DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 10, applicant’s argument that the references do not disclose the amended features is persuasive; the amendment overcome the applied references.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15-19, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayyouk et al. (US 12,044,339 B2) hereinafter Bayyouk in view of Ihle (US 2008/0031748 A1) in view of Garvin et al. (US 2014/0377055 A1) hereinafter Garvin and further in view of Riedel, JR. et al. (US 2021/0270308 A1) hereinafter Riedel.
Regarding claim 13, Bayyouk teaches a housing comprising:
a body defining a port (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6) for fluid communication through the body, the port having a projection extending along port axis with an inner circumferential surface, an opposite outer circumferential surface (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6) and an axial surface end extending therebeween (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below); and
a port reinforcing ring having at least one interlock structure (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below) to provide an interlock between the port reinforcing ring and the body such that the port reinforcing ring is integrated and non-removable (the port reinforcing ring is rigidly fixed to the port)(Figs. 4-6) with the body and surrounding the port axis (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below), the body defining the port, wherein the port reinforcing ring includes a circumferential portion and a flange portion projecting radially inwardly from the circumferential portion (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below), the circumferential portion facing and contacting the outer circumferential surface of the port and the flange portion at least partially facing and contacting the axial surface end of the port (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below).
Bayyouk fails to teach: the body having a molded plastic construction including a plastic material; the plastic material defining a helical thread within the port and the port reinforcing ring having a metal construction.
However, Ihle teaches a housing body (Fig. 1) the housing body being made of molded plastic component (para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bayyouk by making the body including the by molded plastic component as taught by Ihle as plastic molding is known to produce low labor cost and waste reduction.
Bayyouk as modified by Ihle fails to teach the reinforcement ring is metal construction.
However, Garvin teaches an assembly (10) comprising a body (10) and a reinforcement ring (48) connected to the body (Fig. 3, para. 0049). Garvin further teaches the reinforcement having a metal construction (para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Bayyouk by forming the reinforcement ring with a metal in order to increase stiffness and strength of the reinforcement ring. Furthermore, it has been held (see MPEP 2144.07) that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)).
Bayyouk as modified by Ihle and Garvin teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim but fail to teach the plastic material defining a helical thread within the port.
However, Riedel in the same filed disclose a body defining a port (12) (Fig. 1, para. 0013) for fluid communication through the body, the body including an inner circumferential surface and an outer circumferential surface (Fig. 1). Riedel further teaches a helical thread (28) defined within the port at least partially on the inner circumferential surface (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Bayyouk by forming helical thread on the inner circumferential surface of the body formed by the plastic material as taught by Riedel as all claimed parts were known and would have yielded none but an expected result; namely connect the body to an adjacent component.
Regarding claim 15, Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel teach all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel further teach the flange portion is oriented perpendicularly relative to the port axis (Bayyouk, Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above).
Regarding claim 16, Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel teach all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel further teach an inner surface of the circumferential portion defines the at least one interlock structure to provide the interlock between the port reinforcing ring and the plastic material of the port projection to provide retention of the port reinforcing ring on the port projection (Bayyouk, Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above).
Regarding claim 17, Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel teach all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel further teach the interlock structure includes a circumferential groove (Bayyouk, Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above).
Regarding claim 18, Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel teach all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel further teach the body includes gussets (grooves receiving seals 264). integrally molded with the outer circumferential surface of the port projection and also integrally molded with a face of the body for reinforcing the port projection (Bayyouk, Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above).
Regarding claim 19, Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel teach all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel further teach the port reinforcing ring defines the at least one interlock structure (recess on the reinforcing ring; Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above) to provide the interlock between the port reinforcing ring and the plastic material of the port projection during molding of the port projection for improved adherence of the port reinforcing ring to the plastic material forming the port projection (Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above).
Regarding claim 21, Bayyouk teaches a housing comprising:
a body defining a port (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6) for fluid communication through the body, the port having a projection extending along a port axis with an inner circumferential surface, an opposite outer circumferential surface (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6) and an axial surface end extending therebeween (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below); and
a port reinforcing ring including a circumferential portion and a flange portion projecting radially inwardly from the circumferential portion (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below), the port reinforcing ring is integrated (Figs. 4-6) with the body and surrounding the port axis of the port (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below), the circumferential portion of the port reinforcing ring non-treadably coupled to the outer circumferential surface of the port (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below) such that the port reinforcing ring is non-removable (the port reinforcing ring is rigidly fixed to the port) from the port with the flange portion at least partially facing and contacting the axial surface end of the port (Bayyouk, Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below), the port reinforcing ring reinforcing the body defining the port (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 below).
Bayyouk fails to teach: the body having a molded plastic construction including a plastic material; the plastic material defining a helical thread within the port and the port reinforcing ring having a metal construction.
However, Ihle teaches a housing body (Fig. 1) the housing body being made of molded plastic component (para. 0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bayyouk by making the body including the by molded plastic component as taught by Ihle as plastic molding is known to produce low labor cost and waste reduction.
Bayyouk as modified by Ihle fails to teach the reinforcement ring is metal construction.
However, Garvin teaches an assembly (10) comprising a body (10) and a reinforcement ring (48) connected to the body (Fig. 3, para. 0049). Garvin further teaches the reinforcement having a metal construction (para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Bayyouk by forming the reinforcement ring with a metal in order to increase stiffness and strength of the reinforcement ring. Furthermore, it has been held (see MPEP 2144.07) that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)).
Bayyouk as modified by Ihle and Garvin teaches all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim but fail to teach the plastic material defining a helical thread within the port.
However, Riedel in the same filed disclose a body defining a port (12) (Fig. 1, para. 0013) for fluid communication through the body, the body including an inner circumferential surface and an outer circumferential surface (Fig. 1). Riedel further teaches a helical thread (28) defined within the port at least partially on the inner circumferential surface (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Bayyouk by forming helical thread on the inner circumferential surface of the body formed by the plastic material as taught by Riedel as all claimed parts were known and would have yielded none but an expected result; namely connect the body to an adjacent component.
Regarding claim 24, Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel teach all the claimed limitations as stated above in claim 13. Bayyouk as modified by Ihle, Garvin and Riedel further teach the circumferential portion of the port reinforcing ring is at least partially embedded into the outer circumferential surface of the port, the plastic material of the circumferential surface of the port being molded over at least one interlock structure of the circumferential portion of the port reinforcing ring (Figs. 4-6 and Bayyouk, annotated FIG. 6 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-11 and 23 are allowed.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MAXIME M ADJAGBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745