Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 5 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 - 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Straumann, US 2019/0040283.
Regarding claim 1, Straumann discloses a connection system, consisting essentially of: a fastening part (4) that has at least one carrier part (nanostructures) with a plurality of stem-like fastening elements (elastic hair elements of the gecko nanostructures) connected thereto in one piece (see figures 1 and 3), wherein a head part (distal ends of the elastic hair elements; the head part of the fastening elements) of each of the plurality of stem-like fastening elements (elastic hair) [are configured to be fastened at their free end faces by means of adhesion to third-party components (10) in a releasable manner]; and a closure part (6) and a further closure part (12), wherein the closure part (6) is firmly connected to the fastening part (4) on an opposite side to the plurality of stem-like fastening elements (figure 3), the closure part (6) having closure elements (14), which, when brought into engagement with further, correspondingly designed closure elements (16) of the further closure part (12), form a releasable fastening closure; wherein the further closure part (12), on its side opposite the further closure elements (16), [is configured to be fastened to a functional component with a connecting means].
Claim language set in brackets [] set forth above and below in this office action are considered by the examiner to be intended use that fails to further limit the structure of the claimed invention. Since the claimed invention is directed solely to that of the connection system, the prior art must only be capable of performing the functional recitations in order to be applicable, and in the instant case, the examiner maintains that the reusable system disclosed by Straumann (US 2019/0040283), is indeed capable of the intended use statements. Note that it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, [wherein the connecting means is an adhesive].
Regarding claim 4, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, wherein, between the fastening part (4) and the closure part (6), at least one layer (see a solid line between elements 4 and 6; see paragraph [0021] regarding a flexible carrier so that the tape 2 can be bonded to the flexible carrier) is configured to be inserted and consists of a flexible, inelastic material (e.g. a sheet of polymers), wherein it is a component, [designed as a further carrier part], of the fastening part (4).
Regarding claim 5, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, wherein, between the fastening part (4) and the closure part (6), at least one layer (see a solid line between elements 4 and 6; see paragraph [0021] regarding a flexible carrier so that the tape 2 can be bonded to the flexible carrier) is configured to be inserted and consists of a flexible, inelastic material (e.g. a sheet of polymers), wherein it is a component, [designed as a further carrier part], of the fastening part (4).
Regarding claim 6, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, wherein the fastening part (4) with its components (nanostructures), [for adhering to curved surfaces of the associated third-party component], is designed as a flexible component (tape 2 is flexible).
Regarding claim 7, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, wherein the fastening part (4) and the closure part (6) consist of translucent plastic materials (a polymer material is translucent).
Regarding claim 8, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, wherein the fastening elements of the fastening part (4), arranged in groups (when covered partly of the surface; paragraph [0016]), leave spaces between them, which lead to a visually recognizable segmentation (when the partly covered side 4 is considered).
Regarding claim 9, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, [wherein the spaces left free between the groups of fastening elements (partly covered with the nanostructures) are used to accommodate functional components, such as electronic components, magnets, and imprints].
Regarding claim 10, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, [wherein the closure elements (14) of at least one closure part (6), arranged in groups (of hook elements), leave spaces between them, which lead to a visually recognizable segmentation].
Regarding claim 11, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, [wherein the spaces left free between the groups of closure elements (14) are used to accommodate functional components, such as electronic components, magnets, and imprints].
Regarding claim 12, Straumann discloses the connection system according to claim 1, wherein the closure elements (14) of the closure parts consist of hooks (14a), double hooks, mushrooms, loops, stems, multifilaments, and flocking fibers (or any other suitable structure that may mechanically couple with attachment counterparts).
Regarding claim 15, Straumann discloses a connection system, consisting essentially of: a fastening part (4) that has at least one carrier part (nanostructures) with a plurality of stem-like fastening elements (elastic hair elements of the gecko nanostructures) connected thereto in one piece (figures 1 and 3), wherein a head part (distal ends of the elastic hair elements; the head part of the fastening elements) of each of the plurality of stem-like fastening elements (elastic hair) [are configured to be fastened at their free end faces by means of adhesion to third-party components (10) in a releasable manner]; and a closure part (6) that is firmly connected to the fastening part (4) on an opposite side to the plurality of stem-like fastening elements (figure 3), the closure part (6) having closure elements (14), [which, when brought into engagement with further, correspondingly designed closure elements (16) of a further closure part (12), form a releasable fastening closure; wherein the closure elements of the closure part and the closure elements of the further closure part are the same structures].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Straumann, US 2019/0040283 in view of Poulakis, US 2005/0268439.
Regarding claim 13, Straumann discloses a connection system, consisting essentially of: a fastening part (4) that has at least one carrier part (nanostructures) with a plurality of stem-like fastening elements (elastic hair elements of the gecko nanostructures) connected thereto in one piece (figures 1 and 3), wherein a head part (distal ends of the elastic hair elements; the head part of the fastening elements) of each of the plurality of stem-like fastening elements (elastic hair) [are configured to be fastened at their free end faces by means of adhesion to third-party components (10) in a releasable manner]; and a closure part (6) that is firmly connected to the fastening part (4) on an opposite side to the plurality of stem-like fastening elements (figure 3), the closure part (6) having closure elements (14), [which, when brought into engagement with further, correspondingly designed closure elements (16) of a further closure part (12), form a releasable fastening closure].
Straumann does not explicitly disclose wherein the closure elements (14) consist of loop-shaped threads; however, Straumann has disclosed the closure elements (14) can be of any suitable structure that may mechanically couple with attachment counterparts. Poulakis discloses a closure part (14) having closure elements (18) wherein the closure elements (18) consist of loop-shaped threads (the part 14 is comprised of filaments 16 as pile threads; see figure 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the closure elements of Straumann to be consist of loop-shaped threads as taught by Poulakis to provide an alternative closure element shape for purpose of peel strength and abrasion reduction.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Straumann and Poulakis teaches the connection system of according to claim 13. Poulakis further teaches wherein at least some of the closure elements (18) of the further closure part and/or the closure elements of the closure part (14) include a cut laterally at a head end of the loop-shaped thread (see figure 1 and paragraph [0017]; cutting the loops 22, 24 open to produce a fastener hook which may engaging corresponding nonwoven or fleece material of another fastening element not shown).
Regarding claim 16, Straumann discloses the connection system of according to claim 15 except for wherein the closure elements consist of loop-shaped threads; however, Straumann has disclosed the closure elements (14) can be of any suitable structure that may mechanically couple with attachment counterparts. Poulakis discloses a closure part (14) having closure elements (18) wherein the closure elements (18) consist of loop-shaped threads (the part 14 is comprised of filaments 16 as pile threads; see figure 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the closure elements of Straumann to be consist of loop-shaped threads as taught by Poulakis to provide an alternative closure element shape for purpose of peel strength and abrasion reduction.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Straumann and Poulakis teaches the connection system of according to claim 16. Poulakis further teaches wherein at least some of the closure elements of the further closure part and/or the closure elements of the closure part include a cut laterally at a head end of the loop-shaped thread.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments are found not persuasive in view of the rejection of the claims as set forth above. Applicant has amended the claims to remove intended use; however, the claim limitations in brackets above are still considered functional limitations of the claimed system due to the transitional phrases, effectuated results, in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for similar art cited.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677