DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed 4/18/2024 and claims priority to PRO 63/496919 (04/18/2023) and 63/496920 (4/18/2023). Claims 1-15 are before the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim has “(e.g.___)”. This makes the claim indefinite. Correction is required.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The instant specification does not adequately describe the nexus between the activity of the claimed compounds and the disease, condition or disorder to be treated. It is not seen where the instant specification adequately describes all known diseases, conditions and disorders such that a nexus between the modulation of the compound receptor and a useful treatment of a single disease, disorder or condition could be identified or treated.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is “undue”. These factors include 1) the breadth of the claims, 2) the nature of the invention, 3) the state of the prior art, 4) the level of one of ordinary skill, 5) the level of predictability in the art, 6) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, 7) the existence of working examples, and 8) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The nature of the invention: The nature of the invention is the method of treating all possible diseases, conditions and disorders with the compounds of the claims.
The state of the prior art: The state of the prior art is that it involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can treat which specific disease). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic regimen on its face. Especially when the disease, condition or disorder to be treated is not identified.
The predictability in the art: It is noted that the pharmaceutical art is unpredictable, requiring each embodiment to be individually assessed for physiological activity. In re Fisher, 427 F. 2d 833, 166 USPQ 18 (CCPA 1970) indicates that the more unpredictable an area is, the more specific enablement is necessary in order to satisfy the statute. In the instant case, the instantly claimed invention is highly unpredictable since one skilled in the art would recognize that in regards to the therapeutic effects of all diseases, whether or not the modulation of any receptors would make a difference in the disease. Hence, in the absence of a showing of a nexus between any and all known diseases and the modulation of unidentified receptors, one of ordinary skill in the art is unable to fully predict possible results from the administration of the compound of claim 1 due to the unpredictability of the role of modulation of any receptors.
The presence or absence of working examples: There are no working examples of the instant compounds treating any and all possible diseases, conditions and disorders.
The amount of direction or guidance present: The guidance present in the specification is that of the compounds can treat diseases, conditions and disorders.
The breadth of the claims: The claims are drawn to the treatment of any and all diseases, conditions and disorders with the compounds of claim 1.
The quantity of experimentation needed: The quantity of experimentation needed is undue. One skilled in the art would need to determine what diseases out of all known diseases would be benefited by the mediation of the instant compounds and then would further need to determine which of the claimed compounds would provide treatment of the disease.
The level of the skill in the art: The level of skill in the art is high. However, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed for physiological activity by in vitro and in vivo screening to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
Thus, the specification fails to provide sufficient support of the broad use of the compounds of claim 1 for the treatment of any disease. As a result necessitating one of ordinary skill to perform an exhaustive search for which diseases can be treated by which compound of claim 1 in order to practice the claimed invention.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, one of ordinary skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds of the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 11767283 Amar. Amar teaches compounds in claim 1 that anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 9932302 Jackson. Jackson teaches compounds in Figure 1 and col 2 to treat seizures that anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amaye 2021. Amaye teaches compounds I table 1 as anticonvulsants that anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amaye 2018. Amaye teaches compounds as anticonvulsants on page 2 that anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jackson. Jackson teaches compounds I table 1 as anticonvulsants that anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foster. Foster teaches compounds as anticonvulsants in table 1 page 2416 that anticipate the instant claims.
/D MARGARET M SEAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1625