DETAILED ACTION
This Action is a response to the filing received 19 April 2024. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 10-11, 13-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli et al., U.S. 2025/0147746 A1 (“Adusumilli”) in view of Criddle et al., U.S. 2010/0333085 A1 (“Criddle”).
Regarding claim 1, Adusumilli teaches: A method for optimized operating system (OS) image deployment (Adusumilli, e.g., ¶12, “methods for self-booting and self-imaging a computing node … imaging the computing node using the another operating system …”), the method comprising:
installing, by a computer system, a pseudo-image on a partition of a memory of the computer system, wherein the pseudo-image is configured to enable the computer system to be booted from the partition, and wherein the pseudo-image is associated with an OS data image stored on a remote server communicatively coupled to the computer system by a network; booting the computer system using the partition of the memory that includes the pseudo-image (Adusumilli, e.g., ¶23, “computing node 102 may be configured to boot itself into the bootstrapping environment using bootstrap operating system 114 via boot device 112 …” See also, e.g., ¶21, “image hosting server 120 may be located remote from computing node 102 … location of the image server may be known to computing node by way of boot device 112 … may comprise a URL …” Examiner’s note: the bootstrap operating system (i.e., a reduced operating system) is the pseudo-image; it may be used to boot the device from the partition at which the bootstrap OS is stored; the OS is associated with another OS located on the remote node by way of the known means of accessing or addressing the remote node);
executing, by the computer system, an OS install program associated with the pseudo-image (Adusumilli, e.g., ¶23, “computing node 102 may, by executing instructions 108 for self-bootstrapping and/or self-imaging, may be configured to access the image hosting server 120 and receive a software image for computing node 120, the software image comprising the another operating system 122 …”); during execution of the OS install program …
retrieving, by the computer system, the requested particular data over the network from the OS data image on the remote server (Adusumilli, e.g., ¶23, “computing node 102 may, by executing instructions 108 for self-bootstrapping and/or self-imaging, may be configured to access the image hosting server 120 and receive a software image for computing node 120, the software image comprising the another operating system 122 …”).
Adusumilli does not more particularly teach identifying a request for particular data from the pseudo-image, determining that the particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image, and in response thereto retrieving the requested particular data. However, Criddle does teach: [during execution of the install program:] identifying, by the computer system, a request [by the OS install program] for particular data from the pseudo-image (Criddle, e.g., ¶224, “client virtualization handler detects a user action … then determines if the user actions correspond with a mapped scenario and/or feature block …” Examiner’s note: the scenario and/or block are the requested particular data. See also, e.g., ¶225, “if the user action is associated with a mapped scenario or feature block and the corresponding byte ranges are already cached… client virtualization handler has knowledge of prior and current byte range downloads and can also query the virtual application cache … to determine downloaded content …”);
determining, by the computer system, that the requested particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image (Criddle, e.g., ¶231, “In an example, a user action comprises clicking on a word processing application shortcut to start the application. However, the virtual application cache contains no boot byte range(s) and/or feature block(s) to boot the application …”); and
in response to determining that the requested particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image, [retrieving the requested particular data] (Criddle, e.g., ¶231, “provide a splash screen informing a user that the application is loading while the remaining bytes can be downloaded by the background download system … once all the required virtual application bytes are cached …”) for the purpose of efficiently determining whether a necessary block of operating system or application data is locally stored in a cache, utilizing the locally stored data if so stored, and retrieving it remotely otherwise (Criddle, e.g., ¶¶220-235).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods for remote node configuration and operating system image installation as taught by Adusumilli to provide for identifying a request for particular data from the pseudo-image, determining that the particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image, and in response thereto retrieving the requested particular data because the disclosure of Criddle shows that it was known to those of ordinary skill in the pertinent art to improve a system and method for streaming and installing optimized virtual application images to provide for identifying a request for particular data from the pseudo-image, determining that the particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image, and in response thereto retrieving the requested particular data for the purpose of efficiently determining whether a necessary block of operating system or application data is locally stored in a cache, utilizing the locally stored data if so stored, and retrieving it remotely otherwise (Criddle, Id.).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 1 above. Examiner notes that with respect to claim 10, Adusumilli further teaches: A system for optimized operating system (OS) image deployment comprising: a computer system including at least one processor and a memory, and configured to perform operations (Adusumilli, e.g., ¶12, “systems and methods for self-booting and self-imaging a computing node … imaging the computing node using the another operating system …” See also, e.g., ¶15, “Computing node 102 may include processor 104 … memory 106 and instructions 108 … local storage 110 …”) including: [[[the method of claim 1]]]; and with respect to claim 19, Adusumilli further teaches: An article of manufacture comprising a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having computer-executable instructions thereon that are executable by a processor of a computer system to perform operations for optimized operating system (OS) image deployment (Adusumilli, e.g., ¶12, “systems and methods for self-booting and self-imaging a computing node … imaging the computing node using the another operating system …” See also, e.g., ¶15, “Computing node 102 may include processor 104 … memory 106 and instructions 108 … local storage 110 …”), the operations comprising: [[[the method of claim 1]]].
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Criddle further teaches: wherein the request is a first request, and the method further comprising: identifying, by the computer system, a second request by the OS install program for particular data from the pseudo-image; determining, by the computer system, that the particular data requested in the second request is stored in the pseudo-image; and in response to determining that the requested particular data is stored in the pseudo-image, retrieving, by the computer system, the requested particular data from the pseudo-image without accessing the remote server (Criddle, e.g., ¶225, “if the user action is associated with a mapped scenario or feature block and the corresponding byte ranges are already cached, the client virtualization handler allows the user action to proceed … client virtualization handler has knowledge of prior and current byte range downloads and can also query the virtual application cache … to determine downloaded content …” Examiner’s note: if the byte range is already cached, it is accessed (retrieved) for execution to perform the user action).
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Criddle further teaches: wherein the pseudo-image includes a cache (Criddle, e.g., ¶231, “In an example, a user action comprises clicking on a word processing application shortcut to start the application. However, the virtual application cache contains no boot byte range(s) and/or feature block(s) to boot the application …”).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, and Criddle further teaches: wherein determining that the requested particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image includes determining that the requested particular data is not stored in the cache of the pseudo-image (Criddle, e.g., ¶231, “In an example, a user action comprises clicking on a word processing application shortcut to start the application. However, the virtual application cache contains no boot byte range(s) and/or feature block(s) to boot the application …”).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, and Criddle further teaches: in response to retrieving the requested particular data over the network from the OS data image on the remote server, storing, by the computer system, a copy of the requested particular data in the cache of the pseudo-image (Criddle, e.g., ¶231, “provide a splash screen informing a user that the application is loading while the remaining bytes can be downloaded by the background download system … once all the required virtual application bytes are cached …”).
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, and Criddle further teaches: wherein the request is a first request, and the method further comprising: identifying, by the computer system, a second request by the OS install program for the particular data from the pseudo-image; retrieving, by the computer system, the copy of the requested particular data from the cache of the pseudo-image (Criddle, e.g., ¶225, “if the user action is associated with a mapped scenario or feature block and the corresponding byte ranges are already cached, the client virtualization handler allows the user action to proceed … client virtualization handler has knowledge of prior and current byte range downloads and can also query the virtual application cache … to determine downloaded content …” Examiner’s note: if the byte range is already cached, it is accessed (retrieved) for execution to perform the user action).
Claims 13-16 are rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejections of claims 4-7 above.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli in view of Criddle, and in further view of Nestor, Brian Patrick, U.S. 2003/0041281 A1 (“Nestor”).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Adusumilli in view of Criddle does not more particularly teach that the pseudo-image includes a boot sector, a file allocation table and a root directory region. However, Nestor does teach: wherein the pseudo-image includes a boot sector, a file allocation table, and a root directory region (Nestor, e.g., ¶159, “boot record file 56; file allocation tables 58; and the root directory 60 of the image …”) for the purpose of performing image analysis and retrieving or repairing previous retrievals of image data (Nestor, e.g., ¶¶145-166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods for remote node configuration and operating system image installation as taught by Adusumilli in view of Criddle to provide that the pseudo-image includes a boot sector, a file allocation table and a root directory region because the disclosure of Nestor shows that it was known to those of ordinary skill in the pertinent art to improve a system and method for binary image data retrieval to provide that the pseudo-image includes a boot sector, a file allocation table and a root directory region for the purpose of performing image analysis and retrieving or repairing previous retrievals of image data (Nestor, Id.).
Claim 12 is rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Adusumilli in view of Criddle, and in further view of Sok, Song Woo, U.S. 2015/0212847 A1 (“Sok”).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, but Adusumilli in view of Criddle does not more particularly teach that the request for the particular data from the pseudo-image includes a file path identifying the particular data. However, Sok does teach: wherein the request for the particular data from the pseudo-image includes a file path identifying the particular data (Sok, e.g., ¶¶63-64, “cache layer configuring unit 100 manages a file path, an offset value within the file … a cache block address … read request processing unit 300 inspects whether there is a cache block having identical file and offset information according to a read request …” See also, e.g., ¶72, “If there is no corresponding cache block having identical file and offset information …”) for the purpose of for the purpose of determining whether requested file or data is present in the image cache before taking additional action (Sok, e.g., ¶¶55-78).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods for remote node configuration and operating system image installation as taught by Adusumilli in view of Criddle to provide that the request for the particular data from the pseudo-image includes a file path identifying the particular data because the disclosure of Sok shows that it was known to those of ordinary skill in the pertinent art to improve a system and method for managing the cache of a virtual machine image file to provide that the request for the particular data from the pseudo-image includes a file path identifying the particular data for the purpose of determining whether requested file or data is present in the image cache before taking additional action (Sok, Id.).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, and Sok further teaches: wherein determining that the requested particular data is not stored in the pseudo-image includes determining that the cache of the pseudo-image does not include an entry for the file path identifying the particular data (Sok, e.g., ¶¶63-64, “cache layer configuring unit 100 manages a file path, an offset value within the file … a cache block address … read request processing unit 300 inspects whether there is a cache block having identical file and offset information according to a read request …” See also, e.g., ¶72, “If there is no corresponding cache block having identical file and offset information …”).
Claims 17-18 are rejected for the additional reasons given in the rejections of claims 8-9 above.
Conclusion
Examiner has identified particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of Applicant. Although the citations made are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the enumerated claims, the teaching of the cited art as a whole is not limited to the cited passages. Other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/or disclosed by Examiner.
Examiner respectfully requests that, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communication from Examiner should be directed to Andrew M. Lyons, whose telephone number is (571) 270-3529, and whose fax number is (571) 270-4529. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM ET. If attempts to reach Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, Examiner’s supervisor, Wei Mui, can be reached at (571) 272-3708. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Center system. For more information about the Patent Center system, see https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786-9199 (in USA or Canada) or (571) 272-1000.
/Andrew M. Lyons/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191