DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s primary argument is in regards to the amended portions of instant independent claim 2 being: “a first hemisphere and a second hemisphere joined at a canister beltline and containing a vacuum” and “the fluid holding volume to receive and store the surgical and post-surgical waste the patient under the vacuum.” Applicant asserts that that the vacuum and receiving and storing of surgical and post-surgical waste from a patient are now included elements of the claim, and thus must be given patentable weight, and therefore the Berg et al. reference does not anticipate instant independent claim 2. Applicant further asserts added limitations of “containing a vacuum” is not related to what the spherical canister does, but a statement of what it is. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited “vacuum” and “surgical and post-surgical waste” are not physical and/or structural elements which limit the actual physical structure which forms the spherical canister apparatus/device. These limitations are imposed/intended use conditions and/or results that only exist (emphasis added) when the spherical canister apparatus/device is actively employed or used in a surgical operation on a patient, presumably including a suction source/pump and fluid communication lines connected to the spherical canister from the patient during the surgical operation on a patient as well as to a suction source/pump. The claim is directed solely to an spherical canister apparatus/device, not a surgical system (emphasis added), or a method of collecting/storing surgical and post-surgical waste from a patient (emphasis added), which would include, at minimum, a suction source/pump and fluidic communication lines, in combination (emphasis added) with the spherical canister apparatus/device to create the vacuum within the fluid holding volume of the spherical canister to collect/store the surgical and post-surgical waste. Furthermore, the now recited phrase: “to receive and store the surgical and post-surgical waste” is clearly an intended use statement, since it describes the purpose or goal of an action, being the receiving and storing of the surgical and post-surgical waste, and thus only means the spherical canister apparatus/device is for that purpose or goal, employing the word “to,” which clearly does not further limit the structural and/or physical aspects of spherical canister apparatus/device. As such, the apparatus/device disclosed by Berg et al. discloses all of the actual physical structural elements recited in instant independent claim 2, to thus contain a vacuum within the fluid holding volume of the spherical canister apparatus/device, and to handle surgical and post-surgical medical waste fluids with associated non-claimed devices such as fluid lines and suction source/pump, which the instant claimed invention also must require to perform the intended use and/or functional operation recited. It should be noted that if Applicant attempts to clearly and positively recite any aspects of a surgical system and/or method of collecting/storing surgical and post-surgical waste, which would include, at a minimum, a vacuum source/pump and fluidic lines, in combination with the spherical canister device, so that a vacuum can actually be formed within the spherical canister device, this would constitute a new invention that is independent and distinct from the invention originally claimed, and thus would be withdrawn from consideration, since the spherical canister device/apparatus has been elected by original presentation. (See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP 821.03).
Applicant then refers to a case In the Matter of Certain Hydrodermabrasion Systems and Components thereof, USITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1408 that was before the U.S. International Trade Commission, allegedly having similarities regarding a “vacuum” to the present patentability discussion in the instant case. The Examiner is perplexed as to why the Applicant would refer to this USITC case, and respectfully disagrees with any of the Applicant’s arguments pertaining to this USITC case and the instant application case. This USITC case, or any statements/findings therein, have absolutely no legal bearing on the instant application case whatsoever and is completely immaterial. This USITC case is not pertinent case law, such as a patent decision from the USPTO Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences, or a U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit decision, which completely unlike the decisions the Examiner cited in previous responses to Applicant’s similar arguments, none of which Applicant directly addressed and/or made arguments against in regards to amended claim 2. A more dispositive court decision regarding instant amended claim 2 is In Re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 44 USPQ2d 1429 (Fed. Cir. 1997), wherein the court affirmed a finding that a prior patent to a conical spout used primarily to dispense oil from an oil can inherently performed the functions recited in the applicant’s claim to a conical container top for dispensing popped popcorn, since both structures had the same general shape, which is completely analogous to the instant application case. Claim 1 of this court case:
A dispensing top for passing only several kernels of a popped popcorn at a time from an open-ended container filled with popped popcorn, having a generally conical shape and an opening at each end, the opening at the reduced end allows several kernels of popped popcorn to pass through at the same time, and means at the enlarged end of the top to embrace the open end of the container, the taper of the top being uniform and such as to by itself jam up the popped popcorn before the end of the cone and permit the dispensing of only a few kernels at a shake of a package when the top is mounted on the container.
As with the instant application claim 2, the structure of the “dispensing top” apparatus/device allows for “several kernels of popped popcorn to pass through at the same time” and “dispensing of only a few kernels at a shake of a package.” The “kernels of popcorn” are analogous to the recited limitations of “vacuum” and “surgical and post-surgical waste fluids.” This directly analogous to the structure of the Berg et al. reference, which directly matches all of the structure of instant claim 2, and thus the Berg et al. structure is completely functionally capable to contain a vacuum and to receive and store the surgical and post-surgical waste under the vacuum.
In addition, the manner of operating the spherical canister device does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art. “Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what the device does.” see Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). The apparatus/device disclosed by Berg et al. recites all of the structural elements of instant claim 2, including at least one opening functionally capable of applying a suction source/pump to apply a vacuum and the spherical container to contain a vacuum, as well as to receive and store surgical and post-surgical waste. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). As such, the limitations “containing a vacuum” and “to hold the medical fluids under vacuum” are only recitations with respect to the manner a claimed apparatus/device is intended to be employed, and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus/device from the Berg et al. prior art spherical canister device and its structure, which identically matches the recited structure of instant claim 2. As stated previously, the claimed invention is directed to an apparatus/device, not a system, or method of collecting fluids including vacuum pumps and/or other system aspects in combination with the recited apparatus/device. As such, the rejection of instant independent claim 2 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding instant dependent claim 8 are persuasive in regards to amendment of the claim, as such, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, 7-9, 11, 12, 16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the structural elements that create the vacuum within the spherical canister fluid-holding volume, as well as the structural elements to receive and store surgical and post-surgical waste from a patient, since the recited structure of instant independent claim 2 does not provide/create the vacuum nor the ability to receive and store the surgical and post-surgical waste fluids from a patient under the vacuum. Claims 3, 7-9, 11, 12, 16, 17 and 20 are similarly rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
As best understood, claim(s) 2, 7, 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. 2017/0340812 to Berg et al. Berg et al. disclose a spherical canister apparatus and device having all the structural elements allowing it to be capable for vacuum collection and storage and disposal of surgical and post-surgical waste fluids from a patient including a first hemisphere (42) and a second hemisphere (44) joined at a canister beltline (see Fig. 3, where elements 46, 70, 72, 74 are co-located) and thus forming an enclosed fluid-holding volume capable of containing a vacuum; the first hemisphere including a first shell having one or more ports (10) extending therefrom and a first-hemisphere beltline (location of element 72), the first-hemisphere beltline having a first-hemisphere inner annular rib (74); the second hemisphere including a second shell and a second-hemisphere beltline (location of element 46) having a second-hemisphere outer annular rib (46); wherein the first-hemisphere inner annular rib (74) is in sealable contact with the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (46) forming the medical fluid-holding volume with the sealable contact positioned about the medical fluid-holding volume; and wherein the one or more ports are capable of providing fluid communication with the fluid-holding volume to receive and store surgical and post-surgical waste fluids under vacuum (as recited in instant independent claim 2); wherein the sealable contact between the first-hemisphere inner annular rib (74) and the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (46) is continuous about the spherical canister (as recited in instant dependent claim 7); wherein the first-hemisphere inner annular rib (74) is in pressured contact with the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (46) to provide the sealable contact (as recited in instant dependent claim 9); wherein the first-hemisphere beltline and the second-hemisphere beltline are located below a maximum fluid collection height in the fluid-holding volume (as recited in instant dependent claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood, claim(s) 8, 11, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2017/0340812 to Berg et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. 6,708,839 to Diesterbeck. Berg et al. disclose a spherical canister having all of the elements stated previously. Berg et al. further disclose that the first-hemisphere beltline further includes a first-hemisphere outer annular rib (72) surrounded by the first-hemisphere inner annular rib (74) (as partially recited in instant dependent claim 16). Berg et al. does not explicitly disclose the first-hemisphere inner annular rib has an outer diameter greater than an inner diameter of the second-hemisphere outer rib (as recited in instant dependent claim 8); the second-hemisphere outer annular rib includes a lip at a side opposite the fluid-holding volume and the first-hemisphere beltline includes a first-hemisphere outer annular rib that at least partially encloses the lip (as recited in instant dependent claim 11); the second-hemisphere beltline further includes a second-hemisphere inner annular rib surrounded by the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (as recited in the remaining limitations of instant dependent claim 16); or wherein the second-hemisphere outer annular rib includes a lip at a side opposite the fluid-holding volume and an outer surface of the lip is proximate to an inner surface of the first-hemisphere outer annular rib (as recited in instant dependent claim 17). Diesterbeck discloses a canister/container having a first component (2) and second component (3) with associated beltlines/connection areas and rib structures associated with the beltlines/connections to form a fluid-holding volume with a continuous sealable contact positioned about the canister/container (see Fig. 2 and entire reference); wherein the first component has an outer annular rib (17) and a an inner annular rib (20), and wherein the second component has an outer annular rib (15) and an inner annular rib (22); wherein the second component inner annular rib (22) is surrounded by the second component outer annular rib (15) (meeting the remaining limitations recited in instant dependent claim 16); wherein the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (15) includes a lip (6, 16) at a side opposite the fluid-holding volume and the first component beltline further includes a first component outer annular rib (17) that at least partially encloses the lip (meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 11); and wherein the second component outer annular rib (15) includes the lip (6, 16) at a side opposite from the fluid-holding volume and an outer surface of the lip is proximate to the inner surface of the first component outer annular rib (17) (meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 17), and, before connecting the first component to the second component, the first component inner annular rib has an outer diameter greater than an inner diameter of the second component outer rib (as recited in instant dependent claim 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to employ all the structural elements/details and associated functional aspects recited in instant dependent claims 8, 11, 16 and 17, as taught by Diesterbeck, modifying the spherical canister and hemispherical components and associated elements disclosed by Berg et al., thus providing a spherical canister that reliably fulfills the special demands imposed on leak-proofness being maintained, particularly when exposed to events of external forces, such as blows or jolts, or of the canister falling (see col. 1, lines 15-34).
As best understood, claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2017/0340812 to Berg et al. and U.S. 6,708,839 to Diesterbeck as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of U.S. 2014/0061215 to Chang. Berg et al. and Diesterbeck disclose a spherical canister having all of the elements and associated functionality stated previously, including the lip (6, 16) of the second-hemisphere outer annular lip. Berg et al. and Diesterbeck do not explicitly disclose the first-hemisphere outer annular rib includes at least one latch opening at which a latch is connected thereto in position to engage the lip of the second-hemisphere outer annular rib. Chang discloses a canister (see entire reference) having a first component (20) and a second component (10) forming the fluid holding volume of the canister (see entire reference) wherein the first component has an outer annular rib (30, 31) and an inner annular rib (21), wherein the outer annular rib includes at least one latch opening (see Fig. 1) at which a latch (41) is connected thereto in a position to engage a lip (12) of the second component annular rib (11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ the latch within a latch opening, as taught by Change, modifying the first-hemisphere outer annular rib, the latch engaging the lip of the second-hemisphere outer annular rib disclosed by Berg et al. and Diesterbeck, thus enhancing the engagement of the first-hemisphere component to the second-hemisphere component, preventing difficult in the process of connecting and disconnecting the first-hemisphere component to the second-hemisphere component and increasing stability of the connection, along with other benefits (see paras 0004-0010 of Chang), thus meeting all the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 12.
As best understood, claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2017/0340812 to Berg et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. 8,444,615 to Tippet et al. Berg et al. disclose a spherical canister having all of the recited elements previously. Berg et al. does not explicitly disclose the canister further includes indicia on an outer surface of the canister sphere, the indicia providing measurement of the volume of the fluid within the fluid-holding volume, as recited in instant dependent claim 3. Tippet et al. disclose a canister sharing some structural aspects of Kim (see entire reference, in particular Fig. 4) wherein indicia (45) is placed on the outer surface to provide measurement of the volume of fluid within the fluid-holding volume of the canister. It would have been obvious to add indicia on the first and/or second hemisphere to indicate/measure the fluid volume within the canister disclosed by Berg et al., employing the teachings of Tippet et al., thus providing a level/volume measurement within the entirety of the container, if desired.
As best understood, claim(s) 2, 8, 11, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2019/0111191 to Jho et al., U.S. 2015/0344177 to Kick and U.S. 6,708,839 to Diesterbeck. Jho et al. discloses a canister/container (105) for vacuum collection storage and disposal of surgical and post-surgical waste (see entire reference) having an outer body that defines and contains an internal cavity/fluid-holding volume which can have a variety of shapes such as a bulbous/rounded shape (see Fig. 1), and can also be cylindrical, as well as other shapes (see para 0015); including a first rounded portion (505) and a second rounded portion (510) joined at a canister beltline (502) joined in a sealing relationship capable of containing a vacuum/negative pressure (see paras 0001-0007); the first rounded portion inherently including a first shell having one or more ports/interface (120) extending therefrom and a first-rounded portion beltline; the second rounded inherently including a second shell having a second-rounded portion beltline (see Fig. 6); forming a sealable contact, including at least one latch (605) at the beltlines, and wherein the one or more ports provide fluid communication with the fluid-holding volume to receive and store the surgical and post-surgical waste fluids from the patient under the vacuum (as partially recited in instant independent claim 2). Jho et al. does not explicitly disclose the canister is spherical, and the first and second portions are first and second hemispheres; wherein the first hemisphere has a first-hemisphere inner annular rib; the second hemisphere having a second-hemisphere outer annular rib; wherein the first-hemisphere inner annular rib is in sealable contact with the second-hemisphere outer annular rib to form the fluid-holding volume (as recited in the remaining limitations of instant independent claim 2); the first-hemisphere inner annular rib has an outer diameter greater than an inner diameter of the second-hemisphere outer rib (as recited in instant dependent claim 8); the second-hemisphere outer annular rib includes a lip at a side opposite the fluid-holding volume and the first-hemisphere beltline includes a first-hemisphere outer annular rib that at least partially encloses the lip (as recited in instant dependent claim 11); the second-hemisphere beltline further includes a second-hemisphere inner annular rib surrounded by the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (as recited in the remaining limitations of instant dependent claim 16); or wherein the second-hemisphere outer annular rib includes a lip at a side opposite the fluid-holding volume and an outer surface of the lip is proximate to an inner surface of the first-hemisphere outer annular rib (as recited in instant dependent claim 17).
As stated previously, Jho et al. does not limit the overall shape of the canister, nor the associated first and second portions of the canister, and clearly discloses the canister can have other shapes (see para 0015). As such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the canister disclosed by Jho et al. to have an overall spherical shape to the canister formed by first and second hemispherical portions, since an overall spherical shape provides distribution of stress evenly across its entire surface, since it has no weak spots, since it has no flat sides, corners or sharp edges to catch any applied forces, including the forces due to pressure/vacuum, as well as providing maximum volume and minimum material, since a sphere holds the most volume inside the smallest possible surface area, and this high efficiency makes it naturally stable. In addition, Kick discloses a spherical container/canister (see entire reference) whose round side walls provide high impact resistance, increased ratio of volume to height than standard cylindrical containers, and more volume to surface area to conserve plastic (i.e. material forming the container/canister) (see abstract, paras 0004, 0006, 0007, 0016 and 0020). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to employ another shape to the canister disclosed by Jho et al., being spherical, thus being formed of first and second hemisphere shells, disclosed by Jho et al., and thus providing all of the aforementioned mechanical and physical benefits disclosed by Kick.
As to the remaining limitations of instant independent claim 2, wherein the first hemisphere has a first-hemisphere inner annular rib; the second hemisphere having a second-hemisphere outer annular rib; wherein the first-hemisphere inner annular rib is in sealable contact with the second-hemisphere outer annular rib to form the fluid-holding volume, as well as limitations of instant dependent claims 8, 11, 16 and 17, Diesterbeck discloses a canister/container having a first component (2) and second component (3) with associated beltlines/connection areas and rib structures associated with the beltlines/connections to form a fluid-holding volume with a continuous sealable contact positioned about the canister/container (see Fig. 2 and entire reference); wherein the first component has an outer annular rib (17) and a an inner annular rib (20), and wherein the second component has an outer annular rib (15) and an inner annular rib (22) (meeting the remaining limitations of instant independent claim 2); wherein the second component inner annular rib (22) is surrounded by the second component outer annular rib (15) (meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 16); wherein the second-hemisphere outer annular rib (15) includes a lip (6, 16) at a side opposite the fluid-holding volume and the first component beltline further includes a first component outer annular rib (17) that at least partially encloses the lip (meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 11); and wherein the second component outer annular rib (15) includes the lip (6, 16) at a side opposite from the fluid-holding volume and an outer surface of the lip is proximate to the inner surface of the first component outer annular rib (17) (meeting the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 17), and before connecting the first component to the second component, the first component inner annular rib has an outer diameter greater than an inner diameter of the second component outer rib (as recited in instant dependent claim 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to employ all the structural elements/details and associated functional aspects recited in instant independent claim 2 and instant dependent claims 8, 11, 16 and 17, as taught by Diesterbeck, modifying the spherical canister and hemispherical components and associated elements disclosed by Jho et al. and Kick, thus providing a spherical canister that reliably fulfills the special demands imposed on leak-proofness being maintained, particularly when exposed to events of external forces, such as blows or jolts, or of the canister falling (see col. 1, lines 15-34).
As best understood, claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2019/0111191 to Jho et al., U.S. 2015/0344177 to Kick and U.S. 6,708,839 to Diesterbeck as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of U.S. 2014/0061215 to Chang. Jho et al., Kick and Diesterbeck disclose a spherical canister having all of the elements and associated functionality stated previously, including the lip (6, 16) of the second-hemisphere outer annular lip. Jho et al., Kick and Diesterbeck do not explicitly disclose the first-hemisphere outer annular rib includes at least one latch opening at which a latch is connected thereto in position to engage the lip of the second-hemisphere outer annular rib. Chang discloses a canister (see entire reference) having a first component (20) and a second component (10) forming the fluid holding volume of the canister (see entire reference) wherein the first component has an outer annular rib (30, 31) and an inner annular rib (21), wherein the outer annular rib includes at least one latch opening (see Fig. 1) at which a latch (41) is connected thereto in a position to engage a lip (12) of the second component annular rib (11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to employ the latch within a latch opening, as taught by Chang, modifying the first-hemisphere outer annular rib, the latch engaging the lip of the second-hemisphere outer annular rib disclosed by Jho et al., Kick and Diesterbeck, thus enhancing the engagement of the first-hemisphere component to the second-hemisphere component, preventing difficult in the process of connecting and disconnecting the first-hemisphere component to the second-hemisphere component and increasing stability of the connection, along with other benefits (see paras 0004-0010 of Chang), thus meeting all the limitations recited in instant dependent claim 12.
As best understood, claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2019/0111191 to Jho et al., U.S. 2015/0344177 to Kick and U.S. 6,708,839 to Diesterbeck as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. 8,444,615 to Tippet et al. Jho et al., Kick and Diesterbeck disclose a spherical canister having all of the recited elements previously. Jho et al. further discloses indicia on an outer surface of the canister/container (see Fig. 1) extending from the bottom to top, essentially across the entire height of the canister/container. As such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the indicia on the outer surface of the spherical canister/container disclosed by Jho et al., Kick and Diesterbeck to have the indica extend from the second hemisphere to the first hemisphere to provide for a measurement of volume of the fluid within the fluid holding volume.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See U.S. 2014/0243707 to Kerr which discloses aspects of the instant inventoin Applicant is invited to review PTO form 892 accompanying this Office Action listing Prior Art relevant to the instant invention cited by the Examiner.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Primary Examiner John Fitzgerald whose telephone number is (571) 272-2843. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 7:00 AM to 3:30 PM E.S.T. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor John Breene, can be reached at telephone number (571) 272-4107. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The central fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOHN FITZGERALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855