DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-13, 15) in the reply filed on 9/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “which conduit” in line 3 should be corrected as --which the conduit--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a support device” in line 2 should be corrected as --[[a]] the support device--. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a clamping element for fixing the brush in the brush receptacle” in claim 9.
A review of the specification, para[0016],[0061] show that a clamping element can be inserted laterally into the groove portion, and as seen in figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a machining device”, and the claim also recites “a laser machining device” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, “a laser machining device” is interpreted as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 11: Claim 11 recites “vacuum devices and/or support modules” in line 3. It is noted that claim 1 (which upon claim 11 depends) recites “vacuum devices” in line 6 and “support modules” 9. It is not clear whether “vacuum devices and/or support modules” refer to ones in claim 1 or if they are distinct and separate from each other. For examination purposes, “vacuum devices and/or support modules” is interpreted as --the vacuum devices and/or the support modules--.
Claim 15: A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 15 recites the broad recitation “A machining device”, and the claim also recites “a laser machining device” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For examination purposes, “a laser machining device” is interpreted as merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claims 2-10 and 13 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell (5,932,065) in view of Codatto (5,326,085).
Regarding claim 1¸ Mitchell (‘065) discloses a holding device 140 (fig4) for holding a sheet material (abstract) in a machining device (abstract), the holding device comprising:
a working plate 150 (col.7 line14) having a plate upper side (a top side) extending along a plate plane (fig4),
vacuum devices 160a (fig4, col.7 lines24-27) extending along a holding direction (an upward direction perpendicular to the plate upper side, fig4), each having a base (a bottom portion, fig4) arranged on the plate upper side (fig4) and a nozzle head 165a (col.7 lines24-25) arranged on the base (fig4) for suctioning the sheet material,
support modules 160b (col.7 lines27-29, fig4) extending along the holding direction, each having a module base (a bottom portion, fig4) arranged on the plate upper side.
However, Mitchell does not explicitly disclose a use of a brush arranged on the module base. Mitchell discloses a use of an attachment head 165b on the support module 160a to support the sheet material (col.7 lines27-29).
Codatto (‘085) teaches a use of brushes with bristles (col.1 lines31-32) for supporting a sheet material to provide anti-friction supporting means. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitchell to use brushes with bristles as an attachment head on the support modules, as taught by Codatto, to provide anti-friction supporting means.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell further discloses wherein the vacuum devices 160a and/or the support modules 160b are arranged such that the holding direction runs perpendicular to the plate plane (fig4).
Regarding claim 3¸ the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell further discloses wherein the working plate 150 comprises a ferromagnetic material (col.7 lines39-42, a magnet to be releasably attached to the working plate 150), and wherein the vacuum device 160a and/or the support modules 160b each have a permanent magnet 169 (col.7 line39) for fixing the vacuum device 160a and/or the support modules 160b on the working plate 150 (col.7 lines39-42).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell further discloses wherein the vacuum device 160a has an adapter piece (a body portion between the base with a magnet 169 and the nozzle head 165a, fig4) arranged between the base and the nozzle head 165a.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell further discloses wherein a conduit 166 (col.7 lines22-23) running along the holding direction is provided in the vacuum device 160a, which the conduit fluidically connects a conduit input 167 (col.7 line23) arranged at the base for connecting a vacuum supply (col.7 lines21-24) and a conduit output 168 (col.7 line23) arranged on the nozzle head 165a.
Regarding claim 6¸ the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell, as modified by Codatto, teaches wherein the support modules 160b are arranged on the working plate 150 such that the brush plane runs perpendicular to the plate plane (the brush plane is along the holding direction which is perpendicular to the plate plane).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell, as modified by Codatto, teaches wherein the support modules 160b each have a module bar (a body of the support module) between the module base and the brush.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Codatto further teaches wherein the support modules each have a brush receptacle (fig4, a receptacle of an element 8 wherein an element 9 sits in. Codatto teaches that the element 9, the ball, can be replaced with brushes with bristles as aforementioned) for receiving the brush.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 8, wherein a clamping element (Codatto, the brush is fit in the brush receptacle) for fixing the brush in the brush receptacle is provided in the brush receptacle.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1. Mitchell further discloses wherein further at least one tube clamp 153 (col.7 line18) is provided for fixing tubes 157 (col.7 line18).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 12. Mitchell discloses wherein the tube clamp 153 has a clamp base (a bottom portion which is attached to the working plate 150). However, Mitchell does not explicitly disclose how the clamp base is being fixed to the working plate 150. It is noted that Mitchell teaches a use of a magnet 169 (col.7 lines39-42) to fix the vacuum devices 160a and the support modules 160b. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitchell to use a magnet on the clamp base, for the purpose of releasably connecting the tube clamp to the working plate.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches a machining device, for machining sheet materials, said machining device having the support device according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mitchell (5,932,065) and Codatto (5,326,085) in further view of Poland (4,641,819).
Regarding claims 10-11, the combination of Mitchell and Codatto teaches the holding device according to claim 1, however, does not explicitly teach a use of a protective plate. Poland (‘819) teaches a use of a protective plate 70 (col.4 line9-10) extending parallel to a plate plane provided above a working plate 90 (col.4 line10, fig4), wherein the protective plate 70 is designed as a grid plate (fig4) and has grid recesses 94 (col.4 line11-12) for receiving support modules 14 (fig4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mitchell to use a protective plate, as taught by Poland, so that support modules that are not being used can be stored below the protective plate (col.4 lines53-56).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shen et al (US 7,484,464 B2), Shen et al (US 6,644,637 B1), Collier et al (5,829,151), Blick (5,562,276), Bovone (5,433,657), Given (5,135,120), and Shoda (5,120,033) teach similar holding devices.
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723