DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02-12-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach all the limitations of independent claim 1 and that the Examiner did not consider all claim elements or limitations. Applicant further argues that the Examiner appears to be confused with superficially similar nomenclature ("quantum dots") that involves fundamentally different structures, compositions, and functions. Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach or suggest a carbon quantum dot anion. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The cited prior art (US 2009/0152664) teaches that the photodetector comprises quantum dots that transports carrier types (paragraph 110). Klem further discloses that the quantum dots are charged (paragraph 115) and have oxide layers (paragraph 131); and the Examiner submits that charged layer oxides are surface oxygen anion. The lithium metal carrier of the cited prior art is sufficient to anticipate the alkali metal cation of the claim because it is charged in the transference of electrons. Additionally, while the “consisting of” inclusive language is utilized, it is directed to what the salt form—a term found only in the preamble—is. The composition itself can contain additional components.
Applicant arguments are still not persuasive for reasons made herein and of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0152664 hereinafter Klem.
Regarding Claim 1, Klem teaches an apparatus comprising: a photodetector comprising multiple electrodes with a semiconductor film between them, the photodetector comprising quantum dots that transports carrier types (paragraph 110). Klem discloses that the quantum dots are charged (paragraph 115) and have oxide layers (paragraph 131); it is the Office’s position that charged layer oxides are surface oxygen anion. Klem discloses that that the QDs are 0.5 to 10 nm in size (paragraph 104). Since the composition is the same as claimed, it must have the same properties (surface potential). See MPEP 2112.01. It should be noted that while the “consisting of” inclusive language is utilized, it is directed to what the salt form—a term found only in the preamble—is. The composition itself can contain additional components.
Regarding Claims 2-6, Klem teaches surface carboxyl functional groups (paragraph 455) and that the carriers are lithium (paragraph 586). Because the QDs are 0.5 to 10 nm in size (paragraph 104) and the composition is the same as claimed, then it must have the same properties (surface potential). See MPEP 2112.01 as shown above.
Regarding Claims 7-9, Klem teaches that the device is a photodetector as described above and a battery is not necessarily present in claim 7.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3-4, 12-14 and 16 of copending Application No. 16,616,283 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a device comprising an electrolyte that comprises a salt form consisting of:(i) an alkali metal cation, and (ii) a carbon quantum dot anion in a form of graphite oxide having at least one oxygen anion on a surface thereof and having an average diameter in the range of 2 to 12 nanometers (nm) and a surface potential of -20 mV or less.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,996,521. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a device comprising an electrolyte that comprises a salt form consisting of:(i) an alkali metal cation, and (ii) a carbon quantum dot anion in a form of graphite oxide having at least one oxygen anion on a surface thereof and having an average diameter in the range of 2 to 12 nanometers (nm) and a surface potential of -20 mV or less.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752