DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
Claim 1, 12, 19, and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
The Applicant argues:
(1) The cited reference fails to disclose, teach, or suggest "sending, by a first wireless communication device to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication, a message including first information and second information," "wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning, while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group," [Remarks, pages 8-10].
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments.
As per the first argument
As indicated in the previous rejection and below, Choi discloses sending, by a first wireless communication device to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication [fig. 1, 2, 5, paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0050, sending, by a first wireless communication device to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication (D2D communications may utilize sidelink signaling to facilitate the direct communication between UEs; the UE 138 is functioning as a scheduling entity or a transmitting sidelink device, and UEs 140 and 142 may function as a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device)], a message including first information and second information [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0068, 0083, 0088, 0091, 0092, a message including first information and second information (responder fields 804 may include an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)], wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order;)], while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5-10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0080-0084, 0087-0089, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group (Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
Regarding wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning, while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group, Choi discloses in Figure 9, paragraphs 0070, 0081, 0083, 0084, 0095, and 0109.
Figure 9 illustrates a group association broadcast message transmitted by the group initiator.
[0070] The initiator device may then determine the order of wireless communication devices in the positioning group from each of the responder group formation broadcast messages and transmit (e.g., broadcast or groupcast) a group association broadcast message that identifies the members of the positioning group and the order thereof. The initiator device may then reserve the sidelink channel for a CoT based on the number of wireless communication devices in the positioning group and broadcast the first PRS during the CoT. Responder devices may then each broadcast their respective PRS within the CoT based on the order of wireless communication devices. Thus, the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order.
[0081] At 508, the initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to form a positioning group. At 510, the responder device 504 may broadcast (or groupcast) a second group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to join the positioning group. …
[0083] At 516, the initiator device 502 may broadcast or groupcast a group association broadcast message to the responder devices 504 and 506. The group association message may include the initiator ID of the initiator device and the respective responder IDs of each of the responder devices 504 and 506 listed in the order of wireless communication devices (e.g., descending order).
[0084] At 518, 520, and 522, the initiator device 502 and responder devices 504 and 506 may each broadcast (or groupcast) a respective PRS based on the order of wireless communication devices listed in the group association message. For example, the initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first PRS at 518. Then, at 520, the responder device 504 may broadcast (or groupcast) a second PRS. Then, at 522, the responder device 506 may broadcast a third PRS. In some examples, the initiator device 502 may implement Cat 4 LBT to transmit the first PRS and reserve the sidelink channel for a CoT within which all of the PRSs (and corresponding PRS measurement messages) may be transmitted. Thereafter, the responder devices 504 and 506 may implement Cat 2 LBT to broadcast their PRSs.
[0095] The order of responder IDs 914 included in the responder ID field 904 corresponds to the order of responder devices in the positioning group (e.g., the order with which responder devices may transmit their respective PRSs). In some examples, the responder IDs 914 are listed in descending order, where the top (first) responder ID identifies the first responder device to transmit a PRS after the initiator device, the second responder ID identifies the second responder device to transmit a PRS after the first responder device, and so on.
[0109] Each responder device may determine the respective transmission timing of its PRS within the CoT 1102 from the group association message indicating the order of responder devices within the positioning group. For example, ….
In other words, Choi discloses an initiator device (timing reference node) and a responder device (non-timing reference node), wherein the initiator device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning (initiator device transmits a broadcast message to the responder devices identifying the respective transmission timing of each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group based on the specified order), while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group.
Applicant argues “Nowhere does Choi ever hint at a timing reference node or a non-timing reference node, much less determination of transmission time difference between such a timing reference node and a non-timing reference node. … Choi never contemplates that the group association broadcast message identifies any device as the anchor device”. As indicated in the previous rejection and above, Choi discloses an initiator device (timing reference node) and a responder device (non-timing reference node), wherein the initiator transmits a broadcast message that specifies the initiator ID of the initiator device and a responder ID of the responder device and the order of the responder devices in the positioning group, wherein respective transmission times are determined based on the order listed.
Therefore, given that Choi discloses initiator device transmits a broadcast message to the responder devices identifying the respective transmission timing of each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group based on the specified order, then Choi discloses wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning, while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group.
Regarding the rejection of claims 12, 19, and 20, claims 12, 19, and 20 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 12, 19, and 20, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-11 and 13-18, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
In view of above, it is clear that the system/methods of the cited art disclose the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al., (hereinafter Choi), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0171068, in view of Choi et al., (hereinafter Choi’206), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0007206.
As per claim 1, Choi discloses a wireless communication method [fig. 18, paragraphs 0002, 0006, a wireless communication method (wireless communication between devices; the method may be performed by the wireless communication device)], comprising:
sending, by a first wireless communication device to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication [fig. 1, 2, 5, paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0050, sending, by a first wireless communication device to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication (D2D communications may utilize sidelink signaling to facilitate the direct communication between UEs; the UE 138 is functioning as a scheduling entity or a transmitting sidelink device, and UEs 140 and 142 may function as a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device)], a message including first information and second information [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0068, 0083, 0088, 0091, 0092, a message including first information and second information (responder fields 804 may include an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)],
wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0076, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0087, 0089, 0091, wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group (anchor initiator device transmitting a responder group formation broadcast message including the selected anchor initiator device ID; initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to form a positioning group)], and the second information includes a second identification of the one or more second wireless communication devices [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0081, 0089, 0091, 0093, 0096, the second information includes a second identification of the one or more second wireless communication devices (a group association broadcast message 900 that may be transmitted by the group initiator includes basic fields 902 and a responder ID field 904)], and
wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order;)], while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5-10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0080-0084, 0087-0089, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group (Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node.
However, Choi’206 teaches wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node [fig. 3-5, paragraphs 0038, 0067, 0068, 0070, 0075, 0118, wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node (vehicle 404 (non-timing reference node) may transmit timing information (time difference) to RSU 402 (timing reference node); RSU 402 may estimate or compute a position of vehicle 404 and, in some implementations, a clock error, based on the timing information, and may transmit position data (and clock data) to vehicle 404; RSU 550 may also receive additional information 594 from UE 115, and RSU 550 may determine position data 592 based further on additional information 594)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Choi by including a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node as taught by Choi’206 because it would provide the Choi's method with the enhanced capability of improving the exchange timing information [Choi’206, paragraphs 0039, 0053].
As per claim 2, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1,
wherein each of the first wireless communication device and the one or more second wireless communication devices is an anchor node [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein each of the first wireless communication device and the one or more second wireless communication devices is an anchor node (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
As per claim 3, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1,
wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non-timing reference node of the group (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order; Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)], and wherein the group is created by at least one of: a Road Side Unit (RSU), a base station, or a positioning server [fig. 2, 4, paragraphs 0053, 0059, 0060, 0074, 0080, wherein the group is created by at least one of: a Road Side Unit (RSU), a base station, or a positioning server (the RSU 302 broadcasts a first PRS over the sidelink channel; Anchor devices may include, for example, RSUs (e.g., RSUs 404, 406, and 408))].
As per claim 4, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising:
creating, by the first wireless communication device, the group to include the one or more second wireless communication devices [fig. 10, paragraphs 0076, 0081, 0099, 0101, 0102, creating, by the first wireless communication device, the group to include the one or more second wireless communication devices (the initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to form a positioning group; the first and second initiator group formation broadcast messages to select one of the positioning groups 1018a or 1018b)],
wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non- timing reference node of the group [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non- timing reference node of the group (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order; Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
As per claim 5, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the message further includes third information, and
wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and whether the first wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group, and the third information includes a second identification of the group [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0091, 0092, 0102, 0103, wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and whether the first wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group, and the third information includes a second identification of the group (the basic fields 802 include an initiator field 806 carrying initiator information, an anchor field 808 carrying anchor information, and a group ID field 812 carrying a group ID for the transmitting device; an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)].
As per claim 6, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1,
wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and whether the first wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group [fig. 7-9, 13, 14, paragraphs 0070, 0088, 0118, 0119, 0122, 0124, wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and whether the first wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group (CoT may comprise transmission opportunities configured to be used by the second plurality of wireless communication devices for communicating reference signals; initiator device may then reserve the sidelink channel for a CoT based on the number of wireless communication devices)].
As per claim 7, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non-timing reference node of the group (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order; Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)], and
wherein the group further includes at least another first wireless communication device that is also configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group, respective transmission timings of those first wireless communication devices being aligned with each other [fig. 8, 11, paragraphs 0068, 0070, 0082, 0083, 0139, wherein the group further includes at least another first wireless communication device that is also configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group, respective transmission timings of those first wireless communication devices being aligned with each other (initiator device may then determine the order of wireless communication devices in the positioning group; a respective order of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be identified)].
As per claim 8, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1,
wherein timings of the first and one or more second wireless communication devices transmitting respective positioning reference signals are within a time duration [paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0081, 0082, 0086, 0108, 0114, wherein timings of the first and one or more second wireless communication devices transmitting respective positioning reference signals are within a time duration (responder devices may then each broadcast their respective PRS within the CoT based on the order of wireless communication devices; responder device 1212 would broadcast its PRS signal within the CoT established by initiator device 1204)].
As per claim 9, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 8,
wherein the first wireless communication device transmits the positioning reference signal earlier than any of the one or more second wireless communication devices, and serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non- timing reference node of the group [fig. 11, 14, paragraphs 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, 0125, 0139, wherein the first wireless communication device transmits the positioning reference signal earlier than any of the one or more second wireless communication devices, and serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non- timing reference node of the group (initiator device 502 may then be listed first in the order of wireless communication devices; responder ID identifies the first responder device to transmit a PRS after the initiator device; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order)].
As per claim 10, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the one or more second wireless communication devices each serve as the non-timing reference node of the group (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order; Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)], and
wherein a distance difference value between a first location of the first wireless communication device and a second location of each of the one or more second wireless communication devices is not greater a first threshold, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) value measured by the second wireless communication device on a reference signal sent by the first wireless communication device is not greater than a second threshold, or a Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) value measured by the second wireless communication device on a signal sent by the first wireless communication device is not greater than a third threshold [paragraphs 0075, 0099, 0103, 0138, a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) value measured by the second wireless communication device on a reference signal sent by the first wireless communication device is not greater than a second threshold (measure the received power (e.g., RSRP) of the initiator group formation message and compare the received power to a threshold 1724)].
As per claim 11, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising:
triggering, by the first wireless communication device, one or more the second wireless communication devices to send positioning reference signals [paragraphs 0115, 0116, triggering, by the first wireless communication device, one or more the second wireless communication devices to send positioning reference signals (PRS may be triggered)].
As per claim 12, Choi discloses a wireless communication method [fig. 18, paragraphs 0002, 0006, a wireless communication method (wireless communication between devices; the method may be performed by the wireless communication device)], comprising:
sending, by a second wireless communication device to a third wireless communication device via a sidelink communication [fig. 1, 2, 5, paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0050, sending, by a second wireless communication device to a third wireless communication device via a sidelink communication (D2D communications may utilize sidelink signaling to facilitate the direct communication between UEs; the UE 138 is functioning as a scheduling entity or a transmitting sidelink device, and UEs 140 and 142 may function as a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device)], a message including first information and second information [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0068, 0083, 0088, 0091, 0092, a message including first information and second information (responder fields 804 may include an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)],
wherein the second information includes a second identification of the second wireless communication device, and the first information includes a first identification of the one or more first wireless communication devices and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0076, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0087, 0089, 0091, 0093, 0096, wherein the second information includes a second identification of the second wireless communication device, and the first information includes a first identification of the one or more first wireless communication devices and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group (anchor initiator device transmitting a responder group formation broadcast message including the selected anchor initiator device ID; initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to form a positioning group; a group association broadcast message 900 that may be transmitted by the group initiator includes basic fields 902 and a responder ID field 904)], and
wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order;)], while the second wireless communication devices is configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5-10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0080-0084, 0087-0089, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, while the second wireless communication devices is configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group (Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node.
However, Choi’206 teaches wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node [fig. 3-5, paragraphs 0038, 0067, 0068, 0070, 0075, 0118, wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node (vehicle 404 (non-timing reference node) may transmit timing information (time difference) to RSU 402 (timing reference node); RSU 402 may estimate or compute a position of vehicle 404 and, in some implementations, a clock error, based on the timing information, and may transmit position data (and clock data) to vehicle 404; RSU 550 may also receive additional information 594 from UE 115, and RSU 550 may determine position data 592 based further on additional information 594)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Choi by including a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node as taught by Choi’206 because it would provide the Choi's method with the enhanced capability of improving the exchange timing information [Choi’206, paragraphs 0039, 0053].
As per claim 13, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 12, wherein the message further includes third information, and
wherein the second information includes a third identification of the second wireless communication device and whether the second wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group, and the third information includes a second identification of the group [fig. 8, 9, paragraphs 0091, 0092, 0102, 0103, wherein the second information includes a third identification of the second wireless communication device and whether the second wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group, and the third information includes a second identification of the group (the basic fields 802 include an initiator field 806 carrying initiator information, an anchor field 808 carrying anchor information, and a group ID field 812 carrying a group ID for the transmitting device; an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)].
As per claim 14, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 12,
wherein the second information includes a third identification of the second wireless communication device and whether the second wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group [fig. 7-9, 13, 14, paragraphs 0070, 0088, 0118, 0119, 0122, 0124, wherein the second information includes a third identification of the second wireless communication device and whether the second wireless communication device is the timing reference node of the group (CoT may comprise transmission opportunities configured to be used by the second plurality of wireless communication devices for communicating reference signals; initiator device may then reserve the sidelink channel for a CoT based on the number of wireless communication devices)].
As per claim 15, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 12, wherein the message further includes third information,
wherein the second information includes a third identification of the second wireless communication device, and the third information includes a second identification of the timing reference node, and wherein the third identification is not identical to the second identification [fig. 9, paragraphs 0094, 0095, 0107, wherein the second information includes a third identification of the second wireless communication device, and the third information includes a second identification of the timing reference node, and wherein the third identification is not identical to the second identification (the responder IDs 914 may be UE IDs or respective group IDs for each of the responder devices; order of responder IDs 914 included in the responder ID field 904)].
As per claim 16, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 12,
wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the second wireless communication devices serves as the non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the second wireless communication devices serves as the non-timing reference node of the group (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order; Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)], and wherein the group is created by at least one of: a Road Side Unit (RSU), a base station, or a positioning server [fig. 2, 4, paragraphs 0053, 0059, 0060, 0074, 0080, wherein the group is created by at least one of: a Road Side Unit (RSU), a base station, or a positioning server (the RSU 302 broadcasts a first PRS over the sidelink channel; Anchor devices may include, for example, RSUs (e.g., RSUs 404, 406, and 408))].
As per claim 17, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 12, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the second wireless communication device serves as the non-timing reference node of the group, the method further comprises:
determining, by the second wireless communication device, a timing difference between a first transmission timing of the first wireless communication device and a second transmission timing of the second wireless communication device at least based on the second transmission timing, and a propagation delay between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device [fig. 3, paragraphs 0060-0063, 0100, determining, by the second wireless communication device, a timing difference between a first transmission timing of the first wireless communication device and a second transmission timing of the second wireless communication device at least based on the second transmission timing, and a propagation delay between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (the RTT measurement comprises the first propagation time, (t2−t1), and the second propagation time, (t4−t3); determine the time difference (t3−t2))].
As per claim 18, Choi discloses the wireless communication method of claim 12, wherein the first wireless communication device serves as the timing reference node of the group, while the second wireless communication device serves as the non-timing reference node of the group, the method further comprises:
determining, by the second wireless communication device, a timing difference between a first transmission timing of the first wireless communication device and a second transmission timing of the second wireless communication device at least based on locations of one or more symbols that the first wireless communication device transmits a positioning reference signal, the second transmission timing, and a propagation delay between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device [paragraphs 0060-0063, determining, by the second wireless communication device, a timing difference between a first transmission timing of the first wireless communication device and a second transmission timing of the second wireless communication device at least based on locations of one or more symbols that the first wireless communication device transmits a positioning reference signal, the second transmission timing, and a propagation delay between the first wireless communication device and the second wireless communication device (positioning information may include the PRS sequence ID, clock error noise standard deviation of the RSU 302, clock drift standard deviation of the RSU 302, location of the RSU 30)].
As per claim 19, Choi discloses a first wireless communication device [fig. 17, 18, paragraphs 0002, 0006, a first wireless communication device (the wireless communication device 1700 may correspond to a sidelink (e.g., V2X) device, such as an RSU, V-UE, P-UE, or other suitable sidelink device)], comprising:
at least one processor [fig. 17, paragraphs 0130, 0132, at least one processor (processor 1704)] configured to:
send, via a transmitter [fig. 17, paragraphs 0131, 0135, 0136, send, via a transmitter (transceiver 1710 provides a means for communicating)] to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication [fig. 1, 2, 5, paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0050, send, via a transmitter to one or more second wireless communication devices via a sidelink communication (D2D communications may utilize sidelink signaling to facilitate the direct communication between UEs; the UE 138 is functioning as a scheduling entity or a transmitting sidelink device, and UEs 140 and 142 may function as a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device)], a message including first information and second information [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0068, 0083, 0088, 0091, 0092, a message including first information and second information (responder fields 804 may include an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)],
wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0076, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0087, 0089, 0091, wherein the first information includes a first identification of the first wireless communication device and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group (anchor initiator device transmitting a responder group formation broadcast message including the selected anchor initiator device ID; initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to form a positioning group)], and the second information includes a second identification of the one or more second wireless communication devices [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0081, 0089, 0091, 0093, 0096, the second information includes a second identification of the one or more second wireless communication devices (a group association broadcast message 900 that may be transmitted by the group initiator includes basic fields 902 and a responder ID field 904)], and
wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order;)], while the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5-10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0080-0084, 0087-0089, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, the one or more second wireless communication devices are each configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group (Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node.
However, Choi’206 teaches wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node [fig. 3-5, paragraphs 0038, 0067, 0068, 0070, 0075, 0118, wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node (vehicle 404 (non-timing reference node) may transmit timing information (time difference) to RSU 402 (timing reference node); RSU 402 may estimate or compute a position of vehicle 404 and, in some implementations, a clock error, based on the timing information, and may transmit position data (and clock data) to vehicle 404; RSU 550 may also receive additional information 594 from UE 115, and RSU 550 may determine position data 592 based further on additional information 594)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Choi by including a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node as taught by Choi’206 because it would provide the Choi's device with the enhanced capability of improving the exchange timing information [Choi’206, paragraphs 0039, 0053].
As per claim 20, Choi discloses a second wireless communication device [fig. 17, 18, paragraphs 0002, 0006, a second wireless communication device (the wireless communication device 1700 may correspond to a sidelink (e.g., V2X) device, such as an RSU, V-UE, P-UE, or other suitable sidelink device)], comprising:
at least one processor [fig. 17, paragraphs 0130, 0132, at least one processor (processor 1704)] configured to:
send, via a transmitter [fig. 17, paragraphs 0131, 0135, 0136, send, via a transmitter (transceiver 1710 provides a means for communicating)] to a third wireless communication device via a sidelink communication [fig. 1, 2, 5, paragraphs 0002, 0003, 0050, send, via a transmitter to a third wireless communication device via a sidelink communication (D2D communications may utilize sidelink signaling to facilitate the direct communication between UEs; the UE 138 is functioning as a scheduling entity or a transmitting sidelink device, and UEs 140 and 142 may function as a scheduled entity or a receiving sidelink device)], a message including first information and second information [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0068, 0083, 0088, 0091, 0092, a message including first information and second information (responder fields 804 may include an initiator ID field 814 carrying an initiator ID of the initiator device for the positioning group and a responder ID field 816 carrying a list of responder IDs)],
wherein the second information includes a second identification of the second wireless communication device, and the first information includes a first identification of the one or more first wireless communication devices and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group [fig. 7-9, paragraphs 0061, 0076, 0078, 0080, 0081, 0087, 0089, 0091, 0093, 0096, wherein the second information includes a second identification of the second wireless communication device, and the first information includes a first identification of the one or more first wireless communication devices and that the first wireless communication device is a timing reference node of a group (anchor initiator device transmitting a responder group formation broadcast message including the selected anchor initiator device ID; initiator device 502 may broadcast (or groupcast) a first group formation broadcast message over the sidelink channel to form a positioning group; a group association broadcast message 900 that may be transmitted by the group initiator includes basic fields 902 and a responder ID field 904)], and
wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning [fig. 5, 6, 10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0082-0084, 0088, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, wherein the first wireless communication device is configured to serve as the timing reference node of the group for positioning (one or more of the anchor devices WCD1 1002, WCD2 1004, and WCD4 1008 can broadcast (or groupcast) initiator group formation broadcast messages (IGFMs) on the sidelink channel; the initiator devices (e.g., WCD1 1002 and WCD2 1004) can send a respective group association broadcast message that identifies the members of each positioning group and specifies a respective order of the members in that positioning group; the respective transmission timing of each of the PRSs from each of the wireless communication devices in the positioning group may be determined from the order;)], while the second wireless communication devices is configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group [fig. 5-10, paragraphs 0070, 0078, 0080-0084, 0087-0089, 0095, 0098, 0107, 0109, while the second wireless communication devices is configured to serve as a non-timing reference node of the group (Anchor devices - first wireless communication device; a non-anchor device (Responder devices) - one or more second wireless communication devices)].
Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node.
However, Choi’206 teaches wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node [fig. 3-5, paragraphs 0038, 0067, 0068, 0070, 0075, 0118, wherein a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node is determined by the non-timing reference node (vehicle 404 (non-timing reference node) may transmit timing information (time difference) to RSU 402 (timing reference node); RSU 402 may estimate or compute a position of vehicle 404 and, in some implementations, a clock error, based on the timing information, and may transmit position data (and clock data) to vehicle 404; RSU 550 may also receive additional information 594 from UE 115, and RSU 550 may determine position data 592 based further on additional information 594)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the device described in Choi by including a transmission time difference between the non-timing reference node and the timing reference node as taught by Choi’206 because it would provide the Choi's device with the enhanced capability of improving the exchange timing information [Choi’206, paragraphs 0039, 0053].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganesan et al., U.S. Publication No. 2023/0199802 discloses performed in sidelink to synchronize UEs belonging to different synchronization sources to a common synchronization timing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469