DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teachnor (US20200358330, “Teachnor”) in view of BGF Industeries Company (Technical Data Booklet, 01/2022, pgs 13-14, “BGF”).
Re claim 1, Teachnor discloses a stator assembly comprising: a
plurality of slots 510 across the inner wall of the stator assembly (fig 5, [0038] & [0040]), wherein dispensed a mesh 508a (fig 5, [0038]);
a metal wire 506 wound around the fiber mesh 508a forming a coil (fig 5, [00]); and
a molding compound encapsulating the stator assembly (fig 5, [0039]).
Teachnor discloses claim 1 except for the mesh is glass fabric.
Teachnor further discloses the mesh can be any electrically insulating material having strength to stay in place during injection of encapsulation material and stiffness and mechanical strength to hold position while wires are inserted into slots ([0041]).
BGF discloses glass fabric is an electrically insulating material (pg 13, 1st & 7th paragraphs) with good strength, stiffness and mechanical properties (pg 13, 2nd paragraph & pg 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention configure the mesh of Teachnor to be formed from glass fabric, since it has the properties needed for the mesh of a stator slot (as disclosed by Teachnor), as taught by BGF.
Re claim 16, Teachnor discloses a high productivity one shot molding method of making a stator assembly comprising:
providing a plurality of slots 510 along the inner diameter of the stator assembly (fig 5, [0038]), wherein the slot 510 is a stamped profile (fig 5);
dispensing within each of the slots a mesh 508a covering the entire surface of the slot 510 (fig 5, [0040]);
inserting a progressive winding 506 along the mesh 508a (fig 5, [0040]);
forming a winding configuration (fig 5, [0039-0040]); and
insulating and encapsulating simultaneously the stator assembly with a molding compound (fig 5, [0039-0040]).
Teachnor discloses claim 16 except for the mesh is glass fabric.
Teachnor further discloses the mesh can be any electrically insulating material having strength to stay in place during injection of encapsulation material and stiffness and mechanical strength to hold position while wires are inserted into slots ([0041]).
BGF discloses glass fabric is an electrically insulating material (pg 13, 1st & 7th paragraphs) with good strength, stiffness and mechanical properties (pg 13, 2nd paragraph & pg 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention configure the mesh of Teachnor to be formed from glass fabric, since it has the properties needed for the mesh of a stator slot (as disclosed by Teachnor), as taught by BGF.
Re claims 2 and 19, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above and further discloses the glass fabric mesh is selected from the group consisting of nonwoven glass fabric mesh and woven glass fabric mesh (Teachnor, [0041], discloses woven mesh; BGF discloses glass fabric).
Re claim 5, Teachnor in view of BGF disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the glass fabric mesh is enabling uniform thin wall electrical insulation (Teachnor, fig 5, [0040], mesh allows molding compound to fill gap between 506 & 510; BGF discloses glass fabric).
Re claim 6, Teachnor in view of BGF disclose claim 1 as discussed above and further discloses the glass fabric mesh is enabling uniform minimum thermal path and high thermal conductivity (Teachnor, fig 5, [0040] & [0042]; BGF, pg 13, discloses glass fabric & glass fabric thermally conductive).
Re claim 14, Teachnor in view of BGF disclose claim 1 as discussed above. Teachnor further discloses it enables active cooling on the rotational axis direction side from the coil (fig 5, [0042], since molding compound & 508a cover opening of slot).
Claims 3, 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teachnor in view of BGF and in further view of Zhang et al. (US20160065025, “Zhang”).
Re claims 3 and 4, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 1 as discussed above; but is silent with respect to
there is a gap between the slot and the metal wire of at least about 0.1 mm; and
there is a gap between the slot and the metal wire from about 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm.
Zhang discloses there is a gap between the slot and the metal wire of at least about 0.1 mm ([0033], 0.005 inches = 0.127 mm); and
there is a gap between the slot and the metal wire from about 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm ([0033], 0.005 inches = 0.127 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the slot and metal wire of Teachnor in view of BGF so there is a gap between the slot and the metal wire of at least about 0.1 mm; and there is a gap between the slot and the metal wire from about 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm, as disclosed by Zhang, in order to have a known gap thickness between the slot and metal wire, as demonstrated by Zhang.
Re claim 11, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Teachnor further discloses the encapsulated molding compound fills the gap between the metal wire and slot wall ([0040]), but is silent with respect to the thickness of the encapsulated molding resin is from about 0.1 mm to about 3.0 mm.
Zhang discloses the thickness of the slot liner is from about 0.1 mm to about 3.0 mm ( [0033 ], 0.005 inches = 0.127 mm]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding compound of Teachnor in view of BGF so the thickness of the encapsulated molding resin is from about 0.1 mm to about 3.0 mm, as disclosed by Zhang for the slot liner, in order to form the insulation gap between the metal wire and slot wall in a known insulation gap, as demonstrated by Zhang.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teachnor in view of BGF.
Re claims 7 and 20, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above but is silent with respect to the molding compound is selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, epoxy molding compound, inorganic fillers and mixtures in any combination thereof.
Teachnor discloses in another embodiment discloses the molding compound is selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, epoxy molding compound, inorganic fillers and mixtures in any combination thereof ([0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding compound of Teachnor in view of BGF to be selected from the group consisting of epoxy resin, epoxy molding compound, inorganic fillers and mixtures in any combination thereof, as disclosed by Teachnor in another embodiment, in order to form the molding compound from known materials, as taught by Teachnor ([0022]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teachnor in view of BGF and in further view of Beck (US20210351655, “Beck”).
Re claim 8, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Teachnor further discloses the molding compound has a high thermal conductivity ([0042]) but is silent with respect to the molding compound has a thermal conductivity K1 of a minimum value of about 0.5 W/mK.
Beck discloses the molding compound has a thermal conductivity K1 of a minimum value of about 0.5 W/mK ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding compound of Teachnor in view of BGF to have a thermal conductivity K1 of a minimum value of about 0.5 W/mK (to 10 W/mK), as disclosed by Beck, in order to maximize reliability with simultaneously low production cost, as taught by Beck ([0003]).
Re claim 9, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the molding compound exhibits a glass transition temperature (Tg) higher than 150° C.
Beck discloses the molding compound exhibits a glass transition temperature (Tg) higher than 150° C ([0008]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding compound of Teachnor in view of BGF to exhibit a glass transition temperature (Tg) higher than 150° C, as disclosed by Beck, in order to maximize reliability with simultaneously low production cost, as taught by Beck ([0003]).
Re claim 10, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the molding compound exhibits a compression strength at 25° C from about 25 kpsi to 40 kpsi.
Beck discloses the molding compound exhibits a compression strength at 25° C from about 25 kpsi to 40 kpsi ([0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the molding compound of Teachnor in view of BGF to exhibits a compression strength at 25° C. from about 25 kpsi to 40 kpsi, as disclosed by Beck, in order to maximize reliability with simultaneously low production cost, as taught by Beck ([0003]).
Claims 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teachnor in view of BGF and in further view of Fohr et al. (US2020200318212, “Fohr”).
Re claims 12 and 17, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claims 1 and 16, respectively, as discussed above but is silent with respect to:
the inner wall of the assembly consists of an electrical steel with high electromagnetic property; and
the stator assembly is made of an electrical steel which is a non-grain-oriented electrical steel containing about 2 percent to about 3.5 percent silicon.
Fohr discloses an electrical steel with high electromagnetic property ([0006] & [0003], non-grain oriented electrical steel w/ 3 wt% silicon is high electromagnetic property since it is the most common material for laminated cores of electric machines); and
an electrical steel which is a non-grain-oriented electrical steel containing about 2 percent to about 3.5 percent silicon ([0003]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator assembly of Teachnor in view of BGF so the inner wall of the assembly consists of an electrical steel with high electromagnetic property; and the stator assembly is made of an electrical steel which is a non-grain-oriented electrical steel containing about 2 percent to about 3.5 percent silicon, as disclosed by Fohr, in order to reduce cost by providing a common material for the stator assembly, as taught by Fohr ([0003]).
Re claim 13, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the inner wall of the assembly consists of a metal alloy with high electromagnetic property.
Fohr discloses a magnetic material consists of a metal alloy with high electromagnetic property ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the inner wall of the stator assembly of Teachnor in view of BGF to consist of a metal alloy with high electromagnetic property, as disclosed by Fohr, in order to lower material cost and achieve high power density, as taught by Fohr ([0005]).
Re claim 18, Teachnor in view of BGF discloses claim 16 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the stator assembly is made of a metal alloy electrical steel containing magnesium or aluminum.
Fohr discloses a laminated core is made of a metal alloy electrical steel containing magnesium or aluminum ([0006], table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator assembly of Teachnor in view of BGF to be made of a metal alloy electrical steel containing magnesium or aluminum, as disclosed by Fohr, in order to lower material cost and achieve high power density, as taught by Fohr ([0005]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teachnor in view of BGF and in further view of Tanno et al. (WO2021246216, “Tanno”, using US20230231432 for translation).
Re claim 15, Teachnor in view of BGF disclose claim 1 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the coil is configured as a distributed winding wound across multiple slots.
Tanno discloses the coil 9 is configured as a distributed winding wound across multiple slots 8 (figs 1-2, [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the coil of Teachnor in view of BGF to be configured as a distributed winding wound across multiple slots, as disclosed by Tanno, in order to winding the coil in a known manner, as demonstrated by Tanno.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834