DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fire (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2019/0330041 A1), hereinafter referred to as Fire ‘041, in view of Kuelbs et al. (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2006/0193126 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kuelbs et al. ‘126.
Regarding claim 1, Fire ‘041 discloses a solar powered cooler (100) with a water filtration system, comprising: a main body (106), comprising: an upper shelf (ice bin) disposed at an upper portion of the main body, a drain shelf (141) disposed below the upper shelf to receive ice thereupon, the drain shelf comprising a removable charcoal filter removably (charcoal water filters) embedded within the drain shelf to filter water from the ice as the ice melts, and a water compartment (filtered water chamber) disposed below the drain shelf to collect the water as the ice disposed on the drain shelf melts {as shown in Figs. 1-3 and 25: Abstract, ¶¶ [0040], [0048], [0054] and [0070]}; and a lid (108) to open and close an opening (112) of the main body {¶ [0048]}, the lid comprising: an illumination unit (200/202) to illuminate in response to a user powering (204) on the illumination unit {see ¶¶ [0010] and [0074]}}.
However, Fire ‘041 fails to explicitly disclose the limitation of the illumination unit disposed on an inner surface of the lid.
Kuelbs et al ‘126 teach: the concept of the illumination unit (219) disposed on an inner surface (40) of the lid (16) {see Fig. 1B¶¶ [0024] and [0035-0037]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Fire ‘041 in view of Kuelbs et al ‘126 to include the illumination unit disposed on an inner surface of the lid, in order to facilitate illuminating the enclosure and the area around the enclosure in a decorative and functional manner {Kuelbs et al ‘126 – Abstract}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Fire ‘041 in view of Kuelbs et al ‘126 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fire ‘041 and Kuelbs et al ‘126 disclose and teach the solar powered cooler with the water filtration system of claim 1, Fire ‘041 further comprising: a solar panel (114/152/154) disposed on a surface of the lid and connected to the illumination unit to collect solar energy to provide power to the illumination unit {see Fig. 6: ¶¶ [0010-0011], [0055-0056] and [0075]}.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, see pages 3-6, filed 12/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2 under 35 USC § 103(a) have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as detailed above.
Conclusion
3. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20190300385-A1 to Shotey; Marcus J.
US-6626006-B1 to Tedder; Carl Kenneth.
US-6558077-B1 to Colson; Cameron M.
US-4826594-A to Sedman; Raymond R.
US-4764374-A to Grimberg; Georges S.
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
02/12/2026