DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 04/19/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-13, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan et al. US PGPub 2018/0039052 A1 (of record as US Patent 10,203,489 B2, see IDS dated 04/19/2024, hereinafter, “Khan”) in view of Ouderkirk et al. US PGPub 2021/0263342 A1 (hereinafter, “Ouderkirk”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Khan discloses an electronic device configured to display images (refer to at least title and abstract disclosing a head-mounted display, equivalent to an electronic device), comprising:
a display panel configured to produce light for the images (Figs. 1-3, 6, and 7, virtual reality head-mounted display 10 includes display system 40 that creates images, par. [0018]); and
a lens module that receives the light from the display panel (Figs. 1-3, 6, and 7, head-mounted display 10 includes optical system 20 through which a user may view images produced by display system 40, par. [0018]), wherein the lens module comprises:
a first lens element (Figs. 2-9, optical system 20 includes lens elements such as lens elements 26 and 32, par. [0027], either of which may be labeled as a first lens element);
a second lens element (Figs. 2-9, optical system 20 includes lens elements 26 and 32, par. [0027], either of which may be labeled as a second lens element);
a partially reflective mirror that is interposed between the first lens element and the display panel (Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7, partially reflective mirror 22, pars. [0030], [0034], is between lens elements 26 and 32 and display system 40);
a reflective polarizer that is interposed between the first lens element and the second lens element when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7, reflective polarizer 30, par. [0032], is between lens element 32 and lens element 26); and
an air gap that is interposed between the first lens element and the second lens element when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (Fig. 4 shows how lens elements 32 and 26 may, if desired, be separated by an air gap in optical system 20, par. [0040]).
Khan does not disclose the second lens element is a removable lens element that is configured to be selectively attached to the lens module.
In the same field of invention, Ouderkirk discloses an optical assembly with a lens removably coupled to a transparent substrate (refer to at least title and abstract). Figs. 4A and 4B thereof illustrate optical assembly 400 with removable lens 406 (par. [0061] thereof), and Ouderkirk teaches removable lens 406 may be a prescription lens having optical parameters specific to a particular user (par. [0065] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Ouderkirk to the disclosure of Khan and modified optical system 20 disclosed by Khan to include a removable lens, such as removable lens 406 taught by Ouderkirk, by modifying lens element 32 disclosed by Khan to be removable, because Ouderkirk teaches it is beneficial to have prescription lenses integrated into head-mounted display devices so that users do not need to wear separate spectacles or contact lenses before putting on head-mounted display devices (Ouderkirk, par. [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Khan in view of Ouderkirk (hereinafter, “modified Khan”) discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, and Khan further discloses wherein the first lens element has a first convex surface and a first concave surface and wherein the first convex surface is interposed between the first concave surface and the display panel (Khan Fig. 7, lens element 26 has a first convex surface that is interposed between the first concave surface of lens element 26 and display system 40).
Regarding dependent claim 3, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 2, and Khan further discloses wherein the second lens element has a second convex surface and a second concave surface and wherein the second convex surface is interposed between the first concave surface and the second concave surface when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (Khan Fig. 7, lens element 32 has a second convex surface that is interposed between the concave surface of lens element 26 and the concave surface of lens element 32).
Regarding dependent claim 4, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 3, and Khan further discloses wherein the first concave surface has a minimum radius of curvature of a first magnitude, wherein the second convex surface has a minimum radius of curvature of a second magnitude, and wherein the second magnitude is within 20% of the first magnitude (Khan Fig. 7, surface S7 of lens element 26 has a radius of curvature that can be considered a minimum radius of curvature, and surface S6 of lens element 32 has a radius of curvature that can be considered a minimum radius of curvature, and as shown in Fig. 7, these radiuses of curvature are equal, therefore are within 20% of each other).
Regarding dependent claim 5, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 3, wherein the first concave surface has a minimum radius of curvature of a first magnitude, wherein the second convex surface has a minimum radius of curvature of a second magnitude, and wherein the second magnitude is within 5% of the first magnitude (Khan Fig. 7, surface S7 of lens element 26 has a radius of curvature that can be considered a minimum radius of curvature, and surface S6 of lens element 32 has a radius of curvature that can be considered a minimum radius of curvature, and as shown in Fig. 7, these radiuses of curvature are equal, therefore are within 5% of each other).
Regarding dependent claim 6, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 3, and Khan further discloses wherein the lens module further comprises: a quarter wave plate that is interposed between the first lens element and the reflective polarizer (Khan Fig. 7, quarter wave plate 28 is interposed between lens element 26 and reflective polarizer 30, par. [0044]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 6, and Khan discloses wherein the lens module further comprises: a linear polarizer (Khan Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7 show linear polarizer 16, par. [0026], and Khan further teaches glasses 10 may include linear polarizer 34, refer to at least par. [0036] and see Figs. 3, 6, and 7), wherein the reflective polarizer is interposed between the linear polarizer and the quarter wave plate (Khan Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7 show reflective polarizer 30 interposed between linear polarizer 34 and quarter wave plate 28).
Regarding dependent claim 11, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 7, but Khan does not disclose wherein the linear polarizer (Fig. 7, Khan linear polarizer 34) is formed on the second concave surface of the second lens element (Fig. 7 of Khan shows linear polarizer 34 on the concave surface of lens element 54 rather than on the concave surface of lens element 32).
However, Khan in Figs. 2 and 3 depicts linear polarizer 34 (par. [0036]) between eye 46 and the concave surface of lens element 32. Furthermore, as shown in Fig. 6, linear polarizer 34 may be formed on the concave surface S8 of element 54 (par. [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have formed linear polarizer 34 on the concave surface of lens element 32, because Khan teaches such a disposition helps prevent spurious reflections of light from the environment (Khan, par. [0053]).
Regarding dependent claim 12, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, and Khan further discloses wherein the air gap has a thickness that varies by less than 50% (Khan Fig. 4 shows how lens elements 32 and 26 may, if desired, be separated by an air gap in optical system 20, par. [0040], and the air gap depicted in Khan Fig. 4 does not vary in thickness, therefore the thickness of the gap varies by less than 50%).
Regarding dependent claim 13, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, and Khan further discloses wherein the lens module further comprises an anti-reflective coating (Khan optical structures such as partially reflective coatings, wave plates, reflective polarizers, linear polarizers, antireflection coatings, and/or other optical components may be incorporated into system 20 of glasses 10, par. [0028]) on the second lens element (antireflection coatings may be provided on surfaces of element 32 and/or 26 to reduce reflections, if desired, par. [0040]).
Khan does not specifically disclose wherein the second lens element is interposed between the anti-reflective coating and the first lens element (i.e., Khan lens element 26) when the second lens element is attached to the lens module. However, because Khan teaches that antireflection coatings may be provided on surfaces of element 32 and/or 26 to reduce reflections, if desired (par. [0040]), a person of ordinary skill would find it obvious to dispose an antireflection coating on the surface of lens element 32 that is between lens element 32 and lens element 26, because Khan teaches the option of disposing an antireflection film in such a manner.
Regarding dependent claim 16, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, and Ouderkirk further discloses wherein the second lens element is configured to accommodate an eyeglass prescription ( Ouderkirk optical assembly 330 includes one or more lenses, e.g., one or more prescription lenses, par. [0057], and Ouderkirk teaches removable lens 406 is a prescription lens having optical parameters specific to a particular user, par. [0065]).
Regarding independent claim 17, Khan discloses an electronic device configured to display images (refer to at least title and abstract disclosing a head-mounted display, equivalent to an electronic device), comprising:
a display panel configured to produce light for the images (Figs. 1-3, 6, and 7, virtual reality head-mounted display 10 includes display system 40 that creates images , par. [0018]); and
a lens module that receives the light from the display panel (Figs. 1-7, head-mounted display 10 includes optical system 20 through which a user may view images produced by display system 40, par. [0018]), wherein the lens module comprises:
a first lens element having a first convex surface and a first concave surface (Fig. 7 shows optical system 20 with lens elements 26 and 32, par. [0027], either of which may be labeled as a first lens element, where lens elements 26 and 32 each have a concave surface and a convex surface);
a second lens element having a second convex surface and a second concave surface (Fig. 7 shows optical system 20 with lens elements 26 and 32, par. [0027], either of which may be labeled as a second lens element, where lens elements 26 and 32 each have a concave surface and a convex surface), wherein the second convex surface faces the first concave surface when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (Fig. 7, convex surface S6 of lens element 32 faces concave surface S7 of lens element 26, par. [0044]), wherein the first concave surface has a minimum radius of curvature of a first magnitude (Fig. 7, lens elements 26 and 32 each have concave surfaces, therefore each curved surface has a radius of curvature that can be considered a minimum radius of curvature), wherein the second convex surface has a minimum radius of curvature of a second magnitude (Fig. 7, lens elements 26 and 32 each have concave surfaces, therefore each curved surface has a radius of curvature that can be considered a minimum radius of curvature), and wherein the second magnitude is within 20% of the first magnitude (Fig. 7, lens elements 26 and 32 each have curved surface with a radius of curvature that are depicted as matching, therefore the radius of curvature of lens elements 26 and 32 are within 20% of each other, because the radius of curvatures are equal); and
a partially reflective mirror that is interposed between the first lens element and the display panel (Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7, partially reflective mirror 22, pars. [0030], [0034], is between lens elements 26 and 32 and display system 40).
Khan does not disclose wherein the second lens element is a removable lens element that is configured to be selectively attached to the lens module.
In the same field of invention, Ouderkirk discloses an optical assembly with a lens removably coupled to a transparent substrate (refer to at least title and abstract). Figs. 4A and 4B thereof illustrate optical assembly 400 with removable lens 406 (par. [0061] thereof), and Ouderkirk teaches removable lens 406 may be a prescription lens having optical parameters specific to a particular user (par. [0065] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Ouderkirk to the disclosure of Khan and modified optical system 20 disclosed by Khan to include a removable lens, such as removable lens 406 taught by Ouderkirk, by modifying lens element 32 disclosed by Khan to be removable, because Ouderkirk teaches it is beneficial to have prescription lenses integrated into head-mounted display devices so that users do not need to wear separate spectacles or contact lenses before putting on head-mounted display devices (Ouderkirk, par. [0003]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 17, and Khan further discloses wherein the lens module further comprises: an air gap that is interposed between the first lens element and the second lens element when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (Khan Fig. 4 shows how lens elements 32 and 26 may, if desired, be separated by an air gap in optical system 20, par. [0040]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 18, and Khan further discloses wherein the air gap has a thickness that varies by less than 20% (Khan Fig. 4 shows how lens elements 32 and 26 may, if desired, be separated by an air gap in optical system 20, par. [0040], and the air gap depicted in Khan Fig. 4 does not vary in thickness, therefore the thickness of the gap varies by less than 20%).
Regarding dependent claim 20, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 19, and Khan further discloses wherein the lens module (i.e., Khan optical system 20, see Fig. 7) further comprises:
a reflective polarizer (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes reflective polarizer 30, par. [0032]), the first lens element (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes lens element 26, par. [0032]) and the second lens element (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes lens element 32, par. [0037]) when the second lens element is attached to the lens module;
a quarter wave plate (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes quarter wave plate 28, par. [0032]) that is interposed between the first lens element (i.e., Khan lens element 26) and the reflective polarizer (i.e., Khan reflective polarizer 30, as shown in Fig. 7, quarter wave plate 28 is interposed between lens element 26 and reflective polarizer 30); and
a linear polarizer (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes linear polarizer 34, par. [0036]), wherein the reflective polarizer (i.e., Khan reflective polarizer 30) is interposed between the linear polarizer (i.e., Khan linear polarizer 34) and the quarter wave plate (i.e., Khan quarter wave plate 28, as shown in Fig. 7, reflective polarizer 34 is interposed between linear polarizer 34 and quarter wave plate 28).
Khan does not specifically disclose reflective polarizer 30 interposed between the first lens element (i.e., lens element 26) and the second lens element (i.e., lens element 32), because as shown in Fig. 7, reflective polarizer 30 is interposed between lens element 54 and lens element 32.
However, Khan in Fig. 2 depicts reflective polarizer 30 interposed between lens element 32 and lens element 26.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have disposed reflective polarizer 30 between lens element 32 and lens element 26, because Khan teaches reflective polarizer 30 may be bonded to lens element 32 and the remaining elements of optical system 20 may be oriented with a desired alignment accuracy (Khan par. [0051]).
Regarding independent claim 21, Khan discloses an electronic device configured to display images (refer to at least title and abstract disclosing a head-mounted display, equivalent to an electronic device), comprising:
a display panel configured to produce light for the images (Figs. 1-3, 6, and 7, virtual reality head-mounted display 10 includes display system 40 that creates images , par. [0018]); and
a lens module that receives the light from the display panel (Figs. 1-7, head-mounted display 10 includes optical system 20 through which a user may view images produced by display system 40, par. [0018]), wherein the lens module comprises:
a first lens element having first and second opposing surfaces, wherein the first surface faces the display panel (Figs. 2 and 7, optical system 20 includes lens elements 26 and 32, par. [0027], either of which may be labeled as a first lens element, and both lens elements 26 and 32 have two opposing surfaces which could be labeled as first and second opposing surfaces, and each lens element 26 and 32 have a surface that faces display system 40);
a second lens element having third and fourth opposing surfaces (Figs. 2 and 7, optical system 20 includes lens elements 26 and 32, par. [0027], either of which may be labeled as a second lens element, and both lens elements 26 and 32 have two opposing surfaces which could be labeled as third and fourth opposing surfaces);
an air gap that is interposed between the first lens element and the second lens element when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (Fig. 4 shows how lens elements 32 and 26 may, if desired, be separated by an air gap in optical system 20, par. [0040]), wherein the third surface faces the second surface when the second lens element is attached to the lens module and wherein the third surface has curvature that matches curvature of the second surface (Fig. 7, lens element 32 has surface S6 that faces lens element 26 surface S7, and the radius of curvature of lens elements 26 and 32 are equal); and
a partially reflective mirror that is interposed between the first lens element and the display panel (Figs. 2, 3, 6, and 7, partially reflective mirror 22, pars. [0030], [0034], is between lens elements 26 and 32 and display system 40).
Khan does not disclose wherein the second lens element is a removable lens element that is configured to be selectively attached to the lens module.
In the same field of invention, Ouderkirk discloses an optical assembly with a lens removably coupled to a transparent substrate (refer to at least title and abstract). Figs. 4A and 4B thereof illustrate optical assembly 400 with removable lens 406 (par. [0061] thereof), and Ouderkirk teaches removable lens 406 may be a prescription lens having optical parameters specific to a particular user (par. [0065] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Ouderkirk to the disclosure of Khan and modified optical system 20 disclosed by Khan to include a removable lens, such as removable lens 406 taught by Ouderkirk, by modifying lens element 32 disclosed by Khan to be removable, because Ouderkirk teaches it is beneficial to have prescription lenses integrated into head-mounted display devices so that users do not need to wear separate spectacles or contact lenses before putting on head-mounted display devices (Ouderkirk, par. [0003]).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Ouderkirk as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Chan et al. US PGPub 2020/0081257 A1 (hereinafter, “Chan”).
Regarding dependent claim 8, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 7, and Khan further discloses wherein the lens module further comprises: a layer of adhesive (Khan teaches reflective polarizer 30 and lens element 54 may be attached to the adjacent curved surface of lens element 32 using optically clear adhesive, par. [0042], and elements 32 and 26 are bonded together using adhesive layers on opposing sides of quarter wave plate 28, par. [0047], and quarter wave film may be placed between elements 32 and 26 with optical adhesive on either side of the quarter wave film, par. [0048]).
Khan does not disclose a layer of adhesive that attaches the linear polarizer to the reflective polarizer (Khan Fig. 7 shows linear polarizer 34 and reflective polarizer 30 are separated by lens element 54).
In the same field of invention, Chan discloses an electronic optical device in the form of a head-mounted display (refer to at least title, abstract, and par. [0013] thereof). Chan in Fig. 1 depicts electronic device 10 (par. [0014] thereof) with a clean-up linear polarizer thermoformed onto reflective polarizer 30 by adhesive 35 (par. [0032] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Chan to the disclosure of Khan and modified optical system 20 to have a reflective polarizer adhered to a linear polarizer by adhesive, because Chan teaches a linear polarizer will also absorb any light from the environment that would otherwise be reflected by the reflective polarizer 30 (Chan par. [0032]).
Regarding dependent claim 10, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 7, but Khan does not disclose wherein the linear polarizer (Fig. 7, Khan linear polarizer 34) is formed on the second convex surface of the second lens element (Fig. 7, Khan lens element 32). Khan, in Fig. 7, depicts linear polarizer 34 on the concave surface of lens element 54.
In the same field of invention, Chan discloses an electronic optical device in the form of a head-mounted display (refer to at least title, abstract, and par. [0013] thereof). Chan teaches linear polarizer 16 may be formed on convex surface S3 of lens element 26 (par. [0023] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Chan to the disclosure of Khan and modified optical system 20 to have linear polarizer 34 formed on the convex surface of lens element 32, because Chan teaches such a disposition is feasible and also teaches the performance of the films and coatings can be greatly improved so that image contrast is increased and ghosting is reduced (Chan, par. [0034]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Ouderkirk and Chan as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of McDowall et al. US PGPub 2009/0052838 A1 (hereinafter, “McDowall”).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Khan in view of Ouderkirk and Chan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 8, wherein the lens module further comprises the reflective polarizer (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes reflective polarizer 30, par. [0032]) and the quarter wave plate (Khan Fig. 7, optical system 20 includes quarter wave plate 28, par. [0032]).
Khan does not disclose adhesive that attaches the reflective polarizer 30 to the quarter wave plate 28 (Fig. 7 depicts lens element 32 between reflective polarizer 30 and quarter wave plate 28).
In the same field of invention, McDowall discloses viewfinder 10 which consists of electrically controlled optical elements 12 as well viewing optics 16, see Figs. 1 and 2 (par. [0012] thereof). Electrically controlled optical elements 12 consist of linear polarizer 22, quarter wave plate 24, ferro-electric switchable half wave plate 26, control electronics 27, half silvered mirror 28, lens 30, quarter wave plate 32, reflective polarizer 34, and linear polarizer 36 (par. [0013] thereof). McDowall teaches quarter wave plate 32 and reflective polarizer need not be a separate elements but made be made integrally, either by bonding the two elements together (par. [0021] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of McDowall to the disclosure of Khan and arranged reflective polarizer 30 and quarter wave plate 28 to be adjacent and thereby to be joined by adhesive, because McDowall teaches joining a quarter wave plate to a reflective polarizer allows for a compact, durable, and quickly adjustable optical package (McDowall, par. [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 14, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the second lens element further comprises an attachment structure that is configured to attach to a corresponding attachment structure on the first lens element when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (as noted in the rejection above, Khan does not teach or suggest a removable lens and therefore does not teach or suggest attachment structures on the first lens element 26, and while Ouderkirk is cited to teach a removable lens in a head-mounted display, Ouderkirk does not teach or suggest specific structures for attaching the removable lens 406, as Ouderkirk discloses the use of adhesive to attach removable lens 406 such that lens 406 can be separated without inducing damage to lens 406, par. [0062] thereof).
Regarding dependent claim 15, modified Khan discloses the electronic device defined in claim 1, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the second lens element (Khan lens element 32) further comprises an attachment structure that is configured to attach to a corresponding attachment structure on a support structure when the second lens element is attached to the lens module (as noted in the rejection above, Khan does not teach or suggest a removable lens and therefore does not teach or suggest attachment structures on the second lens element 32, and while Ouderkirk is cited to teach a removable lens in a head-mounted display, Ouderkirk does not teach or suggest specific structures for attaching the removable lens 406, as Ouderkirk discloses the use of adhesive to attach removable lens 406 such that lens 406 can be separated without inducing damage to lens 406, par. [0062] thereof).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN W. HUSTOFT/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872