FINAL REJECTION
Examiner’s Remarks
Regarding the amendment filed 3/17/2026:
The amendment to claims 1 and 12 are acknowledged and accepted.
The cancelation of claims 4-7 and 11 is acknowledged and accepted.
The amendment to the specification is acknowledged and accepted.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the amendment to the abstract is not on a separate sheet.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Also see MPEP 714(II)(B) which recites “Whether supplying a marked-up version of a previous abstract or a clean form new abstract, the abstract must comply with 37 CFR 1.72(b) regarding the length and placement of the abstract on a separate sheet of paper”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “ the mounting apparatus...configured to secure the wearable computing device to the forearm”. Claim 1 recites “A wearable computing device comprising...a mounting apparatus”, which implies a mounting apparatus is part of the wearable computing device. Therefore, regarding claim 10, it is unclear how the mounting apparatus secures the wearable computing device to the forearm if the mounting apparatus is already part of/a component of the wearable computing device. Please clarify. Does the applicant mean that the mounting device secures itself to the forearm via straps? Or does the applicant mean the wearable computing device comprises a computing device where the mounting device secures the computing device to the forearm? Or does the applicant intend that the wearable computing device only comprise the imaging device and display, and that the mounting apparatus is a separate component from the wearable computing device? If so, it appear that claim 1 would be a system/apparatus comprising (a) a wearable computing device and (b) a mounting apparatus, and not a wearable computing device itself that includes the mounting apparatus. Please clarify. For examination purposes, the claim language will be interpreted as the mounting apparatus has straps to secure itself to the forearm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schultz (5,305,181).
With respect to claim 1, Schultz discloses a wearable computing device, comprising:
an imaging device (16), defining an imaging direction, wherein the imaging direction is a central axis of a field of view of the imaging device (col. 4, lines 4-9; Figs. 2 and 7)
a display (15), defining a normal direction of the display which is configured to face eyes of a user (inherent to the display inclined upwards towards the user) (col. 4, lines 2-3; Figs. 1, 2, 6 and 7 ); and
a mounting apparatus (32), configured to interface with a forearm of a user (Figs. 7-9) (forearm includes entire arm below elbow, thus includes fingers, as defined by Oxford Online Dictionary);
wherein the imaging direction and the normal direction, are offset by a first predetermined angle (A1), where A1 is non-orthogonal (e.g. angle between normal direction of display 15 (see Figs. 1 and 2) and horizontal imaging axis directed to barcode 38 in Fig. 7).
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Schultz discloses the imaging device comprises a camera (CCD) or an optical scanner (laser) (col. 4, lines 4-5).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blevins (US 5,272,324).
With respect to claim 1, Blevins discloses a wearable computing device, comprising:
an imaging device (26), defining an imaging direction, wherein the imaging direction is a central axis of a field of view of the imaging device (col. 3, lines 31-32; Fig. 1) (see interpretation below);
a display (24), defining a normal direction of the display which is configured to face eyes of a user (col. 3, lines 18-21; col. 4, lines 40-41; Fig. 1); and
a mounting apparatus (sleeve), configured to interface with a forearm of a user (col. 2, lines 59-64; Fig. 1) (see interpretation below); and
wherein the imaging direction and the normal direction, are offset by a first predetermined angle (A1), where A1 is non-orthogonal (e.g. angle between normal direction of display 24 and horizontal imaging axis directed to barcode 45 in Fig. 1) (see interpretation below).
With respect to claim 9, Blevins discloses the imaging device comprises an optical scanner (col. 3, lines 31-37)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kumar (US 5,294,782).
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Blevins addresses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Blevins fails to expressly disclose A1 is selected from a range defined between 110 degrees and 115 degrees, and wherein A1 is 112 degrees.
Kumar teaches it is well known in the art for a display of a barcode reader to be angled at an incline so that the display is viewable to an operator when using the barcode scanner, where the incline can be about 30 degrees or any other value (col. 4, lines 41-44; col. 7, lines 35-42).
It would have it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined angle A1 to be a range defined between 110 degrees and 115 degrees, and wherein A1 is 112 degrees, in order to provide a desired display angle for an operator. While Blevins fails to expressly disclose the claimed ranges/specific angle values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine suitable display angles through routine or manipulative experimentation to obtain the best possible results, as these are variable parameters attainable within the art. Moreover, generally, differences in angles will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such angles is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Applicants have not demonstrated any unexpected or unusual results, which accrue from the instant angle ranges. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Becker (US 5,808,289).
With respect to claim 8, Blevins addresses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Blevins fails to expressly disclose the imaging device comprises a camera.
Becker teaches it is well known in the art for an imaging device of a wearable computing device to comprise an optical scanner (laser scanner) or a camera (CCD imaging reader) (col. 6, lines 53-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging device of Blevins to be a camera in order to be able to image a barcode.
Claim(s) 10, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claim 10, Blevins addresses all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Blevins fails to expressly disclose, in a same embodiment, the mounting apparatus comprises straps configured to secure the wearable computing device to the forearm.
Blevins teaches an embodiment where a mounting apparatus comprising straps (61) secure a wearable computing device to a forearm (col. 2, lines 8-11; col. 4, lines 44-58; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to modify the mounting apparatus to comprise straps configured to secure the wearable computing device to the forearm, in order to provide an alternative means of attaching the wearable computing device to a user’s forearm to allow people with different sized forearms can easily adjust the mounting apparatus to wear the wearable computing device.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins in view of Kumar.
With respect to claim 12, Blevins discloses a wearable computing device, comprising:
an imaging device (26), defining an imaging direction (col. 3, lines 31-32; Fig. 1) (see interpretation below); and
a display (24), defining a normal direction of the display which is configured to face eyes of a user (col. 3, lines 18-21; col. 4, lines 40-41; Fig. 1) (see interpretation below).
However, Blevins fails to expressly disclose the imaging direction and the normal direction are offset by 112 degrees.
Kumar teaches it is well known in the art for a display of a barcode reader to be angled at an incline so that the display is viewable to an operator when using the barcode scanner, where the incline can be about 30 degrees or any other value (col. 4, lines 41-44; col. 7, lines 35-42).
It would have it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the imaging direction and the normal direction to be offset by 112 degrees, in order to provide a desired display angle for an operator. While Blevins fails to expressly disclose the specific angle value, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine suitable angles through routine or manipulative experimentation to obtain the best possible results, as these are variable parameters attainable within the art. Moreover, generally, differences in angles will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such angle is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). Applicants have not demonstrated any unexpected or unusual results, which accrue from the instant angle. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 8-10 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection in view of the amendment to claims 1 and 12 (removal of “when projected onto a reference plane parallel to both the imaging direction and the normal direction”).
In view of the removal of the limitation “when projected onto a reference plane parallel to both the imaging direction and the normal direction” in claims 1 and 12, the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections regarding this limitation has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the previous “as best understood” statement that the angle is non-orthogonal is a concession that the references do not expressly teach this feature. The examiner notes that the “as best understood” is based on the examiner’s interpretation of the drawings, and that the limitation was also interpreted to not include the now deleted limitation of the reference plane. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As such, based on the examiner’s interpretation, the predetermined angle is considered to be non-orthogonal since based on the examiner’s interpretation of the predetermined angle, the predetermined angle is considered to be an obtuse angle. Therefore the applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
The applicant additionally argues that Schultz nor Blevins recognizes the ergonomic problem of repetitive supination and pronation of the arm, and thus they do not teach or suggest using a specific, non-orthogonal angle for the purpose of allowing a user to simultaneously view a display and operate an image without strenuous wrist movement. It is noted that rationale different from the applicant’s is permissible. See MPEP 2144. Therefore the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the applicant points to Table 1 to demonstrate criticality of the 112 degree angle, more specifically, the 22 degree angle between the imaging direction and the plane of the display. The examiner respectfully disagrees that this demonstrates criticality of the orientation degree. Unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Merely showing two data points is not considered to demonstrate unexpected results, nor is considered to be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. It has been held that the “the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range.” In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). As such, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection is maintained. The examiner further notes that claim 2 describes a range for the predetermined angle, and the Table merely only shows an angle of 90 degrees (0 degree between the imaging direction and the plane of the display) and 112 degrees (22 degrees between the imaging direction and the plane of the display). The Table does not include a data point beyond the 112 degrees. As such, the Table is not in commensurate with the scope of claim 2.
The examiner notes that the 35 USC 112(b) rejection to claim 10 has not been addressed. As such, this rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephone/Fax Information
/SUEZU ELLIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876