Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“initialization module” in claim 12;
“first-type extrinsic-parameter calibration module” in claim 12;
“ground alignment module” in claim 12;
“second-type extrinsic-parameter calibration module” in claim 12.
See 18639999 instant applicant’s specification page 13 lines 22-27 which describe a “computer system” corresponding structure that can perform the flowchart steps/instructions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claimed invention is not patent eligible subject matter since the claim is, under broadest reasonable interpretation BRI, directed to a signal per se which does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter recited in 35 U.S.C. 101 (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The claim is directed to a signal per se because, under broadest reasonable interpretation BRI, the “computer-readable storage medium” includes a “carrier signal” in view of applicant’s disclosure at specification page 30 in the last/bottom line that recites “power line carrier signal”.
It is suggested that applicant amend the claim to include the word “non-transitory” to recite “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” in order to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US20180356824 in view of Chung US20210103040.
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang discloses, in Figures 1-7,
A method/system (Wang; Fig. 1-7) of calibration for lidar and integrated-navigation, comprising steps of:
an initialization module, configured to obtaining raw point cloud data from lidar (Wang; [0073] point cloud) and integrated navigation data from an integrated navigation apparatus (Wang; [0054] inertial navigation system; [0055] GNSS-IMU; [0073] GNSS-inertial pose), and calculating an initial extrinsic parameter characterizing a conversion relationship between each lidar and said integrated navigation data (Wang; [0056] “Transformation between the inertial navigation system and LiDAR coordinate”; [0057] transformation by extrinsic calibration that considers the sensor mounting location relative to the vehicle coordinate frame);
adjusting the initial extrinsic parameter and the integrated navigation data to obtain a first-type extrinsic parameter between each lidar and the integrated navigation apparatus, as well as optimized integrated navigation data, while taking into consideration a point model on a scanned surface of real space which obeys a normal distribution, and vehicle vibration (Wang; [0056] perform transformation adjustments to correct for motion distortion);
a ground alignment module (Wang; [0050] “ground truth dataset for motion planning”; [0069] “ground truth dataset”) configured to obtaining, according to the first-type extrinsic parameter, a compensation for compensating a component of an extrinsic parameter between each lidar and the integrated navigation apparatus (Wang; [0065] odometry algorithm that estimates velocity of lidar and corrects point cloud distortion); and
a second-type extrinsic-parameter calibration module, configured to obtaining a second-type extrinsic parameter between individual lidar according to the compensation matrix and the first-type extrinsic parameter of each lidar as well as the optimized integrated navigation data (Wang; [0064] data alignment; [0065] “mapping algorithm matches and registers the point cloud to create a map”; Fig. 1 with performing data alignment step 102);
Wang does not disclose multi-lidar; multiple lidars; differences between lidar clock sources; a compensation matrix for compensating a vertical component.
Chung teaches multiple lidars with corresponding clock sources and a compensation matrix for compensating a vertical component (Chung; Fig. 1A; lidar sensors 110 and 120; [0034-0035, 0037, 0054] determine rotation transformation matrix and translation vector for extrinsic parameter calibration; [0003] safety and accuracy by collecting as much information as possible from the surrounding environment without blind spots by using multiple sensors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lidar method/system as taught by Wang to include multiple lidars with corresponding clock sources and a compensation matrix as taught by Chung for the purpose of providing safety/or and accuracy by collecting as much information as possible from the surrounding environment without blind spots and for performing extrinsic parameter calibration (Chung; [0003] safety and accuracy by collecting as much information as possible from the surrounding environment without blind spots by using multiple sensors; [0034-0035, 0037, 0054] determine rotation transformation matrix and translation vector for extrinsic parameter calibration).
Regarding independent claim 12, Wang discloses, in Figures 1-7,
A method (Wang; Fig. 1-7) of calibration for lidar and integrated-navigation, comprising steps of:
obtaining raw point cloud data from lidar (Wang; [0073] point cloud) and integrated navigation data from an integrated navigation apparatus (Wang; [0054] inertial navigation system; [0055] GNSS-IMU; [0073] GNSS-inertial pose), and calculating an initial extrinsic parameter characterizing a conversion relationship between each lidar and said integrated navigation data (Wang; [0056] “Transformation between the inertial navigation system and LiDAR coordinate”; [0057] transformation by extrinsic calibration that considers the sensor mounting location relative to the vehicle coordinate frame);
adjusting the initial extrinsic parameter and the integrated navigation data to obtain a first-type extrinsic parameter between each lidar and the integrated navigation apparatus, as well as optimized integrated navigation data, while taking into consideration a point model on a scanned surface of real space which obeys a normal distribution, and vehicle vibration (Wang; [0056] perform transformation adjustments to correct for motion distortion);
obtaining, according to the first-type extrinsic parameter, a compensation for compensating a component of an extrinsic parameter between each lidar and the integrated navigation apparatus (Wang; [0065] odometry algorithm that estimates velocity of lidar and corrects point cloud distortion); and
obtaining a second-type extrinsic parameter between individual lidar according to the compensation matrix and the first-type extrinsic parameter of each lidar as well as the optimized integrated navigation data (Wang; [0064] data alignment; [0065] “mapping algorithm matches and registers the point cloud to create a map”; Fig. 1 with performing data alignment step 102).
Wang does not disclose multi-lidar; multiple lidars; differences between lidar clock sources; a compensation matrix for compensating a vertical component.
Chung teaches multiple lidars with corresponding clock sources and a compensation matrix for compensating a vertical component (Chung; Fig. 1A; lidar sensors 110 and 120; [0034-0035, 0037, 0054] determine rotation transformation matrix and translation vector for extrinsic parameter calibration; [0003] safety and accuracy by collecting as much information as possible from the surrounding environment without blind spots by using multiple sensors).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the lidar method/system as taught by Wang to include multiple lidars with corresponding clock sources and a compensation matrix as taught by Chung for the purpose of providing safety/or and accuracy by collecting as much information as possible from the surrounding environment without blind spots and for performing extrinsic parameter calibration (Chung; [0003] safety and accuracy by collecting as much information as possible from the surrounding environment without blind spots by using multiple sensors; [0034-0035, 0037, 0054] determine rotation transformation matrix and translation vector for extrinsic parameter calibration).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang WO2023131123 teaches external parameter calibration for a combined laser/navigation system and calculating a pose transformation matrix.
Qian US20210407130 teaches a multi-sensor calibration system.
Bu CN116973891 teaches laser calibration and “solving the least square optimization equation to obtain the optimized external parameter value of the laser” for a navigation unit.
Chen CN110849362 teaches laser navigation calibration algorithm and optimization of a Kalman filtering algorithm to realize navigation positioning.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 9/11/26