DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 11/26/2025. Applicant has filed a provisional application and thus the domestic benefit of 4/19/2023 is the effective filing date. Claims 1, 6-7, 9-14, 16, and 19-28 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see pages 12-13 of 15, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to specification objections, claim objections, and all of the 112(b) rejections other than the rejection included again below have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objections, claim objections, and all of the 112(b) rejections other than the rejection included again below have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14 of 15, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to claim(s) claims 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim 1 is now rejected under Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Adachi et al. (US-2019/0322308; hereinafter Adachi);
Claim 9 is now rejected under Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), and Atamanov (US-2019/0291852; already of record) and further in view of Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record); and
Claim 16 is now rejected under Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), and Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record).
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9-10, 16, 23, and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim currently states “…an amount of regenerative brake strength…the regenerative brake strength…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…an amount of regenerative brake strength…the amount of regenerative brake strength…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Regarding claim 9, the claim currently states “…a braking force of the respective main gear wheel…a braking force of the respective main gear wheel…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a braking force of the respective main gear wheel…[ [ a ] ] the braking force of the respective main gear wheel…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Regarding claim 10, the claim currently states “…the drive control system…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “… a drive control system…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Regarding claim 16, the claim currently states “…an auxiliary electric power source…the auxiliary power source…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…an auxiliary electric power source…the auxiliary electric power source…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Regarding claim 23, the claim currently states “…the preexisting cockpit controls…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “… preexisting cockpit controls…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Regarding claim 25, the claim currently states “…an aircraft…a respective main gear wheel…” which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…[ [ an ] ] the aircraft…[ [ a ] ] the respective main gear wheel…” so as to avoid potential misinterpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-7, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim currently states “…a taxi controller operatively coupled to…preexisting aircraft controls…process signals received from the preexisting aircraft controls…wherein the taxi controller is integrated with the preexisting aircraft controls…” which is indefinite to the Examiner because it is unclear if the preexisting aircraft controls are resulting from the taxi controller or coupled to the taxi controller. The instant specification details “a preexisting set of cockpit input devices” which, when operated, send signals to a controller (instant specification, [0035]). It is not clear how the taxi controller itself is coupled to the preexisting aircraft controls (controller coupled to a function), but for the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the claim as a taxi controller processing signals corresponding to preexisting aircraft controls.
Claims 6-7 and 21-23 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Adachi et al. (US-2019/0322308; hereinafter Adachi).
Regarding claim 1, VD discloses an eAPU-based taxi control system for an aircraft (see VD at least Abs), comprising:
an electric auxiliary power unit configured to provide electrical power (see VD at least [0051] "...When number of electric motors 106 is bidirectionally electrically connected to battery 110, number of electric motors 106 can both send electric energy 127 to and receive electric energy 127 from battery 110...");
a drive controller configured to control a main gear electric motor-generator (see VD at least [0089], [0092], and [0095] "...In one non-limiting example, controller 308 can generate commands such as drive commands, brake commands, neutral commands, or other commands to taxiing system 302 based on input from a pilot...");
an electric brake actuator controller configured for providing regenerative braking (see VD at least [0042] "...In some illustrative examples, number of electric motors 106 act as electric motor brakes 121 to decelerate wheels 118 of aircraft 100." [0048] "During landing 126, thrust reversers in an engine, such as engine 108, are employed. In a propeller driven aircraft, reversing propellers is employed during landing 126. Electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 in a regenerative mode can be supplied to engine 108 to create the reverse thrust to slow aircraft 100. Providing electric energy 127 to generate reverse thrust by engine 108 during landing 126 reduces fuel consumption." and [0059] "When the retarding force available from operating number of electric motors 106 in regenerative (generating mode) is insufficient to slow aircraft 100, conventional aircraft friction brakes, such as carbon brakes 151, may be used to provide additional retarding force."); and
a taxi controller operatively coupled to the electric auxiliary power unit (see VD at least [0094] “Controller 308 is configured to direct electric energy generated by number of electric motors 306 to battery 326. Controller 308 is configured to direct electric energy generated by number of electric motors 306 to at least one of engine 324 of aircraft 304 or auxiliary power unit 328 when battery 326 reaches a charge capacity."), the drive controller (see VD at least [0095] "Although not depicted, controller 308 receives inputs from different sources to control taxiing system 302..."), the electric brake actuator controller (see VD at least [0095] "…In one non-limiting example, controller 308 can generate commands such as drive commands, brake commands, neutral commands, or other commands to taxiing system 302 based on input from a pilot…") and preexisting aircraft controls (see VD at least [0092] "…Controller 308 is an implementation of control system 128 of FIG. 1..." and [0062] "...When aircraft 100 is piloted, brake command 146 is generated when the pilot applies their feet to brake pedals of aircraft 100, which are conventionally mounted on top of the rudder pedals. Application of pressure to the brake pedals indicates a request to retard or halt the motion of aircraft 100, and the control system 128 does so. In some illustrative examples, drive command 139 to move aircraft 100 forward is generated when a pilot provides physical pressure or movement of a new pilot control, such as a taxi control, to provide an input..."), wherein the taxi controller is configured to process signals received from the preexisting aircraft controls and provide instructions to the drive controller and the electric brake actuator controller for taxiing the aircraft without receiving power from an aircraft engine (see VD at least [0062] "…In some illustrative examples, drive command 139 to move aircraft 100 forward is generated when a pilot provides physical pressure or movement of a new pilot control, such as a taxi control, to provide an input…" [0078] "When aircraft 206 has a taxiing system with electric motors connected to the wheels of the landing gear, aircraft 206 is configured to taxi without operating the engines of aircraft 206..." [0095] "...In one non-limiting example, controller 308 can generate commands such as drive commands, brake commands, neutral commands, or other commands to taxiing system 302 based on input from a pilot. In other illustrative examples, controller 308 can generate commands based on input provided by an autobrake system or other automated system.");
wherein the taxi controller is integrated with the preexisting aircraft controls such that control signals are received during aircraft taxiing (see VD at least [0054] "Aircraft 100 has control system 128 configured to send commands 130 to flow control switch system 131 to direct electric energy 127 between energy storage locations 104 and number of electric motors 106. In some illustrative examples, flow control switch system 131 is referred to as a power/energy flow control switch system. Control system 128 may also be referred to as a controller." and [0061] "Control system 128 sends commands 130 to flow control switch system 131 depending upon a desired operation of operations 132. Commands 130 are sent to set switches 133 to perform at least one operation of operations 132. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 within taxiing system 102. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 between number of electric motors 106 and energy storage locations 104. As depicted, commands 130 include auxiliary command 134, drive command 139, brake command 146, neutral command 152, and back-up command 156, and charge command 158.") from: … c) a set of aircraft toe brakes to provide braking control (see VD at least [0054] "Aircraft 100 has control system 128 configured to send commands 130 to flow control switch system 131 to direct electric energy 127 between energy storage locations 104 and number of electric motors 106. In some illustrative examples, flow control switch system 131 is referred to as a power/energy flow control switch system. Control system 128 may also be referred to as a controller." and [0061]-[0062] "Control system 128 sends commands 130 to flow control switch system 131 depending upon a desired operation of operations 132. Commands 130 are sent to set switches 133 to perform at least one operation of operations 132. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 within taxiing system 102. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 between number of electric motors 106 and energy storage locations 104. As depicted, commands 130 include auxiliary command 134, drive command 139, brake command 146, neutral command 152, and back-up command 156, and charge command 158. Although not depicted in FIG. 1, a pilot can be present in aircraft 100. When aircraft 100 is piloted, brake command 146 is generated when the pilot applies their feet to brake pedals of aircraft 100, which are conventionally mounted on top of the rudder pedals...");
wherein the electric brake actuator controller is configured to determine an amount of braking force to apply via an electro-mechanical brake actuator (see VD at least [0062] “Although not depicted in FIG. 1, a pilot can be present in aircraft 100. When aircraft 100 is piloted, brake command 146 is generated when the pilot applies their feet to brake pedals of aircraft 100, which are conventionally mounted on top of the rudder pedals...") …
wherein the taxi controller is configured to determine an amount of regenerative brake strength based on a level of charge of the electric auxiliary power unit (see VD at least [0040] "Battery 110 is a battery which can be electrically charged or discharged. The state of charge of battery 110 can be measured. Although a battery charge controller is not shown, a battery charge controller can be part of battery 110." and [0058] "In the case where the regenerative energy is sent to battery 110, it simply acts as a charging current, but a protection means is provided to limit the charging current to a safe level. If the energy exceeds the capacity of battery 110 to absorb it, control system 128 activates additional power sinks by changing the control of rotating elements from generating mode to motoring mode.") …
wherein the electric brake actuator controller compares the regenerative brake strength with the amount of braking force to determine an electromechanical brake command (see VD at least [0059] "When the retarding force available from operating number of electric motors 106 in regenerative (generating mode) is insufficient to slow aircraft 100, conventional aircraft friction brakes, such as carbon brakes 151, may be used to provide additional retarding force." [0062] "Although not depicted in FIG. 1, a pilot can be present in aircraft 100. When aircraft 100 is piloted, brake command 146 is generated when the pilot applies their feet to brake pedals of aircraft 100, which are conventionally mounted on top of the rudder pedals. Application of pressure to the brake pedals indicates a request to retard or halt the motion of aircraft 100, and the control system 128 does so..." [0067] "...In some illustrative examples, electric motor brakes 121 and carbon brakes 153 are engaged to decelerate aircraft 100." and [0107] "In some illustrative examples, movement of the aircraft is decelerated by applying electric motor brakes up to a threshold force (operation 508). The threshold force is a maximum force that can be applied by the electric motor brakes.").
However, while VD details piloted commands such as drive commands and back-up commands, as well as recognizing brake temperatures, it is not explicit that VD discloses the following:
…a) an aircraft throttle to provide drive control…b) a yoke to provide steering control…
…inputs from a toe-brake angle sensor…
…a temperature of a braking resistor…
Charuel, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a) an aircraft throttle to provide drive control (see Charuel at least [0025] "The method of the invention is as follows. With the aircraft stationary, the pilot operates the aircraft taxiing control. This control may be a control that is separate from the throttle control lever, e.g. a taxiing lever 50 for generating a taxiing order, e.g. an order specifying a taxiing speed for the aircraft on the ground. Nevertheless, in order to avoid changing the habits of pilots, this control could also be constituted by the throttle control lever. A taxiing computer 51 of the aircraft then verifies whether its engines are in operation, and if not, the computer then understands that the pilot operating the throttle lever desires to move the aircraft by using its taxiing motors.")…b) a yoke to provide steering control (see Charuel at least [0037] "...For this purpose, the taxiing computer 51 receives signals from a steering wheel 52 operated by the pilot to steer the aircraft. The taxiing computer 51 is then advantageously connected to the steering control of the nosewheel 1 so as to steer it, and, where necessary, particularly when performing a tight turn, so as to control the auxiliary taxiing motors 7 differentially so as to assist in turning...")…
…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing control system as disclosed by VD with details pertaining to steering control such as taught by Charuel with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide full control to an aircraft during a taxiing maneuver (see Charuel at least [0037]).
However, neither VD nor Charuel explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…inputs from a toe-brake angle sensor…
…a temperature of a braking resistor…
Adachi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…inputs from a toe-brake angle sensor (see Adachi at least [0043] "In addition, the control device 100 includes operation devices such as an accelerator pedal 70, a brake pedal 72, a steering wheel (handle) 74, and a shift switch 80, operation detection sensors such as an accelerator opening sensor 71 that detects an accelerator opening in accordance with depression of the accelerator pedal 70, a brake depression amount sensor (brake switch) 73 that detects the brake depression amount in accordance with depression of the brake pedal 72, and a steering angle sensor (or a steering torque sensor) 75 in accordance with steering of the steering wheel 74, a notification device (output unit) 82, and an occupant identification unit (in-vehicle camera) 15...")…
…a temperature of a braking resistor (see Adachi at least [0117] "Also, the case in which the predicted temperature T of the brake device 94 is calculated to achieve the requested braking force using the brake device 94 has been described in the embodiment. However, instead of this configuration, the acceleration and deceleration command unit 56 may calculate the temperature of the brake device 94 to the temperature during traveling when the vehicle 1 traveling in the automated driving mode is decelerated and decide (change) the utilization proportions of the engine brake and the brake device 94 on the basis of the calculated value of the temperature during traveling...")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing control system as disclosed by VD with various sensor readings such as taught by Adachi with a reasonable expectation of success so as to detect operational characteristics throughout operation of the vehicle (see Adachi at least [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, VD in view of Charuel and Adachi teach the system of claim 1, comprising a nosewheel steering controller integrated into the taxi controller wherein commands from the taxi controller sent to the nosewheel steering controller steer an aircraft nosewheel via a nosewheel steering actuator (see Charuel at least [0037] "...For this purpose, the taxiing computer 51 receives signals from a steering wheel 52 operated by the pilot to steer the aircraft. The taxiing computer 51 is then advantageously connected to the steering control of the nosewheel 1 so as to steer it, and, where necessary, particularly when performing a tight turn, so as to control the auxiliary taxiing motors 7 differentially so as to assist in turning...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the taxiing control system as taught by VD in view of Charuel with details pertaining to specifics of steering control such as further taught by Charuel with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Adachi et al. (US-2019/0322308; hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Ribeiro et al. (US-2019/0375512; hereinafter Ribeiro; already of record from IDS).
Regarding claim 6, VD in view of Charuel and Adachi teach the system of claim 1. However, while VD details the use of an electrical bus as well as the capability of bidirectional flow of electricity from an auxiliary power unit, neither VD nor Charuel no Adachi explicitly disclose or teach the following:
the electric auxiliary power unit is connected to an aircraft electrical bus such that power may travel bidirectionally between the electric auxiliary power unit and the aircraft electrical bus.
Ribeiro, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the electric auxiliary power unit is connected to an aircraft electrical bus such that power may travel bidirectionally between the electric auxiliary power unit and the aircraft electrical bus (see Ribeiro at least [0035] "...During the quoted flight operations, the electric machine 3 is working in generator mode, providing electric power to the aircraft electric bus (6). The electric bus 6 feeds the aircraft loads (7), which may be of very different nature (such as, but not limited to—lightning, communications, navigations, hydraulics, ice protections, environmental control systems (ECS) providing air conditioning, etc.). The electric bus 6 may also recharge electric energy storage devices (8) during flight, such as batteries or capacitors, via dedicated electric switches (11)...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing control system as taught by VD in view of Charuel and Adachi with an electrical bus capable of both supplying electricity and receiving electricity such as taught by Ribeiro with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of transmitting electricity amongst various components of the aircraft (see Ribeiro at least [0041]).
Claims 9-13 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), and Atamanov (US-2019/0291852; already of record) and further in view of Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record).
Regarding claim 9, VD discloses an aircraft taxi system (see VD at least Abs) comprising:
an electric power source installed on an aircraft which is configured to supply sored power to aircraft taxi system components (see VD at least [0051] "...When number of electric motors 106 is bidirectionally electrically connected to battery 110, number of electric motors 106 can both send electric energy 127 to and receive electric energy 127 from battery 110. Battery 110 stores electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106. Battery 110 stores electric energy 127 for powering number of electric motors 106 in taxiing 140.");
a plurality of main gear wheels (see VD at least [0045] "Number of electric motors 106 includes one or more motors connected to one or more of wheels 118. In some illustrative examples, number of electric motors 106 includes a first motor connected to first wheel 120 and a second motor connected to second wheel 122...") each comprising:
an electric motor-generator configured to drive a respective main gear wheel when powered by the electric power source and configured to provide regenerative braking (see VD at least [0048] "...Electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 in a regenerative mode can be supplied to engine 108 to create the reverse thrust to slow aircraft 100..." and [0066] "…Driving 144 of wheels 118 of aircraft 100 during taxiing 140 is performed using kinetic energy 145 generated by number of electric motors 106 from electric energy 127 from at least one of energy storage locations 104.");
an electro-mechanical brake actuator configured to provide a braking force on the respective main gear wheel (see VD at least [0046] "In some illustrative examples, number of electric motors 106 harvest energy 124 from landing 126. In these illustrative examples, number of electric motors 106 is electrically connected to energy storage locations 104 such that energy 124 from landing 126 aircraft 100 is stored in energy storage locations 104. When aircraft 100 is landing 126, number of electric motors 106 is set to direct electric energy 127 generated from energy 124 into energy storage locations 104. In other illustrative examples, number of electric motors 106 are disengaged during landing 126 and do not harvest energy 124 from landing 126. In some illustrative examples, electro-mechanically actuated clutches can be used to engage and disengage number of electric motors 106."); and
a brake resistor configured to provide a braking force on the respective main gear wheel and convert electricity into heat (see VD at least [0059] "When the retarding force available from operating number of electric motors 106 in regenerative (generating mode) is insufficient to slow aircraft 100, conventional aircraft friction brakes, such as carbon brakes 151, may be used to provide additional retarding force.");
a taxi controller configured to control the plurality of main gear wheels for performing forward and reverse driving, braking, (see VD at least [0061] "Control system 128 sends commands 130 to flow control switch system 131 depending upon a desired operation of operations 132. Commands 130 are sent to set switches 133 to perform at least one operation of operations 132. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 within taxiing system 102. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 between number of electric motors 106 and energy storage locations 104. As depicted, commands 130 include auxiliary command 134, drive command 139, brake command 146, neutral command 152, and back-up command 156, and charge command 158." and [0086] "Taxiing system 302 comprises number of electric motors 306, controller 308, and energy storage locations 310. Number of electric motors 306 is connected to wheels 312 of landing gear 314. As depicted, number of electric motors 306 includes electric motor 316 connected to wheel 318 and electric motor 320 connected to wheel 322.") and …
…
…
wherein the taxi controller is configured to reduce aircraft speed autonomously upon landing (see VD at least [0063]-[0064] "In some illustrative examples, brake command 146 is generated based on input from an autobrake system. An autobrake system automatically applies and controls braking during landings. In some illustrative examples, when aircraft 100 is an unmanned or unpiloted aircraft, commands 130 are generated as part of a centralized aircraft control system and are not generated based on physical input by a pilot present on aircraft 100. In some illustrative examples, taxiing system 102 is operated during landing 126 to store energy 124 from landing 126 in at least one of energy storage locations 104. In some illustrative examples, during landing 126, energy 124 of landing 126 is converted to electric energy 127 by number of electric motors 106. Number of electric motors 106 is connected to energy storage locations 104 such that energy 124 from landing 126 aircraft 100 is stored in energy storage locations 104. In some illustrative examples, to store energy 124, control system 128 sends charge command 158.").
However, VD does not explicitly disclose the following:
…control the plurality of main gear wheels for performing … steering …
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel at a maximum thrust during a reduced-distance takeoff…
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel during landing to match a speed of the respective main gear wheel to a ground speed of the aircraft…
Charuel, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…control the plurality of main gear wheels for performing … steering (see Charuel at least [0037] "...For this purpose, the taxiing computer 51 receives signals from a steering wheel 52 operated by the pilot to steer the aircraft. The taxiing computer 51 is then advantageously connected to the steering control of the nosewheel 1 so as to steer it, and, where necessary, particularly when performing a tight turn, so as to control the auxiliary taxiing motors 7 differentially so as to assist in turning...")…
…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing control system as disclosed by VD with details pertaining to steering control such as taught by Charuel with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide full control to an aircraft during a taxiing maneuver (see Charuel at least [0037]).
However, neither VD nor Charuel explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel at a maximum thrust during a reduced-distance takeoff…
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel during landing to match a speed of the respective main gear wheel to a ground speed of the aircraft…
Atamanov, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel at a maximum thrust during a reduced-distance takeoff (see Atamanov at least [0053] "In certain embodiments the processor may control the motor, engine and clutch assembly to provide a predetermined amount of thrust. The thrust amount may be in response to a preset flight characteristic. For example, and without limitation, a desired flight pattern may be programmed into system memory. The processor may then instruct the engine, clutch and motor to provide the maximum thrust for liftoff of the flying vehicle. Once a preset altitude is reached, the processor may dis-engage the engine so that only electric power is used for flight...")...
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor-generators as taught by VD in view of Charuel with a maximum thrust command such as taught by Atamanov with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of achieving a successful liftoff (see Atamanov at least [0053]).
However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Atamanov explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel during landing to match a speed of the respective main gear wheel to a ground speed of the aircraft…
Seeley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…wherein each electric motor-generator drives the respective main gear wheel during landing to match a speed of the respective main gear wheel to a ground speed of the aircraft (see Seeley at least [0273] "...The wheelmotor inside each main landing gear wheel will spool up the rotational speed of its wheel to match the detected ground speed of the aircraft just prior to the moment of landing touch-down...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by VD in view of Charuel with wheel controls such as taught by Seeley with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of reducing tire wear (see Seeley at least [0273]).
Regarding claim 10, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9, comprising a set of preexisting cockpit controls configured to provide inputs to the taxi controller, wherein the inputs are processed into commands sent to the drive control system (see VD at least [0062] "...When aircraft 100 is piloted, brake command 146 is generated when the pilot applies their feet to brake pedals of aircraft 100, which are conventionally mounted on top of the rudder pedals. Application of pressure to the brake pedals indicates a request to retard or halt the motion of aircraft 100, and the control system 128 does so. In some illustrative examples, drive command 139 to move aircraft 100 forward is generated when a pilot provides physical pressure or movement of a new pilot control, such as a taxi control, to provide an input. In other illustrative examples, in an unmanned or unpiloted aircraft, drive command 139 is generated based on alternative input." and [0095] "Although not depicted, controller 308 receives inputs from different sources to control taxiing system 302. In one non-limiting example, controller 308 can generate commands such as drive commands, brake commands, neutral commands, or other commands to taxiing system 302 based on input from a pilot. In other illustrative examples, controller 308 can generate commands based on input provided by an autobrake system or other automated system.").
Regarding claim 11, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9, wherein the electric power source comprises an electric auxiliary power unit independent of a turbine auxiliary power unit (see VD at least [0036]-[0037] "...Energy storage locations 104 include at least two of number of engines 107, number of batteries 109, and number of auxiliary power units 111 of aircraft 100. As depicted, number of engines 107 includes engine 108, number of batteries 109 includes battery 110, and number of auxiliary power units 111 includes auxiliary power unit 112... Although energy storage locations 104 as depicted includes one of each of engine, battery, and auxiliary power unit, energy storage locations 104 is not limited to engine 108 of aircraft 100, battery 110, and auxiliary power unit 112. Energy storage locations 104 includes any desirable quantity of at least two of engine, battery, and auxiliary power unit. In other non-depicted examples, energy storage locations 104 includes at least one of more than one engine, more than one battery, or more than one auxiliary power unit.").
Regarding claim 12, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 11, wherein the electric auxiliary power unit is recharged by generators on an aircraft engine (see VD at least [0058] "In the case where the regenerative energy is sent to battery 110, it simply acts as a charging current, but a protection means is provided to limit the charging current to a safe level. If the energy exceeds the capacity of battery 110 to absorb it, control system 128 activates additional power sinks by changing the control of rotating elements from generating mode to motoring mode." [0089] "Energy storage locations 310 includes at least two of a number of engines, a number of batteries, and a number of auxiliary power units of aircraft 304... Engine core 330 has motor 334. Motor 334 may also be referred to as a generator or a motor/generator. Engine fan 332 has motor 336. Motor 336 may also be referred to as a generator or a motor/generator..." [0094] "Controller 308 is configured to direct electric energy generated by number of electric motors 306 to battery 326. Controller 308 is configured to direct electric energy generated by number of electric motors 306 to at least one of engine 324 of aircraft 304 or auxiliary power unit 328 when battery 326 reaches a charge capacity." [0099] "Flow diagram 400 includes power switch matrix 402 configured to direct flow of electric energy within taxiing system 404. Power switch matrix 402 directs electric energy flow to and from each of engine 406 motor/generators, auxiliary power unit 408 motor/generators, battery 410, number of electric motors 412 attached to the wheels of the aircraft, and aircraft electrical loads 414.").
Regarding claim 13, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9, wherein the electric motor-generators recharge the electric power source when performing regenerative braking (see VD at least [0055] "Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one battery of number of batteries 109..." and [0058] "In the case where the regenerative energy is sent to battery 110, it simply acts as a charging current, but a protection means is provided to limit the charging current to a safe level...").
Regarding claim 24, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9, comprising a user interface configured to display information (see Atamanov at least [0026] "...The processor will also be coupled to various input/output (I/O) devices for receiving input from a user or another system and for providing an output to a user or another system. These I/O devices include human interaction devices such as keyboards, touchscreens, displays, as well as remote connected computer systems.") about the taxi controller (see VD at least [0061] "Control system 128 sends commands 130 to flow control switch system 131 depending upon a desired operation of operations 132. Commands 130 are sent to set switches 133 to perform at least one operation of operations 132. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 within taxiing system 102. Switches 133 direct the movement of electric energy 127 between number of electric motors 106 and energy storage locations 104…") and to receive user input (see Atamanov at least [0026] "...The processor will also be coupled to various input/output (I/O) devices for receiving input from a user or another system and for providing an output to a user or another system. These I/O devices include human interaction devices such as keyboards, touchscreens, displays, as well as remote connected computer systems.") to calibrate an auto-braking function for reducing aircraft speed autonomously upon landing (see VD at least [0063]-[0064] “In some illustrative examples, brake command 146 is generated based on input from an autobrake system. An autobrake system automatically applies and controls braking during landings. In some illustrative examples, when aircraft 100 is an unmanned or unpiloted aircraft, commands 130 are generated as part of a centralized aircraft control system and are not generated based on physical input by a pilot present on aircraft 100. In some illustrative examples, taxiing system 102 is operated during landing 126 to store energy 124 from landing 126 in at least one of energy storage locations 104. In some illustrative examples, during landing 126, energy 124 of landing 126 is converted to electric energy 127 by number of electric motors 106. Number of electric motors 106 is connected to energy storage locations 104 such that energy 124 from landing 126 aircraft 100 is stored in energy storage locations 104. In some illustrative examples, to store energy 124, control system 128 sends charge command 158.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system as disclosed by VD with an interface capable of receiving input and providing output such as taught by Atamanov with a reasonable expectation of success so as to assist with controlling flight (see Atamanov at least [0029]).
Regarding claim 25, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9, wherein each electric motor-generator is mounted on a main body of an aircraft (see VD at least Fig 3 and [0091] "Auxiliary power unit 328 has motor 338. Motor 338 may be referred to as motor/generator. In some illustrative examples, auxiliary power unit 328 provides energy to operate at least one motor of number of electric motors 306...") and a driveshaft is configured to transmit power to (see Atamanov at least [0046] "FIG. 2 illustrates a representation of hybrid electric motor 200 showing a cutaway portion exposing the fan blades. In FIG. 2 interior fan blades 210 are mounted to a central shaft 212. Secondary fan blades 214 are mounted to an interior duct 216. The interior duct 216 is also mounted to the shaft 212. Surrounding the shaft 212 is a variable-speed electric motor 218 (shown closed) operable for driving the shaft 212 causing the fans to rotate and generate thrust...") and perform regenerative braking with a respective main gear wheel (see VD at least Fig 3 and [0086] "...As depicted, number of electric motors 306 includes electric motor 316 connected to wheel 318 and electric motor 320 connected to wheel 322.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor-generator as disclosed by VD with a driveshaft such as further taught by Atamanov with a reasonable expectation of success so as to transmit and receive power (see Atamanov at least [0005]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), Atamanov (US-2019/0291852; already of record), and Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record), and further in view of Severinsky et al. (US-2001/0039230; hereinafter Severinsky).
Regarding claim 14, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9, wherein [power redirect] instead of recharging the electric power source to provide supplemental braking when the electric power source has a high state of charge (see VD at least [0055] "Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one battery of number of batteries 109. Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one of an engine of number of engines 107 of aircraft 100 or an auxiliary power unit of number of auxiliary power units 111 when battery 110 reaches a charge capacity." and [0058]-[0059] " ...If the energy exceeds the capacity of battery 110 to absorb it, control system 128 activates additional power sinks by changing the control of rotating elements from generating mode to motoring mode. When the retarding force available from operating number of electric motors 106 in regenerative (generating mode) is insufficient to slow aircraft 100, conventional aircraft friction brakes, such as carbon brakes 151, may be used to provide additional retarding force.").
However, while VD details energy being redirected once a battery is fully charged, the following is not explicitly stated:
…each electric motor-generator supplies power to a respective brake resistor…
Severinsky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…each electric motor-generator supplies power to a respective brake resistor (see Severinsky at least [0293] "...For example, if regenerative braking is used to commence deceleration but hydraulic braking must take over, e.g., if the battery bank's state of charge becomes full during a long descent, or if a leisurely stop suddenly becomes abrupt, the braking regime must change smoothly and controllably. Regenerative braking is also not available when the vehicle is moving very slowly or is at rest, and mechanical brakes must be available under these circumstances.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy redirect such as taught by VD with an activation of friction brakes such as taught by Severinsky with a reasonable expectation of success so as to prevent overcharging the battery while still maintaining full control of the aircraft according to pilot commands (see Severinsky at least [0103]).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), and Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record).
Regarding claim 16, VD discloses a method for electric aircraft taxiing (see VD at least Abs and [0004]), comprising:
providing electric power from an auxiliary electric power source configured onboard an aircraft, wherein the auxiliary power source provides electric power independent of aircraft engine power (see VD at least Fig 1 and [0051] "...When number of electric motors 106 is bidirectionally electrically connected to battery 110, number of electric motors 106 can both send electric energy 127 to and receive electric energy 127 from battery 110. Battery 110 stores electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106. Battery 110 stores electric energy 127 for powering number of electric motors 106 in taxiing 140."); and
integrating a taxi controller with preexisting cockpit controls such that the preexisting cockpit controls are configured to control the aircraft via the taxi controller (see VD at least [0062] "...When aircraft 100 is piloted, brake command 146 is generated when the pilot applies their feet to brake pedals of aircraft 100, which are conventionally mounted on top of the rudder pedals. Application of pressure to the brake pedals indicates a request to retard or halt the motion of aircraft 100, and the control system 128 does so... In other illustrative examples, in an unmanned or unpiloted aircraft, drive command 139 is generated based on alternative input." [0092] "Controller 308 may also be referred to as a control system. Controller 308 is an implementation of control system 128 of FIG. 1. Controller 308 is configured to send commands to a flow control switch system to direct electric energy between energy storage locations 310 and number of electric motors 306." [0095] "Although not depicted, controller 308 receives inputs from different sources to control taxiing system 302. In one non-limiting example, controller 308 can generate commands such as drive commands, brake commands, neutral commands, or other commands to taxiing system 302 based on input from a pilot. In other illustrative examples, controller 308 can generate commands based on input provided by an autobrake system or other automated system.") for performing electric taxiing steps of:
driving main landing gear wheels powered by the auxiliary electric power source for driving the aircraft (see VD at least [0051] "...Battery 110 stores electric energy 127 for powering number of electric motors 106 in taxiing 140." [0078] "When aircraft 206 has a taxiing system with electric motors connected to the wheels of the landing gear, aircraft 206 is configured to taxi without operating the engines of aircraft 206..." [0095] "...In one non-limiting example, controller 308 can generate commands such as drive commands, brake commands, neutral commands, or other commands to taxiing system 302 based on input from a pilot. In other illustrative examples, controller 308 can generate commands based on input provided by an autobrake system or other automated system.");
…
braking the main landing gear wheels for braking the aircraft (see VD at least [0041] "Number of electric motors 106 is connected to wheels 118 of the aircraft to at least one of drive or decelerate wheels 118 using power provided by at least one energy storage location of energy storage locations 104. Decelerating wheels 118 includes all decrease of deceleration. In some illustrative examples, decelerating wheels 118 slows aircraft 100. In some illustrative examples, decelerating wheels 118 stops aircraft 100. In some illustrative examples, decelerating wheels 118 additionally includes keeping aircraft 100 stationary.");
driving the main landing gear wheels during takeoff while aircraft engines are on (see VD at least [0070]-[0071] "In some illustrative examples, taxiing system 102 is used for backing aircraft 100 from a gate. In some illustrative examples, control system 128 sends drive command 139 regardless of the direction of movement of aircraft 100. In these illustrative examples, control system 128 sends drive command 139 for backing up aircraft 100 from a gate. In these illustrative examples, flow of power within taxiing system 102 to number of electric motors 106 is the same for taxiing 140 and backing-up of aircraft 100... In some illustrative examples, taxiing system 102 performs taxiing 140 without energy from engines 143. By using taxiing system 102 to perform taxiing 140, fuel used by engines 143 during taxiing 140 is reduced. In some illustrative examples, taxiing system 102 allows aircraft 100 to perform taxiing 140 without engaging engines 143. In these illustrative examples, taxiing system 102 uses electric energy 127 from one of battery 110 or auxiliary power unit 112." and [0075] "Turning now to FIG. 2, an illustration of a plurality of aircraft waiting to taxi to or from a runway is depicted in accordance with an illustrative embodiment. In view 200, aircraft 202 is present on runway 204. Aircraft 202 is preparing to takeoff on runway 204. Aircraft 202 has its engines running in preparation for takeoff."); and
…
However, VD does not explicitly disclose the following:
…steering a nosewheel for steering the aircraft…
…driving the main landing gear wheels during landing such that a speed of the main landing gear wheels matches a ground speed of the aircraft.
Charuel, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…steering a nosewheel for steering the aircraft (see Charuel at least [0037] "...For this purpose, the taxiing computer 51 receives signals from a steering wheel 52 operated by the pilot to steer the aircraft. The taxiing computer 51 is then advantageously connected to the steering control of the nosewheel 1 so as to steer it, and, where necessary, particularly when performing a tight turn, so as to control the auxiliary taxiing motors 7 differentially so as to assist in turning...")…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing control system as disclosed by VD with details pertaining to steering control such as taught by Charuel with a reasonable expectation of success so as to provide full control to an aircraft during a taxiing maneuver (see Charuel at least [0037]).
However, neither VD nor Charuel explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…driving the main landing gear wheels during landing such that a speed of the main landing gear wheels matches a ground speed of the aircraft.
Seeley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…driving the main landing gear wheels during landing such that a speed of the main landing gear wheels matches a ground speed of the aircraft (see Seeley at least [0273] "...The wheelmotor inside each main landing gear wheel will spool up the rotational speed of its wheel to match the detected ground speed of the aircraft just prior to the moment of landing touch-down...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by VD in view of Charuel with wheel controls such as taught by Seeley with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of reducing tire wear (see Seeley at least [0273]).
Regarding claim 19, VD in view of Charuel and Seeley teach the method of claim 16, comprising performing regenerative braking on the main landing gear wheels and recharging the auxiliary electric power source while performing regenerative braking (see VD at least [0055] "Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one battery of number of batteries 109. Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one of an engine of number of engines 107 of aircraft 100 or an auxiliary power unit of number of auxiliary power units 111 when battery 110 reaches a charge capacity." [0058] "In the case where the regenerative energy is sent to battery 110, it simply acts as a charging current, but a protection means is provided to limit the charging current to a safe level. If the energy exceeds the capacity of battery 110 to absorb it, control system 128 activates additional power sinks by changing the control of rotating elements from generating mode to motoring mode.").
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), and Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record), and further in view of Severinsky et al. (US-2001/0039230; hereinafter Severinsky).
Regarding claim 20, VD in view of Charuel and Seeley teach the method of claim 19, comprising diverting power sourced from regenerative braking … when the auxiliary electric power source has a high state of charge (see VD at least [0055] "Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one battery of number of batteries 109. Control system 128 is configured to direct electric energy 127 generated by number of electric motors 106 to at least one of an engine of number of engines 107 of aircraft 100 or an auxiliary power unit of number of auxiliary power units 111 when battery 110 reaches a charge capacity." and [0058]-[0059] " ...If the energy exceeds the capacity of battery 110 to absorb it, control system 128 activates additional power sinks by changing the control of rotating elements from generating mode to motoring mode. When the retarding force available from operating number of electric motors 106 in regenerative (generating mode) is insufficient to slow aircraft 100, conventional aircraft friction brakes, such as carbon brakes 151, may be used to provide additional retarding force.").
However, while VD details energy being redirected once a battery is fully charged, the following is not explicitly stated:
…diverting power…to a brake resistor configured to provide supplemental braking…
Severinsky, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
… diverting power…to a brake resistor configured to provide supplemental braking (see Severinsky at least [0293] "...For example, if regenerative braking is used to commence deceleration but hydraulic braking must take over, e.g., if the battery bank's state of charge becomes full during a long descent, or if a leisurely stop suddenly becomes abrupt, the braking regime must change smoothly and controllably. Regenerative braking is also not available when the vehicle is moving very slowly or is at rest, and mechanical brakes must be available under these circumstances.")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy redirect such as taught by VD with an activation of friction brakes such as taught by Severinsky with a reasonable expectation of success so as to prevent overcharging the battery while still maintaining full control of the aircraft according to pilot commands (see Severinsky at least [0103]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Adachi et al. (US-2019/0322308; hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Kim et al. (US-2020/0216087; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 21, VD in view of Charuel and Adachi teach the system of claim 1. However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Adachi explicitly disclose or teach the preexisting aircraft controls comprise a user interface configured to display information about the taxi controller and to receive user input to adjust the amount of regenerative brake strength.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the preexisting aircraft controls comprise a user interface configured to display information about the taxi controller and to receive user input to adjust the amount of regenerative brake strength (see Kim at least Fig 7, [0020]-[0021] "FIG. 7 is a diagram illustrating previous drivability data and a display state of a distance to empty in a process of controlling the traveling characteristic of the vehicle according to the embodiment of the present invention; FIGS. 8 and 9 are diagrams, each illustrating a state where a driver makes the change to a parameter and the display state of the distance to empty, in the process of controlling the traveling characteristic of the vehicle according to the embodiment of the present invention..." and [0235] "In embodiments, the amount of regenerative braking and the air-conditioning limit mode are parameter items to which a change is possibly made using only the adjustment bar. When the economical level is adjusted, the parameter values of the amount of regenerative braking and the air-conditioning limit mode maintains, which results from performing the setting using the adjustment bar, remains unchanged. Only the maximum speed limit is adjusted to a value that corresponds to the economical level that results from making the change, except for the maximum output, the feeling of acceleration, the feeling of deceleration, and the responsiveness. The adjusted maximum speed limit is indicated by the adjustment bar on the upper portion.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the preexisting aircraft controls as disclosed by VD with a user interface capable of adjusting regenerative braking strength such as taught by Kim with a reasonable expectation of success so as to operate the vehicle according to a user’s preferences (see Kim at least [0167]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Adachi et al. (US-2019/0322308; hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record).
Regarding claim 22, VD in view of Charuel and Adachi teach the system of claim 1, wherein a wheel speed sensor (see Adachi at least [0048] "…The vehicle speed acquisition unit 28 includes a speed sensor or the like provided at one or more wheels, for example.") and a motor drive shaft sensor (see Adachi at least [0059] "...Also, in a case in which the travel driving force output device 90 includes only the travel motor instead of the engine EG and the automated transmission TM, the motor ECU adjusts a duty ratio of a PWM (pulse width modulation) signal to be applied to the travel motor in accordance with information input from the travel control unit 120 and outputs the aforementioned travel driving force..." and [0086] "...The crankshaft rotational frequency sensor 201 detects a rotational frequency Ne of the crankshaft 221 (engine EG), and the rotational frequency Ne is provided to the AT-ECU 5...") are configured to …
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing control system as disclosed by VD with various sensor readings such as taught by Adachi with a reasonable expectation of success so as to detect operational characteristics throughout operation of the vehicle (see Adachi at least [0043]).
However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Adachi explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…provide closed-loop feedback to the drive controller such that the main gear electric motor-generator adjusts output to closely match a commanded taxi speed with a real speed of the aircraft.
Seeley, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…provide closed-loop feedback to the drive controller such that the main gear electric motor-generator adjusts output to closely match a commanded taxi speed with a real speed of the aircraft (see Seeley at least [0273] "...The wheelmotor inside each main landing gear wheel will spool up the rotational speed of its wheel to match the detected ground speed of the aircraft just prior to the moment of landing touch-down...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taxiing controls as taught by VD in view of Charuel and Adachi with wheel controls such as taught by Seeley with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of reducing tire wear (see Seeley at least [0273]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Adachi et al. (US-2019/0322308; hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Dewitt et al. (US-2011/0275274; hereinafter Dewitt).
Regarding claim 23, VD in view of Charuel and Adachi teach the system of claim 7. However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Adachi explicitly disclose or teach the preexisting cockpit controls comprise a user interface configured to display information about the nosewheel steering controller and to receive user input to increase a gain of the nosewheel steering controller for adjusting a feel of steering the aircraft nosewheel.
Dewitt, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the preexisting cockpit controls comprise a user interface configured to display information about the nosewheel steering controller and to receive user input to increase a gain of the nosewheel steering controller for adjusting a feel of steering the aircraft nosewheel (see Dewitt at least Fig 4 and [0037] "When portable electronic device 102 is not connected, the user may modify the parameters in memory 104C through parameter user interface 104D. Parameter interface 104D may allow the user to modify basic parameters such as servo reversing, steering sensitivity, and throttle sensitivity. These basic parameters may be sufficient for the user to operate the model vehicle, but may be limited by the input and output capabilities of parameter interface 104D.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controls as disclosed by VD with a user interface capable of adjusting a feel of steering such as taught by Dewitt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to allow for personalized user controls (see Dewitt at least [0005]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record), Atamanov (US-2019/0291852; already of record) and further in view of Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record), and further in view of Harvey et al. (US-2020/0377233; hereinafter Harvey).
Regarding claim 26, VD in view of Charuel, Atamanov, and Seeley teach the system of claim 9. However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Atamanov nor Seeley explicitly disclose or teach a maximum power while taxiing provided by each electric motor-generator is limited to a percentage of a maximum discharge rate of the electric power source.
Harvey, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
a maximum power while taxiing provided by each electric motor-generator is limited to a percentage of a maximum discharge rate of the electric power source (see Harvey at least [0038] "In various implementations, the UAV system 102 utilizes a battery 126 to provide power to one or more of the sensors, processors, motors, and other devices before, during, and/or after flight. The battery 126 may be a lithium battery or lithium polymer battery in various implementations. In a particular implementation, a lithium polymer battery with 6 cells and a capacity of 14 A with a maximum 10 C discharge rate and 5 C charge rate may be used to supply power for a flight time of 20 minutes. In some implementations, the UAV system 126 utilizes a lithium polymer battery having a capacity of at least 17 A for a flight time of approximately 20 minutes.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of taxiing such as disclosed by VD with a limiting variable such as a discharge rate such as taught by Harvey with a reasonable expectation of success since aircraft controls are limited to an amount of energy available from an energy source (see Harvey at least [0038]-[0039]).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record), and further in view of Dewitt et al. (US-2011/0275274; hereinafter Dewitt).
Regarding claim 27, VD in view of Charuel and Seeley teach the method of claim 16. However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Seeley explicitly disclose or teach the preexisting cockpit controls comprise a user interface configured to display information about the taxi controller and to receive user input to increase a gain of a nosewheel steering controller for adjusting a feel of steering the nosewheel.
Dewitt, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
the preexisting cockpit controls comprise a user interface configured to display information about the taxi controller and to receive user input to increase a gain of a nosewheel steering controller for adjusting a feel of steering the nosewheel (see Dewitt at least Fig 4 and [0037] "When portable electronic device 102 is not connected, the user may modify the parameters in memory 104C through parameter user interface 104D. Parameter interface 104D may allow the user to modify basic parameters such as servo reversing, steering sensitivity, and throttle sensitivity. These basic parameters may be sufficient for the user to operate the model vehicle, but may be limited by the input and output capabilities of parameter interface 104D.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controls as disclosed by VD with a user interface capable of adjusting a feel of steering such as taught by Dewitt with a reasonable expectation of success so as to allow for personalized user controls (see Dewitt at least [0005]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Deventer et al. (US-2021/0192964; hereinafter VD; already of record from IDS) in view of Charuel et al. (US-2010/0276535; hereinafter Charuel; already of record) and Seeley (US-2022/0169400; already of record), and further in view of Atamanov (US-2019/0291852; already of record).
Regarding claim 28, VD in view of Charuel and Seeley teach the method of claim 16. However, neither VD nor Charuel nor Seeley explicitly disclose or teach when performing a reduced-distance takeoff, driving the main landing gear wheels initially at a maximum torque followed by reducing a torque demand such that torque delivered is approximately zero as the aircraft reaches liftoff speed.
Atamanov, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
when performing a reduced-distance takeoff, driving the main landing gear wheels initially at a maximum torque followed by reducing a torque demand such that torque delivered is approximately zero as the aircraft reaches liftoff speed (see Atamanov at least [0053] "In certain embodiments the processor may control the motor, engine and clutch assembly to provide a predetermined amount of thrust. The thrust amount may be in response to a preset flight characteristic. For example, and without limitation, a desired flight pattern may be programmed into system memory. The processor may then instruct the engine, clutch and motor to provide the maximum thrust for liftoff of the flying vehicle. Once a preset altitude is reached, the processor may dis-engage the engine so that only electric power is used for flight. Disengagement may be effectuated by powering off the engine and releasing the clutch. Alternatively, or in the event of a low battery indication, the engine and clutch assembly may be fully engaged and the electric motor left to “free wheel” the shaft.")...
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electric motor-generators as disclosed by VD with a maximum torque command such as taught by Atamanov with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of achieving a successful liftoff (see Atamanov at least [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Collins (US-2021/0354807) teaches a brake angle sensor used to determine an extent of a user input.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663