DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 18-21 and 25-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11363629. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of patent 11363629 anticipate the limitation of the instant application as shown in the table below.
Claim 18 of the instant application
Claims 12 and 19 of patent 11363629
A method, comprising: monitoring, by an apparatus a collision indication indicating a collision occurs, the collision is about multiple apparatuses including the apparatus are configured to perform transmissions on a same transmission opportunity, the transmission opportunity is in a mini slot of a slot; and determining, by the apparatus, a transmission of the apparatus in the transmission opportunity is unsuccessful.
A method for medium access control, the method comprising, by a device in a communication network: receiving a schedule indicating a transmission opportunity on a shared channel for the device, the transmission opportunity corresponding to a mini slot forming part of a time slot, the mini slot and the time slot specified by the schedule; when the device is to use the transmission opportunity to transmit data, performing following actions: if the specified mini slot is a first mini slot of all mini slots in the specified time slot, transmitting the data using the shared channel; and if the specified mini slot is after the first mini slot: monitoring a prior mini slot which is part of the time slot and which precedes the specified mini slot; and transmitting the data using the shared channel upon detecting that the shared channel is idle during said prior mini slot, and refraining from transmitting the data at the transmission opportunity otherwise,
upon or after transmission of the data using the shared channel: monitoring a portion of the specified time slot for a collision indication transmitted by an access point; and upon detecting the collision indication, determining that the transmission of the data is unsuccessful
Claims 18-21 and 25-28 are also rejected under double patenting over claims 1-17 of patent 11991744.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 21, 26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 19 and 26 recites the limitation "the end of the time slot". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 21 and 28 recite the limitation “the same time slot” “the number of mini slots” “the beginning point”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18, 20, 25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tuset Peiro et al. “Tuset” US 2016/0112824.
Regarding claims 18 and 25, Tuset teaches a method and an apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 3 CPU 11); and
a memory (Fig. 3 memory 13) storing instructions, wherein when the instructions are executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to:
monitor a collision indication indicating a collision occurs, the collision is about multiple apparatuses including the apparatus are configured to perform transmissions on a same transmission opportunity, the transmission opportunity is in a mini slot of a slot (after node 4 (i.e. apparatus) sends ARP 25, the node checks for a FBP (i.e. monitoring a collision indication). This will tell the node if the transmitted ARP was received successfully or not based on if there is a mini-slot collision between multiple nodes; Paragraph 64 and Figure 5); and
determine a transmission of the apparatus in the transmission opportunity is unsuccessful (based on the received information from the gateway, the node 4 can determine the transmission was unsuccessful; Paragraph 64).
Regarding claims 20 and 27, Tuset teaches the apparatus monitors the collision indication once the transmission ends (after node 4 (i.e. apparatus) sends ARP 25, the node checks for a FBP (i.e. monitoring a collision indication); Paragraph 64 and Figure 5. Since the ARP is sent then the check for the indication is after, this reads on the monitoring once the transmission ends).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuset in view of Kondylis et al. “Kondylis” US 2003/0012176.
Regarding claims 19 and 26, while Tuset discusses the use of beacons, Tuset does not expressly disclose the indication is a beacon/alarm sent at the end of the time slot; however, Kondylis teaches the transmitting nodes await reception of a receive beacon which dictates if there is a collision or not in the minislot; Paragraph 67. This is received after a transmission is made and thus at the end of the time slot as claimed.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Tuset to include the collision indication is a beacon/alarm sent at the end of the time slot as taught by Kondylis.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the transmitter node can properly receive indication, via a beacon, regarding if there is a collision in the minislot as taught by Kondylis; Paragraph 67.
Claim(s) 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuset in view of Choi et al. “Choi” US 2021/0143948.
Regarding claims 21 and 28, Tuset does not expressly disclose receiving system information which includes mini slot length; however, Choi teaches the mini-slot length is transmitted through system information for the terminal; Paragraph 76.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Tuset to include receiving the mini-slot length as taught by Choi.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the terminal knows the length of the mini-slot as taught by Choi; Paragraph 76.
Conclusion
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411