DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on July 2, 2024 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-18 are not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they are all method claims.
Claim 19 is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the recitations of “memory” and “processor” provide a sufficient structure to perform all claimed limitations.
Claim 20 is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it is an article of manufacture claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gausebeck et al. (U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2019/0026956 A1, referred as Gausebeck hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1 a representative claim, Gausebeck teaches a method, comprising:
detecting features comprising an input image using a machine learning based framework trained at least in part on a set of training images constrained to a prescribed feature space (see paras. [0065] (3D data derivation component 110 uses machine learning model to process the received image data 102 to determine derived 3D data 116 for the received 2D image data 102; determining deep information for visual features included in the received 2D image), [0066] (using standard models to determine 3D deep information for received 2D image by using machine learnings techniques)); and generating an output image at least in part by replacing features detected in the input image with corresponding features learned from the prescribed feature space (see paras. [0077] (changing the appearance of the visual features of the 3D model by removing objects from 3D model and integrating new 2D and 3D objects), [0079] (3D model generation component 118 generates a floor plan model by employing identified walls associated with the derived data 116 derived from 2D images)).
Regarding claim 2, Gausebeck further teaches wherein features defining the prescribed feature space of the set of training images are imparted to the input image to generate the output image, wherein the input image shares redundancies in feature space with the set of training images (see figure 1 and para. [0062] (3D models generated by component 118 is rendered and displayed on user display 132); para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images; thus, the 2D input image and training image share redundancies (i.e., color, texture, features, background, foreground) so that results are not degraded)).
Regarding claim 3, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the machine learning based framework is trained to learn the prescribed feature space from the set of training images (see para. [0128] (3D data 116 for the image)).
Regarding claim 4, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the prescribed feature space is known and well defined with respect to the set of training images (see para. [0249] (known depth data)).
Regarding claim 5, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the set of training images share feature space redundancies (see para. [0249] (depth data for pixels, superpixels, object, etc. included in 2D images)).
Regarding claim 6, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the set of training images share feature space correlations (see para. [0249] (depth data for pixels, superpixels, object, etc. included in 2D images; pixels, superpixels and object are included in 2D images and thus correlations)).
Regarding claim 7, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the set of training images comprises priors for defining the prescribed feature space (see para. [0128] (2D images prior to input into models)).
Regarding claim 8, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the input image comprises a lower quality or resolution or size relative to the set of training images (see para. [0114] smaller or cropped image is used to generate derived 3D data; thus, the input image has a lower size/resolution/quality relative to the set of the training images)).
Regarding claim 9, Gausebeck further teaches wherein generating the output image comprises replacing detected features in the input image with closest or nearest matching features in the prescribed feature space (see paras. [0077] (changing the appearance of the visual features of the 3D model by removing objects from 3D model and integrating new 2D and 3D objects), [0079] (3D model generation component 118 generates a floor plan model by employing identified walls associated with the derived data 116 derived from 2D images)).
Regarding claim 10, Gausebeck further teaches wherein feature space manipulations of the input image to generate the output image result in corresponding pixel level transformations in an image space of the output image (see figure 12, item 1204)).
Regarding claim 11, Gausebeck further teaches, wherein detected and replaced features in the input image to generate the output image comprise texture features (see paras. [0077] (changing the appearance of the visual features of the 3D model by removing objects from 3D model and integrating new 2D and 3D objects), [0079] (3D model generation component 118 generates a floor plan model by employing identified walls associated with the derived data 116 derived from 2D images)).
Regarding claim 12, Gausebeck further teaches wherein detected and replaced features in the input image to generate the output image comprise pixel features (see paras. [0077] (changing the appearance of the visual features of the 3D model by removing objects from 3D model and integrating new 2D and 3D objects), [0079] (3D model generation component 118 generates a floor plan model by employing identified walls associated with the derived data 116 derived from 2D images)).
Regarding claim 13, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the generated output image comprises photorealistic quality (see para. [0079] (3D model generation component 118 generates a floor plan model by employing identified walls associated with the derived data 116 derived from 2D images); para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images)).
Regarding claim 14, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the generated output image comprises a restored version of the input image (see para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images).
Regarding claim 15, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the generated output image comprises an upscaled version of the input image (see para. [0114] smaller or cropped image is used to generate derived 3D data; thus, the input image has a lower size/resolution/quality relative to the set of the training images); para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images); thus, the neural network result is an upscaled version of the input image)).
Regarding claim 16, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the generated output image comprises a better quality or resolution relative to the input image (para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images)).
Regarding claim 17, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the generated output image comprises a cleaned version of the input image (para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images)).
Regarding claim 18, Gausebeck further teaches wherein the generated output image comprises a denoised version of the input image (see para. [0111] (reducing noise from derived 3D data); para. [0128] (neural network results are not degraded by difference between the training images and real-world images); thus, the neural network result is a denoised version of the input image)).
Regarding claim 19, it is noted that claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1. Thus, the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 above are incorporated hereinafter. Gausebeck further teaches a processor and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions (see paras. [0274] – [0276] (processors, program, software, and memory)).
Regarding claim 20, Regarding claim 19, it is noted that claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1. Thus, the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 above are incorporated hereinafter. Gausebeck further teaches a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (see paras. [0274] – [0276] (processors with software, program, software, and memory)).
DMD
3/2026
/DUY M DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662