DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by Kaida et al. (US 2011/0080640 A1).
Re claims 1 and 12, Kaida et al. discloses a device comprising a plurality of optical element (paragraphs 0002); wherein at least one of the plurality of optical elements includes: a base material (14) having a plurality of convex portions (12) arranged along the first direction; and a conductor (22) provided to each of the plurality of convex portions (14), wherein each of the plurality of convex portions extends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 1), wherein in a section including the first direction and a third direction perpendicular to each of the first direction and the second direction, each of the plurality of convex portions (12) has a rectangular shape, and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
125≤P≤160 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Pp, (150 nm)
0.45≤Dx/Dz≤1.20 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm, Dm2; (Dm2/Hm) = (24/50)
where P(mm) is an arrangement pitch of the plurality of convex portions, Dz (nm) is a distance in the third direction from a top surface of each of the convex portion in the section to a top surface of the conductor provided to each convex portion, and Dx(nm) is a thickness of the conductor in the first direction at half a height in the third direction of each convex portion.
Re claim 2, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the conductor (22) covers at least a part of one side (20) and the top surface (16) of each of the plurality of convex portions in the section (Fig. 1).
Re claim 3, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
20.00≤Dx (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Dm2 (24 nm)).
Re claim 4, Kaida et al. does not disclose the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 4.0 ≤h/w≤9.0, wherein h (nm) is a height in the third direction of the convex portion, and w (nm) is a width of the convex portion at half a height of the convex portion (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm1, Dp; (Hm1/Dp)=(200/50).
Re claim 5, Kaida et al. does not disclose the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.15≤Dz/h≤0.60 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm, Hm1; Hm/Hm1=50/200), where h (nm) is a height in the third direction of the convex portion.
Re claim 6, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5≤S/A where A is an entire sectional area of the conductor in the section, and S is a sectional area of a portion of the conductor deposited on a side surface of the convex portion in the section (Fig. 1, ref. 22).
Re claim 8, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the conductor (22) covers 60% or more of the top surface (16) of the convex portion (12) in the section (Fig. 1).
Re claim 9, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the base material is a flat plate or a lens having a curved surface with a thickness on an optical axis of 100 µm or more (Hs-Hp) (paragraphs 0041-0042).
Re claim 10, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the plurality of convex portions is made of a thermoplastic resin (paragraph 0043).
Re claim 11, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 100≤h, where h (nm) is a height in the third direction of the convex portion (Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaida et al.
Kaida et al. does not disclose device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.25≤Ax/P≤0.60 where Ax (nm) is a maximum thickness of the conductor in the first direction above the convex portion in the section.
Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein Ax/P equals (Dm/Pp)=(98/150)=0.65 (Table 2, Example 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.25≤Ax/P≤0.60 where Ax (nm) is a maximum thickness of the conductor in the first direction above the convex portion in the section since “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, it is well known in the art for the pitch to determine the operating wavelength range. Obtaining the device with a higher pitch, satisfying the claimed inequality to operate in a different wavelength range is based on a result effective variable, requiring routine skill in the art. Moreover, as disclosed in Table 2, a pitch of 200 nm is known. Therefore, it would have been be “obvious to try a pitch” of 200 nm with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR).
Conclusion
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871