CTFR 18/640,025 CTFR 87758 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 2/19/2026 has been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kundu et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No, 2006/0243798), in view of De Bonet (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0337786) and further in view of Sivan et. al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0406910) . Regarding claims 1, 14, Kundu teaches a commodity registration support apparatus that reads information for uniquely specifying a commodity to be purchased, thereby supporting an operation of a commodity registration apparatus that registers the commodity, the commodity registration support apparatus comprising: a video acquiring component configured to acquire a video of the commodity, information of which is read, delivered into a storing compartment that stores the commodity, the video captured by an imaging apparatus that images the storing compartment, and an identification number for identifying the storing compartment . Kundu teaches acquiring video of items in a transaction area and detecting items from the video [14, 19, 45]). Kundu does not explicitly teach acquiring video specifically of a storing compartment or acquiring a compartment identification number. However, De Bonet teaches an imaging apparatus mounted on a shopping cart positioned to image items “placed in the cart,” specifically imaging the interior basket/storing compartment ([15-16]). De Bonet further teaches transmitting a cart identifier with captured image data ([128-129]). a counting component configured to count, from the video acquired by the video acquiring component, a first number that is a number of commodities put in the storing compartment, Kundu teaches generating a “video count” of items detected in video frames ([15]). Kundu does not teach counting items placed into a cart basket. However, De Bonet teaches detecting items placed into or removed from the cart basket using cameras ([21]), and determining quantities of items added, [30]. a number-of-commodities acquiring component configured to acquire a second number that is a number of commodities read by the commodity registration apparatus until registration completion , Kundu teaches obtaining transaction parameters, including scan count, from a transaction terminal ([18, 81]). De Bonet teaches a code scanning device 220 that acquires commodity identifiers for each scanned item ([52]), and a number-of-commodities comparison information output component configured to output, on condition that the first number and the second number do not match, the identification number, the first number, and the second number in order to cause a terminal apparatus to alert a store clerk, Kundu teaches comparing video count and transaction count to detect discrepancies and generate alerts (“suspicious activity”) ([50-51]). De Bonet teaches transmitting mismatch and item information to servers and terminals, including clerk terminals via Wi-Fi ([68]). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the method of Kundu, to include the above limitations, as taught by DeBonet, in order to improve processing of the image data to identify the items, [18]. Kundu does not explicitly disclose based on an identification number of the commodity registration apparatus, the commodity registration support apparatus is further configured to acquire an identification number for a transaction that corresponds to the commodity registered by the commodity registration apparatus, and output the identification number for the transaction to the commodity registration apparatus. However, Sivan teaches the cart contents can be maintained on the first device until the transfer is initiated, and then the cart contents can be removed and the contents of the cart can be transferred to the second device via the cart ID, [78], The cart management system 220 can receive products to add to the virtual shopping cart ( 610 ), associate products with the device ID ( 612 ), [79], The cart management system 220 can transmit the cart ID ( 408 ) to the first device (e.g., the user computing device 204 , the in-store kiosk 206 , or the POS terminal 212 ) associated with the virtual shopping cart, [62]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the method of Kundu, to include the above limitations, as taught by Sivan, in order to improve traceability, facilitating investigation of mismatches, reducing fraud and permitting efficient retrieval of transaction information during checkout and post-transaction review, so that discrepancies detected from video analysis can be associated with a particular transaction and registration apparatus. Regarding claims 2, 9, 16, the video acquiring component acquires a video captured by the imaging apparatus for a period from when a commodity registration start is instructed to the commodity registration apparatus until when commodity registration completion is indicated, Kundu teaches video captured during a transaction interval, from the beginning of scanning to its completion ([136]). De Bonet teaches capturing item-placement video through the customer’s scanning/registration session until checkout ([20]). Regarding claims 3, 10, 17, the terminal apparatus is a portable apparatus carried by the store clerk of a store, Kundu teaches sending alerts to remote review personnel but does not disclose a portable clerk device. However, De Bonet teaches clerk devices communicating via Wi-Fi, including handheld terminals ([86]). Regarding claims 4, 11, 18. the terminal apparatus is a self-service POS terminal that causes a customer to perform, by himself or herself, registration and settlement for a commodity to be purchased by the customer, Kundu discloses self-checkout scenarios, [3]. De Bonet teaches customers performing scanning and initiating payment using the shopping-cart-based scanning system ([15-17]). Regarding claim 5, the counting component uses skeleton estimation image processing to generate the first number. Kundu teaches motion/gesture detection of item placement ([88]) but does not teach skeleton estimation. However, De Bonet teaches image processing to track item placement and user interactions ([112]). Regarding claims 6, 12, 19, the first number and the second number are sent to and compared at an edge gateway via a plurality of wireless communication access points. Kundu teaches comparison at a remote processing system ([16]) but not wireless APs or an edge gateway, However, De Bonet teaches wireless cart communication over Wi-Fi to server, [26-27, 36, 86]). Regarding claim 7, a scanner installed in a shopping cart and configured to read a code symbol attached to a commodity and including an identification number of the commodity; an imaging apparatus installed in the shopping cart and configured to capture a video of the commodity, the code symbol of which is read, delivered into a storing compartment of the shopping cart; a commodity registration support apparatus configured to acquire the video and an identification number of the shopping cart, count a first number that is a number of commodities put in the shopping cart, acquire a second number that is a number of commodities read by the scanner until registration completion, and output the identification number, the first number, and the second number on condition that the first number and the second number do not match; a terminal apparatus carried by a store clerk and configured to alert the store clerk on condition that the identification number, the first number, and the second number output by the commodity registration support apparatus are acquired; a commodity registration apparatus configured to register the commodity scanned by the scanner; and a checkout apparatus configured to perform settlement processing relating to the commodity registered by the commodity registration apparatus, similar rejection applied as in Claim 1 above. Kundu teaches video/scanning comparison but does not explicitly teach shopping-cart hardware. However, De Bonet teaches: Scanner in the cart ([24]), Imaging apparatus pointed at cart basket ([69]), Cart ID transmission ([36]), Clerk terminal, Commodity registration and checkout workflows, [15, 24]). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the method of Kundu, to include the above limitations, as taught by DeBonet, in order to improve processing of the image data to identify the items, [18]. Kundu does not explicitly disclose a commodity registration apparatus installed in the shopping cart and configured to register the commodity scanned by the scanner; based on an identification number of the commodity registration apparatus, the commodity registration support apparatus is further configured to acquire an identification number for a transaction that corresponds to the commodity registered by the commodity registration apparatus, and output the identification number for the transaction to the commodity registration apparatus. However, Sivan teaches the product detection system can be a handheld scanner device attached to the kiosk 110 or the POS terminal 112 that users can manually operate to scan the products so they can be added to the virtual cart, [40]; the cart contents can be maintained on the first device until the transfer is initiated, and then the cart contents can be removed and the contents of the cart can be transferred to the second device via the cart ID, [78], The cart management system 220 can receive products to add to the virtual shopping cart ( 610 ), associate products with the device ID ( 612 ), [79], The cart management system 220 can transmit the cart ID ( 408 ) to the first device (e.g., the user computing device 204 , the in-store kiosk 206 , or the POS terminal 212 ) associated with the virtual shopping cart, [62]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the method of Kundu, to include the above limitations, as taught by Sivan, in order to improve traceability, facilitating investigation of mismatches, reducing fraud and permitting efficient retrieval of transaction information during checkout and post-transaction review, so that discrepancies detected from video analysis can be associated with a particular transaction and registration apparatus. Regarding claims 8, 15, Kundu does not explicitly teach wherein the scanner comprises a barcode reader. However, De Bonet explicitly teaches code scanning device including barcode readers ([34]). Regarding claims 13, 20, Kundu does not explicitly teach the first number and the second number are sent to and compared at a store server via a plurality of wireless communication access points. However, De Bonet teaches communication to server(s) 120 via wireless networks ([36-38). Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MILENA RACIC whose telephone number is (571)270-5933. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30am-4pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Florian (Ryan) Zeender can be reached at (571)272-6790. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627 /FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 2 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 3 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 4 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 5 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 6 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 7 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 8 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 9 Art Unit: 3627 Application/Control Number: 18/640,025 Page 10 Art Unit: 3627