Detail action
Claims 1-8 and 21-32 are pending and being considered.
Claims 9-20 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-32 have been newly added.
Specification
The specification filed on April 19, 2024 is accepted.
Drawings
The drawings filed on April 19, 2024 are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/02/2024 was filed after the mailing date of the application no. 18/640412. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1, 21 and 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites receiving encrypted request, decrypting the encrypted request, transmitting plaintext request, receiving a plaintext response, encrypting plaintext response and the transmitting the encrypted response.
The limitations receiving encrypted request, decrypting the encrypted request, transmitting plaintext request, receiving a plaintext response, encrypting plaintext response and the transmitting the encrypted response is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind mentally or physically nothing in the claim precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind or using paper and pencil. Receiving encrypted request, decrypting the encrypted request, transmitting plaintext request, receiving a plaintext response, encrypting plaintext response and the transmitting the encrypted response.as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim recites additional element memory bus, host processor, memory device and remote computing device. These elements in the claim are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of devices to perform receiving encrypted request, decrypting the encrypted request, transmitting plaintext request, receiving a plaintext response, encrypting plaintext response and the transmitting the encrypted response, steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component see spec para of instant application [0117-0123]. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Further recited elements within dependent claims 2-8, 22-26 and 28-30 taken individually do not amount to “significantly more” than just the abstract idea as previously identified above. Therefore, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the previously defined abstract idea. Some of the evidences of “significantly more” are a) improvement to another technology or field; b) applying judicial exception with or by a “particular machine’; c) transforming particular article/data into different state or thing; d) adding unconventional or non-routine steps, producing useful application; and e) other meaningful limitations beyond generic link to particular technological environment.
As a result, the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Also Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2360. Under Alice, that is not sufficient "to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention." See Alice Corporation v. CLS Bank International, (S.Ct.2014) and Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC. (Fed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri et al (hereinafter Puri) (US 20160150403) in view of Nix (US 20210352132).
Regarding claim 1 Puri teaches a system comprising (Puri on [0003] teaches a system and method for transmitting a secure message over a signaling network);
a host processor (Puri on [0021] teaches a message sending system 111. See on [0044-0045] teaches message system implemented as computer architecture as shown Fig 5 comprising processor);
a memory bus (Puri on [0044] teaches architecture 600 includes a system bus 601 for communicating information, and a processor 602 coupled to bus 601 for processing information. Architecture 600 can also be coupled to a second, I/O bus 606 via an I/O interface 607);
and a memory device configured to: receive an encrypted request from the host processor via the memory bus, the encrypted request identifying a remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 204 and text on [0022] teaches the message sending system 111 (i.e., host processor) transmits the encrypted message, a recipient identifier of the recipient mobile device 113 (i.e., message containing recipient device identifier wherein mobile device is equivalent to remote computing device), and a sender identifier of the message sending system 111 to the delivery agent 112 (i.e., memory device since it stores information [0021-0023 and 0045]));
decrypt the encrypted request using a symmetric key associated with the remote computing device to obtain a plaintext request (Puri Fig 2 block 208 and text on [0023-0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 decrypts the message based on the pre-defined function and the regenerated key (i.e., regenerated key as symmetric key is associated with remote computing device since its regenerated based on recipient identifier and used for encrypting and decrypting the message), wherein the delivery agent 112 regenerates the key based on an encryption scheme, for example a cryptographic hash function, using one or more of the recipient identifier, the sender identifier, the copy of the device attribute, the copy of the service subscription attribute, the agent key, and the nonce);
transmit the plaintext request to the remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 209 and text on [0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 engages the control plane network of the recipient mobile device 113 to transmit the decrypted message (i.e., plaintext) to the recipient mobile device 113);
receive a plaintext response from the remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 210 and text on [0024] teaches the control plane of the recipient mobile device 113 sends a positive or negative acknowledgement (i.e., plaintext response) to the delivery agent);
and transmit the (Puri Fig 2 block 211 and text on [0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 further transmits the positive or negative acknowledgement to the message sending system 111).
Puri fails to explicitly teach encrypt the plaintext response using the symmetric key to generate an encrypted response, however Nix from analogous art teaches
encrypt the plaintext response using the symmetric key to generate an encrypted response (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network);
and transmit the encrypted response to the host processor (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Nix into the teaching of Puri by encrypting the response message and transmitting the encrypted response message to host processor. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable secure communication between devices (Nix [0023]).
Regarding claim 21 Puri teaches a method comprising: (Puri on [0003] teaches a system and method for transmitting a secure message over a signaling network);
receiving an encrypted request from the host processor via the memory bus, the encrypted request identifying a remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 204 and text on [0022] teaches the message sending system 111 (i.e., host processor) transmits the encrypted message, a recipient identifier of the recipient mobile device 113 (i.e., message containing recipient device identifier wherein mobile device is equivalent to remote computing device), and a sender identifier of the message sending system 111 to the delivery agent 112 (i.e., memory device since it stores information [0021-0023 and 0045]));
decrypting the encrypted request using a symmetric key associated with the remote computing device to obtain a plaintext request (Puri Fig 2 block 208 and text on [0023-0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 decrypts the message based on the pre-defined function and the regenerated key (i.e., regenerated key as symmetric key is associated with remote computing device since its regenerated based on recipient identifier and used for encrypting and decrypting the message), wherein the delivery agent 112 regenerates the key based on an encryption scheme, for example a cryptographic hash function, using one or more of the recipient identifier, the sender identifier, the copy of the device attribute, the copy of the service subscription attribute, the agent key, and the nonce);
transmitting the plaintext request to the remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 209 and text on [0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 engages the control plane network of the recipient mobile device 113 to transmit the decrypted message (i.e., plaintext) to the recipient mobile device 113);
receiving a plaintext response from the remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 210 and text on [0024] teaches the control plane of the recipient mobile device 113 sends a positive or negative acknowledgement (i.e., plaintext response) to the delivery agent);
and transmitting the (Puri Fig 2 block 211 and text on [0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 further transmits the positive or negative acknowledgement to the message sending system 111).
Puri fails to explicitly teach encrypt the plaintext response using the symmetric key to generate an encrypted response, however Nix from analogous art teaches
encrypting the plaintext response using the symmetric key to generate an encrypted response (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network);
and transmitting the encrypted response to the host processor (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Nix into the teaching of Puri by encrypting the response message and transmitting the encrypted response message to host processor. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable secure communication between devices (Nix [0023]).
Regarding claim 21 Puri teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions capable of being executed by a computer processor, the computer program instructions defining steps of: (Puri on [0044] teaches computer readable instruction stored in memory executed by a processor);
receiving an encrypted request from the host processor via the memory bus, the encrypted request identifying a remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 204 and text on [0022] teaches the message sending system 111 (i.e., host processor) transmits the encrypted message, a recipient identifier of the recipient mobile device 113 (i.e., message containing recipient device identifier wherein mobile device is equivalent to remote computing device), and a sender identifier of the message sending system 111 to the delivery agent 112 (i.e., memory device since it stores information [0021-0023 and 0045]));
decrypting the encrypted request using a symmetric key associated with the remote computing device to obtain a plaintext request (Puri Fig 2 block 208 and text on [0023-0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 decrypts the message based on the pre-defined function and the regenerated key (i.e., regenerated key as symmetric key is associated with remote computing device since its regenerated based on recipient identifier and used for encrypting and decrypting the message), wherein the delivery agent 112 regenerates the key based on an encryption scheme, for example a cryptographic hash function, using one or more of the recipient identifier, the sender identifier, the copy of the device attribute, the copy of the service subscription attribute, the agent key, and the nonce);
transmitting the plaintext request to the remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 209 and text on [0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 engages the control plane network of the recipient mobile device 113 to transmit the decrypted message (i.e., plaintext) to the recipient mobile device 113);
receiving a plaintext response from the remote computing device (Puri Fig 2 block 210 and text on [0024] teaches the control plane of the recipient mobile device 113 sends a positive or negative acknowledgement (i.e., plaintext response) to the delivery agent);
and transmitting the (Puri Fig 2 block 211 and text on [0024] teaches the delivery agent 112 further transmits the positive or negative acknowledgement to the message sending system 111).
Puri fails to explicitly teach encrypt the plaintext response using the symmetric key to generate an encrypted response, however Nix from analogous art teaches
encrypting the plaintext response using the symmetric key to generate an encrypted response (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network);
and transmitting the encrypted response to the host processor (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Nix into the teaching of Puri by encrypting the response message and transmitting the encrypted response message to host processor. One would be motivated to do so in order to enable secure communication between devices (Nix [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, 22 and 28 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 21 and 27 respectively, Nix further teaches the memory device further configured to receive a request to establish a secure communication session with the remote computing device and perform a key exchange protocol with the remote computing device to establish the symmetric key (Nix on [0092, 0112 and 0309-0310] teaches performing an elliptic curve Diffie Hellman (ECDH) key exchange. See on [0057 and 0076] teaches SRU-SP establishing secure communication with service provider such as TLS session).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, 23 and 29 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claims 2, 22 and 28 respectively, Nix further teaches wherein the key exchange protocol comprises an Elliptic Curve Diffie-Hellman (ECDH) key exchange (Nix on [0092, 0112 and 0309-0310] teaches performing an elliptic curve Diffie Hellman (ECDH) key exchange).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, 24 and 30 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 21 and 27 respectively, Nix further teaches wherein the memory device is configured to maintain a table mapping remote computing device identifiers to associated symmetric keys (Nix on [0310] teaches the server A 108 could also record a symmetric key 127b for SRU 109 with SRU ID 109i).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, 25 and 31 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 21 and 27 respectively, Nix further teaches wherein the plaintext request comprises an HTTP request and the plaintext response comprises an HTTP response (Nix on [0188] teaches HTTP request and HTTP response).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Nix further teaches wherein the memory bus comprises an Open NAND Flash Interface (ONFI) (Nix on [0068, 0092 and 0237-0238] teaches NAND device).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, Nix further teaches wherein the memory device comprises a managed NAND device (Nix on [0068, 0092 and 0237-0238] teaches NAND device).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, 26 and 32 the combination of Puri and Nix teaches all the limitations of claim 1, 21 and 27 respectively, Nix further teaches wherein the memory device further includes a cryptographic co-processor configured to decrypt the encrypted request and encrypt the plaintext response (Nix on [0022-0024] teaches the SRU-SP can decrypt the encrypted, compressed application data using the derived symmetric ciphering key and a symmetric ciphering algorithm. The SRU-SP can encrypt the compressed data using the derived symmetric ciphering key. The SRU-SP can forward (a) the encrypted, compressed server B response data and (b) the digital signature for the server B response data to the RU via the Internet and the narrowband or wideband wireless network).
The reason and motivation for combining is same as set forth above in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chilakapati et al (US 9819648) is directed towards a content item service enables users to upload media for content items to be given to others. The content item service performs operations on uploaded media content, such as transcoding. To keep user-provided content secure, the content is encrypted for transit and at rest. Techniques for use of multiple services allow for management of user-uploaded content that is scalable, efficient, and secure.
TEIXEIRA (US 20150381363) is directed towards method of providing a new enhanced public key by a secure communications terminal for securing system communications.
/MOEEN KHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436