DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being by Kaida et al. (US 2011/0080640 A1).
Re claims 1 and 12, Kaida et al. discloses a device comprising a plurality of optical element (paragraphs 0002); wherein at least one of the plurality of optical elements includes: a base material (14) having a plurality of convex portions (12) arranged along the first direction; and a conductor (22) provided to each of the plurality of convex portions (14), wherein each of the plurality of convex portions extends in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Fig. 1), wherein in a section including the first direction and a third direction perpendicular to each of the first direction and the second direction, each of the plurality of convex portions (12) has a rectangular shape, and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
125≤P≤160 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Pp, (150 nm)
0.45≤Dx/Dz≤1.20 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm, Dm2; (Dm2/Hm) = (24/50)
where P(mm) is an arrangement pitch of the plurality of convex portions, Dz (nm) is a distance in the third direction from a top surface of each of the convex portion in the section to a top surface of the conductor provided to each convex portion, and Dx(nm) is a thickness of the conductor in the first direction at half a height in the third direction of each convex portion.
Re claim 2, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the conductor (22) covers at least a part of one side (20) and the top surface (16) of each of the plurality of convex portions in the section (Fig. 1).
Re claim 3, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
20.00≤Dx (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Dm2 (24 nm)).
Re claim 4, Kaida et al. does not disclose the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 4.0 ≤h/w≤9.0, wherein h (nm) is a height in the third direction of the convex portion, and w (nm) is a width of the convex portion at half a height of the convex portion (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm1, Dp; (Hm1/Dp)=(200/50).
Re claim 5, Kaida et al. does not disclose the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.15≤Dz/h≤0.60 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm, Hm1; Hm/Hm1=50/200), where h (nm) is a height in the third direction of the convex portion.
Re claim 6, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.5≤S/A where A is an entire sectional area of the conductor in the section, and S is a sectional area of a portion of the conductor deposited on a side surface of the convex portion in the section (Fig. 1, ref. 22).
Re claim 8, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the conductor (22) covers 60% or more of the top surface (16) of the convex portion (12) in the section (Fig. 1).
Re claim 9, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the base material is a flat plate or a lens having a curved surface with a thickness on an optical axis of 100 µm or more (Hs-Hp) (paragraphs 0041-0042).
Re claim 10, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the plurality of convex portions is made of a thermoplastic resin (paragraph 0043).
Re claim 11, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 100≤h, where h (nm) is a height in the third direction of the convex portion (Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaida et al.
Re claim 7, Kaida et al. does not disclose device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.25≤Ax/P≤0.60 where Ax (nm) is a maximum thickness of the conductor in the first direction above the convex portion in the section.
Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein Ax/P equals (Dm/Pp)=(98/150)=0.65 (Table 2, Example 13).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.25≤Ax/P≤0.60 where Ax (nm) is a maximum thickness of the conductor in the first direction above the convex portion in the section since “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close” (MPEP 2144.05). Additionally, it is well known in the art for the pitch to determine the operating wavelength range. Obtaining the device with a higher pitch, satisfying the claimed inequality to operate in a different wavelength range is based on a result effective variable, requiring routine skill in the art. Moreover, as disclosed in Table 2, a pitch of 200 nm is known. Therefore, it would have been be “obvious to try a pitch” of 200 nm with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR).
Re claim 14, Kaida et al. does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.49≤Dx/Dz≤1.20.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.45≤Dx/Dz≤1.20. Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein Dx/Dz=0.48 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm, Dm2; (Dm2/Hm) = (24/50). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaida et al. in view of Kawazu et al. (US 2014/0293142).
Re claim 13, Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein each of the plurality of convex portions (12) has, in the section, the top surface (16), a first side surface (18), and a second side surface (20) opposite to the first side surface, and wherein the conductor covers at least a part of the top surface and at least a part of the first side surface of each of the plurality of convex portions (Fig. 1). Kaida et al. does not disclose the device wherein the conductor is not formed on the second side surface of each of the plurality of convex portions.
Kawazu et al. discloses a device wherein the conductor (12) is not formed on a second side surface of each of the plurality of convex portions (11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the conductor is not formed on the second side surface of each of the plurality of convex portions since doing so would be motivated to improve parallel transmittance (paragraph 0029).
Re claim 15, Kaida et al. does not disclose wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.49≤Dx/Dz≤1.20.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.45≤Dx/Dz≤1.20. Kaida et al. discloses the device wherein Dx/Dz=0.48 (see Table 2, Example 13, ref. Hm, Dm2; (Dm2/Hm) = (24/50). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close (MPEP 2144.05).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “in stark contrast, Kaida defines Dm1 and Dm2 as thickness of fine metallic wires covering the sides faces of a ridge at the height of the top face of the ridge”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As illustrated in Fig. 1, Dm2 is the length of not only at the height of the top face of the ridge, but at the bottom of the ridge as well. As such, since the side face does not have any variations in thickness, Dm2 would also be a thickness of the conductor in the first direction at half a height. Applicant cites paragraph 0051 as support that Dm2 is a thickness of the second side face of the ridge at a height of the top face. This does not exclude that Dm2 is not also a thickness of the conductor in the first direction at half the height. Furthermore, Kaida describes the thickness Dm2 as “covering the second side face of the ridge” and is of a single thickness (paragraph 0017). Therefore, it would follow that the thickness Dm2 would be substantially the same along the second side face of the ridge. Moreover, Kaida et al. discloses that the fine metallic wires are formed by a single vapor deposition (paragraph 0099) which would form a layer of substantially uniform thickness.
Applicant’s arguments related to new claims 13-15 has been response to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871