DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claims 19-30 are pending in the application. Claims 1-18 have been cancelled.
Amendments to claims 19, 28 and 30, filed on 7/20/2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 25 recites the limitation “wherein the poly alpha-1,3-glucan has 90% or greater alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages,” which is already in claim 19. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 21 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieland et al. (US 2012/0052125 A1) in view of Caimi (US 2015/0064748 A1).
Regarding claims 19, 21 and 25, Wieland teaches a composition comprising a wound dressing device and cholesteryl sulfate, and especially a composition containing cholesteryl sulfate and at least one carrier material for use as a haemostatic agent (Abstract). The carrier material preferably is a hydrophilic material, i.e. a material that is wettable with water ([0031]). Preferably, it is a so-called hydrocolloid, that is a partly water-soluble or water-swellable natural or synthetic polymer ([0031]). Particularly preferred are hydrocolloids from the groups of proteins, polysaccharides, glucosaminoglycanes and/or synthetic polymers and foams ([0031]). Carrier materials from the group of polysaccharides include, for example, homoglycanes or heteroglycanes, such as, for instance, alginates, in particular sodium alginate, carrageen, pectins, gum tragacanth, guar gum, carob gum, agaragar, gum arabic, xanthan gum, natural and modified starches, dextrans, dextrin, maltodextrin, chitosan, glucans, such as β-1,3-glucan or β-1,4-glucan, cellulose etc. ([0033]). The group of synthetic polymers comprises (among others) polyurethanes (e.g., Kendal Hydrofoam ®) ([0035], [0038], [0144], and the Table on the left on page 10). Foams or plates are obtainable by providing the carrier material in thick formats ([0051]). Moulded articles are obtainable by moulding or by cutting thick format carrier materials e.g. plates or foams as to the preferred geometry ([0051]).
Wieland does not explicitly disclose wherein the polyurethane polymer comprises at least one polyisocyanate and optionally at least one polyol. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have produced a polyurethane polymer with a polyol and a polyisocyanate because polyurethanes are usually produced by reacting polyols and polyisocyanates.
Wieland does not explicitly disclose wherein the polysaccharides such as glucan are poly alpha-1,3-glucan, wherein the poly alpha-1,3-glucan has 90% or greater alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages.
However, Caimi teaches a process for producing poly alpha-1,3-glucan with reduced molecular weight (Abstract). Caimi further teaches that driven by a desire to find new structural polysaccharides using enzymatic syntheses or genetic engineering of microorganisms or plant hosts, researchers have discovered polysaccharides that are biodegradable, and that can be made economically from renewable resource-based feedstocks ([0007]). One such polysaccharide is poly alpha-1,3-glucan, a glucan polymer characterized by having alpha-1,3-glycosidic linkages ([0007]). Films prepared from poly alpha-1,3-glucan tolerate temperatures up to 150° C. and provide an advantage over polymers obtained from beta-1,4-linked polysaccharides ([0007]). Caimi teaches that the percentage of glycosidic linkages between the glucose monomer units of the poly alpha-1,3-glucan that are alpha-1,3 is at least about 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99%, or 100% ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have included a poly alpha-1,3-glucan comprising at least about 95% alpha-1,3 glycosidic linkages as the glucan polymer in the composition of Wieland in order to provide a glucan polymer that is biodegradable, can be made economically from renewable resource-based feedstocks, and can provide an advantage over polymers obtained from beta-1,4-linked polysaccharides (Caimi: [0007] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 26, Wieland teaches that a particularly preferred composition has one, several or all of the following features: it contains at least 50% by wt of one or more carrier materials, preferably from the group of natural hydrocolloids, particularly preferably collagen ([0052]-[0059]). The examiner notes that at least 50% by wt would overlap with the claimed range of an amount of about 0.1 weight percent to about 50 weight percent. In addition, or in the alternative, the dimensions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim(s) 19-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wieland et al. (US 2012/0052125 A1) in view of Caimi (US 2015/0064748 A1), as applied to claim 19 above, further in view of Schonberger et al. (US 2011/0160633 A1).
Regarding claims 19, 21 and 25, Wieland in view of Caimi remains as applied above, teaching a polyurethane polymer comprising at least one polyisocyanate and at least one polyol.
However, Schonberger also teaches a foam layer that comprises in the first region and the second region a polyurethane foam which is obtained by foaming and drying a composition comprising an aqueous, anionically hydrophilicized polyurethane dispersion (Abstract). Schonberger teaches providing isocyanate-functional prepolymers which are obtainable from a reaction mixture including A1) organic polyisocyanates and A2) polymeric polyols ([0039]-[0046]). The foam layer is placed on a wound to be covered ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have produced the polyurethane with organic polyisocyanates and polymeric polyols in order to obtain shaped, thermoformable polyurethane foam articles for use in wound dressings (Schonberger: [0001], [0019] and the above-cited paragraphs).
Regarding claim 20, Schonberger teaches it is particularly preferred to employ in A1) 1,6-hexamethylene diisocyanate, isophorone diisocyanate, the isomeric bis(4,4'-isocyanatocyclohexyl)methanes, and mixtures thereof ([0055] and [0052]).
Regarding claim 22, Schonberger teaches that examples of such polymeric polyols are polyester polyols, polyacrylic polyols, polyurethane polyols, polycarbonate polyols, polyether polyols, polyester polyacrylate polyols, polyurethane polyacrylate polyols, polyurethane polyester polyols, polyurethane polyether polyols, polyurethane polycarbonate polyols and polyester polycarbonate polyols ([0057]).
Regarding claims 23-24, Schonberger teaches that examples of anionic or potentially anionic hydrophilicizing agents are dimethylolpropionic acid, dimethylolbutyric acid, hydroxypivalic acid, malic acid, citric acid, glycolic acid, lactic acid and the propoxylated adduct of 2-butenediol and NaHSO3, as described in DE-A 2 446 440, page 5-9, formula I-III ([0088] and [0086]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 26, Wieland teaches that a particularly preferred composition has one, several or all of the following features: it contains at least 50% by wt of one or more carrier materials, preferably from the group of natural hydrocolloids, particularly preferably collagen ([0052]-[0059]). The examiner notes that at least 50% by wt would overlap with the claimed range of an amount of about 0.1 weight percent to about 50 weight percent. In addition, or in the alternative, the dimensions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 27, Schonberger teaches that suitable starter molecules in principle are inter alia water, polyethylene glycols, polypropylene glycols, glycerol, trimethylolpropane, pentaerythritol, ethylenediamine, tolylenediamine, sorbitol, sucrose and mixtures thereof ([0027]-[0029]).
Regarding claims 28-30, modified Wieland remains as applied above to claims 19 and 20, with Caimi teaching that the percentage of glycosidic linkages between the glucose monomer units of the poly alpha-1,3-glucan that are alpha-1,3 is at least about 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, 95%, 96%, 97%, 98%, 99%, or 100% ([0053]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends the following: “First, Wieland does not disclose or particularly suggest a composition comprising polyurethane and a polysaccharide, much less polyurethane and alpha-1,3-glucan. Wieland rather discloses numerous alternative carrier materials that may be used to deliver cholesteryl sulfate. Polyurethanes are identified as one possible member of a list of synthetic polymers (Wieland, para. 35), whereas glucans are separately identified as examples of polysaccharides (Wieland, para. 33). Nothing in Wieland particularly suggests that these disparate carrier materials should be combined together into a single composition. To the contrary, Wieland repeatedly describes carrier materials as alternatives from which a suitable carrier may be selected. Also, polyurethane is already itself disclosed in Wieland as a suitable foam carrier material for cholesteryl sulfate (e.g., para. 144 and Table therein).”
Regarding these contentions, Wieland teaches that particularly preferred are hydrocolloids from the groups of proteins, polysaccharides, glucosaminoglycanes and/or synthetic polymers and foams ([0031] and [0036]). Wieland teaches that carrier materials from the group of conventional wound dressings, such as polyurethane, are also preferred ([0038] and the Table below [0144]). However, the teaching in paragraph [0038] does not limit Wieland’s invention and does not teach away from Wieland’s disclosure in paragraph [0031] that particularly preferred carrier materials include combinations of polysaccharides and synthetic polymers. For such combinations, a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have selected polyurethane as the synthetic polymer based on Wieland’s teaching in [0038] that polyurethane is a common water-wettable dressing material. Wieland teaches examples of several types of polysaccharides that can be used, while more specifically suggesting two types of glucans ([0033]). Caimi further teaches a newly discovered polysaccharide, poly alpha-1,3-glucan, that is biodegradable, can be made economically from renewable resource-based feedstocks, and provides advantages over polymers obtained from beta-1,4-linked polysaccharides ([0007]). It is the examiner’s position that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use this polysaccharide as the polysaccharide (and more specifically as the glucan) of Wieland in order to obtain the combination of advantages taught by Caimi.
Applicant contends the following: “Wieland provides no direction toward selecting alpha-1,3-glucan. Wieland discloses a lengthy list of polysaccharides, including alginate, carrageenan, pectin, guar gum, agar, starch, dextran, dextrin, maltodextrin, chitosan, glucan, cellulose, and numerous others (para. 33)…. The Patent Office relies on Caimi for the proposition that alpha-1,3-glucan is biodegradable, can be produced from renewable feedstocks, and may exhibit desirable properties in films. However, these disclosures do not supply a reason to specifically select alpha-1,3-glucan from among the many polysaccharides already disclosed in Wieland. Biodegradability and renewability are common attributes of many naturally derived polysaccharides, including several expressly disclosed by Wieland. Thus, the cited advantages do not distinguish alpha-1,3-glucan in any manner that would have caused a POSITA to favor it over the numerous polysaccharides already taught by Wieland. Furthermore, Caimi's discussion of temperature-tolerant films is directed to an entirely different application. The pending claims are directed to molded foam products comprising polyurethane polymer and alpha-1,3-glucan, whereas Caimi discloses the use of alpha-1,3-glucan in film materials.”
Regarding these contentions, Caimi teaches a newly discovered polysaccharide, poly alpha-1,3-glucan, that is biodegradable, can be made economically from renewable resource-based feedstocks, and provides advantages over polymers obtained from beta-1,4-linked polysaccharides ([0007]). More specifically, Caimi teaches that films prepared from poly alpha-1,3-glucan tolerate temperatures up to 150° C. and provide an advantage over polymers obtained from beta-1,4- linked polysaccharides ([0007]). Although Caimi does not explicitly disclose a foam having these properties, the examiner notes that foams can be provided in the form of a film and/or can be prepared from films. For instance, Wieland teaches that the composition may be present in the form of granules or of foams or plates or of moulded articles of any geometry ([0051]). Wieland also teaches that moulded articles are obtainable by moulding or by cutting thick format carrier materials e.g. plates or foams as to the preferred geometry ([0051]). The composition of Wieland preferably has the geometric form of a sheet, a fleece, a layer, a dressing, a compress or a plaster, and/or may have a thickness (shortest distance of two points, i.e. layer thickness) of 0.04 mm to 50 mm, preferably 0.1 mm to 20 mm, still more preferably 0.4 mm to 10 mm ([0058]-[0060]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that the properties taught by Caimi for films prepared from poly alpha-1,3-glucan would be applicable to the forms taught by Wieland. Accordingly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use poly alpha-1,3-glucan as the polysaccharide (and more specifically as the glucan) of Wieland in order to obtain the combination of advantages taught by Caimi.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin Worrell/Examiner, Art Unit 1789 /MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789