CTNF 18/640,161 CTNF 79781 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-15 are pending. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Araki et al., US Patent No. 7,949,418 (hereinafter Araki) . Regarding claims 1-15, Araki discloses all the claimed limitations, as outlined below: 1. A fail-safe central processing unit for a programmable logic controller (PLC), the fail- safe central processing unit comprising: at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 2. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, further comprising: at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 3. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 2, wherein the at least one signal board interface connector is accessible via the at least one sub-slot, and wherein, in operation, the fail-safe signal board is operably coupled to the fail- safe central processing unit via the at least one signal board interface connector (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 4. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, comprising a first sub-slot and a second sub-slot, wherein each sub-slot is configured to receive a fail-safe signal board or a standard signal board (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 5. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 6. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 5, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 7. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 6, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to evaluate a sensor signal and provide sensor input information to the fail-safe central processing unit, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to execute a fail-safe application in response to the sensor input information, and wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to provide output information to the fail-safe signal board for activating or deactivating an actuator based on the output information (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 8. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises a status display comprising multiple indicator light emitting diodes (C4 L14-17). 9. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 8, wherein the status display is configured to display a status of the 1/O channels via dedicated indicator light emitting diodes and a diagnostics status of the fail-safe signal board (330) via a diagnostics light emitting diode (C4 L14-17). 10. A programmable logic controller comprising: a fail-safe central processing unit as claimed in claim 1 (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 11. A distributed control system comprising: a plurality of system modules, and a fail-safe central processing unit comprising at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 12. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of system modules includes 1/O devices with analog and/or digital inputs/outputs and a human-machine-interface (HMI) device (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 13. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit further comprises at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 14. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 15. The distributed control system of claim 14, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Abstract, C4 L1-8, and FIG 1-2 - - A unit comprising multiple slots for I/O boards including fail-safe boards including emergency/stop functions. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Heckel et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0126620 (hereinafter Heckel) . Regarding claims 1-7 and 10-15, Heckel discloses all the claimed limitations, as outlined below: 1. A fail-safe central processing unit for a programmable logic controller (PLC), the fail- safe central processing unit comprising: at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 2. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, further comprising: at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 3. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 2, wherein the at least one signal board interface connector is accessible via the at least one sub-slot, and wherein, in operation, the fail-safe signal board is operably coupled to the fail- safe central processing unit via the at least one signal board interface connector (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 4. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, comprising a first sub-slot and a second sub-slot, wherein each sub-slot is configured to receive a fail-safe signal board or a standard signal board (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 5. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 6. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 5, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 7. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 6, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to evaluate a sensor signal and provide sensor input information to the fail-safe central processing unit, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to execute a fail-safe application in response to the sensor input information, and wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to provide output information to the fail-safe signal board for activating or deactivating an actuator based on the output information (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 10. A programmable logic controller comprising: a fail-safe central processing unit as claimed in claim 1 (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 11. A distributed control system comprising: a plurality of system modules, and a fail-safe central processing unit comprising at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 12. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of system modules includes 1/O devices with analog and/or digital inputs/outputs and a human-machine-interface (HMI) device (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 13. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit further comprises at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 14. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 15. The distributed control system of claim 14, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Para 0053 and Para 0058 - - Units 18, 20 and 22 comprise safety -directed arrangements including emergency/stop functions and are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0215354 (hereinafter Nakamura) . 1. A fail-safe central processing unit for a programmable logic controller (PLC), the fail- safe central processing unit comprising: at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 2. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, further comprising: at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 3. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 2, wherein the at least one signal board interface connector is accessible via the at least one sub-slot, and wherein, in operation, the fail-safe signal board is operably coupled to the fail- safe central processing unit via the at least one signal board interface connector (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 4. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, comprising a first sub-slot and a second sub-slot, wherein each sub-slot is configured to receive a fail-safe signal board or a standard signal board (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 5. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 6. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 5, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 7. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 6, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to evaluate a sensor signal and provide sensor input information to the fail-safe central processing unit, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to execute a fail-safe application in response to the sensor input information, and wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to provide output information to the fail-safe signal board for activating or deactivating an actuator based on the output information (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 10. A programmable logic controller comprising: a fail-safe central processing unit as claimed in claim 1 (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 11. A distributed control system comprising: a plurality of system modules, and a fail-safe central processing unit comprising at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit. 12. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of system modules includes 1/O devices with analog and/or digital inputs/outputs and a human-machine-interface (HMI) device (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 13. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit further comprises at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 14. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel. (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 15. The distributed control system of claim 14, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Fig 1 and Abstract - - Safety slaves including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels to a PLC Master. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Muneta et al., US Patent No. 7,430,451 (hereinafter Muneta) . Regarding claims 1-7 and 10-15, Muneta discloses all the claimed limitations, as outlined below: 1. A fail-safe central processing unit for a programmable logic controller (PLC), the fail- safe central processing unit comprising: at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 2. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, further comprising: at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 3. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 2, wherein the at least one signal board interface connector is accessible via the at least one sub-slot, and wherein, in operation, the fail-safe signal board is operably coupled to the fail- safe central processing unit via the at least one signal board interface connector (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 4. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, comprising a first sub-slot and a second sub-slot, wherein each sub-slot is configured to receive a fail-safe signal board or a standard signal board (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 5. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 6. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 5, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 7. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 6, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to evaluate a sensor signal and provide sensor input information to the fail-safe central processing unit, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to execute a fail-safe application in response to the sensor input information, and wherein the fail-safe central processing unit is configured to provide output information to the fail-safe signal board for activating or deactivating an actuator based on the output information (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 10. A programmable logic controller comprising: a fail-safe central processing unit as claimed in claim 1 (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 11. A distributed control system comprising: a plurality of system modules, and a fail-safe central processing unit comprising at least one sub-slot configured to receive a signal board comprising multiple digital input/output (1/O) channels, wherein the signal board is configured as a fail-safe signal board and allows expansion of multiple fail-safe digital 1/O channels to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 12. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of system modules includes 1/O devices with analog and/or digital inputs/outputs and a human-machine-interface (HMI) device (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 13. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe central processing unit further comprises at least one signal board interface connector for operably coupling the fail-safe signal board to the fail-safe central processing unit (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 14. The distributed control system of claim 11, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises at least one fail-safe digital 1/O channel (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices). 15. The distributed control system of claim 14, wherein the fail-safe signal board is configured to support fail-safe safety functions including an emergency stop safety function (Fig 1-3, C3 L28-59, C7 L10-61, and C10 L20-41 - - Safety units including emergency/stop functions are connected via multiple I/O channels. Wherein the control system comprises actuators/motors and sensing devices) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki et al., US Patent No. 7,949,418 (hereinafter Araki) or Heckel et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0126620 (hereinafter Heckel), or Nakamura et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0215354 (hereinafter Nakamura), or Muneta et al., US Patent No. 7,430,451 (hereinafter Muneta), in view of Sorensen et al., US Patent No. 8,554,953 (hereinafter Sorensen) . Regarding claims 8 and 9, Araki, Heckel, Nakamura, and Muneta disclose all the limitations of the base claims, as outlined above. Araki, Heckel, Nakamura, and Muneta fails to clearly specify: Claim 8. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises a status display comprising multiple indicator light emitting diodes; and Claim 9. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 8, wherein the status display is configured to display a status of the 1/O channels via dedicated indicator light emitting diodes and a diagnostics status of the fail-safe signal board (330) via a diagnostics light emitting diode. However, Sorensen teaches: Claim 8. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 1, wherein the fail-safe signal board comprises a status display comprising multiple indicator light emitting diodes (C4 L18-26, C7 L5-45, C9 L54-59, and C15 L50-65); and Claim 9. The fail-safe central processing unit of claim 8, wherein the status display is configured to display a status of the 1/O channels via dedicated indicator light emitting diodes and a diagnostics status of the fail-safe signal board (330) via a diagnostics light emitting diode (C4 L18-26, C7 L5-45, C9 L54-59, and C15 L50-65). The applied prior art is considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they relate to same field of endeavor. They relate to PLC control systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the above safety related control systems, as taught by Araki, Heckel, Nakamura, and Muneta, and incorporating the concept/features of status displays comprising light emitting diodes, as taught by Sorensen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide an instant and interactive manner of notifying an operator/user of the status of the system so that corrections are immediately performed, as suggested by Sorensen (see C7 L5-19). Citation of Pertinent Prior Art The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Oh, Jaehoon, Jaekeun Roh, and Hangjun Yang. "The Development of Bay Control Unit with flexible IO module." 2011 International Conference on Advanced Power System Automation and Protection. Vol. 2. IEEE, 2011. Struger et al., US Patent No. 4,882,702 – relates to programmable controller with i/o expansion modules. Papadopoulos et al., US Patent No. 6,061,603 – relates to PLC systems in an industrial control environment. Pullmann et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0011250 – relates to safety switch device and system of safety switching devices. Rupp et al., US Patent No. 6,871,240 – relates to configuring a safe station. Abe et al., US Patent No. 7,610,119 – relates to a safety controller. Moran et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0185199 – relates to control system utilizing modules and slots for expansion. Kalhoff et al., US Patent No. 8,549,136 – relates to operating at least one-safety-critical and at least one safety-critical system. Ueno et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0018958 – relates to safety system and control device. Bernat et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0179564 – relates to safe destructive actions on drives. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CARLOS R ORTIZ RODRIGUEZ whose telephone number is (571)272-3766. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 10:00 am- 6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mohammad Ali can be reached on 571-272-4105. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CARLOS R ORTIZ RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 2 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 3 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 4 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 5 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 6 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 7 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 8 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 9 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 10 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 11 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 12 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 13 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 14 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 15 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 16 Art Unit: 2119 Application/Control Number: 18/640,161 Page 17 Art Unit: 2119