Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 6-21 in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious search burden in considering both groups. This is not found persuasive because different groups would require a different search strategy and considerations that would not necessarily apply to the other group.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-5 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/27/2026.
Double Patenting
Claim 6-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 8980353. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘353 patent discloses all the limitations of the present claims.
Claims 6-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No.8962054. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘054 patent discloses all the limitations of the present claims.
Claim 6-21 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 19/195,529(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘529 application discloses all the limitations of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-9,14,15,19,21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashourian(US 2014/0335249).
Regarding claim 6, Ashourian teaches a process for preparing a food product, the process comprising(para 56-60, 79):
(a) providing or receiving a plurality of food pieces of a food material having an initial moisture content;
(b) enzyme treating the plurality of food pieces of a) food pieces with an
effective amount of at least one starch-degrading enzyme to provide enzyme-treated food pieces;
(c) blanching the enzyme-treated food pieces of b) to deactivate the starch-
degrading enzyme to provide blanched food pieces; and
(d) reducing moisture of the food pieces via air drying from the initial moisture content to a reduced overall moisture content that is lower than the initial moisture content, to provide moisture- reduced food pieces.
Regarding claim 7, Ashourian teaches cooling to freezer conditions(para 92), which including temperatures below 40F.
Regarding claim 8, Ashourian does not teach oil frying(moisture reduction is done without the presence of oil frying, claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, Ashourian teaches that the air drying comprising heating the food pieces while flowing air over or past the food pieces(para 85).
Regarding claim 14, Ashourian teaches agitating the food pieces while heating the food pieces and flowing air over or paste the food pieces(example 2, food pieces are shaken to allow for even drying).
Regarding claim 15, Ashourian teaches cooking the moisture-reduced food pieces to a final moisture content that is less than the reduced overall moisture content(para 81, food pieces are reduced in moisture then further cooked in a second stage to a final moisture content).
Regarding claim 19, Ashourian teaches a thickness of no more than 3.5mm(example 7, slices are 1.6mm thick).
Regarding claim 21, Ashourian teaches that the food pieces can include “potato, beet, pumpkin, squash, tomato, mushroom, zucchini, carrot, eggplant, apple, pear, bananas, berries, grains, beans, nuts, seeds, rutabaga, plantain, taro, okra, onion, parsnip, yam, sweet potato, yucca, papaya, mango, pineapple, and the like”(para 52, example 1-potatoes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13,16-18,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashourian(US 2014/0335249).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Ashourian teaches air drying in two or more stages with the first stages bring done at a temperature of about 160F to about 400F and the second temperature being about 360F to about 375(para 81), which is considered “close enough” to about 385F to provide the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Furthermore, Ashourian teaches that the temperature is not limited(para 81), so it would have been obvious to adjust the drying temperature depending on the final moisture content and texture desired.
Ashourian teaches that the drying stages can have different velocities depending on the flavor, texture, color, desired in the final product(para 85).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Ashourian teaches that the food pieces can be dried using one or more stages(which would include a third stage) at different velocities and temperatures(para 81-85). Ashourian teaches that the temperature is not limited, so it would have been obvious to adjust the drying temperature of the third stage depending on the final moisture content and texture desired.
Regarding claim 16, Ashourian teaches a final moisture content of about 0.5 to about 10% by weight(para 78). “About 10%” would encompass “about 15%”, thus overlapping the claimed range and rendering it obvious.
Regarding claim 17, Ashourian teaches that the food pieces are cut into a variety of shapes and sizes including slices, sticks or strips(para 70). It would have been obvious to adjust the size of the pieces depending on the intended food product.
Regarding claims 18,20, Ashourian teaches the reduced moisture content(immediate moisture content) is about 10 to about 80% by weight(para 81), which overlaps the claimed ranges and renders them obvious.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE D LEBLANC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791