DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (2023/0202783) in view of Philipse (11,148,893).
Regarding claim 1, Ikeda teaches an inkjet printer, comprising:
a housing (fig. 1, item 1);
an inkjet head (fig. 3B, item 4) provided in the housing and movable in a first direction (fig. 2, X direction) to discharge ink toward a roll paper;
a roll paper holder (fig. 6, item 17/37/38/39) to hold the roll paper (fig. 4, item R);
a support holder (fig. 6, item 71-75) provided in the housing to support the roll paper holder such that the roll paper holder is detachable and rotatable (see figs. 6, 7); and
a conveyor (fig. 7, item 18) to convey the roll paper, held by the roll paper holder, in a second direction (fig. 8, direction Y) perpendicular to the first direction as seen in a plan view;
wherein the roll paper holder includes:
a rotation shaft (fig. 6, note shaft generally denoted by 39/38/17) extending in the first direction;
a first flange (fig. 6, item 37) secured to an end of the rotation shaft on one of two sides in the first direction, the first flange holding an end of the roll paper on the one side in the first direction (see fig. 2);
a second flange (see fig. 2, note that there is another flange on the non-geared side of the arrangement) provided at an end of the rotation shaft on the other of the two sides in the first direction, the second flange holding an end of the roll paper on the other side in the first direction (see fig. 2); and
a positioning flange (fig. 6, flange immediately next to gear 17 on first-flange side of gear) provided on the rotation shaft and located at a predetermined position on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first flange (see fig. 16); and
the support holder includes a position determiner (fig. 6, item 71/72) including a recessed portion (fig. 6, item 71) housing a portion of the positioning flange in a state where the roll paper holder is rotatably supported (see fig 7) and also including a restriction portion (figs. 6, 7, item 73) partitioning the recessed portion and restricting the positioning flange from moving in the first direction (see figs. 6, 7, Note that 71/73 split the recess in half).
Ikeda does not teach wherein the recessed portion is an insertion hole or a recessed groove formed in the restriction portion. Philipse teaches a positioning recess of a rotary body that meets the limitations (Philipse, figs. 3, 4, Note restriction portion 72 that restricts first-direction position of flange 82). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the positioning recess disclosed by Philipse for that disclosed by Ikeda because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known restriction portion for another to obtain predictable results. In other words, Ikeda teaches a flange with two walls that sandwich the support holder to restrict a position of the flange, Philipse teaches a restriction portion with two side walls into which a positioning flange can be inserted to restrict the position of the flange. These two were obvious variants at the time of invention, and it would have been obvious to substitute one for the other. Upon such substitution a thinner flange without two side walls could be adopted by Ikeda, thereby reducing space required for the flange.
Regarding claim 2, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 1, wherein the support holder includes a support supporting the rotation shaft such that the rotation shaft is detachable and rotatable (Ikeda, see figs. 6, 7); and when the rotation shaft is to be attached to the support, a portion of the positioning flange contacts the restriction portion before the rotation shaft contacts the support (Ikeda,see figs. 6, 7, Note that positioning flange 71/73 before it is in a rotatable position).
Regarding claim 3, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 2, wherein the restriction portion includes: a first side wall extending in the second direction; and a second side wall extending in the second direction, located on the one side in the first direction with respect to the first side wall, and facing the first side wall; the positioning flange is located between the first side wall and the second side wall in a state where the rotation shaft is attached to the support; the first side wall inclines such that a distance between the first side wall and the second side wall decreases as the first side wall extends from the other side toward the one side in the first direction (Philipse, figs. 3, 4, Note restriction portion 72 that restricts first-direction position of flange 82). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the positioning recess disclosed by Philipse for that disclosed by Ikeda because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known restriction portion for another to obtain predictable results. In other words, Ikeda teaches a flange with two walls that sandwich the support holder to restrict a position of the flange, Philipse teaches a restriction portion with two side walls into which a positioning flange can be inserted to restrict the position of the flange. These two were obvious variants at the time of invention, and it would have been obvious to substitute one for the other. Upon such substitution a thinner flange without two side walls could be adopted by Ikeda, thereby reducing space required for the flange.
Regarding claim 4, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 3, wherein: the second side wall inclines such that the distance between the second side wall and the first side wall decreases as the second side wall extends from the one side toward the other side in the first direction (Philipse, see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 3, wherein the restriction portion includes: a third side wall extending in the first direction; and a fourth side wall extending in the first direction, located on one of two sides in the second direction with respect to the third side wall, and facing the third side wall; the positioning flange is located between the third side wall and the fourth side wall in a state where the rotation shaft is attached to the support; the third side wall inclines such that a distance between the third side wall and the fourth side wall decreases as the third side wall extends from the other of the two sides toward the one side in the second direction (Philipse, fig. 3, Note all four side walls inclined toward a center of the restriction portion 72).
Regarding claim 6, Ikeda teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 5, wherein: the fourth side wall inclines such that the distance between the fourth side wall and the third side wall decreases as the fourth side wall extends from the one side toward the 3 other side in the second direction (Philipse, fig. 3, Note all four side walls inclined toward a center of the restriction portion 72).
Regarding claim 7, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 2, wherein the support includes a main body (fig. 8, body on which roll is mounted), a pair of rollers (fig. 8, items held by arm 20) provided on the main body and supporting the rotation shaft such that the rotation shaft is rotatable, and a spring pressing the rotation shaft to the pair of rollers (Ikeda, fig. 9, item 21).
Regarding claim 8, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 1, wherein the first flange includes a first disc portion having a disc shape; the positioning flange includes a positioning disc portion having a disc shape; and the first disc portion has a diameter greater than a diameter of the positioning disc portion (Ikeda, see figs. 6, 7, Note that, as defined above, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 9, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 8, wherein the first disc portion has a through-hole extending therethrough in the first direction, formed therein; and as seen in the first direction, the positioning disc portion and the through-hole do not overlap each other (Ikeda, see figs. 6, 7, Note through-hole in first flange through which shaft extends. Note that the positioning flange is concentric with the first flange and thus does not overlap the shaft through hole in the first flange).
Regarding claim 10, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 9, wherein the through-hole has an elliptical or substantially elliptical shape extending in a circumferential direction of the first disc portion (Ikeda, see figs. 6, 7, Note that a circle is “substantially elliptical”.
Regarding claim 11, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 1, wherein where one of two sides in the second direction is a rear side and one of two sides in the second direction is a front side, the roll paper holder is located on the front side with respect to the inkjet head (Ikeda, see figs. 2, 4).
Regarding claim 13, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 1, wherein the positioning flange includes a positioning disc portion having a disc shape, and the restriction portion restricts movement of the positioning flange in the first direction by contacting the positioning disc portion in the first direction (Philipse, see fig. 3, Note that, upon combination of the references, the resultant device would have a positioning flange that would fit into positioning recess 72, contacting the inclined wall portions of recess, whereby the recess would restrict the movement of the positioning flange in lateral directions).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Philipse as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of official notice.
Regarding claim 12, Ikeda in view of Philipse teaches the inkjet printer according to claim 1. Ikeda does not expressly teach wherein the positioning flange and the position determiner are made of a resin material. Examiner takes official notice that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to construct these components from resin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 3/2/2026 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853