Response to Amendment
This is the response to amendment filed 04/08/2026 for application 18/640458.
Claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claims 12-15 have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSSON et al. (USPGPUB 2021/0395621) as evidenced by HAYASAKA et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0216449A1).
ANDERSSON et al. teach a method for producing aviation fuel. The method produces jet fuel from a renewable feedstock.
Regarding claim 1, the process is taught in paragraph 13 in which a feedstock to contact a material catalytically active in hydrodeoxygenation under hydrotreating conditions under hydrotreating conditions to provide a hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product.
An amount of the hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product is directed to contact a material catalytically active in hydrocracking conditions to provide a hydrocracked intermediate product. The hydrocracked intermediate product is separated into a vapor fraction and a liquid fraction.
At least a portion of the liquid fraction of the hydrocracked intermediate product is directed to contact a material catalytically active in isomerization to provide an isomerized intermediate product. The isomerized intermediate product is fractionated with one fraction being suitable for use as a jet fuel. (preparing renewable feedstocks and introducing the renewable feedstocks as a reactant into a hydroprocessing reaction in the presence of a catalyst)
The renewable feedstock may be considered the initial feedstock or the hydrocracked intermediate product.
The isomerization step is taught in paragraph 38 to be in the presence of hydrogen and consumes hydrogen.
The method catalytically active in isomerization is taught in paragraph 37 to comprise an active metal. Preferred isomerization catalysts include ZSM-48.
ZSM-48 inherently is a one-dimensional ten-ring zeolite.
HAYASAKA et al., for example recognizes in paragraph 18 that ZSM-48 is a 1-dimensional, 10-member ring aluminosilicate (zeolite).
ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 1 that paraffins corresponding to the typical fatty acids of biological materials such as vegetable oils and animal fats (C14, C16 and C18) typical boil from 250°C. to 320°C.
ANDERSSON et al. teach in Table 1 a feedstock A that comprise C16 and C18 fatty acids. The feedstock A would be expected to boil from 250°C. to 320°C.
It is noted that the present application defines the term “about” in paragraph 35 or ln 16-19 of page 4 of a value being within 30%. Furthermore, it is noted that the present application defines the term “fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range may be in a range of higher than about 300°C” in paragraph 62 of ln 6-12 of page 12 of the specification.
The fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range may therefore include a temperature range with the lower range being a temperature from greater than 300°C to under 390°C. For example, the fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range include 370°C to 390°C. 390°C is within 30% of 300°C.
Based on what the SAF boiling point range is considered, the fractions in the feedstock A may be considered 0% to less than 50%.
The conversion% of fractions in the reactants having boiling points greater than the SAF boiling point range may therefore also be considered 0% to greater than 0%.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Alternatively, the feedstock may be considered the hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product.
The hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product is taught to be processed to hydrocracking with a zeolite catalyst.
ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 19 that the amount of material boiling above 300° C. in said hydrocracked intermediate product is reduced by at least 20 wt/wt.
At least 20 wt/wt% would include 20 wt/wt% which is less than 50w/w%.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 12, as stated above, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 1 that paraffins corresponding to the typical fatty acids of biological materials such as vegetable oils and animal fats (C14, C16 and C18) typical boil from 250°C. to 320°C.
ANDERSSON et al. teach in Table 1 a feedstock A that comprise C16 and C18 fatty acids. The feedstock A would be expected to boil from 250°C. to 320°C.
It is noted that the present application defines the term “about” in paragraph 35 or ln 16-19 of page 4 of a value being within 30%. Furthermore, it is noted that the present application defines the term “fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range may be in a range of higher than about 300°C” in paragraph 62 of ln 6-12 of page 12 of the specification.
The fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range may therefore include a temperature range with the lower range being a temperature from greater than 300°C to under 390°C. For example, the fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range include 370°C to 390°C.
Based on what the SAF boiling point range is considered, the fractions in the feedstock A may be considered 0% to less than 40%.
The conversion% of fractions in the reactants having boiling points greater than the SAF boiling point range may therefore also be considered 0% to greater than 0%.
Alternatively, the feedstock may be considered the hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product.
The hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product is taught to be processed to hydrocracking with a zeolite catalyst.
ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 19 that the amount of material boiling above 300° C. in said hydrocracked intermediate product is reduced by at least 20 wt/wt.
At least 20 wt/wt% would include 20 wt/wt% which is less than 40w/w%.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, the liquid fraction of the hydrocracked intermediate product may be considered the renewable feedstock as defined by the current specification.
The liquid fraction of the hydrocracked intermediate product is taught in paragraph 35 to comprise n-paraffins. ANDERSSON et al. further teach in paragraph 60 that the intermediate product after hydrotreatment is dominated by C16 and C18 alkanes.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust conditions to produce greater than 50% paraffins given that ANDERSSON et al. teach producing a product that is dominated with alkanes.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, The liquid fraction of the hydrocracked intermediate product is taught in paragraph 35 to comprise n-paraffins. ANDERSSON et al. further teach in paragraph 60 that the intermediate product after hydrotreatment is dominated by C16 and C18 alkanes.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust conditions to produce greater than 80% paraffins given that ANDERSSON et al. teach producing a product that is dominated with alkanes.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 14-15, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 1 that paraffins corresponding to the typical fatty acids of biological materials such as vegetable oils and animal fats (C14, C16 and C18) typical boil from 250°C. to 320°C.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to use a feedstock with paraffins corresponding to the typical fatty acids of biological materials such as vegetable oils and animal fats (C14, C16 and C18) that comprises at least 90% or at least 98% of hydrocarbons boiling above 300°C with a reasonable expectation of success.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, ANDERSSON et al. teach both hydrocracking and isomerization with hydrogen. (hydrocracking and hydroisomerization)
Additionally, the isomerization step with hydrogen may be considered the hydroprocessing reaction.
Given that the isomerization step with hydrogen is performed with the catalyst taught in the present specification and under conditions that are taught in the present specification, some amount of hydrocracking would also be expected to occur in the hydroisomerization step.
Regarding claim 4, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 37 that the material catalytically active in isomerization is taught to comprise one or more metals such as noble metals like platinum.
Regarding claim 5, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 37 that the material may be on an acidic support with topology such as AEL and TON.
Regarding claim 7, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraphs 56, 59-61 and Table 1 in which the product is fractionated into a naphtha fraction, a jet fuel fraction and a diesel fuel fraction. The jet fuel fraction has a boiling point range in between the naphtha fraction and the diesel fuel fraction.
Regarding claim 8, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraphs 69-62 and Table 1 examples in which the boiling point of the hydrodeoxygenated intermediate product comprises 17 wt% of native jet and the final product comprises 52 wt% jet yield and 8 wt% naphtha. The ratio of the change in jet to the change in naphtha would be greater than 100%. 35/8 is greater than 4. As % would be greater than 400%.
Regarding claim 9, ANDERSSON et al. teach isomerization. Feeding the isomerization products back into isomerization would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to try to get a higher yield of conversion.
Regarding claim 10, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 42 recycle may be used for efficient use of hydrogen, and to maximize the yield of the kerosene fraction.
ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 57 that it is known in the art to take a portion of the diesel fraction and use it as a recycle diluent stream.
It would be well within one of ordinary skill in the art to use a portion of the diesel fraction in the process taught by ANDERSSON et al. and recycle it as a recycle diluent stream in order to maximize the desired products.
Regarding claim 11, ANDERSSON et al. teach in Table 1 that the freezing point of the jet fuel is at -40°C.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ANDERSSON et al. (USPGPUB 2021/0395621) in view of HAYASAKA et al. (USPGPUB 2012/0216449A1).
The above discussion of ANDERSSON et al. as evidenced by HAYASAKA et al. is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 6, ANDERSSON et al. teach in paragraph 38 the conditions for isomerization are taught to include a temperature in the interval of 250-400°C., a pressure in the interval 30-150 Bar, and a liquid hourly space velocity (LHSV) in the interval 0.5-8.
ANDERSSON et al. teach ranges that overlap those that are claimed.
HAYASAKA et al. teach in Table 3 hydrogen to oil ratio of greater than 506.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use enough hydrogen in the isomerization step in ANDERSSON et al.
Given that HAYASAKA et al. are also directed toward the formation of aviation fuels from hydroisomerization of a renewable feedstock, and comprise overlapping conditions for the hydrosiomerization step, one of ordinary skill in the art would employ a hydrogen to feed ratio of greater than 506 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the conversion has been defined by a specific formula that compares the amount of fractions in the reactant having boiling points greater than the SAF boiling range and the amount of fractions in a product of hydroprocessing having boiling points greater than the SAF boiling range.
This is not persuasive because applicant has defined in the specification the terms “about” and “boiling points of the fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range”
It is noted that the present application defines the term “about” in paragraph 35 or ln 16-19 of page 4 of a value being within 30%. Furthermore, it is noted that the present application defines the term “fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range may be in a range of higher than about 300° C” in paragraph 62 of ln 6-12 of page 12 of the specification.
The fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range may therefore include a temperature range with the lower range being a temperature from greater than 300°C to under 390°C. For example, the fractions higher than the SAF boiling point range include 370°C to 390°C.
The ranges therefore overlap and the feedstock may be considered to have 0% in example A of fractions with boiling points above the SAF range in the reactants.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WANG (USPGPUB 20170056867) teaches catalyst for preparing aviation fuel from Fischer Tropsch products.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING CHEUNG PO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/ELLEN M MCAVOY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771