DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
10/28/2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the arguments filed on 10/28/2025. Claims 1-
20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5-6,8-9,12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 20220382477 A1) in view of AGARWAL et al. (US 20230143375 A1) hereinafter Wei and AGARWAL.
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches A method, comprising: accessing, by a memory system controller of a memory system, metadata stored in a first tier of memory of a first memory device of the memory system based on a command to access data associated with the metadata; (“the appliance 108 may operate as an application delivery controller (ADC) to provide clients with access to business applications and other data deployed in a datacenter”) (paragraph [0053] line 3-4)
(“data objects include metadata about the data files, folders, etc., that are stored in the data object”) (paragraph [0031] line 4-5)
(“the data object can be stored (e.g., cached) on edge servers (e.g., edge server 26) for access by one or more users”) (paragraph [0031] line 12-13) (i.e. Fig 16 illustrates appliance 108 may operate as a controller to provide clients with access to business applications where data objects which includes metadata can be stored om servers for access by users)
transferring, by the memory system controller, the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system based on the quantity of accesses of the metadata satisfying the threshold quantity of accesses, (“the predictive access transfer system 14 applies a set of access activity rules to decide whether and when to move data objects 38 (shown in FIG. 2) between tiers in the storage system 10. The predictive access transfer system 14 can include an access activity monitor 30 that tracks access activity from the distributed storage system 10”) (paragraph [0032] line 3-5) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates predictive access transfer system 14 can include an access activity monitor 30 that tracks access activity from the distributed storage system 10 and applies set of access activity rules to decide whether and when to move data objects 38 between memory tiers in the storage system 10)
wherein the first tier of memory of the first memory device is associated with a first access latency tai is different from a second access latency associated with the second tier of memory of the second memory device. (“These higher-priority tiers can be tailored to have relatively low latency and higher transactional rates than lower-priority tiers. Lower-priority, or cold storage tiers can deploy relatively basic or less sophisticated drives, standard or slower transport protocols”) (paragraph [0034] line 8-10) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates higher-priority memory tiers of storage system 10 can have relatively low latency and higher transactional rates than lower-priority tiers. In other words, Tier 1 may have different latency than tier 2 of storage system based on priority)
Wei teaches accessing metadata in memory system. However, Wei does not explicitly teach by the memory system controller, the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system
On the other hand, AGARWAL which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches by the memory system controller, the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system (see Fig 3A, paragraph [0016] and [0060], illustrates memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151)
Both Wei and AGARWAL relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other
hand, AGARWAL also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and illustrates memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei with Goss to enable memory controller 135 to be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. The combined system of Wei - AGARWAL allows implementing memory multi-tiering according to which the near memory can be used as a swap buffer for far memory instead of being dedicated cache memory for a CPU in a computing device as mentioned in paragraph [0006]. Therefore, the combination of Wei - AGARWAL improves operations and performance of a computing device. See AGARWAL, par. [0066].
Regarding claim 5, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting, based on accessing the metadata, a value of a counter that tracks the quantity of accesses of the metadata, wherein the metadata is transferred to the second tier of memory based on the value of the counter satisfying the threshold quantity of accesses
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting, based on accessing the metadata, a value of a counter that tracks the quantity of accesses of the metadata, wherein the metadata is transferred to the second tier of memory based on the value of the counter satisfying the threshold quantity of accesses. (“in a first process P1, the predictive access transfer system 14 is configured to determine a status (e.g., a future demand status) for at least one data object 38 stored in the storage system 10 based on a set of access activity rules. As described herein, the future demand status can be based on access metrics that are recorded for the data object 38 over a period, and in certain cases, are updated within that period (e.g., for multiple access instances). In decision D2, the predictive access transfer system 14 compares the status (e.g., future demand tier 36) with another status (e.g., a current demand tier 36) to determine whether the statuses differ from one another. If so (Yes to D2), in process P3, the predictive access transfer system 14 moves the data object 38 between tiers 36 (e.g., to the tier associated with the future demand status) to reduce consumption of resources in which to store that data object 38”) (paragraph [0060] line 4-6) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates in step P1 predictive access transfer system 14 is configured to determine status for at least one data object 38 stored in the storage system 10 based on a set of access activity rules where the future demand status can be based on access metrics that are recorded for the data object 38 over a period and at step P3 transfer system 14 moves the data object 38 between tiers 36 based on comparison of future demand and current demand. In other words, if predictive access transfer system determines demand status threshold for data object or metadata based on that moves data between tiers)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 5. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 5, wherein a respective counter is maintained for each entry of a metadata mapping indicating respective locations of respective metadata within the memory system
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The method of claim 5, wherein a respective counter is maintained for each entry of a metadata mapping indicating respective locations of respective metadata within the memory system. (“the records 42 include metrics such as an object identifier, object name, storage account (e.g., associated with a user, edge server, enterprise system, etc.), a bucket or container name, an access date, and an access counter”) (paragraph [0037] line 6-8) (i.e. Fig 5 illustrates records 42 include metrics an data object identifier, data object name, storage account (e.g., associated with a user, edge server, enterprise system, etc.) or location, a container name, an access date, and an access counter)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a second quantity of accesses of second metadata stored in the first tier of memory fails to satisfy a second threshold quantity of accesses; and
transferring the metadata to a third tier of memory of a third memory device of the memory system based on the second quantity of accesses of the second metadata failing to satisfy the second threshold quantity of accesses
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining that a second quantity of accesses of second metadata stored in the first tier of memory fails to satisfy a second threshold quantity of accesses; and
transferring the metadata to a third tier of memory of a third memory device of the memory system based on the second quantity of accesses of the second metadata failing to satisfy the second threshold quantity of accesses. (“If the future active interval satisfies the threshold (Yes to D37), the system 14 starts an active timer in process P39, and in decision D40, sorts the data object 38 (if the timer expires) based on the determined future active interval (e.g., short interval, medium interval, long interval)”) (paragraph [0046] line 12-15)
(“FIG. 12 depicts an example with at least four total tiers (Tiers 1, 2, 3, 4) and three corresponding intervals for determining where to move data objects 38, e.g., from a first tier (Tier 1). For example, in the case where Tier 1 is a frequent access tier, a shorter interval can be associated with a less-frequent (or, infrequent) access tier (Tier 2), a medium interval can be associated with an archive tier (Tier 3) with less frequent access than the infrequent tier”) (paragraph [0046] line 17-20) (i.e. Fig 12 illustrates if the future active interval satisfies the threshold at step D37 system 14 starts an active timer for determining where to move data objects 38 from tier 1 to tier 2 or tier 3 based on the determined future active interval. In other words, based on activity timer threshold, system can move metadata from tier 1 to tier 2 or tier 3)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting a value of a counter that tracks the quantity of accesses of the metadata; and
transferring the metadata from the first tier of memory to the second tier of memory or a third tier of memory of a third memory device of the memory system based on the adjusted value of the counter failing to satisfy the threshold quantity of accesses or a second threshold quantity of access
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: adjusting a value of a counter that tracks the quantity of accesses of the metadata; and
transferring the metadata from the first tier of memory to the second tier of memory or a third tier of memory of a third memory device of the memory system based on the adjusted value of the counter failing to satisfy the threshold quantity of accesses or a second threshold quantity of access. (“the future demand status can be based on access metrics that are recorded for the data object 38 over a period, and in certain cases, are updated within that period (e.g., for multiple access instances). In decision D2, the predictive access transfer system 14 compares the status (e.g., future demand tier 36) with another status (e.g., a current demand tier 36) to determine whether the statuses differ from one another. If so (Yes to D2), in process P3, the predictive access transfer system 14 moves the data object 38 between tiers 36”) (paragraph [0046] line 17-20) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates future demand status can be based on access metrics that are recorded for the data object 38 over a period are updated or adjusted within that period and based on that predictive access transfer system 14 moves the data object 38 between tiers 36)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, wherein: the first tier of memory comprises a first type of non-volatile memory or a first type of volatile memory and the second tier of memory comprises a second type of non-volatile memory or the second access latency or a second type of volatile memory
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the first tier of memory comprises a first type of non-volatile memory or a first type of volatile memory and the second tier of memory comprises a second type of non-volatile memory or the second access latency or a second type of volatile memory. (“The computing device 100 includes one or more processors 103, volatile memory 122 (e.g., random access memory (RAM)), non-volatile memory 128”) (paragraph [0060] line 2-3)
(“wherein the multi-tier cloud storage system includes: a first tier in which to access one or more data objects on a frequent basis, a second tier in which to access one or more data objects on a basis less frequent than the first tier, a third tier in which to archive data objects accessible on a basis less than the first and second tiers, wherein the first tier has a first access latency, the second tier has a second access latency, and the third tier has a third access latency, wherein the first access latency is less than the second access latency, and the second access latency is less than the third access latency”) (paragraph [0101] line 1-6)
(i.e. Fig 17 illustrates computing device 100 includes one or more processors 103, volatile memory 122, non-volatile memory 128 where multi-tier cloud storage system includes the first tier has a first access latency, the second tier has a second access latency, and the third tier has a third access latency and where the first access latency is less than the second access latency, the second access latency is less than the third access latency)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Wei teaches An apparatus, comprising: a first memory device comprising a first tier of memory associated with a first access latency; a second memory device comprising a second tier of memory associated with a second access latency different from the first access latency; and (“These higher-priority tiers can be tailored to have relatively low latency and higher transactional rates than lower-priority tiers. Lower-priority, or cold storage tiers can deploy relatively basic or less sophisticated drives, standard or slower transport protocols”) (paragraph [0034] line 8-10) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates higher-priority memory tiers of storage system 10 can have relatively low latency and higher transactional rates than lower-priority tiers. In other words, Tier 1 may have different latency than tier 2 of storage system based on priority)
between the first tier of memory of the first memory device and the second tier of memory of the second memory device based on whether a quantity of accesses of the metadata satisfies a threshold quantity of accesses. (“the predictive access transfer system 14 applies a set of access activity rules to decide whether and when to move data objects 38 (shown in FIG. 2) between tiers in the storage system 10. The predictive access transfer system 14 can include an access activity monitor 30 that tracks access activity from the distributed storage system 10”) (paragraph [0032] line 3-5) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates predictive access transfer system 14 can include an access activity monitor 30 that tracks access activity from the distributed storage system 10 and applies set of access activity rules to decide whether and when to move data objects 38 between memory tiers in the storage system 10)
Wei teaches accessing metadata in memory system. However, Wei does not explicitly teach a memory system controller coupled with the first tier of memory of the first memory device and the second tier of memory of the second memory device, the memory system controller configured to transfer metadata
On the other hand, AGARWAL which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches a memory system controller coupled with the first tier of memory of the first memory device and the second tier of memory of the second memory device, the memory system controller configured to transfer metadata (see Fig 3A, paragraph [0016] and [0060], illustrates memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151)
Both Wei and AGARWAL relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other
hand, AGARWAL also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and illustrates memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei with Goss to enable memory controller 135 to be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. The combined system of Wei - AGARWAL allows implementing memory multi-tiering according to which the near memory can be used as a swap buffer for far memory instead of being dedicated cache memory for a CPU in a computing device as mentioned in paragraph [0006]. Therefore, the combination of Wei - AGARWAL improves operations and performance of a computing device. See AGARWAL, par. [0066].
Regarding claim 15, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 13. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a metadata cache coupled with the controller, wherein the controller is configured to transfer the metadata to the metadata cache based on a command to access data associated with the metadata, and wherein the quantity of accesses of the metadata is adjusted based on the command
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a metadata cache coupled with the controller, wherein the controller is configured to transfer the metadata to the metadata cache based on a command to access data associated with the metadata, and wherein the quantity of accesses of the metadata is adjusted based on the command. (“the data object is likely to be accessed frequently, e.g., on a daily, or weekly basis. In other particular embodiments, the data object is likely to be accessed infrequently, e.g., less than once per month or once per year. In certain scenarios, the data object can be stored (e.g., cached) on edge servers (e.g., edge server 26) for access by one or more users”) (paragraph [0031] line 10-14) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates data objects or metadata can be accessed frequently or less than once per month or once per year and based on these quantity of accesses data object can be stored or cached on edge servers 26)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 13. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
Teach The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: one or more counters configured to track respective quantities of accesses of respective metadata, wherein the controller is configured to transfer the metadata between the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory based on whether a value of a counter configured to track the quantity of accesses of the metadata satisfies the threshold quantity of accesses
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: one or more counters configured to track respective quantities of accesses of respective metadata, wherein the controller is configured to transfer the metadata between the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory based on whether a value of a counter configured to track the quantity of accesses of the metadata satisfies the threshold quantity of accesses. (“the future demand status can be based on access metrics that are recorded for the data object 38 over a period, and in certain cases, are updated within that period (e.g., for multiple access instances). In decision D2, the predictive access transfer system 14 compares the status (e.g., future demand tier 36) with another status (e.g., a current demand tier 36) to determine whether the statuses differ from one another. If so (Yes to D2), in process P3, the predictive access transfer system 14 moves the data object 38 between tiers 36”) (paragraph [0046] line 17-20) (i.e. Fig 3 illustrates future demand status can be based on access metrics that are recorded for the data object 38 over a period are updated or adjusted within that period and based on that predictive access transfer system 14 moves the data object 38 between tiers 36)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 16. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
Teach The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to adjust respective values of one or more of the one or more counters periodically or based on a command from a host system
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to adjust respective values of one or more of the one or more counters periodically or based on a command from a host system. (“for a given record 42, the access activity monitor 30 can update the access counter (FIG. 5) for individual access activities for the data object 38 within the period”) (paragraph [0037] line 11-12) (i.e. Fig 4 illustrates for a given record 42 access activity monitor 30 can update the access counter for individual access activities for the data object 38 or metadata over a period or periodically (daily, weekly etc))
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 13. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
Teach The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a plurality of tiers of memory comprising the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory, each tier of memory associated with a respective access latency, a respective bandwidth, or a combination thereof,
wherein the controller is configured to transfer respective metadata between respective tiers of memory based on whether a respective quantity of accesses of the respective metadata satisfies a respective threshold quantity of accesses
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a plurality of tiers of memory comprising the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory, each tier of memory associated with a respective access latency, a respective bandwidth, or a combination thereof,
wherein the controller is configured to transfer respective metadata between respective tiers of memory based on whether a respective quantity of accesses of the respective metadata satisfies a respective threshold quantity of accesses. (“wherein the multi-tier cloud storage system includes: a first tier in which to access one or more data objects on a frequent basis, a second tier in which to access one or more data objects on a basis less frequent than the first tier, a third tier in which to archive data objects accessible on a basis less than the first and second tiers, wherein the first tier has a first access latency, the second tier has a second access latency, and the third tier has a third access latency, wherein the first access latency is less than the second access latency, and the second access latency is less than the third access latency”) (paragraph [0101] line 1-6)
(i.e. Fig 17 illustrates computing device 100 includes one or more processors 103, volatile memory 122, non-volatile memory 128 where multi-tier cloud storage system includes the first tier has a first access latency, the second tier has a second access latency, and the third tier has a third access latency and where the first access latency is less than the second access latency, the second access latency is less than the third access latency)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 13. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
Teach The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory are included in a memory system of the apparatus, and wherein: the controller is included in a switch associated with the memory system, or the controller is included in the memory system
On the other hand, Wei which also relates to accessing metadata in memory
system teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory are included in a memory system of the apparatus, and wherein: the controller is included in a switch associated with the memory system, or the controller is included in the memory system. (“FIG. 2 depicts an example of storage tiers 36 in the distributed storage system 10, which are configured to store data objects 38 as managed by the storage management service 12”) (paragraph [0034] line 1-2)
(“the appliance 108 may operate as an application delivery controller (ADC) to provide clients with access to business applications”) (paragraph [0053] line 3-4)
(i.e. Fig 2 and 16 illustrate an example of storage tiers 36 in the distributed storage system 10 managed by storage management service 12 or application controller to provide access to data)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei with AGARWAL as set
Forth in claim 13 is equally applicable to claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, Wei teaches An apparatus, comprising: a memory system controller associated with a memory system, the controller configured to cause the apparatus to:
access, a memory system controller, metadata stored in a first tier of memory of a first memory device of the memory system based on a command to access data associated with the metadata; (“the appliance 108 may operate as an application delivery controller (ADC) to provide clients with access to business applications and other data deployed in a datacenter”) (paragraph [0053] line 3-4)
(“data objects include metadata about the data files, folders, etc., that are stored in the data object”) (paragraph [0031] line 4-5)
(“the data object can be stored (e.g., cached) on edge servers (e.g., edge server 26) for access by one or more users”) (paragraph [0031] line 12-13) (i.e. Fig 16 illustrates appliance 108 may operate as an controller to provide clients with access to business applications where data objects which includes metadata can be stored om servers for access by users)
the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system based on the quantity of accesses of the metadata satisfying the threshold quantity of accesses, (“the predictive access transfer system 14 applies a set of access activity rules to decide whether and when to move data objects 38 (shown in FIG. 2) between tiers in the storage system 10. The predictive access transfer system 14 can include an access activity monitor 30 that tracks access activity from the distributed storage system 10”) (paragraph [0032] line 3-5) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates predictive access transfer system 14 can include an access activity monitor 30 that tracks access activity from the distributed storage system 10 and applies set of access activity rules to decide whether and when to move data objects 38 between memory tiers in the storage system 10)
where the first tier of memory associated with a first access latency is different from a second access latency associated with the second tier of memory. (“These higher-priority tiers can be tailored to have relatively low latency and higher transactional rates than lower-priority tiers. Lower-priority, or cold storage tiers can deploy relatively basic or less sophisticated drives, standard or slower transport protocols”) (paragraph [0034] line 8-10) (i.e. Fig 2 illustrates higher-priority memory tiers of storage system 10 can have relatively low latency and higher transactional rates than lower-priority tiers. In other words, Tier 1 may have different latency than tier 2 of storage system based on priority)
Wei teaches accessing metadata in memory system. However, Wei does not explicitly teach by the memory system controller, the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system
On the other hand, AGARWAL which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches by the memory system controller, the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system (see Fig 3A, paragraph [0016] and [0060], illustrates memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151)
Both Wei and AGARWAL relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other
hand, AGARWAL also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and illustrates memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei with Goss to enable memory controller 135 to be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. The combined system of Wei - AGARWAL allows implementing memory multi-tiering according to which the near memory can be used as a swap buffer for far memory instead of being dedicated cache memory for a CPU in a computing device as mentioned in paragraph [0006]. Therefore, the combination of Wei - AGARWAL improves operations and performance of a computing device. See AGARWAL, par. [0066].
Claim(s) 2-3,7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Wei in view of AGARWAL and further in view of GUPTA et al. (US 20210141917 A1) hereinafter GUPTA.
Regarding claim 2, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the command to access the data; and
accessing, based on the metadata being excluded from a metadata cache of the memory system, a metadata mapping indicating a location of the metadata within the memory system, wherein accessing the metadata stored in the first tier of memory of the memory system is based on accessing the metadata mapping. Also, Wei does not teach upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine.
On the other hand, GUPTA which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving the command to access the data; and
accessing, based on the metadata being excluded from a metadata cache of the memory system, a metadata mapping indicating a location of the metadata within the memory system, wherein accessing the metadata stored in the first tier of memory of the memory system is based on accessing the metadata mapping. (“Multi-tiered metadata mapping is observed when processing an access request (e.g., at tier A). Specifically, and as shown, upon receipt of a data access request, the database engine 362 (e.g., a distributed metadata database engine) is queried so as to retrieve the location of the metadata that corresponds to the metadata virtual disk that in turn corresponds to the data virtual disk referenced in the access request. The results of an example query is shown in FIG. 3A as distributed metadata mapping 126 that points to the retrieved location”) (paragraph [0047] line 1-5) (i.e. Fig 3A illustrates upon receiving a access request a Multi-tiered metadata mapping is observed and database engine 362 is queried to retrieve location of metadata corresponding to access request and metadata mapping 126 is shown. In other words, upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Wei with Goss for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Wei, AGARWAL and GUPTA are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei – AGARWAL combination teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other hand, GUPTA also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei – AGARWAL combination with GUPTA to enable metadata mapping regime where upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine. The combined system of Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA allows multi-tiered metadata mapping regime comprising a metadata virtual disk that refers to a collocated data virtual disk as mentioned in paragraph [0009]. Therefore, the combination of Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA improves computer functionality. See GUPTA, par. [0010].
Regarding claim 3, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 2. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 2, further comprising: updating the metadata mapping to indicate a second location of the metadata within the second tier of memory based on transferring the metadata to the second tier of memory.
On the other hand, GUPTA which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The method of claim 2, further comprising: updating the metadata mapping to indicate a second location of the metadata within the second tier of memory based on transferring the metadata to the second tier of memory. (“A set of distributed metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata vDisk (step 416)”) (paragraph [0047] line 1-5)
(“At step 425, the database table or the virtual file system is updated to reflect the effect of the storage I/O operation and/or the effect of updating the metadata indications that were performed in step 424”) (paragraph [0060] line 4-6) (i.e. Fig 4A illustrates in step 416 distributed metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata vDisk and at step 425 the database table which is responsible for mapping is updated to reflect the effect of updating the metadata. In other words, metadata mapping table is updated after metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata)
The same motivation that was utilized for combining Wei - AGARWAL combination with GUPTA as set forth in claim 2 is equally applicable to claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing, using the controller associated with the memory system, second metadata stored in the second tier of memory of second memory device based on a command to access second data associated with the second metadata. Also, Wei does not teach when metadata is updated in first tier from other tiers, data is accessible by nodes.
On the other hand, GUPTA which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing, using the controller associated with the memory system, second metadata stored in the second tier of memory of second memory device based on a command to access second data associated with the second metadata. (“in a higher tier of the multi-tiered metadata mapping regime, a set of distributed metadata 106 in storage pool 170, accessible by node 152.sub.1 and other computing nodes (e.g., node 152.sub.M), is updated to include a pointer (e.g., metadata vDisk mapping 124) to the location of the metadata vDisk 104.sub.1K”) (paragraph [0035] line 5-8) (i.e. Fig 1 illustrates higher tier of the multi-tiered metadata mapping regime where a set of distributed metadata 106 is updated and accessible by node 152. In other words, when metadata is updated in first tier from other tiers, data is accessible by nodes)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Wei with Goss for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Wei, AGARWAL and GUPTA are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei – AGARWAL combination teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other hand, GUPTA also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and a metadata mapping regime when metadata is updated in first tier from other tiers, data is accessible by nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei – AGARWAL combination with GUPTA to enable a metadata mapping regime when metadata is updated in first tier from other tiers, data is accessible by nodes. The combined system of Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA allows multi-tiered metadata mapping regime comprising a metadata virtual disk that refers to a collocated data virtual disk as mentioned in paragraph [0009]. Therefore, the combination of Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA improves computer functionality. See GUPTA, par. [0010].
Regarding claim 14, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 13. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a metadata mapping configured to store an indication of a location of the metadata within the apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to update the indication of the metadata mapping to indicate a second location of the metadata within the apparatus based on transferring the metadata between the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory. Also, Wei does not teach upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine and metadata mapping table is updated after metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata.
On the other hand, GUPTA which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a metadata mapping configured to store an indication of a location of the metadata within the apparatus, (“Multi-tiered metadata mapping is observed when processing an access request (e.g., at tier A). Specifically, and as shown, upon receipt of a data access request, the database engine 362 (e.g., a distributed metadata database engine) is queried so as to retrieve the location of the metadata that corresponds to the metadata virtual disk that in turn corresponds to the data virtual disk referenced in the access request. The results of an example query is shown in FIG. 3A as distributed metadata mapping 126 that points to the retrieved location”) (paragraph [0047] line 1-5) (i.e. Fig 3A illustrates upon receiving a access request a Multi-tiered metadata mapping is observed and database engine 362 is queried to retrieve location of metadata corresponding to access request and metadata mapping 126 is shown. In other words, upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine)
wherein the controller is configured to update the indication of the metadata mapping to indicate a second location of the metadata within the apparatus based on transferring the metadata between the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory. (“A set of distributed metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata vDisk (step 416)”) (paragraph [0047] line 1-5)
(“At step 425, the database table or the virtual file system is updated to reflect the effect of the storage I/O operation and/or the effect of updating the metadata indications that were performed in step 424”) (paragraph [0060] line 4-6) (i.e. Fig 4A illustrates in step 416 distributed metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata vDisk and at step 425 the database table which is responsible for mapping is updated to reflect the effect of updating the metadata. In other words, metadata mapping table is updated after metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Wei with AGARWAL for the reasons set forth in claim 13
above. In addition, Wei, AGARWAL and GUPTA are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei – AGARWAL combination teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other hand, GUPTA also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine and metadata mapping table is updated after metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei – AGARWAL combination with GUPTA to enable a metadata mapping regime where upon receiving access request of metadata, a metadata mapping is demonstrated using the query from database engine and metadata mapping table is updated after metadata is updated to include a pointer to the location of the metadata. The combined system of Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA allows multi-tiered metadata mapping regime comprising a metadata virtual disk that refers to a collocated data virtual disk as mentioned in paragraph [0009]. Therefore, the combination of Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA improves computer functionality. See GUPTA, par. [0010].
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Wei in view of AGARWAL and further in view of Taylor et al. (US 9678981 B1) hereinafter Taylor.
Regarding claim 10, Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 9. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 9, wherein the value of the counter is adjusted by resetting the value of the counter, dividing the value of the counter by a second value, or decrementing the counter by a third value. Also, Wei does not teach cloud controller may track the most recent access for individual blocks and may reset counter to zero after last block is moved.
On the other hand, Taylor which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The method of claim 9, wherein the value of the counter is adjusted by resetting the value of the counter, dividing the value of the counter by a second value, or decrementing the counter by a third value. (“a cloud controller may track the most recent access (e.g., the last read time) for individual blocks in its local persistent read cache (and/or in a persistent read cache that is distributed across multiple cloud controllers). After the last block for a cloud file is evicted from the read cache (e.g., due to not being used recently), the cloud controller may initiate a counter; if no blocks from the cloud file are used before the counter reaches zero, the cloud file becomes a candidate to be moved to a lower tier”) (col 35 line 34-42) (i.e. cloud controller may track the most recent access for individual blocks and after the last block of cloud file is evicted or moved, cloud controller may initiate or reset counter and counter reaches zero. In other words, cloud controller may track the most recent access for individual blocks and may reset counter to zero after last block is moved)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Wei with AGARWAL for the reasons set forth in claim 9
above. In addition, Wei, AGARWAL and Taylor are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei – AGARWAL combination teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other hand, Taylor also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and cloud controller may track the most recent access for individual blocks and may reset counter to zero after last block is moved. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei – AGARWAL combination with Taylor to enable cloud controller tracking the most recent access for individual blocks and may reset counter to zero after last block is moved. The combined system of Wei – AGARWAL - Taylor allows customizing and optimizing data management for the distributed filesystem to fit the needs of an organization as mentioned in col 2. Therefore, the combination of Wei – AGARWAL - Taylor improves adaptability to different storage. See Taylor, col 7.
Regarding claim 11 Wei in view of AGARWAL teaches accessing metadata in
memory system in claim 1. However, Wei - AGARWAL combination does not explicitly
teach The method of claim 1, wherein: a prefetch policy defines a plurality of a threshold quantity of accesses associated with transferring respective metadata between a plurality of tiers of memory of the memory system, and
the threshold quantity of accesses is defined by the prefetch policy in association with transferring metadata between the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory. Also, Wei does not teach quantity of access amounts may determine Pre-fetching configurations or policy for efficient access.
On the other hand, Taylor which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: a prefetch policy defines a plurality of a threshold quantity of accesses associated with transferring respective metadata between a plurality of tiers of memory of the memory system, and
the threshold quantity of accesses is defined by the prefetch policy in association with transferring metadata between the first tier of memory and the second tier of memory. (“Note that some of these techniques may also facilitate initially grouping commonly accessed files and/or data blocks into the same cloud file so that they can be accessed more efficiently at a later time. Pre-fetching configurations may be specified and customized for a range of different granularities (e.g., globally, per-site, or for individual cloud controllers) using locality policies (as described in a following section)”) (col 22 line 8-15) (i.e. Pre-fetching configurations or policy may be specified and customized for a range of different granularities which may include grouping commonly accessed files and/or data blocks into the same cloud file so that they can be accessed more efficiently. In other words, quantity of access amounts may determine Pre-fetching configurations or policy for efficient access)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Wei with AGARWAL for the reasons set forth in claim 1
above. In addition, Wei, AGARWAL and Taylor are considered analogous arts, because
they all relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei – AGARWAL combination teaches accessing metadata in memory system with access counter. On the other hand, Taylor also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and quantity of access amounts may determine Pre-fetching configurations or policy for efficient access. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei – AGARWAL combination with Taylor to enable accessing metadata in memory system and quantity of access amounts may determine Pre-fetching configurations or policy for efficient access. The combined system of Wei – AGARWAL - Taylor allows customizing and optimizing data management for the distributed filesystem to fit the needs of an organization as mentioned in col 2. Therefore, the combination of Wei – AGARWAL - Taylor improves adaptability to different storage. See Taylor, col 7.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of AGARWAL and further in view of GUPTA and further in view of Taylor.
Regarding claim 4, Wei in view of AGARWAL and further in view of GUPTA teaches accessing metadata in memory system in claim 2. However, Wei – AGARWAL - GUPTA combination does not explicitly teach The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the metadata comprises: reading the metadata to the metadata cache in accordance with a prefetch policy associated with the controller, wherein the threshold quantity of accesses is defined by the prefetch policy
On the other hand, Taylor which also relates to accessing metadata in memory system teaches The method of claim 2, wherein accessing the metadata comprises: reading the metadata to the metadata cache in accordance with a prefetch policy associated with the controller, wherein the threshold quantity of accesses is defined by the prefetch policy. (“a cloud controller predictively pre-fetches additional cloud files in an attempt to reduce access latency. For instance, upon receiving a request to access a given data block for a file, a cloud controller may analyze the metadata for the file and then predictively pre-fetch other cloud files that contain other nearby data blocks”) (Col 21 line 18-24) (i.e. upon receiving a request to access a given data block for a file a cloud controller may analyze the metadata for the file and predictively pre-fetch files that contain other nearby data blocks to reduce access latency. In other words, upon receiving access request cloud controller may analyze the metadata for accesses for better latency)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of
Applicant’s filing to combine Wei – AGARWAL combination with GUPTA for the reasons set forth in claim 2 above. In addition, Wei, AGARWAL, GUPTA and Taylor are considered analogous arts, because they all relate to accessing metadata in memory system. Wei – AGARWAL – GUPTA combination teaches storage to accessing metadata in memory system with mapping information. Wei – AGARWAL – GUPTA combination does not teach upon receiving access request cloud controller may analyze the metadata for accesses for better latency. On the other hand, Taylor also teaches accessing metadata in memory system and upon receiving access request cloud controller may analyze the metadata for accesses for better latency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Wei – AGARWAL – GUPTA with Taylor to enable cloud controller upon receiving access request cloud controller may analyze the metadata for accesses for better latency. The combined system of Wei – AGARWAL – GUPTA - Taylor allows customizing and optimizing data management for the distributed filesystem to fit the needs of an organization as mentioned in col 2. Therefore, the combination of Wei – AGARWAL – GUPTA - Taylor improves adaptability to different storage. See Taylor, col 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they
are not persuasive.
Applicant’s first argument is claims 1, 13 and 20 amendments mapping by
references Wei and Goss in page 8-9 of the response: Wei, does not teach or suggest "accessing ...metadata stored in a first tier of memory of afirst memory device of the memory system ...and transferring ...the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system," as recited in amended independent claim 1. That is, while Wei describes moving data and metadata between tiers of memory, Wei describes each set of tiers as being included in a separate server and makes no mention of moving the metadata between the servers. See e.g., Wei [0031]. Thus, Wei does not teach or suggest "accessing . .. metadata stored in a first tier of memory of a first memory device of the memory system ...and transferring ... the metadata to a second tier of memory of a second memory device of the memory system," as recited in amended independent claim 1.
Goss does not overcome the deficiencies the Wei. Goss is generally directed to "the management of data in a data storage device.
In summary, applicant argued that primary reference Wei and secondary reference Goss do not teach amended claim storing metadata in first tier 1 memory and move it to second tier 2 memory. The amendment necessitates adding secondary reference AGARWAL in this regard. For further clarification examiner cites portion from AGARWAL. Also, for applicant’s understanding examiner would like to explain the teachings of AGARWAL and examiner’s interpretation in more detail here. See Fig 3A, paragraph [0016] and [0060], AGARWAL teaches memory controller 135 can also be configured to evict or transfer metadata data currently stored at Tier 1 of the near memory (e.g., data B) 151 to Tier 2 of the near memory 151. In the cited portion along with figure 3A clearly teaches memory controller is configured to store metadata from tier1 memory to tier 2 memory. Thus, the rejection of amended claims 1, 13 and 20 as is maintained.
Conclusion
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132