DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final communication in response to communication filed 4/19/24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,4-7, 11, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu 20170125383.
With respect to claim 1, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose an apparatus comprising: a circuit component [604] configured to consume power to perform a function; and a power grid [606,608] configured to provide a plurality of redundant paths [paths between switches 606, detail fig. 7or 8] by which the power can flow between the circuit component and one of a power source [para 0090] and ground, to perform the function, wherein the power grid is configured to dynamically select at least one active path of the redundant paths through which the power flows between the circuit component and the one of the power source and ground, to perform the function. [para 0080; logic circuits or other types of circuits represented by tiles]
With respect to claim 2, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power grid is configured to dynamically select the at least one active path at runtime. [para 0001]
With respect to claim 4, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power grid is configured to provide the plurality of redundant paths simultaneously. [Fig. 6 can provide power through all switch elements]
With respect to claim 5, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the power grid is comprises a plurality of wires interconnected by switches; and the at least one active path is selected by changing a state of at least some of the switches. [606, figs. 7, 8]
With respect to claim 6, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein at least some of the switches have the states: on and off. [para. 0119]
With respect to claim 7, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein at least some of the switches have a states of: connect to a first wire and connect to a second wire. [figs 7 and 8]
With respect to claim 11, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the at least one active path is selected by changing the state of the switches until the circuit component is powered.
With respect to claim 14, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose a method, comprising: consuming power at a circuit component to perform a function;
providing a power grid configured to provide a plurality of redundant paths by which the power can flow between the circuit component and one of a power source and ground, to perform the function, wherein the power grid is configured to dynamically select at least one active path of the redundant paths through which the power flows between the circuit component and the one of the power source and ground, to perform the function. [see claim 1]
With respect to claim 15, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium to store computer-readable code [para 0013] for fabrication of an apparatus comprising: a circuit component configured to consume power to perform a function; and a power grid configured to provide a plurality of redundant paths by which the power can flow between the circuit component and one of a power source and ground, to perform the function, wherein the power grid is configured to dynamically select at least one active path of the redundant paths through which the power flows between the circuit component and the one of the power source and ground, to perform the function. [see claim 1]
With respect to claim 16, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose a system comprising: the apparatus of claim 1; at least one system component [other TILE]; and a board, wherein the apparatus and the at least one system component are assembled on the board. [fig. 6 is example of 3D-IC shown in figs. 1-5]
With respect to claim 17, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose a chip-containing product comprising the system of claim 16 assembled on a further board with at least one other product component. [see figs 1A and 1B]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu 20170125383 in view of Fleming et al. 20180336372.
With respect to claim 3, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the power grid is configured to dynamically select the at least one active path with a predetermined frequency.
However, selecting charge paths based on a refresh frequency. [para 0109-0111, fig. 10]
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to select power paths based on a frequency to which elements need power since it was a known technique in the art.
With respect to claim 10, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the at least one active path is selected by setting each of the switches to a random state.
However, Fleming et al. discloses random selection of charge paths as a side channel attack protection technique. [para 0103]
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to select charge paths randomly to protect the circuitry from side attacks as it was a known technique in the art.
With respect to claim 12, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the function is an arithmetic, combinatorial, or cryptographic function.
However, Figures 5, 7, 8, 9, 10 ; para 0096- 0123 of Fleming et al disclose switching functions to vary paths for power to a protected circuit to prevent side channel attacks.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use combinatorial and arithmetic functions to vary the power path to protect from side attacks as it was a known technique in the art.
With respect to claim 13, figures 6-8 of Liu disclose the apparatus according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising: a plurality of power sources configured to provide power, including the power source; and the plurality of redundant paths enable power to flow from one of the power sources to the circuit component to perform the function.
However, Fleming et al discloses the use a 2 power sources 114,116 having redundant power paths to a protected circuit and switching between the power sources to prevent side attacks on a protect circuit.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date, to add a second power source to Liu to protect from side attacks as it was a known technique in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RYAN JAGER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842