The Amendment filed on 01/23/26 has been received and entered. Application No. 18/639,482 of which claim 21 has been added. Claims 1-21 are pending in the application, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments and amendments necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1-21 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathod (U.S. PGPub 2014/0129942) in view of Allen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0171900; hereinafter “Allen”) and further in view of Broady et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0142486; hereinafter “Broady”) and Chakra et al. (U.S. PGPub 2017/0288966; hereinafter “Chakra”).
As per claims 1 and 11, Rathod discloses a method comprising: storing in a database a metadata data structure for a video asset, wherein the metadata data structure comprises a plurality of field labels and respective text item for each respective field label of the plurality of field labels; (See Figs. 8, 17, paras. 11, 23-24, wherein videos, multimedia, life stream content and associated metadata are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
determining that a particular field label lacks a respective text item; (See para. 152, wherein method of determining missing information process are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
based at least on part the determining that the particular field label lacks the respective text item: retrieving a screenshot from a stored version of the video asset; and generating a post that comprises: (See paras. 474, 479, 487 wherein screenshots are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
(a) a query related to the particular field label that lacks the respective text item; (See paras. 474, 479, 487 wherein screenshots are disclosed, also See paras. 72, 152, 499-501, wherein interactive multimedia action & activity feeds, posting questions, providing answers on screenshot, action/activity item are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
publishing the post on a social network. (See Figs. 14, 17, paras. 319, 389, wherein questions published on social network are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
However, Rathod fails to disclose collecting a plurality of user replies to the published post on the social network; and generating a new text item based on the plurality of user replies; and modifying the metadata data structure stored in the database to include the new text item in association with the particular field label.
On the other hand, Allen teaches collecting a plurality of user replies to the published post on the social network; (See Fig. 4, paras. 55-57, wherein process of collection of data pertaining to online forum are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
and generating a new text item based on the plurality of user replies; (See paras. 59-61, wherein anaphora detection process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 121-122, wherein process of determining correct answer from a forum thread are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
and modifying the metadata data structure stored in the database to include the new text item in association with the particular field label. (See Figs. 12, 20, paras. 95, 146, wherein replacing anaphora process, providing final answers are disclosed, also paras. 49, 122, 128, 138, wherein storing score generated by QA system pipeline stored as metadata are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Allen teachings in the Rathod system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for determining the correct answer in a forum thread taught by Allen in the Rathod system for effectively providing visual action or activity news feed. In addition, both of the references (Rathod and Allen) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data retrieval. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
However, the combination of Rathod and Allen fails to disclose based on determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks a title text item associated with a title field label.
.
On the other hand, Broady teaches based on determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks a title text item associated with a title field label. (See Figs. 8, 19, paras. 39, 77-79, wherein digital assets, header in which “a video may be a digital asset, as may be text, images, or applications and additional digital information” [0039] are disclosed, also See Figs. 10, 12, paras. 92-98, wherein registering digital assets (analogous to process of identifying digital assets in database) and adding/removal of registered digital assets processes in which “the user may register digital assets of interest into the management system from the search results (at 1004). The user may then repeat the searches (not shown) for other digital assets, or on other platforms. Additional digital assets of interest may be registered to the cloud-based digital asset management system. Likewise, the user may be able to register original digital assets” [0095] are disclosed, also See Figs. 21, 22, paras. 113-115, wherein incomplete icon provided to user for additional information is required in which “An incomplete icon is provided to communicate to the user that additional information is needed for the registered digital asset. Typically, incomplete status is provided when insufficient metadata is present. Once the additional metadata is provided (or if there is sufficient metadata initially) the digital asset is flagged as pending” [0113] and “After a digital asset has been registered, but it is considered incomplete due to missing metadata, the management system user may be requested to provide the additional metadata. FIG. 24 provides a screenshot for this additional data request (at 2400). Here, a minimum of a title, a description and an availability range are required. In alternate embodiments, more or less metadata may be required to complete a digital asset register” [0115] (analogous to determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks a title text item associated with a title field label) are disclosed; as taught by Broady.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Broady teachings in the combination of Rathod and Allen system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for cloud-based digital asset management taught by Broady in the combination of Rathod and Allen system for effectively providing visual action or activity news feed. In addition, both of the references (Rathod, Allen, and Broady) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data retrieval. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
However, the combination of Rathod, Allen, and Broady fails to disclose determining to use a screenshot as an identifier of the video asset; based on the determining to use the screenshot as the identifier of the video asset; the screenshot retrieved from the stored version of the video asset used as the identifier of the video asset.
On the other hand, Chakra teaches determining to use a screenshot as an identifier of the video asset; (See paras. 18, 27, wherein metadata associated with image in which “Parsing the source data may additionally or alternatively include identifying metadata associated with the source data. For example, metadata associated with an image (e.g., a screenshot) may be identified. The metadata may include, for example, information indicating an application version, OS version, or the like associated with an application corresponding to an application window captured in the image” [0018] and “the end-state configuration source data 104 may include an image 104A such as a screenshot of an application window that indicates a collection of setting(s) representative of a desired end-state configuration 108C. As a more specific example, the image 104A may be a screenshot of a properly configured out of office reminder preferences window. The screenshot may be captured from help documentation, a video, a foreground application window, or the like” [0027] are disclosed; as taught by Chakra.)
based on the determining to use the screenshot as the identifier of the video asset; (See paras. 28-30, wherein screenshot identification process in which “a screenshot of an application window representing the desired end-state configuration 108C may be generated and dragged onto a UI of the application component 106. As another example, a screenshot of a video frame may be captured and provided to the application component 106. As yet another example, existing text-based instructions for establishing the desired end-state configuration 108C (e.g., help documentation) may be selected (e.g., highlighted) or text may be generated and dragged onto or otherwise uploaded to the application component” [0028] are disclosed; as taught by Chakra.)
the screenshot retrieved from the stored version of the video asset used as the identifier of the video asset. (See paras. 18, 27, wherein metadata associated with image in which “Parsing the source data may additionally or alternatively include identifying metadata associated with the source data. For example, metadata associated with an image (e.g., a screenshot) may be identified. The metadata may include, for example, information indicating an application version, OS version, or the like associated with an application corresponding to an application window captured in the image” [0018] and “the end-state configuration source data 104 may include an image 104A such as a screenshot of an application window that indicates a collection of setting(s) representative of a desired end-state configuration 108C. As a more specific example, the image 104A may be a screenshot of a properly configured out of office reminder preferences window. The screenshot may be captured from help documentation, a video, a foreground application window, or the like” [0027] are disclosed; as taught by Chakra.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Chakra teachings in the combination of Rathod, Allen, and Broady system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for establishing a desired end-state configuration taught by Chakra in the combination of Rathod, Allen, and Broady system for effectively providing visual action or activity news feed. In addition, both of the references (Rathod, Allen, Broady, and Chakra) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data retrieval. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claims 2 and 12, the combination of Rathod, Broady, and Chakra fails to disclose analyzing the plurality of user replies to the published post on the social network by parsing each of the plurality of user replies; and identifying a common text segment in at least some of the plurality of user replies.
On the other hand, Allen teaches analyzing the plurality of user replies to the published post on the social network by parsing each of the plurality of user replies; (See paras. 39, 97-105, wherein parsing process are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
and identifying a common text segment in at least some of the plurality of user replies. (See Fig. 15, para. 96, wherein analyzing for similarity in child responses is disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
See claims 1 and 11 for motivation above.
As per claims 3 and 13, the combination of Rathod, Broady, and Chakra fails to disclose wherein the analyzing the plurality of user replies to the published post on the social network by parsing each of the plurality of user replies, further comprises: comparing a character length of each respective plurality of user replies to a threshold, wherein the respective user reply is discarded if the character length of the respective user reply is not above the threshold length.
On the other hand, Allen teaches wherein the analyzing the plurality of user replies to the published post on the social network by parsing each of the plurality of user replies, further comprises: comparing a character length of each respective plurality of user replies to a threshold, wherein the respective user reply is discarded if the character length of the respective user reply is not above the threshold length. (See paras. 39-41, wherein applying algorithms in analysis and ranking set of answers and generating a final answer are disclosed, also See paras. 89-90, 118, 129, wherein utilizing thresholds in comparing, identifying relevance scores on posts are disclosed, also See Figs. 11, 14, 19, paras. 142-143, wherein determining positive threshold process are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
See claims 1 and 11 for motivation above.
As per claims 4 and 14, the combination of Rathod, Allen, Broady, and Chakra discloses wherein the determining that the particular field label lacks the respective text item is determined by a media guidance application. (See para. 152, wherein method of determining missing information process are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
As per claims 5 and 15, the combination of Rathod, Allen, Broady, and Chakra discloses wherein the media guidance application transmits a request to a remote database to collect additional metadata for the metadata data structure associated with the particular field label that lacks the respective text item. (See paras. 78, 139, 279, wherein metadata are disclosed, also See paras. 152, 155, wherein method of determining missing information process are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
As per claims 6 and 16, the combination of Rathod, Allen, Broady, and Chakra discloses wherein the generating the post further comprises; identifying a stored natural language request template of a plurality of stored natural language request templates that matches the particular field label; (See paras. 24-25, 29, 64, 142, wherein search & match process, templates are disclosed, also See Fig. 8, paras. 152, 285, 440, wherein questions, answers are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
and selecting the stored natural request language template to generate a natural language request for the post. (See paras. 24-25, 29, 64, 142, wherein search & match process, templates are disclosed, also See Figs. 8, 14, paras. 15, 92-93, 285, 440, wherein questions, answers are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
As per claims 7 and 17, the combination of Rathod, Broady, and Chakra fails to disclose wherein the collecting the plurality of user replies comprises; collecting a specific number of user replies wherein the specific number of user replies is compared to a threshold.
On the other hand, Allen teaches wherein the collecting the plurality of user replies comprises; collecting a specific number of user replies wherein the specific number of user replies is compared to a threshold. (See paras. 146, wherein number of posts are disclosed, also See paras. 89-90, 118, 129, wherein utilizing thresholds in comparing, identifying relevance scores on posts are disclosed, also See Figs. 11, 14, 19, paras. 142-143, wherein determining positive threshold process are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
See claims 1 and 11 for motivation above.
As per claims 8 and 18, the combination of Rathod, Broady, and Chakra fails to disclose comprising based at least in part on the specific number of user replies being less than the threshold, triggering a time interval to automatically collect a second plurality of user replies.
On the other hand, Allen teaches comprising based at least in part on the specific number of user replies being less than the threshold, triggering a time interval to automatically collect a second plurality of user replies. (See Fig. 6 and 9, para. 49, wherein new post data is disclosed, also See Figs. 12-13, wherein identifying candidate answers is disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 89-90, 118, 121, 129, wherein automated requestor functions, process of utilizing thresholds in comparing, identifying relevance scores on posts are disclosed, also See Figs. 11, 14, 19, paras. 142-144, wherein determining positive threshold process are disclosed; as taught by Allen.)
See claims 1 and 11 for motivation above.
As per claims 9 and 19, the combination of Rathod, Allen, Broady, and Chakra discloses wherein the publishing the post on the social network comprises publishing a video clip from the video asset with the post. (See Figs. 8, 17, paras. 11, 23-24, wherein videos, multimedia, life stream content and associated metadata are disclosed, also See paras. 72, 152, 499-501, wherein interactive multimedia action & activity feeds, posting questions, providing answers on screenshot, action/activity item are disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
As per claims 10 and 20, the combination of Rathod, Allen, Broady, and Chakra discloses wherein the social network is a private third-party network. (See paras. 121, 306, wherein third-party network is disclosed; as taught by Rathod.)
As per claim 21, the combination of Rathod, Allen, and Chakra fail to determining to publish the post comprising the screenshot from the stored version of the video asset to identify the title text item based on determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks the title text item.
On the other hand, Broady teaches determining to publish the post comprising the screenshot from the stored version of the video asset to identify the title text item based on determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks the title text item. (See Figs. 8, 19, paras. 39, 77-79, wherein digital assets, header in which “a video may be a digital asset, as may be text, images, or applications and additional digital information” [0039] are disclosed, also See Figs. 10, 12, paras. 92-98, wherein registering digital assets and adding/removal of registered digital assets processes are disclosed, also See Figs. 21, 22, paras. 113-115, wherein incomplete icon provided to user for additional information is required in which “An incomplete icon is provided to communicate to the user that additional information is needed for the registered digital asset. Typically, incomplete status is provided when insufficient metadata is present. Once the additional metadata is provided (or if there is sufficient metadata initially) the digital asset is flagged as pending” [0113] (analogous to determining to publish the post comprising the screenshot from the stored version of the video asset to identify the title text item based on determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks the title text item) and “After a digital asset has been registered, but it is considered incomplete due to missing metadata, the management system user may be requested to provide the additional metadata. FIG. 24 provides a screenshot for this additional data request (at 2400). Here, a minimum of a title, a description and an availability range are required. In alternate embodiments, more or less metadata may be required to complete a digital asset register” [0115] (analogous to determining that the metadata data structure for the video asset lacks the title text item) are disclosed; as taught by Broady.)
See claim 1 for motivation above.
Conclusion
1. The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
2. When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
POINT OF CONTACT
/L. L. H./
Examiner, Art Unit 2153
/KAVITA STANLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153