DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by D’Costa et al US 2020/0400930.
[claim 1]
In regard to Claim 1, D’Costa et al discloses a system for digitizing a slide the system comprising:
a slide (Figure 2b);
an optical system (Paragraph 0044-0045); and
a computing device (Paragraph 0068) configured to:
identify metadata associated with the slide ({paragraph 0068-0072;
determine a first scanning parameter as a function of the metadata (Paragraph 0068); and
using the optical system, capture a z-stack as a function of the first scanning parameter (Paragraph 0073).
[claim 2]
In regard to Claim 2, D’Costa et al discloses identifying the metadata comprises:
capturing a first image of the slide (Paragraph 0068-0070); and
identifying the metadata as a function of the first image by performing optical character
recognition on the first image (Paragraph 0070-0073).
[Claim 4]
In regard to Claim 4, D’Costa et al discloses the computing device is further configured to determine a
volumetric image set of the slide as a function of the z-stack (Paragraph 0073).
[claim 6]
In regard to Claim 6, D’Costa et al discloses a system wherein: the first scanning parameter comprises a magnification (Paragraphs 0135-0142); and capturing the z-stack as a function of the first scanning parameter comprises capturing the Z-stack at the magnification (Paragraphs 0135-0142).
[claim 7]
In regard to Claim 7, D’Costa et al discloses the first scanning parameter comprises a z-stack size; and
capturing the z-stack as a function of the first scanning parameter comprises capturing the Z-
stack such that the z-stack comprises a number of images according to the z-stack size (Paragraphs 0073).
[claim 11]
In regard to Claim 11, the claim limitations have been addressed in Claim 1.
[claim 12]
In regard to Claim 12, the claim limitations have been addressed in Claim 2.
[claim 14]
In regard to Claim 11, the claim limitations have been addressed in Claim 4.
[claim 16]
In regard to Claim 16, the claim limitations have been addressed in Claim 6.
[claim 17]
In regard to Claim 17, the claim limitations have been addressed in Claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claimsare objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486