DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to Applicant’s submissions filed on 6/4/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Iyer does not teach that the emergency notification includes an identifier that allows the emergency response personnel to identify the emergency signals as a vulnerable person signal (Applicant’s Remarks; p. 12), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Iyer discloses, in paragraph 55, that a vulnerable person may use their cellphone during an evacuation to respond to an emergency notification to indicate their presence and identify within a building. The claims require a vulnerable person signal that includes identifiers that allow identifying the vulnerable person signal as a vulnerable person signal. Iyer’s vulnerable person’s response is sent in response to receiving a message indicating that an emergency notification has been triggered, and explicitly includes identifying information of the vulnerable person, either of which allow a process/controller to identify the response as a vulnerable person signal. See rejection below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that neither Iyer, Salve, nor Wedig teach displaying a building map that includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify the predefined detection zone (Applicant’s Remarks; pp. 12-13), it is noted that it is the combination of Stadler with Iyer and Wedig that is relied upon to teach identifying fault event areas with different hatching. See rejection below.
Drawings
The drawings received on 5/4/2026 are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informality: in lines 2-3, “including the event device and a number of event devices” should read “including the event device and a number of other event devices” to make it clear that the event device is one of a plurality of event devices located in the control panel. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer et al. (US 2016/0047663) in view of Stadler et al. (DE 10 2016 207 712) and Wedig et al. (US 2019/0066464), hereinafter Iyer, Stadler and Wedig, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Iyer discloses a controller for generating a route through a facility during an event, comprising: a memory; and a processor configured to execute executable instructions stored in the memory (Iyer; para. 36: System 300 also includes computer usable non-volatile memory 310, e.g., read only memory (ROM), coupled to bus 304 for storing static information and instructions for processors 306A, 306B, and 306C.) to receive a vulnerable person signal from a mobile device of a vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 69: occupants of a selected environment can use their personal device(s) (e.g., cellphones 120, wearable devices 124, and/or tablets/phablets 125) to initiate triggering an emergency notification using evacuation agent program 130 which has been downloaded onto their device. Additionally, occupants of the selected environment can initiate triggering an emergency notification using fixed displays 123 (e.g., a wall-mounted electronic display device, an information kiosk, etc.) which may be disposed within the selected environment) and an event detection signal from an event device indicating the event is occurring in the facility (Iyer; para. 40: a fire 450 is detected by one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6. This is reported to environmental condition monitor 250 of control system 150 which automatically triggers an emergency notification), wherein the event device is located in a predefined detection zone of a plurality of predefined detection zones in the facility (Iyer; para. 39: building 400 comprises rooms 401, 402, 403, and 404 which are linked by a perimeter hallway 405. Also shown in FIG. 4 are a plurality of real-time environmental monitors (e.g., 102-1-102-8) which are disposed at various locations of perimeter hallway 405 and a service area 406 which is not normally accessible to the public. Real-time environmental monitors 102-9, 102-10, 102-11, and 102-12 are located within rooms 401, 402, 402, and 404 respectively … the location of each real-time environmental monitor 102 is recorded within real-time digital map 170), and wherein the vulnerable person signal includes identifiers associated with the vulnerable person that allow the controller to identify the vulnerable person signal as a vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 55: when the user manually responds, this response is noted by control system 150 and indicates the presence and identity of a user within building 400) and evacuation data specific to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 58: a user of handheld wireless device 600 can communicate with emergency responders via control system 150 to report their location, conditions within building 400, how many people are with them, or other information such as medical needs etc.), identify the vulnerable person signal as the vulnerable person signal based on the identifiers associated with the vulnerable person included in the vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 55: when the user manually responds, this response is noted by control system 150 and indicates the presence and identity of a user within building 400), determine a location of the vulnerable person based on the identified vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 29: position monitors 103 are dispersed throughout building 400 being reported and monitored by system 100. These can autonomously detect the position of a handheld device or other user portable device such as cellphones 120, in-room devices 121, wearable devices 124, and/or tablets/phablets 125 and report the position of each of these devices to device position reporter 230), determine the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring based on the event detection signal (Iyer; para. 40: Real-time digital map 170 will also display information from one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6 which will help emergency responders to determine the type and location of the event which triggered an emergency notification.), generate an egress route out of the facility based on the determined predefined detection zone having the event (Iyer; para. 33: Evacuation route generator 260 is configured to generate an evacuation route for any given location within building 400 based upon pre-determined evacuation planning in conjunction with real-time conditions within building) and the evacuation data specific to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 33: evacuation route generator 260 receives information on real-time environmental conditions from environmental condition monitor 250, and user position information from device position reporter 230 in order to dynamically generate new evacuation routes when necessary due to changing conditions), and cause a building map of the facility to be displayed on a user interface of a display (Iyer; para. 40: evacuation routes displayed on real-time digital map 170 will be shown on fixed displays 123-1, 123-2, 123-3, and 123-4 when an emergency notification is triggered), wherein the building map includes a building layout (Iyer; para. 20: control system 150 receives digital building plans 101 and stores them as a real-time digital map 170) including a zonal layout of the plurality of predefined detection zones (Iyer; para. 39: the location of each real-time environmental monitor 102 is recorded within real-time digital map 170), the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring (Iyers; para. 40: Real-time digital map 170 will also display information from one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6 which will help emergency responders to determine the type and location of the event which triggered an emergency notification.), and the egress route (Iyer; para. 40: evacuation routes displayed on real-time digital map 170 will be shown on fixed displays 123-1, 123-2, 123-3, and 123-4 when an emergency notification is triggered).
Iyer does not explicitly disclose the vulnerable person is a person who is disabled and/or is non-able bodied.
Wedig, in the same field of endeavor (evacuation systems), discloses a vulnerable person is a person who is disabled and/or is non-able bodied (Wedig; para. 156: user device 710 can recognize that the user of the user device 710 is handicapped and cannot climb down stairs), and a mobile device provides information to an emergency responder server (Wedig; para. 122: user device 710 can provide information regarding the evacuation condition and/or structure to an emergency responder server 715) indicating disabled people are in a building (Wedig; para. 122: Information provided to the emergency responder device 725 can include … whether any … handicapped people are in the building).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the medical needs transmitted by the handheld wireless device of Iyer, to indicate the special evacuation needs of a disabled person, as disclosed by Wedig, with the motivation of determining an evacuation route, for a disabled user, that is wheelchair accessible but still allows the user to travel to safety (Wedig; para. 156).
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the building map includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring among the plurality of predefined detection zone.
Stadler, in the same field of endeavor (emergency alarm systems), discloses a building map includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify a predefined detection zone in which an event is occurring among a plurality of predefined detection zones (Stadler; para. 19: The display of the error event areas can be achieved, for example, by coloring and/or shading the relevant area in the display image or in the image of the monitored area. In particular, the display unit can be designed to show fault event areas for different alarm characteristics in the display image, whereby the representation for different alarm characteristics is achieved, for example, by different coloring and/or hatching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have differentiated displayed event areas using different hatching, as disclosed by Stadler, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of making the different event areas identifiable on a grayscale or black and white display (Stadler; para. 19).
Regarding claim 2, Iyer, as modified, discloses the egress route is a route out of the facility from a location of the display in the facility (Iyer; para. 64: the position of the handheld device is displayed on a digital map of the selected environment and at least one evacuation route from the position to an evacuation position using a display device of the handheld device. As described above, the position of handheld wireless device 600 (e.g., icon 710 of FIG. 7A) as well as an evacuation route (e.g., 430 of FIG. 4) is displayed on a copy of real-time digital map 170.).
Regarding claim 3, Iyer, as modified, discloses the building map further includes a location of the display in the facility on the building layout relative to the plurality of predefined detection zones (Iyer; para. 20: real-time digital map 170 further comprises a display of the position, within or proximate to building 400, of each registered device (e.g., cellphones 120, in-room devices 121, fixed displays 123, wearable devices 124, and tablets/phablets 125)).
Regarding claim 4, Iyer, as modified, discloses the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring to be displayed via a specific color on the user interface (Stadler; para. 19: The display of the error event areas can be achieved, for example, by coloring and/or shading the relevant area in the display image or in the image of the monitored area. In particular, the display unit can be designed to show fault event areas for different alarm characteristics in the display image, whereby the representation for different alarm characteristics is achieved, for example, by different coloring and/or hatching.).
Regarding claim 6, Iyer, as modified, discloses the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the building map to be displayed on the user interface in response to the event device being in a normal operating mode (Iyer; para. 25: an evacuation agent program 130 resident on in-room devices 121 and/or fixed displays 123 facilitates interacting with control system 150 to permit downloading and/or updating a copy of real-time digital map 170 on in-room devices 121 and fixed displays 123).
Regarding claim 8, Iyer, as modified, discloses the controller is configured to cause the building map to be displayed using predefined icons (Iyer; para. 61: In FIG. 7A, handheld wireless device 600 is shown displaying a copy of real-time digital map 170 upon display device 618. In FIG. 7A, handheld wireless device 600 is displaying evacuation route 420 from FIG. 4 to a user of handheld wireless device 600. Also shown in FIG. 7A is an icon 710 which indicates the current position of handheld wireless device 600.) stored in a remote computing device (Iyer; para. 63: Real-time digital map 170 can be wirelessly downloaded onto handheld wireless device 600 in response to the triggering of an emergency notification regarding building 400, or pre-loaded and stored upon handheld wireless device 600.).
Regarding claim 9, Iyer, as modified, discloses the controller is configured to cause the building map to be displayed using the zonal layout (Iyer; para. 57: when an emergency notification has been triggered, control system 150 will automatically download a copy of real-time digital map 170 (e.g., a 2-D map and/or 3-D map) onto each registered handheld wireless device 600 having evacuation agent program loaded thereon … This evacuation route, as well as real-time digital map 170 or portions thereof, can be displayed on display device 618.), wherein the zonal layout is a predefined facility layout stored in a remote computing device (Iyer; para. 20: control system 150 receives digital building plans 101 and stores them as a real-time digital map 170).
Regarding claim 11, Iyer discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having computer readable instructions stored thereon that are executable by a processor (Iyer; para. 62: The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium can be any kind of non-transitory medium that instructions can be stored on.) to: receive a vulnerable person signal from a mobile device associated with a vulnerable person that allow the processor to identify the vulnerable person signal as a vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 69: occupants of a selected environment can use their personal device(s) (e.g., cellphones 120, wearable devices 124, and/or tablets/phablets 125) to initiate triggering an emergency notification using evacuation agent program 130 which has been downloaded onto their device. Additionally, occupants of the selected environment can initiate triggering an emergency notification using fixed displays 123 (e.g., a wall-mounted electronic display device, an information kiosk, etc.) which may be disposed within the selected environment) and an event detection signal from an event device indicating an event is occurring in a facility (Iyer; para. 40: a fire 450 is detected by one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6. This is reported to environmental condition monitor 250 of control system 150 which automatically triggers an emergency notification), wherein the event device is located in a predefined detection zone of a plurality of predefined detection zones in the facility (Iyer; para. 39: building 400 comprises rooms 401, 402, 403, and 404 which are linked by a perimeter hallway 405. Also shown in FIG. 4 are a plurality of real-time environmental monitors (e.g., 102-1-102-8) which are disposed at various locations of perimeter hallway 405 and a service area 406 which is not normally accessible to the public. Real-time environmental monitors 102-9, 102-10, 102-11, and 102-12 are located within rooms 401, 402, 402, and 404 respectively … the location of each real-time environmental monitor 102 is recorded within real-time digital map 170) and wherein the vulnerable person signal includes identifiers associated with the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 55: when the user manually responds, this response is noted by control system 150 and indicates the presence and identity of a user within building 400) and evacuation data specific to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 58: a user of handheld wireless device 600 can communicate with emergency responders via control system 150 to report their location, conditions within building 400, how many people are with them, or other information such as medical needs etc.); identify the vulnerable person signal as the vulnerable person signal based on the identifiers associated with the vulnerable person included in the vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 55: when the user manually responds, this response is noted by control system 150 and indicates the presence and identity of a user within building 400); determine the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring based on the event detection signal (Iyer; para. 40: Real-time digital map 170 will also display information from one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6 which will help emergency responders to determine the type and location of the event which triggered an emergency notification.); determine a location of the mobile device associated with the vulnerable person in the facility based on the vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 29: position monitors 103 are dispersed throughout building 400 being reported and monitored by system 100. These can autonomously detect the position of a handheld device or other user portable device such as cellphones 120, in-room devices 121, wearable devices 124, and/or tablets/phablets 125 and report the position of each of these devices to device position reporter 230); generate emergency instructions for the vulnerable person based on the determined predefined detection zone having the event and the location of the mobile device (Iyer; para. 61: a text box 720 also displays instructions to keep a user appraised of alerts, conditions, instructions, and other information useful in safely evacuating building) and the evacuation data specific to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 33: evacuation route generator 260 receives information on real-time environmental conditions from environmental condition monitor 250, and user position information from device position reporter 230 in order to dynamically generate new evacuation routes when necessary due to changing conditions); and cause a building map of the facility to be displayed on a user interface of a display (Iyer; para. 40: evacuation routes displayed on real-time digital map 170 will be shown on fixed displays 123-1, 123-2, 123-3, and 123-4 when an emergency notification is triggered), wherein the building map includes a building layout (Iyer; para. 20: control system 150 receives digital building plans 101 and stores them as a real-time digital map 170) including a zonal layout of the plurality of predefined detection zones (Iyer; para. 39: the location of each real-time environmental monitor 102 is recorded within real-time digital map 170), the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring (Iyers; para. 40: Real-time digital map 170 will also display information from one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6 which will help emergency responders to determine the type and location of the event which triggered an emergency notification.), and the emergency instructions (Iyer; para. 61: a text box 720 also displays instructions to keep a user appraised of alerts, conditions, instructions, and other information useful in safely evacuating building).
Iyer does not explicitly disclose the vulnerable person is a person who is disabled and/or is non-able bodied.
Wedig, in the same field of endeavor (evacuation systems), discloses a vulnerable person is a person who is disabled and/or is non-able bodied (Wedig; para. 156: user device 710 can recognize that the user of the user device 710 is handicapped and cannot climb down stairs), and a mobile device provides information to an emergency responder server (Wedig; para. 122: user device 710 can provide information regarding the evacuation condition and/or structure to an emergency responder server 715) indicating disabled people are in a building (Wedig; para. 122: Information provided to the emergency responder device 725 can include … whether any … handicapped people are in the building).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the medical needs transmitted by the handheld wireless device of Iyer, to indicate the special evacuation needs of a disabled person, as disclosed by Wedig, with the motivation of determining an evacuation route, for a disabled user, that is wheelchair accessible but still allows the user to travel to safety (Wedig; para. 156).
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the building map includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring from among the plurality of predefined detection zone.
Stadler discloses a building map includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify a predefined detection zone in which an event is occurring from among a plurality of predefined detection zones (Stadler; para. 19: The display of the error event areas can be achieved, for example, by coloring and/or shading the relevant area in the display image or in the image of the monitored area. In particular, the display unit can be designed to show fault event areas for different alarm characteristics in the display image, whereby the representation for different alarm characteristics is achieved, for example, by different coloring and/or hatching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have differentiated displayed event areas using different hatching, as disclosed by Stadler, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of making the different event areas identifiable on a grayscale or black and white display (Stadler; para. 19).
Regarding claim 12, Iyer, as modified, discloses the emergency instructions include textual information to guide the vulnerable person regarding the event (Iyer; para. 61: a text box 720 also displays instructions to keep a user appraised of alerts, conditions, instructions, and other information useful in safely evacuating building).
Regarding claim 15, Iyer discloses a method for generating a route through a facility during an event, comprising: receiving, by a controller, an event detection signal from a first event device indicating an event is occurring in a facility (Iyer; para. 40: a fire 450 is detected by one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6. This is reported to environmental condition monitor 250 of control system 150 which automatically triggers an emergency notification); wherein the first event device is located in a first predefined detection zone of a plurality of predefined detection zones in the facility (Iyer; para. 39: building 400 comprises rooms 401, 402, 403, and 404 which are linked by a perimeter hallway 405. Also shown in FIG. 4 are a plurality of real-time environmental monitors (e.g., 102-1-102-8) which are disposed at various locations of perimeter hallway 405 and a service area 406 which is not normally accessible to the public. Real-time environmental monitors 102-9, 102-10, 102-11, and 102-12 are located within rooms 401, 402, 402, and 404 respectively … the location of each real-time environmental monitor 102 is recorded within real-time digital map 170); receiving, by the controller, a vulnerable person signal from a mobile device of a vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 69: occupants of a selected environment can use their personal device(s) (e.g., cellphones 120, wearable devices 124, and/or tablets/phablets 125) to initiate triggering an emergency notification using evacuation agent program 130 which has been downloaded onto their device. Additionally, occupants of the selected environment can initiate triggering an emergency notification using fixed displays 123 (e.g., a wall-mounted electronic display device, an information kiosk, etc.), wherein the vulnerable person signal includes identifiers associated with the vulnerable person that allow the controller to identify the vulnerable person signal as a vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 55: when the user manually responds, this response is noted by control system 150 and indicates the presence and identity of a user within building 400) and evacuation data specific to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 58: a user of handheld wireless device 600 can communicate with emergency responders via control system 150 to report their location, conditions within building 400, how many people are with them, or other information such as medical needs etc.); identifying, by the controller, the vulnerable person signal as the vulnerable person signal based on the identifiers associated with the vulnerable person included in the vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 55: when the user manually responds, this response is noted by control system 150 and indicates the presence and identity of a user within building 400); determining, by the controller, based on the event detection signal, the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring (Iyer; para. 40: Real-time digital map 170 will also display information from one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6 which will help emergency responders to determine the type and location of the event which triggered an emergency notification.); determining, by the controller, based on the vulnerable person signal, the mobile device associated with the vulnerable person is located in a second predefined detection zone of the plurality of predefined detection zones (Iyer; para. 29: position monitors 103 are dispersed throughout building 400 being reported and monitored by system 100. These can autonomously detect the position of a handheld device or other user portable device such as cellphones 120, in-room devices 121, wearable devices 124, and/or tablets/phablets 125 and report the position of each of these devices to device position reporter 230); generating, by the controller, a route to the vulnerable person in the second predefined detection zone based on the second predefined detection zone having the vulnerable person signal (Iyer; para. 64: the position of the handheld device is displayed on a digital map of the selected environment and at least one evacuation route from the position to an evacuation position using a display device of the handheld device. As described above, the position of handheld wireless device 600 (e.g., icon 710 of FIG. 7A) as well as an evacuation route (e.g., 430 of FIG. 4) is displayed on a copy of real-time digital map 170; the evacuation route disclosed in fig. 7A also indicates a route from the evacuation position (e.g., an exit door) to the real-time location of the evacuee carrying the handheld device; para. 61 further discloses if a user is following the evacuation route displayed on display device 618, the icon 710, and/or the path displayed as evacuation route 420 may be displayed as green. If the user deviates from the displayed evacuation router by taking a wrong turn, or if a change is dynamically made to the path of the evacuation route, the icon 710 and/or the path displayed as evacuation route 420 may be displayed as red, and fig. 4 discloses the routes passing through multiple detection zones that do not include fire location 470, therefore, the position of the user on the route is displayed as they pass through detection zones where the event detection signal was not generated) and the evacuation data specific to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 33: evacuation route generator 260 receives information on real-time environmental conditions from environmental condition monitor 250, and user position information from device position reporter 230 in order to dynamically generate new evacuation routes when necessary due to changing conditions); and displaying, by a user interface of a display, a building map of the facility to be displayed (Iyer; para. 40: evacuation routes displayed on real-time digital map 170 will be shown on fixed displays 123-1, 123-2, 123-3, and 123-4 when an emergency notification is triggered), wherein the building map includes a building layout (Iyer; para. 20: control system 150 receives digital building plans 101 and stores them as a real-time digital map 170) including a zonal layout of the plurality of predefined detection zones (Iyer; para. 39: the location of each real-time environmental monitor 102 is recorded within real-time digital map 170), the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring (Iyers; para. 40: Real-time digital map 170 will also display information from one or more of real-time environmental monitors 102-3, 102-4, 102-5, and 102-6 which will help emergency responders to determine the type and location of the event which triggered an emergency notification.), and the route to the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 40: evacuation routes displayed on real-time digital map 170 will be shown on fixed displays 123-1, 123-2, 123-3, and 123-4 when an emergency notification is triggered).
Iyer does not explicitly disclose the vulnerable person is a person who is disabled and/or is non-able bodied.
Wedig, in the same field of endeavor (evacuation systems), discloses a vulnerable person is a person who is disabled and/or is non-able bodied (Wedig; para. 156: user device 710 can recognize that the user of the user device 710 is handicapped and cannot climb down stairs), and a mobile device provides information to an emergency responder server (Wedig; para. 122: user device 710 can provide information regarding the evacuation condition and/or structure to an emergency responder server 715) indicating disabled people are in a building (Wedig; para. 122: Information provided to the emergency responder device 725 can include … whether any … handicapped people are in the building).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the medical needs transmitted by the handheld wireless device of Iyer, to indicate the special evacuation needs of a disabled person, as disclosed by Wedig, with the motivation of determining an evacuation route, for a disabled user, that is wheelchair accessible but still allows the user to travel to safety (Wedig; para. 156).
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the building map includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify the predefined detection zone in which the event is occurring from among the plurality of predefined detection zone.
Stadler, in the same field of endeavor (emergency alarm systems), discloses a building map includes different cross-hatching techniques to identify a predefined detection zone in which an event is occurring from among a plurality of predefined detection zones (Stadler; para. 19: The display of the error event areas can be achieved, for example, by coloring and/or shading the relevant area in the display image or in the image of the monitored area. In particular, the display unit can be designed to show fault event areas for different alarm characteristics in the display image, whereby the representation for different alarm characteristics is achieved, for example, by different coloring and/or hatching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have differentiated displayed event areas using different hatching, as disclosed by Stadler, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of making the different event areas identifiable on a grayscale or black and white display (Stadler; para. 19).
Regarding claim 16, Iyer, as modified, discloses the method includes displaying a location of the vulnerable person on the building map (Iyer; para. 41: the location of a user of cellphone 120-1 in room 401 will be reported in real-time digital map 170).
Regarding claim 18, Iyer, as modified, discloses evacuation data associated with the vulnerable person includes at least one of: identification information of the vulnerable person; a disability of the vulnerable person; and equipment to assist in evacuation of the vulnerable person (Iyer; para. 58: a user of handheld wireless device 600 can communicate with emergency responders via control system 150 to report their location, conditions within building 400, how many people are with them, or other information such as medical needs etc.).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ebdon et al. (US 2011/0136463), hereinafter Ebdon.
Regarding claim 5, Iyer, as modified, discloses causing the building map to be displayed on the user interface including a revised egress route (Iyer; para. 57: if a default evacuation route (e.g., 430 of FIG. 4) is no longer usable, an alternative evacuation route (e.g., 420 of FIG. 4) can be generated in real-time to assist in safely evacuating building 400.).
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose in response to the controller receiving emergency services information, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: generate a revised egress route out of the facility based on the emergency services information.
Ebdon, in the same field of endeavor (emergency response systems), discloses in response to a controller receiving emergency services information, a processor is configured to execute instructions to: generate a revised egress route out of a facility based on the emergency services information (Ebdon; para. 30: devices may also preload building or campus plans, including preferred evacuation routes and muster locations, and continuously update the preferred route during an event based on information received from the facility's authorities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to receive emergency responder information and use it to update the displayed evacuation route, as disclosed by Ebdon, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of adapting to changing situations and allowing dissemination of emergency plan information to the general public thereby providing the user with the safest and quickest exit route from the user's current location (Ebdon; para. 45-46).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Black (US 9,842,479).
Regarding claim 7, Iyer, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose in response to the event device being in a maintenance mode where the event device is under test, the processor is configured to execute the instructions to cause the user interface to display test results of the test of the event device.
Black, in the same field of endeavor (emergency warning systems), discloses in response to an event device being in a maintenance mode where the event device is under test (Black; col. 5; ll. 54-59: When the detector interface selection is selected by the user, the control logic 86 displays options for testing the detectors 103a-103d. In this regard, the control logic 86 is configured to transmit data indicative of a status query to at least one of the detectors 103a-103d. In response, each of the detectors self-tests for operational errors), a processor is configured to execute instructions to cause a user interface to display test results of the test of the event device (Black; claim 10: the processor is further configured to receive the data indicative of the results of the self-test and display data indicative of the results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cause the results of detector self-tests to be displayed, as disclosed by Black, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, to yield the predictable result of notifying a user of the health of an environmental monitor.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Foisy et al. (US 2019/0028270), hereinafter Foisy.
Regarding claim 10, Iyer, as modified, discloses an event detection system including the event device and a number of event devices for warning occupants of the facility of the event (Iyer; para. 40: triggering localized emergency notifications within building 400 including, but not limited to, registered devices (e.g., cellphones 120, in-room devices 121, fixed displays 123, wearable devices 124, and/or tablet/phablets 125) and other alarms).
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the controller is located in a control panel of the event detection system.
Foisy, in the same field of endeavor (building management systems), discloses a controller is located in a control panel of an event detection system (Foisy; fig. 2: fire control panel 110 includes microcontroller 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to substitute the control system, as disclosed by Iyer, as modified, for the microcontroller of the fire control panel of Foisy, to yield the predictable result of reducing initial installations by taking advantage of commonly installed building management system infrastructure (Foisy; para. 2).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Maruyama et al. (US 2020/0394326), hereinafter Maruyama.
Regarding claim 13, Iyer, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the computer readable instructions are executable by the processor to cause the building map of the facility to display the emergency instructions in response to the mobile device being within a threshold distance of the display.
Maruyama, in a reasonably pertinent field of endeavor (kiosk display systems), discloses computer readable instructions are executable by a processor to cause a building map of a facility to display emergency instructions in response to a mobile device being within a threshold distance of the display (Maruyama; para. 31: the system may publicly display user information whenever the mobile device moves within a threshold distance of a given display; para. 21: The user information, or the information that pertains to a user and is for display on the public display, may be of many types and formats depending on context and the needs of the user; for instance, where a user is attempting to navigate to a location within a building or on a street, the user information displayed on the public display may include an arrow indicating direction, the distance to the destination from the user or from the public display, directions such as ‘turn left,’ continue straight,' et cetera.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cause navigation information to be displayed when a user is near a display, as disclosed by Maruyama, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, wherein the navigation information is the building map, as disclosed by Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of allowing users to navigate or assimilate information from a public display without having to sacrifice alertness to consult a mobile device thereby reducing injury from collision, speeding user's progress to a destination, increasing the efficiency of information kiosks, and reducing the number of stationary individuals within busy public areas (Maruyama; para. 18).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jeon (US 2023/0295942).
Regarding claim 14, Iyer, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose the display is located in a vulnerable person refuge location of the facility.
Jeon, in a reasonably pertinent field of endeavor (disaster safety shelters), discloses a display is located in a vulnerable person refuge location of a facility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to locate a fixed display within the building of Iyer, as modified, in an emergency shelter, as disclosed by Jeon, to yield the predictable result of providing information to a person sheltering in an emergency location.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Pelletier et al. (US 2016/0328950), hereinafter Pelletier.
Regarding claim 17, Iyer, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose displaying the route from a location of the display in the facility to the vulnerable person.
Pelletier, in the same field of endeavor (emergency device management systems), discloses displaying a route from a location of a display in a facility to a vulnerable person (Pelletier; para. 57: the rescuer 4 who first reaches the located defibrillator 3 and carries it away is guided to the monitoring device 2 of the victim 1, meaning to the site of the incident, via the route displayed on a display of the located defibrillator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cause a device to display a map from its location to a victim, as disclosed by Pelletier, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of decreasing the total travel time before medical aid is rendered (Pelletier; para. 10) thereby significantly increasing the victim's chances of survival (Pelletier; para. 6).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Gravel et al. (US 2019/0318611), hereinafter Gravel.
Regarding claim 19, Iyer, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose displaying, by the user interface, the evacuation data associated with the vulnerable person.
Gravel, in the same field of endeavor (building management systems), discloses displaying, by a user interface, evacuation data associated with a vulnerable person (Gravel; paras. 85-86: user information box 508 is a graphical element containing images and textual information representing the user information from the employee table 300 of the human resource management system 108 … In this way, information about occupants 150 of the building 103, including location information representing the occupants' 150 current or recent location, is presented to first responders 160 during emergency and/or training events).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cause identification information for a person in the building to be displayed, as disclosed by Gravel, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, with the motivation of increasing the speed by which individuals at rally points are counted and individuals in danger are located thereby increasing the efficiency of first responders executing rescue operations (Gravel; para. 8).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Stadler and Wedig as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Nihey et al. (US 2019/0172338), hereinafter Nihey.
Regarding claim 20, Iyer, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above.
Iyer, as modified, does not explicitly disclose displaying, by the user interface, the building map on the display that is located proximate to an access point of the facility.
Nihey, in the same field of endeavor (evacuation guidance systems), discloses displaying, by a user interface, a building map on a display that is located proximate to an access point of a facility (Nihey; para. 123: pressure-sensitive sheet 200 is disposed before an exit in a facility. Further, an output device 240 that outputs evacuation instruction information output from the evacuation instruction means 13 is installed near the pressure-sensitive sheet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to cause evacuation information to be displayed on a display near a facility access point, as disclosed by Nihey, in the control system of Iyer, as modified, to yield the predictable result of guiding a person to an exit.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH THOMPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665