DETAILED ACTION
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 06/10/26
has been entered.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant's arguments and amendments filed on
06/10/26 which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed on 03/24/26.
Applicant's arguments and amendments have been considered with the results that
follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. §103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in
which the invention was made.
4. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-15, 17-19, 22-26, 28-30 and 33-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Mritunjai et al. (US 2023/0177086 A1) in view of Keller et al. (US 2019/0065573 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mritunjai teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0078], one or more processors executing program instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processors), cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0039], one or more processors):
receiving a replica of a portion of a first database table, that stores application data; (See Mritunjai paragraph [0041], [0061], a storage node of a replica group to obtain a portion of a database replica from external storage),
storing the replica in a read-only partition of a second database table, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0011], [0041], a portion of a database replica already stored in external storage from a storage node of a replica group).
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose adding a writeable column to the replica in a writeable partition of the second database table; and writing additional application data to the added writeable column.
However, Keller teaches adding a writeable column to the replica in a writeable partition of the second database table, (See Keller paragraph [0042], additional data definition language (DDL) statements for partitioning itself to, for example, create table partitions, re-partition tables, merge partitions to one table, add or delete partitions, move partitions to other hosts, or perform delta merge operations on certain partitions), and writing data to the added writeable column, (See Keller paragraph [0016], [0068], database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions. Thus, the performance of a database system may depend at least partially on access patterns (e.g., which database table columns must be read to satisfy incoming queries).).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify adding a writeable column to the replica in a writeable partition of the second database table; and writing data to the added writeable column of Keller in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Claims 12 and 23 recite the same limitations as claim 1 above. Therefore, claims
and 23 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 2, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches wherein the replica of the portion of the second database table includes records received from a second node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0010], [0041], a replica group to obtain a portion of a database replica from external storage when adaptive tiering of database data).
Claims 13 and 24 recite the same limitations as claim 2 above. Therefore, claims
and 24 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 3, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above.
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: receiving a query to execute on the replica of the second database table to access data in both the read-only partition and the writeable partition; and executing the query without using a join.
However, Keller teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving a query to execute on the portion of the database, (See Keller paragraph [0135], the partitions for each of the original database tables (e.g., Table 1 and Table 2) and the partitions for each of the replica database tables (e.g., Table 1 Replica and Table 2 Replica) are distributed across multiple hosts. Queries received from the one or more client applications), to access data in data in both the read-only partition, and the writeable partition, (See Keller paragraph [0016], If a database table is divided into a plurality of partitions based on a particular database table column, database queries that require read access to rows based on that column can be satisfied by accessing just one of the plurality of partitions. In contrast, database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions), and executing the query without using a join, (See Keller paragraph [0047] determine the actual partitions that hold the data being queried. Using this method, the overall load on the system can be reduced, thus improving the response time. For example, if a table is partitioned by year, a query restricted to the data of one year is executed only on the partition with data for this year).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the method further comprises: receiving a query to execute on the portion of the database, to access data in data in both the read-only partition, and the writeable partition; and executing the query without using a join of Keller in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Claims 14 and 25 recite the same limitations as claim 3 above. Therefore, claims
and 25 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 4, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above Mritunjai further teaches wherein the method further comprises replicating the portion of the second database table, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0019], [0041], The items to maintain locally may be mirrored, copied, or otherwise replicated across replica groups…local database data 132 may differ among the individual storage nodes), including both the read-only partition and the writeable partition to another node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0032], storage node management 224 may perform partition moves using a physical copying mechanism (e.g., a physical file system mechanism, such as a file copy mechanism) that copies an entire partition from one machine to another, rather than copying a snapshot of the partition data row by).
Claims 15 and 26 recite the same limitations as claim 4 above. Therefore, claims
and 26 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 6, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches
wherein the read-only partition is associated with a partition identifier identifying the read-only partition as read-only, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0011], a portion of a database replica already stored in external storage from a storage node of a replica group);
Claims 17 and 28 recite the same limitations as claim 6 above. Therefore, claims
17 and 28 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 7, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above.
Mritunjai further teaches wherein the writeable partition is associated with a partition identifier identifying the writeable partition as writeable.
However, Keller teaches wherein the writeable partition is associated with a partition identifier identifying the writeable partition as writeable, (See Keller paragraph [0016], If a database table is divided into a plurality of partitions based on a particular database table column, database queries that require read access to rows based on that column can be satisfied by accessing just one of the plurality of partitions. In contrast, database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the writeable partition is associated with a partition identifier identifying the writeable partition as writeable of Keller in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Claims 18 and 29 recite the same limitations as claim 7 above. Therefore, claims
and 29 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 8, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches wherein the read-only partition. (See Mritunjai paragraph [0018], portions of database data 132 which may be accessed more frequently or are more likely to be accessed than other portions of the database partition), is associated with metadata indicating that the read-only partition is read-only, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0037], generate appropriate system metadata (e.g., a table identifier that is unique with respect to all other tables in database service 210, table performance or configuration parameters, etc.). Because tables may be stored in multi-table partitions).
Claims 19 and 30 recite the same limitations as claim 8 above. Therefore, claims 19 and 30 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 11, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 1 as described above.
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises adding a second writeable column to the replica of the database in the writeable partition, wherein the writeable column is writeable only by a first user and the second writeable column is writeable only by a second user.
However, Lee teaches wherein the method further comprises adding a second writeable column to the replica of the database in the writeable partition, (See Keller paragraph [0016], database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions. Thus, the performance of a database system may depend at least partially on access patterns (e.g., which database table columns must be read to satisfy incoming queries).), wherein the writeable column is writeable only by a first user and the second writeable column is writeable only by a second user, (See Keller paragraph [0019], Access to each of the database tables may be most efficient only for the database column by which the table is partitioned (e.g., because only one partition needs to be accessed to satisfy each query pertaining to the database table column)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the method further comprises adding a second writeable column to the replica of the database in the writeable partition, wherein the writeable column is writeable only by a first user and the second writeable column is writeable only by a second user of Lee in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Claims 22 and 33 recite the same limitations as claim 11 above. Therefore, claims 22 and 33 are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 34, Mritunjai teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0078], one or more processors executing program instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processors), cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0039], one or more processors):
receiving a replica of a first collection of key-value pairs, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0024], accessing data in tables hosted in key-value database. Such services may be enterprise-class database systems that are highly scalable and extensible. In some embodiments, access requests (e.g., requests to get/obtain items, See Mritunjai paragraph [0061], a storage node of a replica group to obtain a portion of a database replica from external storage);
storing the replica in a read-only partition of a second collection of key-value pairs, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0011], a portion of a database replica already stored in external storage from a storage node of a replica group, See Mritunjai paragraph [0024], storing and accessing data in tables hosted in key-value database. Such services may be enterprise-class database systems that are highly scalable and extensible. In some embodiments, access requests (e.g., requests to get/obtain items);
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose adding a key-value pair to the replica in a writeable partition of the second collection of key-value pairs; and writing data to the added key-value pair.
However, Keller teaches adding a key-value pair to the replica in a writeable partition of the second collection of key-value pairs; and writing data to the added key-value pair, (See Keller paragraph [0025], a first plurality of hash partitions has a key that corresponds to a column specified in a query of a first type. A second plurality of hash partitions has a key that corresponds to a column specified in a query of a second type…the column specified in the query of the first type or the second type is specified in a where clause of the query).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify adding a key-value pair to the replica in a writeable partition of the second collection of key-value pairs; and writing data to the added key-value pair of Lee in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Regarding claim 35, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 34 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches wherein the replica of the second collection of key-value pairs includes records received from a second node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0010], a replica group to obtain a portion of a database replica from external storage when adaptive tiering of database data, See Mritunjai paragraph [0024], storing and accessing data in tables hosted in key-value database. Such services may be enterprise-class database systems that are highly scalable and extensible. In some embodiments, access requests (e.g., requests to get/obtain items);
Regarding claim 36, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 34 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches wherein the method further comprises replicating the second collection of key-value pairs, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0019], The items to maintain locally may be mirrored, copied, or otherwise replicated across replica groups…local database data 132 may differ among the individual storage nodes, See Mritunjai paragraph [0024], storing and accessing data in tables hosted in key-value database. Such services may be enterprise-class database systems that are highly scalable and extensible. In some embodiments, access requests (e.g., requests to get/obtain items), including both the read-only partition and the writeable partition to another node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0032], storage node management 224 may perform partition moves using a physical copying mechanism (e.g., a physical file system mechanism, such as a file copy mechanism) that copies an entire partition from one machine to another, rather than copying a snapshot of the partition data row by).
Regarding claim 37, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 34 as described above.
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises adding a second writeable column to the replica of the database in the writeable partition, wherein the writeable column is writeable only by a first user and the second writeable column is writeable only by a second user.
However, Lee teaches wherein the method further comprises adding a second writeable column to the replica of the database in the writeable partition, (See Keller paragraph [0016], database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions. Thus, the performance of a database system may depend at least partially on access patterns (e.g., which database table columns must be read to satisfy incoming queries).), wherein the writeable column is writeable only by a first user and the second writeable column is writeable only by a second user, (See Keller paragraph [0019], Access to each of the database tables may be most efficient only for the database column by which the table is partitioned (e.g., because only one partition needs to be accessed to satisfy each query pertaining to the database table column)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the method further comprises adding a second writeable column to the replica of the database in the writeable partition, wherein the writeable column is writeable only by a first user and the second writeable column is writeable only by a second user of Lee in order for performing replication (e.g., replication of database information as modified by insert, update, and/or delete database operations).
Regarding claim 38, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 34 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches
wherein the writeable partition is associated with a partition identifier identifying the writeable partition as writeable, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0037], Metadata or other system data for tables may also be stored as part of database partitions using similar partitioning schemes and using similar indexes).
Regarding claim 39, Mritunjai teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a first node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0078], one or more processors executing program instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium coupled to the processors), cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0039], one or more processors):
receiving a replica of a first document-based database that stores application data; (See Mritunjai paragraph [0061], a storage node of a replica group to obtain a portion of a database replica from external storage);
storing the replica in a read-only partition of a second document-based database, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0011], a portion of a database replica already stored in external storage from a storage node of a replica group, See Mritunjai paragraph [0024], storing and accessing data in tables hosted in key-value database. Such services may be enterprise-class database systems that are highly scalable and extensible. In some embodiments, access requests (e.g., requests to get/obtain items).
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose adding a document to the replica in a writeable partition of the second document- based database; and writing data to the added document.
However, Lee teaches adding a document to the replica in a writeable partition of the second document- based database, (See Keller paragraph [0042], additional data definition language (DDL) statements for partitioning itself to, for example, create table partitions, re-partition tables, merge partitions to one table, add or delete partitions, move partitions to other hosts, or perform delta merge operations on certain partitions); and writing additional application data to the added document, (See Keller paragraph [0016], [0068], database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions. Thus, the performance of a database system may depend at least partially on access patterns (e.g., which database table columns must be read to satisfy incoming queries).),
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify adding a document to the replica in a writeable partition of the second document- based database; and writing data to the added document of Lee in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Regarding claim 40, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 39 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches wherein the replica of the second document-based database includes documents received from a second node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0010], a replica group to obtain a portion of a database replica from external storage when adaptive tiering of database data).
Regarding claim 41, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 41 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches wherein the method further comprises replicating the second document-based database, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0019], The items to maintain locally may be mirrored, copied, or otherwise replicated across replica groups…local database data 132 may differ among the individual storage nodes), including both the read-only partition and the writeable partition to another node, (See Mritunjai paragraph [0032], storage node management 224 may perform partition moves using a physical copying mechanism (e.g., a physical file system mechanism, such as a file copy mechanism) that copies an entire partition from one machine to another, rather than copying a snapshot of the partition data row by).
Regarding claim 42, Mritunjai taught the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media according to claim 39 as described above. Mritunjai further teaches
Mritunjai does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises adding a second document to the replica of the second document-based database in the writeable partition, wherein the added document is writeable only by a first user and the second document is writeable only by a second user.
However, Lee teaches wherein the method further comprises adding a second document to the replica of the second document-based database in the writeable partition, (See Keller paragraph [0016], database queries that require read access using other database table columns can only be satisfied by accessing all of the plurality of partitions. Thus, the performance of a database system may depend at least partially on access patterns (e.g., which database table columns must be read to satisfy incoming queries).), wherein the added document is writeable only by a first user and the second document is writeable only by a second user, (See Keller paragraph [0019], Access to each of the database tables may be most efficient only for the database column by which the table is partitioned (e.g., because only one partition needs to be accessed to satisfy each query pertaining to the database table column)).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, to modify wherein the method further comprises adding a second document to the replica of the second document-based database in the writeable partition, wherein the added document is writeable only by a first user and the second document is writeable only by a second user of Lee in order to perform operations for modifying a database system and modifying database tables to improve performance of the database system.
Conclusions/Points of Contacts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant’s disclosure. See form PTO-892.
PATEL et al. (US 2018/0260428 A1), generate an ordered set of the plurality of replicas of the one or more tables, perform a write operation by writing sequentially from a first replica to a last replica in the ordered set, confirm success of the write operation by verifying completion of the write operation sequentially from the last replica to the first replica, and read from the first replica to prevent returning incorrect data when the write operation fails between the first and the last replicas.
Mritunjai (US 2023/0177086 A1) A storage node of a database replica group may distribute different portions of data in local storage and external storage, where local storage and external storage are organized using different types of index structures. Responsive to receiving an access request for a database, a storage node may determine that an item of the database to be accessed by the request does not reside within a first portion of the database stored locally at the storage node.
/MULUEMEBET GURMU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163