DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-13, 15, 17, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (hereinafter Xie)(US 2022/0408321) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen)(US 2025/0159075).
Regarding claim 1, Xie teaches a calling method(Fig. 9), comprising: displaying an incoming call notification corresponding to an incoming call request on a first apparatus (item S22, displaying on a target device voice call) and one or more eligible second apparatuses(Fig. 9, incoming call; target device the first apparatus; first device in S22 is the eligible second apparatus),
in response to receiving the incoming call request by the first apparatus(item S21 in Fig. 9, target device receives incoming call),
wherein eligibility of the one or more eligible second apparatuses comprises a communication connection established between the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses and operability on the incoming call request by the one or more eligible second apparatuses(a device identifier of a first device that can perform voice call transfer, item S22 in Fig. 9); and
transferring a call corresponding to the incoming call request to a target apparatus and answering the call on the target apparatus,
in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is to be answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification(item S23 in Fig. 9; selection operation based on the first identifier; call application interface of the target device displayed the identifier of the first device),
wherein the target apparatus is the first apparatus or any of the one or more eligible second apparatuses(items S24, S25 in Fig. 9; voice call transferred to the first device).
Xie teaches all the particulars of the claim except stopping display of the incoming call notification on an apparatus other than the target apparatus among the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification. However, Chen teaches in an analogous art stopping display of the incoming call notification on an apparatus other than the target apparatus among the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification(abstract: enabling the super call function of the first device; and disabling a super call function of the second device, after a third incoming call request is received, the second device skips displaying the third incoming call request, and the third device displays the third incoming call request; also P[0236-0237]; also first device is a coordinating device). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein stopping display of the incoming call notification on an apparatus other than the target apparatus among the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification in order to have improved power saving.
Regarding claim 2, Xie teaches the calling method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the incoming call notification corresponding to the incoming call request on the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses comprises: in response to the first apparatus displaying the incoming call notification corresponding to the incoming call request, sending a first request to the one or more eligible second apparatuses to display the incoming call notification corresponding to the incoming call request on the one or more eligible second apparatuses, wherein the first request requests display of the incoming call notification(P[0236], incoming call notification detected by the first device; displayed on the screen of the first device).
Regarding claim 4, Xie teaches all the particulars of the claim except displaying an icon on the first apparatus, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification, wherein the icon represents that the call is running in background. However, Chen teaches in an analogous art displaying an icon on the first apparatus, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification, wherein the icon represents that the call is running in background(abstract; disabling call function of the first device; do not display the second incoming call request; skip displaying the third incoming call request). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein displaying an icon on the first apparatus, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification, wherein the icon represents that the call is running in background in order to have improved power saving.
Regarding claim 6, Xie teaches the calling method according to claim 1, wherein the eligibility comprises at least one of: the one or more eligible second apparatuses sharing a same account with the first apparatus; Bluetooth of the one or more eligible second apparatuses and Bluetooth of the first apparatus being in an open state and within a discoverable range; the one or more eligible second apparatuses and the first apparatus being in a same local area network; or the first apparatus communicating with the one or more eligible second apparatuses through a network system(P[0153], Bluetooth communication between the headset and the mobile phone).
Claims 7-8, 11-13, 17 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-2, 6, 1-2, 6 respectively.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Claims 18-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (hereinafter Xie)(US 2022/0408321) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen)(US 2025/0159075) and Chalabi et al. (hereinafter Chalabi)(US 2017/0374187).
Regarding claim 3, Xie in view of Chen teaches all the particulars of the claim except, wherein the target apparatus is any of the one or more eligible second apparatuses, and answering the call on the target apparatus comprises: collecting far-end audio data of the call based on a sound collection device of the first apparatus, and sending the far-end audio data to the target apparatus, to enable the target apparatus to invoke a sound playing device of the target apparatus to play the far-end audio data and invoke a sound collection device of the target apparatus to collect near-end audio data of the call; and obtaining the near-end audio data of the call collected by the sound collection device of the target apparatus, and sending the near-end audio data to a far-end apparatus of the call. However, Chalabi teaches in an analogous art the calling method, wherein the target apparatus is any of the one or more eligible second apparatuses, and answering the call on the target apparatus comprises: collecting far-end audio data of the call based on a sound collection device of the first apparatus, and sending the far-end audio data to the target apparatus, to enable the target apparatus to invoke a sound playing device of the target apparatus to play the far-end audio data and invoke a sound collection device of the target apparatus to collect near-end audio data of the call; and obtaining the near-end audio data of the call collected by the sound collection device of the target apparatus, and sending the near-end audio data to a far-end apparatus of the call(P[0002-0003], control the call using the display screen of the phone; transferred from that microphone to the far-end user terminal; phone to the headset or earpiece via the pairing connection; P[0072], microphone near the speaker’s mouth; P[0003], microphone to the phone; bluetooth). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention wherein the target apparatus is any of the one or more eligible second apparatuses, and answering the call on the target apparatus comprises: collecting far-end audio data of the call based on a sound collection device of the first apparatus, and sending the far-end audio data to the target apparatus, to enable the target apparatus to invoke a sound playing device of the target apparatus to play the far-end audio data and invoke a sound collection device of the target apparatus to collect near-end audio data of the call; and obtaining the near-end audio data of the call collected by the sound collection device of the target apparatus, and sending the near-end audio data to a far-end apparatus of the call in order to have improved efficiency.
Claims 9, 14 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (hereinafter Xie)(US 2022/0408321) in view of Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen)(US 2025/0159075) and Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen-1)(US 2024/0129694).
Regarding claim 5, Xie in view of Chen teaches all the particulars of the claim except displaying a call interface on the first apparatus in response to detecting that the icon is selected, wherein the call interface comprises a first controller configured to at least one of display an apparatus in a current call or switch an apparatus in a current call; displaying an apparatus list in response to the first controller being selected, wherein the apparatus list comprises a third apparatus for a user to select for call transfer, and the third apparatus comprises the one or more eligible second apparatuses; and transferring the current call to the third apparatus and answering the call on the third apparatus, in response to that the third apparatus in the apparatus list is selected. However, Chen-1 teaches in an analogous art displaying a call interface on the first apparatus in response to detecting that the icon is selected, wherein the call interface comprises a first controller configured to at least one of display an apparatus in a current call or switch an apparatus in a current call; displaying an apparatus list in response to the first controller being selected, wherein the apparatus list comprises a third apparatus for a user to select for call transfer, and the third apparatus comprises the one or more eligible second apparatuses; and transferring the current call to the third apparatus and answering the call on the third apparatus, in response to that the third apparatus in the apparatus list is selected(P[0123], when the current call is connected or answered on the tablet computer the mobile phone may return the call to a background and display call information on a current interface of the mobile phone in the form of small icon; the icon is displayed on the mobile phone and interface displays a prompt indicating that the call is connected in the tablet computer; Fig. 14, mobile phone, tablet computer, notebook computer). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention displaying a call interface on the first apparatus in response to detecting that the icon is selected, wherein the call interface comprises a first controller configured to at least one of display an apparatus in a current call or switch an apparatus in a current call; displaying an apparatus list in response to the first controller being selected, wherein the apparatus list comprises a third apparatus for a user to select for call transfer, and the third apparatus comprises the one or more eligible second apparatuses; and transferring the current call to the third apparatus and answering the call on the third apparatus, in response to that the third apparatus in the apparatus list is selected in order to have reduced power consumption(P[0124]).
Claims 10, 16 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, It can be concluded that in Chen, the second and third devices do not display the incoming call request when the super call function is disabled, but not when the call request is answered.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen teaches in abstract,” where after a second incoming call request is received, the second device and the third device do not display the second incoming call request; enabling the super call function of the first device”.
Applicant argues that “By contrast, in the present application, display of the incoming call notification is stopped on an apparatus other than the target apparatus among the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses, when the first apparatus determines that the incoming call request has been answered on the target device based on the incoming call notification”.
Chen teaches in abstract,” a third incoming call request is received, the second device skips displaying the third incoming call request(display of the incoming call notification is stopped on an apparatus other than the target apparatus), and the third device displays the third incoming call request(incoming call request is answered by the target device.
Also first device of Chen is coordinating device. Also teaches in {0236-0237], enabling the super call function of the first device; third call request is received the second device skips displaying the incoming call request and the third device (target) displays the incoming call.
Applicant argues that Chen fails to explicitly disclose the feature "stopping displav of the incoming call notification on an apparatus other than the target apparatus among the first apparatus and the one or more eligible second apparatuses, in response to determining, by the first apparatus, that the incoming call request is answered on the target apparatus based on the incoming call notification" in amended claim 1 of the present application.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response examiner respectfully submits the following shown in P[0236-0237]:
[0236] Step S3305: Enable the super call function of the first device in response to the user clicking the super call function button in the super call interface.
[0237] Step S3306: Disable the super call function of the second device in response to the user clicking the super call function button in the super setting interface of the second device, where after a third incoming call request is received, the second device skips displaying the third incoming call request, and the third device displays the third incoming call request.
Also first device is the coordination device P[0004] and is performing coordination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647