DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 with respect to claim 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 20, applicant argues that the cited prior art Lee et al do not disclose the electrode buried in the dielectric layer is positioned between an acoustic reflector of the bulk acoustic wave resonator and a substrate. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee et al teach that the acoustic reflector can be an air cavity A1/A2, thus the electrode T buried in the dielectric layer (dielectric layer D of capacitor C11, dielectric layer D of capacitor C31, insulating layer 20) can extend through or beneath the air cavity since the air cavity is just an enclosed space/opening filled with air. Also, it is notoriously old and well known in the art to rearrange layers based on circuit design preference, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). As a result, given the broadest reasonable interpretation according to MPEP 2111, Lee et al teach the electrode buried in the dielectric layer positioned between an acoustic reflector of the bulk acoustic wave resonator and a substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2018/0,294,792) in view of Patel et al (US 2021/0,175,589; hereinafter Patel).
Regarding claim 20, Lee disclose a method of radio frequency signal processing
(filtering a radio frequency signal; ¶ [0137), the method comprising:
filtering a radio frequency signal with a filter (100, 102) that includes a bulk acoustic wave resonator (BAW resonator R12, R32) (Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B; paras. [0017], [0051]-[0052], [0137]) and a capacitor (C11, C31) in parallel with the bulk acoustic wave resonator (R12, R32) (paragraphs [0056]-[0058], [0066]-[0069], [0087]-[0090]; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B), the capacitor (C11, C31; Figs. 1A, 3A) including an electrode (T of C11, T of C31) buried in a dielectric layer (dielectric layer D of C11, dielectric layer D of C31, insulating layer 20) positioned between an acoustic reflector (air cavity A2 of R12; air cavity A2 of R32) that can extend through or beneath the air cavity (A1, A2) of the bulk acoustic wave resonator (R12, R32) and a substrate (10) (paragraphs [0054]-[0058], [0061], [0066]-[0069], [0087]-[0090]; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B). Lee do not disclose the insulating layer 20 is a dielectric layer and transmitting the filtered radio frequency signal via at least one antenna. In the same field of endeavor, Patel disclose transmitting the filtered radio frequency signal (RF front end 128 comprises a radio frequency filter) via at least one antenna (122) (Figs. 1-2; ¶ [0058]-[0060]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so in order have an interface between the electrical circuits and free space by converting the electrical signals into electromagnetic radio waves for transmission. The examiner takes official notice that a dielectric layer is a specific type of insulating layer as is well-known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to do so due to the dielectric material’s ability to polarize and store electrical energy when subjected to an electric field, commonly used in capacitors and printed circuit boards and it is notoriously old to rearrange layers based on circuit design preference since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involved only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-19 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee (US 2018/0,294,792) disclose a filter (100, 102) (Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B; paras. [0017], [0051]-[0052]) including: a bulk acoustic wave resonator (R12; R32; Figs. 1A, 3A) including a first electrode (T of R12, T of R32), a second electrode (B of R12, B of R32), a piezoelectric layer (P2 of R12; P2 of R32) positioned between the first electrode (T) and the second electrode (B), and an acoustic reflector (A2 of R12; A2 of R32) positioned between the first electrode (T) and a substrate (10) (paragraphs [0055]-[0058], [0080]-[0086]; Figs. 1A, 3A); and a capacitor (C11, C31; Figs. 1A, 3A) including an electrode (T of C11, T of C31) buried in a dielectric layer (D of C11, D of C31, 20), the dielectric layer extending between an acoustic reflector (A1, A2) and a substrate (10), the capacitor (C11, C31) connected in parallel with the bulk acoustic wave resonator (R12, R32) (paragraphs [0054]-[0058], [0066]-[0069], [0087]-[0090]; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B).
However, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest:
the electrode being closer to the substrate than the first electrode, the electrode being closer to the substrate than the second electrode.
Regarding independent claim 18, Lee (US 2018/0,294,792) disclose a filter (100, 102) (Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B; paras. [0017], [0051]-[0052]) including: a bulk acoustic wave resonator (R12; R32; Figs. 1A, 3A) including a first electrode (T of R12, T of R32), a second electrode (B of R12, B of R32), a piezoelectric layer (P2 of R12; P2 of R32) positioned between the first electrode (T) and the second electrode (B), and an acoustic reflector (A2 of R12; A2 of R32) positioned between the first electrode (T) and a substrate (10) (paragraphs [0055]-[0058], [0080]-[0086]; Figs. 1A, 3A); and a capacitor (C11, C31; Figs. 1A, 3A) including an electrode (T of C11, T of C31) buried in a dielectric layer (D of C11, D of C31, 20) the dielectric layer extending between an acoustic reflector (A1, A2) and a substrate (10), the capacitor (C11, C31) connected in parallel with the bulk acoustic wave resonator (R12, R32) (paragraphs [0056]-[0058], [0066]-[0069], [0087]-[0090]; Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-3B).
Patel (US 2021/0,175,589) disclose a wireless communication device (102) (Figs. 1-2) comprising: a radio frequency front end (128) including a filter (filter) (¶ [0060]); an antenna (122) coupled to the radio frequency front end (128) (¶ [0021]; Figs. 2, 3-1); a transceiver (126) in communication with the radio frequency front end (128) (¶ [0063]); and a baseband processor (124) in communication with the transceiver (126) (¶ [0056]).
However, the cited prior art fails to further disclose or fairly suggest:
the electrode being closer to the substrate than the first electrode, the electrode being closer to the substrate than the second electrode.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Hao et al (EP 4,654,474) disclose a bulk acoustic wave resonator assembly comprising two bottom electrodes of two adjacent bulk acoustic wave resonators, wherein the second bottom electrode is disposed closer to the substrate of the assembly than the first bottom electrode
- Tikka et al (US 2005/0,167,854) disclose a dielectric layer positioned between an acoustic reflector and a substrate
- Larson et al (US 2005/0,093,657) disclose a bulk acoustic resonator having a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode is closer to the substrate than the second electrode
/LANA N LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648