DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatano et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0057236)
Regarding claim 1, a liquid supply apparatus comprising: a holding member (1) configured to detachably hold a tray (12) on which a container (110/112), that is flexible [as the remaining amount of ink in the main body decreases, the container size changes and the lever 24 pivots with the container; Paragraph 0070] and is provided with a supply port of supplying liquid to a recording head, is placed with respect to the liquid supply apparatus (Figures 2-3; Paragraphs 0055, 0058-0059, 0065, 0068-0070)
A receiving member (42) that is provided below the holding member attached to the liquid supply apparatus and is configured to receive a liquid leaking from the container (Figure 7; Paragraph 0073)
Wherein an angle of a bottom surface of the holding member (Figures 3B, 4-2; Paragraph 0063; support 10 includes curved portions) with respect to a horizontal plane is different from an angle of a bottom surface of the receiving member with respect to the horizontal plane (Figure 7)
Regarding claim 2, wherein an inclination angle of the bottom surface of the holding member with respect to the horizontal plane is larger than an inclination angle of the bottom surface of the receiving member with respect to the horizontal plane (Figures 3B, 4-2, 7; Paragraph 0063; support 10 includes curved portions)
Regarding claim 3, wherein the bottom surface of the holding member (1) is inclined with respect to the horizontal plane such that the supply port is downward (Figures 3B, 4-2, 5-7; Paragraph 0063; support 10 includes curved portions)
Regarding claim 7, the holding member has a guide path configured to guide liquid toward the receiving member (the receiving member 42 will receive and store ink that is leaked below the holding member; Figure 7; Paragraph 0073)
Regarding claim 12, wherein the liquid is ink for performing recording with the recording head (Abstract; Paragraphs 0052-0053)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0057236)
Regarding claim 4, Hatano discloses a receiving member except for a height of an upper end of a side wall of the receiving member is higher than a height of a lowest part of the bottom surface of the holding member. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to increase the size of the receiving member, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the size of the receiving member, for the purpose of reducing the change of ink spilling or overflowing
Regarding claim 5, Hatano discloses a receiving member except for at least a part of a width in a planar direction of the receiving member is larger than a width in a planar direction of the holding member. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to increase the size of the receiving member, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the size of the receiving member, for the purpose of reducing the change of ink spilling or overflowing
Regarding claim 6, Hatano discloses a receiving member except for a volume allowing a liquid of the receiving member to be received is set to be equal to or greater than a volume per one of the container. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to increase the size of the receiving member, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the size of the receiving member, for the purpose of reducing the change of ink spilling or overflowing
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatano et al (U.S. Pub. 2017/0057236) in view of Suzuki et al (U.S. Pub. 2009/0015632)
Regarding claim 8, Hatano does not expressly disclose a detection sensor that is disposed in the receiving member and detects a liquid. Suzuki discloses it is known in the art to use a sensor (111, 112) to detect a liquid (Figures 6-9; Paragraph 0076)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suzuki into the device of Hatano, for the purpose of determining the amount of liquid contained within the receiving member
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki discloses a plurality of sensors (111, 112) which are located at a front side and a rear side of the receiving member (40) (Figures 6-9; Paragraph 0076)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suzuki into the device of Hatano, for the purpose of determining the amount of liquid contained within the receiving member
Regarding claim 10, Hatano discloses a receiving member which is below a lowest part of the bottom surface of the holding member (Figure 7; Paragraph 0073). Suzuki discloses it is known in the art to use a sensor (111, 112) to detect a liquid (Figures 6-9; Paragraph 0076)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suzuki into the device of Hatano, for the purpose of determining the amount of liquid contained within the receiving member
Regarding claim 11, Hatano discloses determining if the container(s) are full, therefore it is obvious a notification will occur when it is determined the containers are full (Figures 6-9; Paragraph 0081)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suzuki into the device of Hatano, for the purpose of determining the amount of liquid contained within the receiving member
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 January 6, 2026