads are required for coupling to the first threads on the first fastener), the valve actuating mechanism assembly further comprising:
a second fastener (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) including a second hole (annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) configured to receive a second portion of the axle (a second end of 52 inserted into the second fastener marked in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7) and second threads (see the largened part in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7, it is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the waving line provided between two walls indicates a thread coupling), on an exterior surface of the second fastener (see annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7), configured to mate with second threads of the pressure vessel (the second threads of the wall 22 where the second fastener coupled to as shown in annotated Fig. 4 in claim 7, wherein said second threads are required for coupling to the second threads on the second fastener); and
wherein the trigger (54) is configured to mount to the first end of the axle and the second end of the axle (see Figs. 3-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fideler 20190076865 teaches a valve actuating mechanism assembly partially disposed in the pressure vessel and coupled to the trigger, the valve actuating mechanism assembly comprising an axle, a valve contacting member, two sealing elements, two fasteners, wherein each of the two sealing elements respectively coupled to each of the two fasteners at a respective end of the axle to form a respective coupling configuration, and the two respective coupling configurations are identical to each other. Moreover, similar teaching can be also found at Chen 7124965, Steingass 7195181, Trapp 8584768, and Carleton 9192950.
/JINGCHEN LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 3741