Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 5, lines 1-2, the examiner suggests rewriting “wherein buried conductive material in the dielectric layer” to --wherein the electrode buried in the dielectric layer-- to provide consistency in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamgaing et al. (US2020/0287520 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Kamgaing et al. teaches in annotated Fig. 6A below a bulk acoustic wave device structure comprising:
A bulk acoustic wave resonator (608) including an acoustic reflector (air cavity 623), a piezoelectric layer (616), a top electrode (620), and a bottom electrode (618) positioned between the piezoelectric layer and the acoustic reflector, the top electrode and the bottom electrode being on opposing sides of the piezoelectric layer; and
A metal-insulator-metal capacitor (613, see Paragraph [0039]) electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator and positioned laterally from the acoustic reflector (623), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor including material of a dielectric layer (dielectric interconnect structure 614 including Annotated dielectric layer B) and an electrode buried in the dielectric layer (either buried annotated electrode A1 or A2 can be interpreted as the recited buried “electrode”).
In regards to claim 2, based on related Fig. 5, the metal-insulator-metal capacitor forms capacitor (150) which is electrically connected in parallel with the bulk acoustic wave resonator (resonators 520, 530 or 540 in Fig. 5 is formed by resonator 608 in Fig. 6A).
In regards to claim 3, based on Fig. 6A, the acoustic reflector (623) is an air cavity.
In regards to claim 4, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the dielectric layer (Annotated dielectric layer B) extends under the acoustic reflector (623).
In regards to claim 5, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A2, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the buried electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) in the dielectric layer extends under the acoustic reflector (623).
In regards to claim 7, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A2, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the dielectric layer (Annotated dielectric layer B) is positioned over a substrate (Annotated Substrate/Layer C, which is also part of interconnect structure 614), and the electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) is electrically connected to a through substate via (Annotated via D) that extends through the substrate.
In regards to claim 8, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A2, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) is electrically connected to the top electrode (620) of the bulk acoustic wave resonator through the piezoelectric layer (616).
In regards to claim 9, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A2, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) is electrically connected to the bottom electrode (618) of the bulk acoustic wave resonator.
In regards to claim 10, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the metal-insulator-metal capacitor further includes a second electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) over the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer B).
In regards to claim 11, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on annotated Fig. 6A, only the material of the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer B) is positioned is between the electrode (Annotated Electrode A1) and the second electrode (Annotated Electrode A2).
In regards to claim 12, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the electrode (Annotated Electrode A1) is electrically connected to the top electrode (i.e. an electrical path exists between the electrode and the top electrode 620), and the second electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) includes at least a portion of a contact pad (Annotated Contact Portion E).
In regards to claim 13, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the electrode (Annotated Electrode A1) is electrically connected to the top electrode (i.e. an electrical path exists between the electrode and the top electrode 620), and the second electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) includes at least a portion of the bottom electrode (618).
In regards to claim 14, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the electrode (Annotated Electrode A1) is electrically connected to the bottom electrode (i.e. an electrical path exists between the electrode and the bottom electrode 618), and the second electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) includes at least a portion of a contact pad (Annotated Contact Portion E).
In regards to claim 15, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on annotated Fig. 6A, the second electrode (Annotated Electrode A2) includes at least a portion of a contact pad (Annotated Contact Portion E).
In regards to claim 16, when the buried electrode is interpreted as Annotated Electrode A1, based on Fig. 6A, the electrode (Annotated Electrode A1) is electrically connected to a through substrate via (Annotated Via D) that extends through a substrate (Annotated Layer/Substrate C) that is under the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer B).
In regards to claim 19, Kamgaing et al. teaches in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 6A below an acoustic wave filter comprising:
Based on annotated Fig. 6, a bulk acoustic wave resonator (608) including an acoustic reflector (623), the acoustic reflector being over a dielectric layer (Annotated Layer B);
A metal-insulator-metal capacitor (613) electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator and positioned laterally from the acoustic reflector (623), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor including material of the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer B) and an electrode (Either of Annotated Electrode A1 or A2) buried in the dielectric layer; and
A plurality of additional acoustic wave resonators (based on Fig. 5, there are at least three bulk acoustic wave resonators 52, 530 and 540), the bulk acoustic wave resonator and the plurality of additional acoustic wave resonators together configured to filter a radio frequency signal.
In regards to claim 20, Kamgaing et al. teaches in Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 6A below a radio frequency module comprising:
A filter (Fib. 5, Filter 500) including a bulk acoustic wave resonator (520, 530, 540, which forms resonator 608 in Fig. 6A) and based on annotated Fig. 6A, a metal-insulator-metal capacitor (613) electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator, the bulk acoustic wave resonator including an acoustic reflector (623), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor positioned laterally from the acoustic reflector, and the metal-insulator-metal capacitor including material of a dielectric layer (Annotated Layer B) below the acoustic reflector (623) and an electrode (Either of Annotated Electrode A1 or A2) buried in the dielectric layer; radio frequency circuitry (Fig. 5, additional inductors and capacitors) coupled to the filter; and a package structure (Fig. 6A, 604) enclosing the filter and the radio frequency circuitry.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eid et al. (US2020/0235716 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Eid et al. teaches in annotated Fig. 1 below, a bulk acoustic wave device structure comprising:
A bulk acoustic wave resonator (106) including an acoustic reflector (air cavity 140), a piezoelectric layer (130), a top electrode (134), and a bottom electrode (132) positioned between the piezoelectric layer and the acoustic reflector (140), the top electrode and the bottom electrode being on opposing sides of the piezoelectric layer; and
A metal-insulator-metal capacitor (150, see Paragraph [0033]) electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator and positioned laterally from the acoustic reflector (140), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor including material of a dielectric layer (Dielectric Interconnect Structure 122 including Annotated dielectric layer G) and an electrode buried (Annotated Buried electrode F1) in the dielectric layer.
In regards to claim 3, based on Fig. 1, the acoustic reflector (140) is an air cavity.
In regards to claim 4, based on annotated Fig. 1, the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer G) extends under the acoustic reflector (140).
In regards to claim 8, based on annotated Fig. 1, the electrode (Annotated electrode F1) is electrically connected to the top electrode of the bulk acoustic wave resonator (i.e. since the MIM capacitor is electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator, there will be an electrical path between the electrode and the top electrode 134 of the bulk acoustic wave resonator).
In regards to claim 9, based on annotated Fig. 1, the electrode (Annotated electrode F1) is electrically connected to the bottom electrode of the bulk acoustic wave resonator (i.e. since the MIM capacitor is electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator, there will be an electrical path between the electrode and the bottom electrode 132 of the bulk acoustic wave resonator).
In regards to claim 10, based on annotated Fig. 1, the metal-insulator-metal capacitor includes a second electrode (Annotated electrode F2) over the dielectric layer (Annotated layer G).
In regards to claim 11, based on annotated Fig. 1, only the material of the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer G) is positioned is between the electrode (Annotated electrode F1) and the second electrode (Annotated electrode F2).
In regards to claim 17, based on Paragraph [0029], the dielectric layer (part of interconnect 122) includes aluminum nitride (AIN).
In regards to claim 18, based on Paragraph [0029], the dielectric layer (part of interconnect 122) includes silicon carbide.
In regards to claim 19, Eid et al. teaches in annotated Fig. 1 below an acoustic wave filter comprising:
A bulk acoustic wave resonator (106) including an acoustic reflector (air cavity 140), the acoustic reflector being over a dielectric layer (dielectric interconnect structure 122 including annotated Dielectric layer G);
A metal-insulator-metal capacitor (150, see Paragraph [0033]) electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator and positioned laterally from the acoustic reflector, the metal-insulator-metal capacitor including material of the dielectric layer (Annotated Layer G) and an electrode (Annotated Buried electrode F1) buried in the dielectric layer; and based on Paragraph [0037, a plurality of additional acoustic wave resonators are included, the bulk acoustic wave resonator and the plurality of additional acoustic wave resonators together configured to filter a radio frequency signal.
In regards to claim 20, Eid et al. teaches in annotated Fig. 1 below a radio frequency module comprising:
A filter (100) including a bulk acoustic wave resonator (106) and a metal-insulator-metal capacitor (150, see Paragraph [0033]) electrically connected to the bulk acoustic wave resonator, the bulk acoustic wave resonator including an acoustic reflector (140), the metal-insulator-metal capacitor positioned laterally from the acoustic reflector, and the metal-insulator-metal capacitor including material of a dielectric layer (Dielectric Interconnect Structure 122 including Annotated dielectric layer G) below the acoustic reflector and an electrode (Annotated Buried electrode F1) buried in the dielectric layer; radio frequency circuitry (RF transformer 158) coupled to the filter; and a package structure (104) enclosing the filter and the radio frequency circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eid et al. (US2020/0235716 A1) in view of Pan et al. (US2014/0252549 A1).
As discussed above, Eid et al. teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1. Eid et al. does not disclose the thicknesses of the MIM capacitor buried electrodes, therefore does not teach: in regards to claim 6, wherein the electrode is thicker than the top electrode of the bulk acoustic wave resonator, and the electrode is thicker than the bottom electrode of the bulk acoustic wave resonator.
Pan et al. teaches in Fig. 2 a metal-insulator-metal capacitor comprising a top (32) and bottom (24) electrode. Pan et al. teaches in Paragraph [0018], that the thicknesses of the top and bottom electrodes are selected to achieve a desired capacitance.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Eid et al. and have designed the MIM capacitor buried electrodes to have any desired thickness (e.g. a thickness of both the buried electrodes to be greater than the bulk acoustic wave resonator top and bottom electrodes) for the benefit of achieving a desired capacitance value as suggested by Pan et al. (See Paragraph [0018]).
Conclusion
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843