DETAILED ACTION
This office correspondence is in response to “Amendment and Response under 37 C.F.R. 1.111 filed on November 17, 2025 in response to a non-final office action dated September 24, 2025.
Claims 1, and 3 – 6 are pending.
Claims 1, and 3 – 5 are amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claim 6 is added
Claims 1, and 3 – 6 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/17/2025 have been fully considered:
In regard to the objection to the specification, the applicant has amended the title of the invention to be adequately descriptive – “METHOD FOR MANAGING AUTHORITY TO ENTER FOR A POWER SUPPLY VEHICLE”. Therein the objection is withdrawn.
In regard to claims 1 – 4 which were rejected on the ground of provisional non-statutory anticipatory-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of U.S. Application 18/664989 (now U.S. Patent 12503003), the claims of the two inventions have diverged so that the inventions are patently distinct, and thus the double patenting claims have been withdrawn.
In regard to claims 1 – 5 which were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more, the applicant has amended the independent claim 1 so that the claimed subject matter is integrated into a practical application under Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis described in MPEP 2016.04(d). Therein the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
In regard to claims 1 – 5 which were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 at least one argument is persuasive to the rejection of claims from the last office action and said rejections are withdrawn, but applicant’s amendment necessitated a new search and consideration resulting in a new grounds of rejections for claims 1 – 5 and new claim 6. The examiner here now responds to each argument. Underlined text indicates claim language that was amended since the last office action.
In regard to claims 1 – 5, the applicant argues that the claimed invention, as represented by claim 1, is directed to patent- eligible subject matter in the context of Step 2A, Prong Two or Step 2B.
The applicant states:
“ . . . Regarding Step 2A, Prong Two, the Examiner asserts that the additional elements recited in the pending claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea. See the Office Action at page 7. Moreover, regarding Step 2B, the Examiner asserts that the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recites the concept of reserving the use of a charging service at a location and granting the authority to enter the location to provide the charging service, the concept can be done by a human without technological enhancement and that the use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). See the Office Action at page 8.
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner and submits that the above-mentioned Examiner's assertion is not established for amended claim 1. As mentioned above, amended claim 1 now recites "causing, by the controller via the communication interface, the device to permit the power supply vehicle to enter the location based on the first identification information." This limitation specifies that amended claim 1 does not simply recite gathering and processing data. Instead, this feature ties the technical processes recited in amended claim 1 to a real-world action by causing an external device to actually perform a procedure to permit a power supply vehicle to enter a restricted location which has a restriction on entering. This feature ensures that amended claim 1 as a whole recites not merely use of the information processing apparatus as a tool to implement the abstract idea, but a specific technical solution rooted in the physical world.
This approach aligns precisely with the principles illustrated in Example 21 (Transmission Of Stock Quote Data) from the USPTO Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility. In this example claim 2 was found eligible because it addressed the "Internet-centric challenge of alerting a subscriber with time sensitive information when the subscriber's computer is offline" by transmitting an alert that activated the stock viewer application on the subscriber's computer, which in turn displayed data and enabled a connection. This moved the invention recited in claim 2 beyond a mere abstract concept, defining specific technical actions that create a tangible, real-world effect.
Similarly, amended claim 1 of the present application utilizes automated data processing and determination to initiate a tangible, real-world transaction, i.e. permitting a power supply vehicle to enter a restricted location. Just as the alert in Example 21's eligible claim causes a computer to take specific action to solve a technical problem, the claimed method here causes a device installed at an entrance of a restricted location to execute a physical procedure to permit a power supply vehicle to enter the restricted location. This integration of the abstract idea with a concrete, real-world process results in technical improvement over prior art systems.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that amended claim 1 as a whole integrates an abstract idea into a practical application, and therefore, is directed to patent-eligible subject matter in the context of Step 2A, Prong 2.
Furthermore, Applicant submits that amended claim 1 is patent-eligible in the context of Step 2B for the same reasons that claims 2 and 3 of Example 35 (Verifying A Bank Customer's Identity To Permit An ATM Transaction) from the USPTO Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility.
In Example 35, the non-generic steps (e.g., generating a random code, reading encrypted data) transformed the abstract idea of "fraud prevention" into a practical application.
Similarly, amended claim 1 transforms the abstract idea of "granting permission" by the claimed sequence of steps: the system's temporary issuance of authority associated with a unique ID and password to enter a restricted location to a power supply vehicle, which is achieved by the claimed "storing" and "temporarily granting" steps, followed by verification and physical actuation at the device installed at an entrance of the location, which is achieved by "receiving" and "causing" steps. These processes are necessary to solve the technical and logistical problem of safely granting access to a restricted location for an unpermitted service vehicle (power supply vehicle). Moreover, amended claim 1 now contains the features that satisfy the "Significantly More" requirement of Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, for the reason precisely explained in "Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103" below.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 as amended complies with 35 U.S.C. § 101 and thus is patent eligible. Similar to claim 1, claims 3-5 also comply with 35 U.S.C. § 101 in that they depend from amended claim 1. Furthermore, claim 2 has been canceled, and thus the rejection related to claim 2 is moot. . . .” (Applicant’s remarks pages 9 – 11).
In response to the applicant’s arguments:
The applicant’s argument is persuasive in light of amended claim 1 because the amended claim language causes a device installed at an entrance of a restricted location to permit a power supply vehicle to enter the restricted location, which is a real world process that could not be done by only human intervention for solving a real world problem. Therefore the amended claim 1 integrates the abstract idea into a practical application and is directed to patent-eligible subject matter in the context of Step 2A, Prong 2. Additionally, the applicant is persuasive in advocating that amended claim 1 transforms the abstract idea of “granting permission” by the series of steps recited in the claim comprising an algorithm to enable a vehicle to enter a restricted location, which satisfies the “significantly more” requirement of step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test. Therein the claims are statutory under 35 USC 101, and the rejections are withdrawn.
In regard to claims 1, and 3 - 5, the applicant argues that the prior art combination of Niwa, Tafti, and Mannepalli fails to teach, anticipate or suggest:
“ causing, by the controller via the communication interface, the device to permit the power supply vehicle to enter the location based on the first identification information,
wherein the first identification information includes a unique ID and password assigned to the power supply vehicle or a provider of the charging service.”
The applicant states:
“ . . . With regard to the first identification information recited in previously existing claim 2, the Examiner asserts that Tafti teaches it in paragraphs [0087]-[0088]. See the Office Action at pages 12- 13.
Applicant respectfully submits that the above-mentioned Examiner's assertion is not established for amended claim 1. While paragraphs [0087]-[0088] of Tafti discloses the general charging request information transmitted from a power receiver (PR) 102 to a mobile power transmitter (MPT) 100, such as charging characteristics information, Tafti still fails to teach or suggest that this transmitted information includes the claimed unique ID and password that are associated with an authority temporarily granted by the MPT 100 (allegedly information processing apparatus) to the PR102 (allegedly power supply vehicle) to enter the location that has an entry restriction.
Mannepalli fails to cure the defects of Tafti since this reference is completely silent on the above-mentioned specific feature recited in amended claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that even when the teachings of Tafti and Mannepalli are provided to Niwa in the manner proposed in the Office Action, the combination of Niwa, Tafti, and Mannepalli still fails to teach each and every element of amended claim 1 as to render it obvious under 35 U.S.C. § 103. . . .” (Applicant’s remarks page 13)
In response to the applicant’s argument:
The applicant amended independent claim 1 to include the limitations under review. Upon review of applicant’s arguments pertaining to the existing prior art not teaching the added requirements of the claimed invention, the applicant’s arguments were persuasive to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as being unpatentable over Niwa and Tafti, but the applicant’s amendments triggered a new search and consideration which discovered new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 and said claims are therein rejected as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (U.S. 2019/0126768 A1; herein referred to as Niwa) in view of Akhaven-Tafti (U.S. 2022/0379762 A1; herein referred to as Tafti) in further view of Chelnik (U.S. 2019/0108700 A1; herein referred to as Chelnik). The new prior art Chelnik is analogous art directed to managing a parking facility where a host processor associated with the parking facility receives identification information relating to a vehicle entering, exiting and/or parked in the parking facility. The host processor may determine an account associated with the vehicle, based on the identification information and on account information associated with the account. The host processor may determine that the vehicle is authorized to park in the parking facility, based on the account information. And host processor transmits permission information to a user device to thereby allow the vehicle to enter, exit and/or remain parked in the parking facility. When combined with the prior art of Niwa and Tafti, Chelnik teaches the amended claim as shown:
Chelnik teaches
causing, by the controller via the communication interface (see Fig. 1 ¶[0036] “ . . . As shown in FIG. 1, the system 100 comprises any number of input units 104 and/or output units 106 that may interact with the host processor 102 via a network 110. Generally, input units 104 may be attached to various locations within a parking facility (e.g., entrance, exit, walls, columns, ceilings, parking spaces, etc.); carried by service providers throughout a parking facility; and/or attached to (or otherwise included in) autonomous and/or remote-controlled vehicles that may move throughout a parking facility . . .”) , the device to permit the power supply vehicle to enter the location based on the first identification information (e.g. permission information) (see ¶[0012] “ . . . The host processor generates a parking identification for the vehicle and/or the operator and associates the parking identification with the account. At least one input unit communicatively coupled to the host processor, retrieves vehicle information from vehicles and/or operators entering a first parking facility of the parking facilities associated with the host processor, obtains permission information for authorizing the vehicle to enter the first parking facility based on the account, and causes activation of an entry device into the first parking facility using the permission information . . .”) ,
wherein the first identification information includes a unique ID and password assigned to the power supply vehicle or a provider of the charging service (see Fig. 2 ¶¶[0060-0061] “ . . . At step 205, the system associates the received account information with a new account or an existing account. In one embodiment, the system may determine and store a unique account ID for each account registered with the system, a unique vehicle ID for each vehicle registered with the system and/or a unique operator ID for each operator registered with the system. The vehicle ID may be generated from any received vehicle information or may simply be sequential. The operator ID may be, for example, a password or personal identification number (PIN) and/or the operator ID may be generated from any operator information obtained from the operator. The operator ID may be assigned to an operator, associated with a corresponding account and stored in the database. At step 210, the system may determine and/or associate authorization information with the account. Generally, authorization information relates to one or more conditions under which a particular operator and/or vehicle may be permitted to enter or exit a given parking facility and/or remain parked in a given parking space within a parking facility. To that end, authorization information may include, or otherwise be based on, payment information and/or parking information . . .”)
The applicant is referenced to the rejections described below.
The examiner recommends that the applicant review the specification for disclosure that if integrated into the independent claims would distinguish the amended claims from the cited prior art. The applicant is invited to contact the examiner for an interview to discuss how to move the prosecution forward.
Authorization for Internet Communications
The Applicant has submitted an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
The applicant filed said statement on 11/6/2025 via PTO/SB/439.
Priority
This application claims priority to Japanese Patent Application No. 2023-069561 filed on April 20, 2023. The applicant has filed the necessary priority documents and is entitled to a priority date of 4/20/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2026 was filed on or after the mailing date of the non-final office action on September 24, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting Analysis
The applicant has filed applications 18/664989 (now U.S. Patent 12503003) which was co-pending with the instant application and names the assignee in common, and is directed to similar subject matter as the instant application. At this time of examination, the instant application appears to claim only subject matter directed to an invention that is independent and distinct from that claimed in the issued patent. Therein, no non-statutory Double Patenting rejections have been applied. The applicant is required to maintain a clear line of demarcation between the application and issued patent during prosecution, as the Double Patenting analysis can be revisited if the claims of the instant application and the issued patent converge to claiming the same subject matter. The applicant may wish to proactively file a terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) to overcome possible future Double Patenting rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (U.S. 2019/0126768 A1; herein referred to as Niwa) in view of Akhaven-Tafti (U.S. 2022/0379762 A1; herein referred to as Tafti) in further view of Chelnik (U.S. 2019/0108700 A1; herein referred to as Chelnik).
In regard to claim 1, Niwa teaches a method performed by an information processing apparatus (e.g. server) that comprises a controller, a memory, and a communications interface (see Fig. 1 ¶[0031] “ . . . Server 200 communicates with each vehicle 100 through communication network 500, and sends and receives various types of information to and from each vehicle 100. . . .”; see ¶[0046] “ . . . Server 200 includes a communication device 210, a storage device 220, and a processor 230. Communication device 210 is configured to perform bidirectional data communication with communication module 190 of vehicle 100 through communication network 500 (FIG. 1) . . .”) and manages authority to enter one or more locations (see abstract “ . . . A depleted EV transmits first information including a current location of the depleted EV to a server. Each of the other vehicles transmits second information including a current location of the vehicle to the server. When the server receives from the depleted EV a help signal requesting power supply from another vehicle to the depleted EV, the server selects, from among the other vehicles, a rescue EV to supply electric power to the depleted EV, using the first information and the second information. . . .”), the method comprising (see ¶[0002] “ . . . The present disclosure relates to a movable body rescue system, a server, and a movable body rescue method, and particularly to a system for rescuing a movable body equipped with a power storage device storing electric power for traveling, a server, and a method for rescuing the movable body. . . .”) :storing, by the controller on a database (see Fog. 4, 221 &222) in the memory, location admission information indicating whether each of the one or more locations has a restriction on entering (see Fig. 4, ¶[0047] “ . . Storage device 220 includes a map information database (DB) 221 and a vehicle information database (DB) 222. Map information DB 221 stores data on map information. Vehicle information DB 222 stores information of each vehicle 100 utilized in this movable body rescue system 10. Each vehicle 100 to be utilized in movable body rescue system 10 can be utilized in movable body rescue system 10 through a registration procedure in advance. Information of vehicle 100 thus registered is stored in vehicle information DB 222. A. . .”).;
receiving, by the controller via the communication interface, a notification that a reservation for use of a charging service has been made by a user who uses a location among the one or more locations (see ¶[0007] “ . . . A movable body rescue system of the present disclosure includes: a first movable body equipped with a first power storage device storing electric power for traveling; a plurality of second movable bodies each equipped with a second power storage device storing electric power for traveling; and a server configured to communicate with the first movable body and the plurality of second movable bodies. The first movable body is configured such that the first power storage device can be charged by receiving electric power from any one of the plurality of second movable bodies. Each of the second movable bodies is configured to supply the electric power stored in the second power storage device to the first movable body. The first movable body is configured to transmit first information including a current location of the first movable body to the server. Each of the second movable bodies is configured to transmit second information including a current location of the second movable body to the server. When the server receives from the first movable body a help signal requesting power supply from any one of the plurality of second movable bodies to the first movable body, the server is configured to select, from among the plurality of second movable bodies, a power-supplying movable body (rescue EV) to supply electric power to the first movable body, using the first information and the second information . . .”) ,
the charging service being a service in which a power supply vehicle charges a user vehicle at the location (see ¶[0008] “ . . . With the configuration as described above, the power-supplying movable body (rescue EV) selected from among the plurality of second movable bodies can be moved to the first movable body that has issued the help signal (depleted EV), to supply electric power from the power-supplying movable body to the first movable body. According to this movable body rescue system, therefore, the first power storage device equipped on the first movable body can be charged without the first movable body traveling to a charging station. . . .”);
Niwa fails to explicitly teach but Tafti traches temporarily granting, by the controller, first authority to enter the location to the power supply vehicle (see ¶[0014] “ . . . systems and methods for power delivery are provided for charging power receivers (PRs), including PEVs, via a decentralized charging network of mobile power transmitters (MPTs). Thus, a PEV has the ability to charge from an off-board electric power source. PEVs are classified into two main categories: 1) all-electric vehicles (EVs) or battery-electric vehicles (BEVs), and 2) plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs). In general, the term PEV is used to describe devices/vehicles powered in-part or completely by electricity stored in on-board rechargeable batteries or other storage devices. . . .”) in a case in which the local admission information indicates that a restriction on entering the location is provided by a device installed at an entrance of the location (see Fig. 9 ¶[0055] “ . . . communication system 107 communicates a charging service schedule, wherein the charging service schedule comprises at least of scheduled charging allocations and location. In some embodiments, communication system 107 communicates that MPT 100 is available to provide charging. In some embodiments, communication system 107 requests a charging permission from an MPT management system. In some embodiments, communication system 107 can search for PR 102. In some embodiments, communication system 107 can search for PR 102 from a database of charging service requests. In some embodiments, communication system 107 communicates with PR 102 directly or via a web-based application, i.e., the cloud 114. In some embodiments, communication system 107 communicates with a user preparing to charge a PR 102 directly, e.g., via phone or Bluetooth, or via a web-based application, i.e., the cloud 114. In some embodiments, communication system 107 communicates with a traffic management system, such as a police department, to provide traffic updates including accidents. In some embodiments, communication system 107 reports a hazardous condition to a safety management system, such as a fire department, including reporting a fire. In some embodiments, communication system 107 communicates with and provides updates to a traffic management system, such as an air control office. In some embodiments, communication system 107 communicates with a traffic management system and waits for a response, the response including permission to operate, weight limits, charging restrictions, safety requirements to operate, etc. In some embodiments, communication system 107 of a first MPT 100 communicates with a communication system 107 of a second MPT 100. In some embodiments, communication system 107 of a first MPT 100 communicates with other vehicles. In some embodiments, communication system 107 of a first MPT 100 can be contacted by other communication systems. A web-based application is envisioned that can, from many of its capabilities, process charging service requests of a plurality of power receivers and to connect a power receiver to a qualified MPT or a MPT fleet management system, the MPT fleet management system managing a plurality of MPTs. The web-based application can schedule charging service sessions for a plurality of PR's 102 and communicate the schedule with one or more PR's 102 and the qualified MPT or the MPT fleet management system. . . “; see Fig. 9, ¶[0065] “ . . . FIG. 9 is a schematic view illustrating a configuration wherein MPT 100 is installed indoor 170, in this case in a parking structure, and is capable of communicating 110 (via the cloud 114 or directly) with on-board control system 106 of PR 102. MPT 100 is constrained to only move along tracks 164, installed under 190 or above floor surface. MPT 100 may emerge from under the floor surface to provide charge or may remain under the floor surface and provide charge via non-contact methods of charging. . . .”);
receiving, by the controller via the communications interface, first identification information associated with the first authority granted to the power supply vehicle when the power supply vehicle enters the location (see Tafti ¶¶ [0087-0088] “ . . a. receiving from a PR 102 directly into a first database charging characteristics information, if applicable, billing data, said PR's anticipated regular and occasional charging requests for a known period of time, said charging requests consisting of date, desired charging time, desired charging location, frequency, and charging characteristics of said PR 102 having specific charging restrictions. b. itemizing and merging all trip requests for all PRs by date, desired charging time, and desired charging location. . .. “ see Tafti Fig. 12 ¶ [0094] “ . . . FIG. 12 is a flow chart of an exemplary algorithm through which charging status of PR 102 is assessed continuously 200. In some embodiments, the PR 102 is of a PR management system, wherein the PR management system comprising a plurality of PRs having charging characteristics, locations, schedules, etc. In some embodiments, the continuous charging status is assessed by a PR management system. A request for charging 202 is generated when the PR needs charging. Based on the information provided in the charging request, a compatible 204 MPT 100 from a charging service management is identified, informed in step 202, and deployed to charge the PR 102. In some embodiments, the PR 102 may be provided information in step 206 regarding a plurality of MPT fleet management services to choose from. In some embodiments, the PR 102 may be provided information 206 comprising a schedule regarding the time and the amount of allocated charge determined based on the generated charging request . . .”);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s application to incorporate a system and method for an on-demand electric charge service in communication with a traffic management system to process charge service requests and communicates a schedule that takes into account location restrictions and provide a charging permission, as taught by Tafti, into a system and method for servicing a depleted EV at a current location by dispatching a rescue EV to supply power to the depleted EV, as taught by Niwa. Such incorporation provides extra process in the Niwa system to cover restrictions at a location that may prevent servicing of the depleted EV.
The combination of Niwa and Tafti fails to explicitly teach ,
However Chelnik teaches and causing, by the controller via the communication interface (see Fig. 1 ¶[0036] “ . . . As shown in FIG. 1, the system 100 comprises any number of input units 104 and/or output units 106 that may interact with the host processor 102 via a network 110. Generally, input units 104 may be attached to various locations within a parking facility (e.g., entrance, exit, walls, columns, ceilings, parking spaces, etc.); carried by service providers throughout a parking facility; and/or attached to (or otherwise included in) autonomous and/or remote-controlled vehicles that may move throughout a parking facility . . .”) , the device to permit the power supply vehicle to enter the location based on the first identification information (e.g. permission information) (see ¶[0012] “ . . . The host processor generates a parking identification for the vehicle and/or the operator and associates the parking identification with the account. At least one input unit communicatively coupled to the host processor, retrieves vehicle information from vehicles and/or operators entering a first parking facility of the parking facilities associated with the host processor, obtains permission information for authorizing the vehicle to enter the first parking facility based on the account, and causes activation of an entry device into the first parking facility using the permission information . . .”) ,
wherein the first identification information includes a unique ID and password assigned to the power supply vehicle or a provider of the charging service (see Fig. 2 ¶¶[0060-0061] “ . . . At step 205, the system associates the received account information with a new account or an existing account. In one embodiment, the system may determine and store a unique account ID for each account registered with the system, a unique vehicle ID for each vehicle registered with the system and/or a unique operator ID for each operator registered with the system. The vehicle ID may be generated from any received vehicle information or may simply be sequential. The operator ID may be, for example, a password or personal identification number (PIN) and/or the operator ID may be generated from any operator information obtained from the operator. The operator ID may be assigned to an operator, associated with a corresponding account and stored in the database. At step 210, the system may determine and/or associate authorization information with the account. Generally, authorization information relates to one or more conditions under which a particular operator and/or vehicle may be permitted to enter or exit a given parking facility and/or remain parked in a given parking space within a parking facility. To that end, authorization information may include, or otherwise be based on, payment information and/or parking information . . .”)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s application to incorporate a system and method directed to managing a parking facility using a computerized device associated with the parking facility to receive identification information relating to a vehicle entering, exiting and/or parked in the parking facility, and providing permissions, as taught by Chelnik, into a system and method for servicing a depleted EV at a current location by dispatching a rescue EV to supply power to the depleted EV, using an on-demand electric charge service in communication with a traffic management system to process charge service requests and communicates a schedule that takes into account location restrictions and provide a charging permission, as taught by the combination of Niwa and Tafti. Such incorporation provides that identification information can include such permission information as user identification and passwords when a vehicle enters the location.
In regard to claim 3, the combination of Niwa, Tafti , and Chelnik teaches further comprising :
temporarily granting, by the controller, second authority to enter the location to the user vehicle in a case in which the user vehicle has not entered the location (see Tafti ¶ [0120] “ . . . the server 302 has access to a PR database 330 or user dataset containing identification information of a plurality of PEVs 350 and charging information of a plurality of MPTs 306. In some embodiments, the PEV identification information contains membership information and charging characteristics. In some embodiments, the membership information comprises account number, payment information, vehicle information, personal information, employment information, environmental preferences, carbon footprint information, place of residence, place of employment, demographic information, loyalty program information, background information, charge history information, history of PEV ownership information, driving history information, insurance information, social or financial credit information, reviews, desired charging locations, desired charging times, and PEV access instructions including safety and security information . . .”);
receiving, by the controller via the communication interface, second identification information associated with the second authority granted to the user vehicle when the user vehicle enters the location (see Tafti ¶ [0121] “ . . . the server 302 has access to an MPT database 332 and/or provider dataset containing charging information of a plurality of MPTs 306. In some embodiments, the MPT 306 charging information contains onboard charging system information 314 and charging schedule. In some embodiments, the MPT 306 onboard charging system 314 information includes onboard receptacle type(s), adaptor, available charge, operational current and voltage characteristics, percentage of charge from renewable sources, and onboard safety and security capabilities. In some embodiments, the charging schedule contains information such as radius of operation, operational dates and hours, available charging times, reserved charging locations, reserved charging times, and reserved charging durations. In some embodiments, the MPT 306 charging information contains information regarding the MPT 306 self-charging such as self-charging time, duration, location, etc. . . .”); and
causing, by the controller via the communications interface, the device to permit the user vehicle to enter the location based on the second identification information (see Tafti ¶ [0127] “ . . . The charge delivery system 370 delivers a charging station 372 to a location of a PR 304, e.g., a PEV 350. In some embodiments, an operator 352 preparing to charge a PEV 350 requests and receives an MPT, a charging station 372, at their desired charging time and location. The charging request is processed by a server 302, such as MPT management personnel 334 with access to computers and databases 330 and 332, and sent to an MPT, a charge delivery system 370. The charge delivery system 370 is operated by a technician and/or a driver 374. . . “).
The motivation to combine the references is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein. Additionally Tafti provides process to effect the EV service with the necessary location permissions.
In regard to claim 6, the combination of Niwa, Tafti , and Chelnik teaches wherein the notification includes first reservation information including information related to the reservation for use of the charging service (see Tafti Fig. 8 ¶ [0064] “ . . . FIG. 8 is a schematic view illustrating a configuration wherein an MPT 100 is installed indoor 170, in this case in a parking structure, and is capable of communicating 110 (via the cloud 172 or directly) with on-board control system 106 of PR 102. MPT 100 may be constrained to only move along one or more predetermined and discrete charging service routes, i.e., such as tracks 164 assigned to individual parking spots 121. In some embodiments, MPT 100 receives a charging service request from PR 102 via the cloud 114 or a parking vending machine. The charging request comprising a parking spot number to which MPT 100 relocates to charge a corresponding PR 102. MPT 100 may extend downward 123 to transmit power to PR 102. The charging service may be requested by a member use. . .”) and second reservation information including information about the reservation for the location (see Chelnik ¶ [0012] “ . . . The host processor coordinates parking between the parking facilities associated with the host processor, wherein in coordinating parking, the host processor allows for at least one of multi-location access or discounted access using one account and uses a reservation system to permit parking in an associated parking facility. The host processor processes the vehicle information to generate one or more of parking facility information, verification information and reports about each associated parking facility. . . .”).
The motivation to combine the references is described for the rejection of claim 1 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Tafti and Chelnik incorporates more verification information to reserve a charging service at a location that may have restrictions.
Claims 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niwa et al. (U.S. 2019/0126768 A1; herein referred to as Niwa) in view of Akhaven-Tafti (U.S. 2022/0379762 A1; herein referred to as Tafti) in further view of Chelnik (U.S. 2019/0108700 A1; herein referred to as Chelnik). as applied to claims 1, 3 and 6 in further view of Mannepalli (U.S. 2022/0305942 A1; herein referred to as Mannepalli).
In regard to claim 4, the combination of Niwa, Tafti, and Chelnik fails to explicitly teach but Mannepalli teaches further comprising charging, by the controller, the power supply vehicle a second fee that is lower than a first fee charged to the user vehicle in a case in which payment of a fee is required upon entering or exiting the location (see ¶ [0033] “ . . . , the server 102 may be configured to receive vehicle charging information (such as the location of charging, the time period of charging, or the SOC at start or end of charging) associated with the plurality of electric vehicles 104. In some embodiments, the plurality of electric vehicles 104 may upload respective vehicle charging information to the server 102. In some embodiments, the server 102 may receive the vehicle charging information from the plurality of electronic devices 106 associated with the corresponding plurality of electric vehicles 104. Based on the received vehicle charging information, the server 102 may determine a charging schedule for one or more electric vehicles of the plurality of electric vehicles 104. The charging schedule may relate to a time period for charging the one or more electric vehicles when the charging cost may be low or when the electric charging demand may be low or when there is a minimal electric power consumption or requirement from other electrical entities (such as electric appliance at home, industries, offices, public places, and the like). Therefore, based on the determined charging schedule, the one or more selected electric vehicles may reduce the charging cost. Details of the charging schedule are further explained, for example, in FIG. 3 . . .”).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s application to incorporate a system and method for scheduling electric charging of vehicles with electric cost information, as taught by Mannepalli, into a system and method for servicing a depleted EV at a current location by dispatching a rescue EV to supply power to the depleted EV, using an on-demand electric charge service in communication with a traffic management system to process charge service requests and communicates a schedule that takes into account location restrictions and provide a charging permission, and using a computerized device associated with the parking facility to receive identification information relating to a vehicle entering, exiting and/or parked in the parking facility, and providing permissions as taught by the combination of Niwa, Tafti, and Chelnik. Such incorporation introduces a cost assessment to the charging service.
In regard to claim 5, the combination of Niwa , Tafti, Chelnik, and Mannepalli teaches further comprising charging, by the controller. A fee only to the user vehicle and not to the power supply vehicle in a case in which payment of a fee is required upon entering or exiting the location (see Mannepalli ¶ [0065] “ . . . , in case the server 102 communicates with the electric grid 108 of a first location mentioned in the first information and receives a discount in the electricity cost from the electric grid 108 based on a low electricity demand at the same first location, the server 102 may determine the set of electric vehicles 104A-104N of the same first location, such that the determined electric vehicles may get the benefits (such as cost-saving in the charging cost) when charged at the same first location mentioned in the optimal charging schedule determined for the set of electric vehicles 104A-104N. In another example, in case the server 102 communicates with the electric grid 108 of a second location mentioned in the first information of the vehicle charging information, and receives no discount in the electricity cost based on the high electricity demand, the server 102 may not determine the set of electric vehicles 104A-104N in the second location, as it may be difficult to provide the cost benefits based on the determined charging schedule for such set of electric vehicles 104A-104N located in the second location. . . . “).
The motivation to combine Mannepalli with the combination of Niwa, Tafti , and Chelnik is described for the rejection of claim 4 and is incorporated herein. Additionally, Mannepalli can discount charging fees for particular vehicles in certain locations.
Conclusion
There are prior art made of record which are not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. They are listed on the PTO-892 accompanying this action
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES N FIORILLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2444