DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a bottom core wrap layer” in both lines 6 and 8-7. It is unclear if these recitations are intended to refer to the same bottom core wrap layer or different bottom core wrap layers. For the purpose of compact prosecution, these recitations are interpreted as referring to the same bottom core wrap layer.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “one or more unfastened regions comprising a second basis weight of absorbent material” and “the one or more unfastened regions are substantially free of absorbent material”. It is unclear if the unfastened regions have absorbent material present or if the regions are substantially free of absorbent material. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the unfastened regions are interpreted as being substantially free of absorbent material.
Claims 2-19 are also rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “a longitudinal centerline” which was previously recited in Claim 1. It is unclear if these recitations are intended to refer to the same longitudinal centerline or different longitudinal centerlines. For the purpose of compact prosecution, these limitations are interpreted as referring to the same longitudinal centerline.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bianchi (US 2019/0117478).
Regarding Claim 1, Bianchi discloses an absorbent article (20, Fig. 1) comprising:
a topsheet (24, Fig. 1);
a backsheet (25, Fig. 1); and
an absorbent core (28, Fig. 1) sandwiched between said topsheet (24, Fig. 1) and backsheet (25, Fig. 1; ¶ [0024]);
said core (28, Fig. 1) comprising absorbent material (60, Fig. 1) that is substantially enclosed by a core wrap (16, 16’, Figs. 3-5), wherein said core wrap (16, 16’, Fig. 3-5) comprises a top core wrap layer (16, Figs. 3-5) and a bottom core wrap layer (16’, Figs. 3-5), said core (28, Figs. 3-5) comprising an absorbent-material-deposition zone (area with absorbent material 60, Figs. 3-5; ¶ [0024]) comprising a first basis weight of absorbent material (60, Figs. 3-5; ¶ [0035]; the absorbent material inherently has a basis weight), and wherein the top core wrap layer (16, Figs. 3-5) and the bottom core wrap layer (16’, Figs. 3-5) are joined together at one or more bonding regions (channels 26, Figs. 1-3) substantially free of absorbent material (60, Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0035]); and wherein said core (28, Figs. 1-5) further comprises one or more unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) comprising a second basis weight of absorbent material (¶ [0035]), and wherein the first basis weight is greater than the second basis weight (¶ [0035]); characterized in that the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3) and the one or more unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) are substantially connected to each other to form an interconnected matrix or shape extending along a longitudinal direction running substantially parallel to a longitudinal centerline (80, Figs. 1-2; ¶ [0048] indicates the first and second types of channels can be connected to one another) of said absorbent core (28, Figs. 1-5) wherein said interconnected matrix or shape is flanked and/or circumscribed by absorbent material (60, Figs. 1-5) of the absorbent-material-deposition zone (area with absorbent material 60, Figs. 1-5) and in that the one or more unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) are substantially free of absorbent material such that a ratio of second basis weight to first basis weight is less than 0.25 (¶ [0035] when the second basis weight is substantially zero, the ratio of the second basis weight to the first basis weight will be zero which is less than 0.25).
Regarding Claim 2, Bianchi discloses the second basis weight is substantially 0 gsm (¶ [0035]).
Regarding Claim 3, Bianchi discloses the interconnected matrix or shape comprise, and/or form, one or more channels for distributing liquid via mass flow (¶ [0048]).
Regarding Claim 4, Bianchi discloses the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3) comprise permanent and/or temporary attachments (¶ [0004, 0024]).
Regarding Claim 5, Bianchi discloses the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3) are in the form of discrete bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3; each bond 26 does not directly connect to the other bond 26), and wherein the article (20, Figs. 1-5) comprises a plurality of unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) separated by discrete bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3; ¶ [0048]).
Regarding Claim 6, Bianchi discloses the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-5) have an aspect ratio of from 0.4 to 3 (¶ [0029, 0050] indicates the length of the bonding regions can be 5 mm, and ¶ [0050] indicates the width can be 3 mm; therefore the aspect ratio is 3:5 or 0.6).
Regarding Claim 7, Bianchi discloses the discrete bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-5) are separated by one or more unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) along an axis parallel to a transversal centerline that is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal centerline (80, Figs. 1-5; ¶ [0047, 0051, 0054]; when a channel of the second type coincides with the longitudinal axis, this unfastened region will separate the discrete bonding regions).
Regarding Claim 9, Bianchi discloses the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3) are positioned outboard of the longitudinal centerline (80, Figs. 1-5) of said absorbent core (28, Figs. 1-5) such that said longitudinal centerline (80, Figs. 1-5) is not substantially overlapped by said one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 10, Bianchi discloses the top core wrap layer (16, Figs. 1-5) or bottom core wrap layer (16’, Figs. 1-5) comprises a plurality of stripes of first adhesive (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) extending along an axis substantially parallel to the longitudinal centerline (80, Figs. 1-5), and wherein each said stripe (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) overlaps with at least one of the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-5), and said stripes (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) arranged such that each of said stripes (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) does not substantially overlap with the one or more unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 11, Bianchi discloses the opposing bottom core wrap layer (16’, Figs. 1-5) or top core wrap layer (16’, Figs. 1-5) is free of adhesive at least in areas that are congruent with the stripes (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) of first adhesive (¶ [0036]; the glue can be applied to the top or bottom of the core wrap and as such the glue would be on only one layer).
Regarding Claim 12, Bianchi discloses the absorbent core (28, Figs. 1-5) comprises a left longitudinal half and a right longitudinal half running along a length of said core (28, Figs. 1-5) and being adjacent to each other with the longitudinal centerline (80, Figs. 1-5) being interposed therebetween, and wherein said plurality of stripes (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) comprise at least two stripes (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) that are positioned on said left longitudinal half and/or right longitudinal half.
Regarding Claim 14, Bianchi discloses the unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) and the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-5) collectively form one or more channels suitable for guiding liquid via mass flow therethrough during a first time period (¶ [0048]), and wherein one or more portions of said channel(s) corresponding to the unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) form a cavity to further accommodate absorbent material (60, Figs. 1-5) therein as adjacent absorbent material (60, Figs. 1-5) of the absorbent-material-deposition zone (area of absorbent material 60, Figs. 1-5) swells (¶ [0006, 0039]).
Regarding Claim 15, Bianchi discloses the unfastened regions are suitable for guiding liquid by capillary flow at least during a second time period (¶ [0006, 0039]).
Regarding Claim 16, Bianchi discloses said plurality of unfastened regions (56a, 56b, Figs. 1-5) separated by discrete bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-5) are positioned in a front half and/or rear half of the absorbent core (28, Figs. 1-5).
Regarding Claim 17, Bianchi discloses the one or more bonding regions (26, Figs. 1-5) have an aspect ratio of from 0.5 to 2.5 (¶ [0029, 0050] indicates the length of the bonding regions can be 5 mm, and ¶ [0050] indicates the width can be 3 mm; therefore the aspect ratio is 3:5 or 0.6).
Regarding Claim 19, Bianchi discloses the at least two stripes (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) are spaced apart.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi (US 2019/0117478) in view of Roe et al (US 2014/0163511).
Regarding Claim 8, Bianchi is silent whether the discrete bonding regions are separated by the absorbent-material-deposition zone along at least an axis substantially parallel to the longitudinal centerline.
Roe teaches an absorbent article, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with channel patterns that can be utilized with the absorbent article of Bianchi. Roe teaches a channel pattern with two longitudinal channels (26, Fig. 21) and three laterally arcuate channels (55, Fig. 21). ¶ [0045] of Bianchi indicates that the arcuate channels from Roe can be incorporated into the channel pattern of Bianchi, particularly as first type/permanently bonded channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel pattern of Bianchi to include the arcuate channels of Roe as discrete bonding regions, as motivated by Bianchi (¶ [0045]). This combination would result in discrete bonding regions separated by the absorbent-material-deposition zone along at least an axis substantially parallel to the longitudinal centerline.
Regarding Claim 13, Bianchi is silent whether neighboring bonding regions are free of unfastened regions in direct connection therewith along the longitudinal direction.
Roe teaches an absorbent article, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with channel patterns that can be utilized with the absorbent article of Bianchi. Roe teaches a channel pattern with two longitudinal channels (26, Fig. 21) and three laterally arcuate channels (55, Fig. 21). ¶ [0045] of Bianchi indicates that the arcuate channels from Roe can be incorporated into the channel pattern of Bianchi, particularly as first type/permanently bonded channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel pattern of Bianchi to include the arcuate channels of Roe as discrete bonding regions, as motivated by Bianchi (¶ [0045]). This combination would result in neighboring bonding regions being free of unfastened regions in direct connection therewith along the longitudinal direction, as each arcuate portion is not connected to any unfastened regions.
Regarding Claim 18, Bianchi further discloses the plurality of stripes of first adhesive are spaced apart (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]), and wherein each said stripe (bonds 27, Figs. 1-5, formed by inner core glue ¶ [0061]) overlaps at least a portion of the absorbent-material-deposition zone (area of absorbent material 60, Figs. 1-5).
Bianchi is silent whether each said stripe overlaps with at least two of the bonding regions.
Roe teaches an absorbent article, thus being in the same field of endeavor, with channel patterns that can be utilized with the absorbent article of Bianchi. Roe teaches a channel pattern with two longitudinal channels (26, Fig. 21) and three laterally arcuate channels (55, Fig. 21). ¶ [0045] of Bianchi indicates that the arcuate channels from Roe can be incorporated into the channel pattern of Bianchi, particularly as first type/permanently bonded channels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the channel pattern of Bianchi to include the arcuate channels of Roe as discrete bonding regions, as motivated by Bianchi (¶ [0045]). This combination would result in each stripe of adhesive of Bianchi/Roe overlapping at least two discrete bonding regions.
Conclusion
/JESSICA ARBLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781