DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed May 13, 2026. Claims 1-11, 21-29 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stern et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0308639).
Regarding claim 1, Stern et al. disclose (Figs. 13B) an apparatus comprising: a first monolithic structure (base, substrate 30) that includes a first plurality of components (132, 110, 100, 131 ) preinstalled and aligned in the first monolithic structure, at least one of the first plurality of components comprising a bidirectional beam steering device (132); and a second monolithic structure (134) that includes a second plurality of components (133, 135) preinstalled and aligned in the second monolithic structure, wherein: the first monolithic structure has a first connecting portion (top periphery portion); the second monolithic structure has a second connecting portion (bottom, stepped periphery portion); the first monolithic structure and the second monolithic structure are each constructed to be aligned and adjoined to each other at an interface (contact portion between the two structures) of the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion; and the first plurality of components are preinstalled and optically aligned in the first monolithic structure such that when the first monolithic structure and the second monolithic structures are adjoined to each other at said interface, the second plurality of components are aligned with the first plurality of components. Since the claimed structure is disclosed by Stern et al., it is an orthogonal laser metrology module and is “for orthogonal laser metrology.”
Regarding clams 5, 6, 9, the first monolithic structure incudes first and second support members (e.g. left and right sides). Stern et al. disclose at least one of the components being a beam steering device (132), a mirror (135) or a coherent energy source (100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern et al. in view of Chen et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2005/0168952).
Regarding claims 2, 4, Stern et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Stern et al. further disclose the connecting portion includes a stepped portion. Stern et al. do not disclose a bevel portion. Chen et al. teach (Figs. 5A, 5B) a connecting portion may be stepped or bevel having a planar surface formed at an angle as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide a bevel portion in the apparatus of Stern et al. in view of Chen et al. to obtain a desired effect as taught, known and predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 11, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3, 10, 22-29 are allowed over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant asserts that Stern et al. do not disclose monolithic structures. Examiner disagrees. Applicant fails to provide any rationale why the referenced elements of the prior art are not monolithic structures.
Second, Applicant asserts that Stern et al. do not disclose “monolithic optical structures having preinstalled and pre-aligned optical components in the sense claimed” because Stern et al. relies on assembly tolerances, adhesive bonding, and post-placement alignment. Examiner disagrees as Applicant has failed to explain how assembly tolerances, adhesive bonding and post-placement alignment is dispositive on the issues of preinstallation and alignment.
Applicant also asserts that Stern et al. do not disclose “two independently aligned monolithic subassemblies that self-align upon mating.” Examiner disagrees as no such claim language is found in the claims.
Similarly, Applicant’s other assertions are not supported by the claim language and are not persuasive. Since Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive this rejection is proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878