DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks concerning the previous prior art rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tuval only describes distal-tip portion curvatures that all lie in the same plane. To support this, Applicant cites to Para. 411 of Tuval which states that “It is noted that for all of the curved distal-tip elements that are described herein (e.g., with reference to FIGS. 21-24C and FIGS. 26A-F), typically, the curvatures of the distal-tip portion are all within a single plane.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tuval qualifies this statement as only “typically” being the case, i.e. it is not necessarily the case. Furthermore, this statement in Para. 411 contradicts the configurations explicitly shown in e.g. FIGS. 6A-C, 22C and 23A-B where the tip curves back over itself in a manner such that both curved portions cannot lie in the same plane. The Examiner respectfully asserts that a single statement, particularly one qualified as only describing a “typical” configuration, cannot negate the clear and explicit disclosure of multiple figures which show the claim language being met. As such, the previous rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US 2020/0237985 A1 to Tuval et al. (hereinafter “Tuval”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Tuval teaches an apparatus/method, comprising:
a blood pump (see e.g. the abstract: “Apparatus and methods are described including manufacturing a housing for an impeller of a blood pump”), comprising:
an axial shaft (92) configured for insertion into, and rotation within, a left ventricle of a subject (see e.g. Para. 10: “The impeller, the axial shaft and the frame are disposed within a distal portion of the tube inside the subject's left ventricle”);
an impeller (50) coupled to the axial shaft such that, as the axial shaft rotates, the impeller pumps blood from the left ventricle (see e.g. Para. 312: “the rotational motion of the impeller (which is imparted via the axial shaft)”);
a frame (34) surrounding the impeller; and
a tip portion (107) coupled to a distal end of the frame and comprising:
a distal curved portion (see portion of 107 closer to valve 390, i.e. the more distal curve of tip portion 107), which is configured, when deployed within the left ventricle, to lie in a plane; and
a proximal curved portion (see portion of 107 closer to tube 126, i.e. the more proximal curve of tip portion 107), which is configured, when deployed within the left ventricle, to not lie in the plane (see generally FIGS. 6A-C and 22C; the curves are shown forming a loop where the tip 107 curves back over itself in a manner such that both curved portions cannot lie in the same plane) and to be curved such that, a distal end of the proximal curved portion points toward an apex of the left ventricle (see e.g. FIGS. 23A-B showing the general location of deployment relative to the apex 342 of the left ventricle).
Regarding Claim 2, Tuval further teaches a drive cable (130), wherein the axial shaft is coupled to the drive cable such that the axial shaft rotates with the drive cable (see generally FIGS. 10A-F and Para. 312, 314, 316).
Regarding Claim 3, Tuval further teaches a drive cable (130), wherein the axial shaft is a distal portion of the drive cable (see generally FIGS. 10A-F and Para. 312, 314, 316).
Regarding Claim 4, Tuval further teaches wherein the plane is a first plane, and wherein the proximal curved portion is configured, when deployed within the left ventricle, to lie in a second plane that is not parallel to the first plane (see generally FIGS. 6A-C and 22C; the curves are shown forming a loop where the tip 107 curves back over itself in a manner such that both curved portions cannot lie in the same plane, i.e. the distal tip element 107 has at least two curves that must lie in different planes).
Regarding Claims 5 and 20, Tuval further teaches wherein the tip portion is configured such that when the tip portion is deployed within the left ventricle, an angle between a distal end of the proximal curved portion and the axial shaft is between 100 and 170 degrees (see generally FIGS. 6A-C; one can choose/interpret as the “curved portion[s]” any portion of the proximal and distal curves lying along different planes; additionally see e.g. Paras. 402-403 describing a wide variety of possible angles).
Regarding Claim 7, Tuval further teaches wherein the distal curved portion is atraumatic (see e.g. Para. 385).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Tuval further teaches wherein the tip portion is configured such that when the tip portion is deployed within the left ventricle the distal curved portion has a pigtail shape (see e.g. Paras. 386-387).
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Tuval further teaches wherein the tip portion is configured such that when the tip portion is deployed within the left ventricle the distal curved portion comprises: a straight segment that defines a longitudinal axis; and a curved segment that is distal to the straight segment and curves in a first direction with respect to the longitudinal axis before passing through an inflection point and curving in a second direction with respect to the longitudinal axis, such that the curved segment defines a bulge on one side of the longitudinal axis (see e.g. Paras. 386-387).
Regarding Claims 10 and 19, Tuval further teaches wherein the tip portion is configured such that when the tip portion is deployed within the left ventricle the tip portion further comprises a straight portion proximal to the proximal curved portion (see straight portion 126).
Regarding Claim 11, Tuval further teaches wherein the tip portion is configured such that when the tip portion is deployed within the left ventricle the straight portion (126) is configured to receive the axial shaft (92) while the axial shaft rotates (see e.g. Para. 287: “Axial-shaft-receiving tube 126 defines lumen 127, which is configured to receive the axial shaft”).
Regarding Claim 12, Tuval further teaches wherein the tip portion is shaped to define a lumen, which passes through the proximal curved portion and the distal curved portion (see e.g. lumen 122 in FIGS. 6A-C).
Regarding Claim 13, Tuval further teaches wherein the blood pump further comprises a valve (390) at a distal end of the distal curved portion (see e.g. FIGS. 6A-C).
Regarding Claim 15, Tuval further teaches wherein rotating the impeller comprises rotating the impeller while the distal curved portion pushes against an apex of the left ventricle (see e.g. FIGS. 23A-B).
Regarding Claim 16, wherein inserting the blood pump into the left ventricle comprises deploying the proximal curved portion within the left ventricle with the proximal curved portion curved such that, a distal end of the proximal curved portion points toward an apex of the left ventricle (see e.g. FIGS. 23A-B)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval.
Regarding Claims 6 and 21, it is unclear what is the exact size of the angle between the distal and proximal portions of tip 107 (i.e. the angle between the claimed proximal curved portion and the claimed “the plane”). As seen in e.g. FIGS. 6A-C, the tip 107 curves back over itself, i.e. it introduces some angle away from the plane of the figure, but it is just not clear whether that angle falls between 25-65 degrees. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the filing date of Applicant’s invention to engage in routine experimentation to discover the optimal angle and general size and shape of the tip. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)( “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”) (citing In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)). Here, there doesn’t appear to be a specific criticality to the exact range of 25-65 degrees, and in view of Tuval’s general teachings of different values for the angles of the tip (see e.g. Paras. 402-403, i.e. generally speaking a variety of tip shapes are contemplated), one skilled in the art would appreciate that different sizes and shapes of the tip would be desirable in different applications, and would thus consider it obvious to experiment with those sizes and shapes to obtain optimal values.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R DOWNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792