Claims 1 and 9 are amended. Claims 2-6 and 10-14 are cancelled. No claims have been added. Currently claims 1, 7-9 and 15 are under review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 2, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues on page 6 of the remarks that the cited references do not disclose the claim limitations, specifically, when the light output intensity of the backlight unit decreases, the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and the gain of the dynamic contrast curve are sequentially adjusted.
The Office disagrees. Safaee-Rad teaches in paragraph 28 that reducing backlight reduces battery consumption to extend battery life and teaches in paragraph 46 that processor 102 may utilize calibration data and apply it to incoming image to perform color correction of the image among other functions (contrast adjustment) and perform tone correction. Guerin teaches a functional block diagram of a color correction unit in figure 7 and teaches in paragraphs 101-102, that global tone mapping is performed at item 720 prior to contrast adjustment at item 725. Therefore the combination of Safaee-Rad and Guerin clearly teaches sequentially adjusting the gain for dynamic tone mapping and gain for the dynamic contrast curve.
The Applicant simply argues on page 7 of the remarks that the cited references fail to teach wherein the sequential adjusting includes “first adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve to have a larger value than a straight line representing a 1:1 ratio, in which a ratio of an input value of an input image signal to an output value of an output image signal is 1” and secondarily “adjusting the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve for the input image signal for which the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is first adjusted so that the ratio of the input value to the output value in a low-grayscale region is less than 1 and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1”. The Office disagrees. Safaee-Rad teaches in figures 4B and 4C, and portion of fig. 4D that “the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve to have a larger value than a straight line representing a 1:1 ratio, in which a ratio of an input value of an input image signal to an output value of an output image signal is 1” and paragraph 65, “The dotted lines 431, 433, and 435 represent the net tone response resulting from application of the gamma correction curve to the original tone response curve, where the net response is linear, as illustrated in these examples”. Yamashita teaches in figure 2, lower portion of USn that “the ratio of the input value to the output value in a low-grayscale region is less than 1 and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1” and paragraphs 151, 157, and 159. Therefore the cited references, Safaee-Rad, Guerin, and Yamashita in combination teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as argued.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: typographic errors. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, lines 21-22: “straight line representing a 1:1 ration, which [[a]]the ratio of an input value of [[an]] the input image signal to an output value of [[an]]the output image signal is 1, and”
Claim 1, line 24: “signal for which the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is first adjusted so that [[the]]a second ratio of [[the]]a second input value to [[the]]a second output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 and the second ratio of the second input value to the second output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1” – since the claims indicate adjusting the gain of dynamic tone mapping is first and adjusting the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve is second, the ratios must also occur sequentially.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaee-Rad et al. (Pub. No.: US 2012/0056911 A1) hereinafter referred to as Safaee-Rad in view of Guerin et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0114750 A1) hereinafter referred to as Guerin, and in view of Yamashita et al. (Pub. No.: US 2007/0080975 A1) hereinafter referred to as Yamashita.
With respect to Claim 1, Safaee-Rad teaches a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶40), comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, item 106; ¶40); a backlight unit (¶40, “Device 100 may itself include a backlight display (i.e., display 106)”; ¶44) configured to output a light to the display panel; and a control unit (fig. 1, item 102; ¶41) configured to: decrease a light output intensity of the backlight unit according to a remaining amount of a battery supplying power to the display device (¶28, “One such measure is backlight modulation, e.g., reduction in backlight, for displays that make use of backlighting. The ability to reduce backlight levels may be helpful in reducing power consumption by a display, and extending battery life of the mobile device incorporating the display”; ¶45, “Based on the content, processor 102 may determine an amount of reduction of backlight level of display 106”), adjust tone according to the decrease of the light output intensity (¶46, “Processor 102 may utilize the calibration data, e.g., color correction matrices 116, and apply it to an incoming image (e.g., the image pixel data) to perform panel color correction (PCC) of the image, among other functions (e.g., scaling, contrast adjustment, rotation, or other display effects). Processor 102 may also utilize tone correction LUT 114 to perform tone correction, or luminance adjustment”; ¶47); adjust contrast for an input image signal according to the decrease of the light output intensity (¶46, “Processor 102 may utilize the calibration data, e.g., color correction matrices 116, and apply it to an incoming image (e.g., the image pixel data) to perform panel color correction (PCC) of the image, among other functions (e.g., scaling, contrast adjustment, rotation, or other display effects)”; ¶55, “a display panel backlight level or level range may be determined and the corresponding color corrections matrices retrieved and applied to the displayed image in addition to contrast adjustment”; ¶94, “Additionally, ABL unit 711 may generate a contrast enhancement lookup table (LUT_V) and send the lookup table to contrast enhancement unit 715, which utilizes the contrast lookup table to adjust the contrast in the image. The contrast enhancement is therefore applied to the image content in the HSV space color space. ABL unit 711 may generate the contrast enhancement lookup table based on the incoming image to boost up the brightness of the image in the context of the adjusted backlight level”); perform dynamic tone mapping on an input image signal through a dynamic tone mapping curve (¶66, “input values (e.g., along the X axis of FIGS. 4B-4D) can be mapped to adjusted output values according to tone response adjustment curves 411, 413 and 415. The desired tone response is illustrated as the linear dotted lines (i.e., desired tone response curves 431, 433 and 435) in each respective graph”) and perform dynamic contrast mapping through a look up table (¶94, “utilizes the contrast lookup table to adjust the contrast in the image”); and output, via the display panel, an output image signal generated according to the performed dynamic tone mapping and dynamic contrast mapping (fig. 9, item 911; ¶51; ¶104, “Processor 102 may then apply the retrieved color correction matrix to the image color data representing the image content (907). Processor 102 may also retrieve tone correction information (e.g., tone correction LUT 114 from memory 104) associated with the display and apply the tone correction to the image data (909). Processor 102 may then send the adjusted backlight level and the image with corrected color and tone responses to a display device (e.g., display 106) (911), such that the accuracy of the color response of the image is maintained regardless of the backlight level adjustment. Processor 102 may also generate contrast enhancement data to adjust the brightness of the image based on the adjusted backlight level”), wherein adjusting includes: adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve (figs. 4B, 4C, and 4D, items 411, 413, and 415 respectively) to have a larger value than a straight line representing a 1:1 ratio (figs. 4B, 4C, and 4D, items 431, 433, and 435 respectively), in which a ratio of an input value of an input image signal to an output value of an output image signal is 1 (¶65, ““The dotted lines 431, 433, and 435 represent the net tone response resulting from application of the gamma correction curve to the original tone response curve, where the net response is linear, as illustrated in these examples””).
Safaee-Rad does not mention that adjusting tone is to adjust a gain of a dynamic tone mapping curve according to the decrease of the light output intensity, that adjusting contrast is to adjust a gain of a separate dynamic contrast curve for an input image signal according to the decrease of the light output intensity after adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve; nor does Safaee-Rad mention to perform dynamic tone mapping on an input image signal through a dynamic tone mapping curve whose gain is adjusted and then perform dynamic contrast mapping through the dynamic contrast curve whose gain is adjusted, wherein the control unit is configured to sequentially adjust the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve when the light output intensity of the backlight unit is decreased.
Guerin teaches color correction by receiving an input image signal (fig. 7; ¶100), adjusting a gain of a dynamic tone mapping curve according to luminance (fig. 7, item 720; ¶77, “A global tone mapping gain function g may be applied as y=g(Y(x))*x”; ¶101), adjusting a gain of a separate dynamic contrast curve according to luminance after adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve (fig. 7, item 725; ¶102); and performing dynamic tone mapping on the input image signal through the dynamic tone mapping curve whose gain is adjusted (¶101) and then perform dynamic contrast mapping through the dynamic contrast curve, whose gain is adjusted (¶102); wherein the control unit is configured to sequentially adjust the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve (fig. 7, item 720 is performed prior to item 725) and the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve (fig. 7, item 725).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Safaee-Rad, to incorporate Guerin’s color correction unit into the processor of Safaee-Rad which also performs color correction, such that adjusting tone is to adjust a gain of a dynamic tone mapping curve according to luminance such as the decrease of the light output intensity, such that adjusting contrast is to adjust a gain of a separate dynamic contrast curve for an input image signal according to luminance such as the decrease of the light output intensity after adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve; and to perform dynamic tone mapping on an input image signal through a dynamic tone mapping curve whose gain is adjusted and then perform dynamic contrast mapping through the dynamic contrast curve, such that the dynamic contrast curve whose gain is adjusted is in place of the look up table, resulting in wherein the control unit is configured to sequentially adjust the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve when the light output intensity of the backlight unit is decreased, as taught by Guerin so as to provide color correction at a luminance value (¶5).
Safaee-Rad and Guerin combined do not teach second adjusting the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve for the input image signal for which the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is first adjusted so that the ratio of the input value to the output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1.
Yamashita teaches a display device (fig. 1; ¶153), comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, receiver of items CBout, CRout, and Yout); and a visual processing portion (¶153) configured to: adjust a gain of the dynamic contrast curve (¶151; ¶159), and output, via the display panel, an output image signal generated according to the adjusted gains (¶157); wherein the gain of the dynamic contrast curve is adjusted so that a ratio of an input value to an output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 (fig. 2, lower protion of USn) and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1 (fig. 2, upper portion of USn; ¶160).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Safaee-Rad and Guerin, resulting in adjusting the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve for the input image signal for which the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is first adjusted so that the ratio of the input value to the output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1, as taught by Yamashita so as to achieve a visual processing device that can execute precise contrast adjustment on an input image signal and that does not lead to discrepancies in the output timing of the image signal that is output (¶10).
With respect to Claim 7, claim 1 is incorporated, Safaee-Rad teaches wherein the control unit is configured to: further increase the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and thereafter further increase the gain of the dynamic contrast curve based on an illuminance measured by an illuminance sensor being greater than or equal to a certain illuminance threshold (fig. 11, item 1206; ¶62, “The luminance of the displayed processed RGB inputs may then be measured”; ¶71; ¶115, “when the backlight level changes ("yes" 1206), backlight selection unit 110 may determine the new backlight level of backlight display 106 (1202), and color correction unit 112 may adjust the input data based on a particular color correction matrix that is associated with the new determined backlight level (1203). In some examples, this may involve the application of a different matrix than the previous matrix used for the previous backlight level. Processor 102 may then apply the adjusted inputs to drive backlight display 106 at the current backlight level (1205). Steps 1203-1206 may repeat anytime the backlight level changes”).
With respect to Claim 9, Safaee-Rad teaches a method (fig. 11; ¶113) of operating a display device (fig. 1, item 100; ¶40) including a display panel (fig. 1, item 106; ¶40) and a backlight unit (¶40, “Device 100 may itself include a backlight display (i.e., display 106)”; ¶44) outputting light to the display panel, comprising: decreasing a light output intensity of the backlight unit according to a remaining amount of a battery supplying power to the display device (fig. 11, item 1202; ¶28, “One such measure is backlight modulation, e.g., reduction in backlight, for displays that make use of backlighting. The ability to reduce backlight levels may be helpful in reducing power consumption by a display, and extending battery life of the mobile device incorporating the display”; ¶45, “Based on the content, processor 102 may determine an amount of reduction of backlight level of display 106”; ¶114), adjusting tone according to the decrease of the light output intensity (fig. 11, item 1204; ¶115); adjusting contrast for an input image signal according to the decrease of the light output intensity (fig. 11, item 1203; ¶46, “Processor 102 may utilize the calibration data, e.g., color correction matrices 116, and apply it to an incoming image (e.g., the image pixel data) to perform panel color correction (PCC) of the image, among other functions (e.g., scaling, contrast adjustment, rotation, or other display effects)”; ¶94, “Additionally, ABL unit 711 may generate a contrast enhancement lookup table (LUT_V) and send the lookup table to contrast enhancement unit 715, which utilizes the contrast lookup table to adjust the contrast in the image. The contrast enhancement is therefore applied to the image content in the HSV space color space. ABL unit 711 may generate the contrast enhancement lookup table based on the incoming image to boost up the brightness of the image in the context of the adjusted backlight level”; ¶115, “color correction unit 112 may adjust the input data based on color correction matrices 116 stored in memory 104. In particular, different color correction matrices 116 may be defined for different backlight levels, and color correction unit 112 may adjust the input data based on a particular color correction matrix that is associated with the determined backlight level (1203)”); performing dynamic tone mapping on an input image signal through a dynamic tone mapping curve (fig. 11, item 1205; ¶66, “input values (e.g., along the X axis of FIGS. 4B-4D) can be mapped to adjusted output values according to tone response adjustment curves 411, 413 and 415. The desired tone response is illustrated as the linear dotted lines (i.e., desired tone response curves 431, 433 and 435) in each respective graph”; ¶115) and performing dynamic contrast mapping through a look up table (¶94, “utilizes the contrast lookup table to adjust the contrast in the image”; ¶115); and outputting, via the display panel, an output image signal generated according to the performed dynamic tone mapping and dynamic contrast (¶115, “Processor 102 may then apply the adjusted inputs to drive backlight display 106 at the current backlight level (1205)”); wherein adjusting includes: adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve (figs. 4B, 4C, and 4D, items 411, 413, and 415 respectively) to have a larger value than a straight line representing a 1:1 ratio (figs. 4B, 4C, and 4D, items 431, 433, and 435 respectively), in which a ratio of an input value of an input image signal to an output value of an output image signal is 1 (¶65, ““The dotted lines 431, 433, and 435 represent the net tone response resulting from application of the gamma correction curve to the original tone response curve, where the net response is linear, as illustrated in these examples””).
Safaee-Rad does not mention that adjusting tone is adjusting a gain of a dynamic tone mapping curve according to the decrease of the light output intensity, that adjusting contrast is adjusting a gain of a separate dynamic contrast curve for an input image signal according to the decrease of the light output intensity after adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve; nor does Safaee-Rad mention to perform dynamic tone mapping on an input image signal through a dynamic tone mapping curve whose gain is adjusted and then perform dynamic contrast mapping through the dynamic contrast curve, the dynamic contrast curve whose gain is adjusted; wherein the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve are sequentially adjusted, when the light output intensity of the backlight unit is decreased.
Guerin teaches color correction method (figs. 4-5; ¶70; ¶83) by receiving an input image signal (fig. 4; item 402; ¶73) and determining luminance values (fig. 4, item 404 and fig. 5; ¶75; ¶87), adjusting a gain of a dynamic tone mapping curve according to luminance (¶76; ¶77, “A global tone mapping gain function g may be applied as y=g(Y(x))*x”; ¶101), adjusting a gain of a separate dynamic contrast curve according to luminance after adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve (¶81-82; ¶102); and performing dynamic tone mapping on the input image signal through the dynamic tone mapping curve whose gain is adjusted (¶101) and then perform dynamic contrast mapping through the dynamic contrast curve, whose gain is adjusted (fig. 4, item 408; ¶82; ¶102); wherein the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve (fig. 7, item 720 is performed prior to item 725) and the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve (fig. 7, item 725) are sequentially adjusted.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Safaee-Rad, to incorporate processes of Guerin’s color correction unit into color correction method of Safaee-Rad such that adjusting tone is adjusting a gain of a dynamic tone mapping curve according to luminance such as the decrease of the light output intensity, such that adjusting contrast is adjusting a gain of a separate dynamic contrast curve for an input image signal according to luminance such as the decrease of the light output intensity after adjusting the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve; and performing dynamic tone mapping on an input image signal through the dynamic tone mapping curve whose gain is adjusted and then perform dynamic contrast mapping through the dynamic contrast curve, such that the dynamic contrast curve whose gain is adjusted is in place of the look up table, resulting in wherein the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve are sequentially adjusted, when the light output intensity of the backlight unit is decreased, as taught by Guerin so as to provide color correction at a luminance value (¶5).
Safaee-Rad and Guerin combined do not teach second adjusting the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve for the input image signal for which the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is first adjusted so that the ratio of the input value to the output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1.
Yamashita teaches a display device (fig. 1; ¶153), comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, receiver of items CBout, CRout, and Yout); and a visual processing portion (¶153) configured to: adjust a gain of the dynamic contrast curve (¶151; ¶159), and output, via the display panel, an output image signal generated according to the adjusted gains (¶157); wherein the gain of the dynamic contrast curve is adjusted so that a ratio of an input value to an output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 (fig. 2, lower protion of USn) and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1 (fig. 2, upper portion of USn; ¶160).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined method of Safaee-Rad and Guerin, resulting in second adjusting the gain of the separate dynamic contrast curve for the input image signal for which the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is first adjusted so that the ratio of the input value to the output value in a low grayscale region is less than 1 and the ratio of the input value to the output value in a high grayscale region is greater than 1, as taught by Yamashita so as to achieve a visual processing device that can execute precise contrast adjustment on an input image signal and that does not lead to discrepancies in the output timing of the image signal that is output (¶10).
With respect to Claim 15, claim 9 is incorporated, Safaee-Rad teaches further comprising: further increasing the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve and thereafter further increasing the gain of the dynamic contrast curve based on an illuminance measured by an illuminance sensor being greater than or equal to a certain illuminance threshold (fig. 11, item 1206; ¶62, “The luminance of the displayed processed RGB inputs may then be measured”; ¶71; ¶115, “when the backlight level changes ("yes" 1206), backlight selection unit 110 may determine the new backlight level of backlight display 106 (1202), and color correction unit 112 may adjust the input data based on a particular color correction matrix that is associated with the new determined backlight level (1203). In some examples, this may involve the application of a different matrix than the previous matrix used for the previous backlight level. Processor 102 may then apply the adjusted inputs to drive backlight display 106 at the current backlight level (1205). Steps 1203-1206 may repeat anytime the backlight level changes”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaee-Rad, Guerin, and Yamashita as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2007/0188429 A1) hereinafter referred to as Yamaguchi.
With respect to Claim 8, claim 1 is incorporated, Safaee-Rad, Guerin, and Yamashita combined do not mention wherein the battery is provided separately from the display device.
Yamaguchi teaches a display device (fig. 9; ¶94);, comprising: a display panel (figs. 23-24, items 111 and 113; ¶56-57); a backlight unit (figs. 23-24; ¶56-57) configured to output a light to the display panel; and a control unit (fig. 9, item 26; ¶95) configured to: decrease a light output intensity of the backlight unit according to a remaining amount of a battery supplying power to the display device (¶63; ¶96), adjust a dynamic tone mapping curve (¶70, “tone after coloring change is Y-new, maximum tone in the screen is Y-max and minimum tone is Y-min, Y-new can be calculated from: Y-new=(Y-org-Y-min)*(255/(Y-max-Y-min))”) and a dynamic contrast curve (¶70, “a method of changing coloring such that the contrast between the colors used increases may be used”; ¶99, “First, the difference in contrast may be gradually widened using colors as close as possible to the original coloring and finally coloring may be adopted which produces a difference with the most striking contrast irrespective of the original colors such as black with a white background, and vice versa”) for an input image signal according to the decrease of the light output intensity, and output, via the display panel, an output image signal generated according to the adjustments (¶99, “When coloring is changed, the screen data generator 31 generates display luminance setting information and sends it to the communication controller 34 in order to inform the screen display device that it is possible to change the luminance of the display. The screen data generator 31 includes luminance determiner.”; ¶100- see figs. 9-10, where battery level information is sent from a screen display device to a screen transmission device to determine the output according to the decrease of the light output intensity, the output is sent via the communication controller 34 to the network and received by the communication controller 23 for display on item 21); wherein the gain of the dynamic tone mapping curve is adjusted after the gain of the dynamic contrast curve is adjusted in response to decrease of the light output intensity (¶70, “a method of changing coloring such that the contrast between the colors used increases may be used … tone after coloring change is Y-new”; ¶99, “Upon receiving the battery remaining amount information of the screen display device from the battery remaining amount information receiver 62, the screen data generator 31 changes the screen to be generated according to the level of the battery remaining amount…. As a further specific example of the color change, it is possible to consider a method of changing over to such coloring that the difference in contrast of the color of the window and the color of characters which are displayed thereon increases so that it is easily visible to the user even when the luminance of the display decreases…First, the difference in contrast may be gradually widened using colors as close as possible to the original coloring and finally coloring may be adopted which produces a difference with the most striking contrast irrespective of the original colors such as black with a white background, and vice versa”); wherein the battery (fig. 7, item 50 provided as a separate item from item 49; ¶78) is provided separately from the display device (fig. 7, item 49).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined display device of Safaee-Rad, Guerin, and Yamashita, wherein the battery is provided separately from the display device, as taught by Yamaguchi, so as to provide common methods of providing a power source either separately or with the display device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lin (Pub. No.: US 2018/0075795 A1) see figure 6 and paragraph 44.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/Examiner, Art Unit 2621