DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
A comma or semi-colon should appear at the end of line 3 of claim 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuura (US 10,047,788).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuura discloses a joint assembly (Fig. 1-3B) comprising:
a housing (17) having a concave inner cup (35), wherein the concave inner cup includes an inner surface having one or more angled grooves (47; angled grooves are part of a lattice pattern of grooves, see Col. 6 lines 23-32) extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the inner surface (see Fig. 3B); and
a liner (16) molded into the inner cup (the liner 16 is formed via injection molding, see Col. 7 lines 13-18, and is inserted into the cup as seen in Fig. 1-2, i.e. the liner is molded into the cup), wherein the liner fills the one or more angled grooves such that the liner is mechanically secured to the inner surface of the inner cup (angled grooves 47 cut into portion 28 of the liner to increase a contact area with portion 28 of the liner, thereby preventing rotation of the liner, as stated in Col. 6 lines 30-32 and Col. 7 lines 35-41, i.e. the material of portion 28 of the liner fills the angled grooves to mechanically secure the liner to the inner surface of the inner cup).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuura discloses wherein the one or more angled grooves (47) are two grooves that form a crisscrossing pattern (see crisscrossing pattern of the grooves in Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 5, Matsuura discloses wherein the two grooves intersect on opposite sides of the inner cup (see intersecting of the grooves 47 occurring on opposite sides of the inner cup in Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuura discloses wherein the one or more angled grooves (47) are oriented at an angle between zero degrees and ninety degrees from a horizontal axis (see in Fig. 3B the grooves extend and be oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to a horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuura discloses wherein the liner (16) is constructed of a polymer (liner is polyether ether ketone or fiber reinforced polyimide as stated in Col. 4 lines 56-58, i.e. a polymer).
Regarding claim 18, Matsuura discloses wherein the joint assembly is part of a ball joint (see Fig. 2, see abstract).
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Richter (WO 2022/253436).
Regarding claim 1, Richter discloses a joint assembly (Fig. 1-6) comprising:
a housing (10) having a concave inner cup (see Fig. 2, 4-5), wherein the concave inner cup includes an inner surface having one or more angled grooves (21, see Annotated Fig. 1 below) extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the inner surface (see [0038] of the attached translated description stating the grooves are formed circumferentially around housing 10); and
a liner (18) molded into the inner cup (see [0023] state that the liner is injection molded), wherein the liner fills the one or more angled grooves such that the liner is mechanically secured to the inner surface of the inner cup (see Fig. 2).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Richter discloses wherein the inner surface of the inner cup further includes a horizontal groove (see Annotated Fig. 1), and the liner (18) fills the horizontal groove (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Richter discloses wherein the horizontal groove extends around an inner circumference of the inner cup (see [0038] of the attached translated description stating the grooves are formed circumferentially around housing 10, i.e. the horizontal groove extends around an inner circumference of the inner cup).
Regarding claim 7, Richter discloses wherein the liner (18) is constructed of a polymer (see [0016] of the attached translated description stating the liner is a thermoplastic, i.e. a polymer).
Regarding claim 8, Richter discloses the joint assembly further comprising:
a cap (11) that has a concave shape and is configured to be coupled with and nest within a cap receptacle within the housing (see Fig. 2, see cap receptacle in Annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the cap includes a cap inner surface having one or more angled cap grooves (21, see Annotated Fig. 2) extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the cap inner surface (see [0038] of the attached translated description stating the grooves are formed circumferentially); and
a cap liner (18) molded into the cap (see [0023] of the translated description state that liner 18 can be injection molded onto the housing and cap separately, i.e. the portion of 18 that lines the inner surface of the cap 11 seen in Fig. 2 is the cap liner), wherein the cap liner fills the one or more angled cap grooves such that the cap liner is mechanically secured to the cap inner surface (see Fig. 2).
Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 9, Richter discloses wherein the cap inner surface further includes a horizontal cap groove (see Annotated Fig. 2), and the cap liner (18) fills the horizontal cap groove (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Richter discloses wherein the horizontal cap groove extends around an inner circumference of the cap (see [0038] of the attached translated description stating the grooves are formed circumferentially, i.e. the horizontal cap groove extends around an inner circumference of the cap).
Regarding claim 14, Richter discloses wherein the cap liner (18) is constructed of a polymer (see [0016] of the attached translated description stating the liner is a thermoplastic, i.e. a polymer).
Regarding claim 15, Richter discloses a ball (3) nested within the inner cup (2), and
wherein the cap is configured to nest within the cap receptacle to at least partially enclose the ball (see Fig. 2, see cap receptacle in Annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Richter discloses wherein a bearing surface (19) exists between the ball and the liner (see Fig. 2, see [0034] of the attached translated description).
Regarding claim 18, Richter discloses wherein the joint assembly is part of a ball joint (see Fig. 2, a ball 3 is within the joint assembly forming a ball joint).
Regarding claim 19, Richter discloses a method of manufacturing a joint assembly, comprising:
providing a housing (10) having a concave inner cup (see Fig. 2, 4-5), wherein the concave inner cup includes an inner surface having one or more grooves (21) extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the inner surface (see [0038] of the attached translated description stating the grooves are formed circumferentially around housing 10);
injecting or molding a liner material (18) into the inner cup such that the liner material enters and fills into the one or more grooves (see [0023] state that the liner is injection molded, see Fig. 2); and
curing the liner material to form a liner (18) that is incorporated into the one or more grooves and mechanically secured to the inner cup (see Fig. 2, see [0039] of the attached translated description stating that portions 22 of the liner secure the liner to the grooves of the inner cup).
Regarding claim 20, Richter discloses the method further comprising:
providing a cap (11) that has a concave shape, wherein the cap includes a cap inner surface having one or more cap grooves (21, see cap grooves in Annotated Fig. 2) extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the cap inner surface (see [0038] of the attached translated description stating the grooves are formed circumferentially)
injecting or molding a cap liner material (18) into the cap such that the cap liner material enters and fills into the one or more cap grooves (see Fig. 2, see [0023] of the translated description state that liner 18 can be injection molded onto the housing and cap separately, i.e. the portion of 18 that lines the inner surface of the cap 11 in Fig. 2 is the cap liner material and cap liner); and
curing the cap liner material to form a cap liner that is incorporated into the one or more cap grooves and mechanically secured to walls of the cap (see Fig. 2, see [0039] of the attached translated description stating that portions 22 of the liner secure the liner to the grooves of the inner cup).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redinger (US 5,915,842) in view of Reverchon (US 8,505,204).
Regarding claim 1, Redinger (Fig. 1-4) discloses of a joint assembly comprising:
a housing (28) having a concave inner cup (see Fig. 2-3), wherein the concave inner cup includes an inner surface (38); and
a liner (30) molded onto the inner cup (see Fig. 2, see Col. 3 lines 14-20 state the liner is injection molded into the inner cup), wherein the liner is secured to the inner surface of the inner cup (see Fig. 2).
Redinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the inner surface of the inner cup has one or more angled grooves extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the inner surface and wherein the liner fills the one or more angled grooves such that the liner is mechanically secured to the inner surface of the inner cup.
Reverchon (Fig. 1-4D) teaches of a similar joint assembly comprising a liner (30) and an molded member (20) that is molded onto the liner (see Col. 7 lines 28-36), wherein the liner comprises a plurality of grooves (321, 322, 323) extending around an outer circumference of on an outer surface (30A) thereof, including a horizontal groove (321) that extends around a circumference of outer surface of the liner (see Fig. 1, 3, see Col. 5 lines 51-55) and two angled grooves (322, 323) that form a crisscrossing pattern and intersect on opposite sides of the liner (see Fig. 1, 3, see crisscrossing and intersections at 33), wherein the two angled grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal groove (see Fig. 1, 3), and wherein the grooves (321, 322, 323) are filled by the material of the molded member (20) during the molding process (see Col. 7 lines 28-33), thereby strengthening the attachment between the liner and the molded member (see Col. 6 lines 40-53).
Being that the liner is to be molded to the housing within the joint assembly of Redinger, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Redinger with the teachings of Reverchon, wherein the joint assembly comprises a plurality of grooves, including a horizontal groove that extends around a circumference and two angled grooves that form a crisscrossing pattern and intersect on opposite sides of the liner, wherein the two angled grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal groove, and wherein the grooves are to be filled by the molded material of the liner, thereby strengthening the attachment between the liner and the housing.
While Reverchon teaches that their grooves are formed on an outer surface of the liner, it would be obvious to simply rearrange the grooves such that they are located on the inner surface of the inner cup of the housing, such that the inner surface of the inner cup includes a horizontal groove that extends around an inner circumference of the inner cup, wherein the two angled grooves extend around the inner circumference and form a crisscrossing pattern and intersect on opposite sides of the inner cup, the two angled grooves being oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal groove, and wherein the molded material of the liner fills each of the grooves. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the inner surface of the inner cup further includes a horizontal groove, and the liner fills the horizontal groove (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the horizontal groove extends around an inner circumference of the inner cup (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the one or more angled grooves are two grooves that form a crisscrossing pattern (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the two grooves intersect on opposite sides of the inner cup (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the one or more angled grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees from a horizontal axis (as taught in claim 1; the two angled grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal groove, which serves as the horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the liner is constructed of a polymer (the liner is an elastomer, i.e. polymer, as stated in Col. 3 lines 18-20 of Redinger).
Regarding claim 8, Redinger further discloses of the joint assembly further comprising:
a cap (26 of Redinger) that has a concave shape and is configured to be coupled with and nest within a cap receptacle within the housing (see Fig. 2-4 of Redinger, see cap receptacle in Annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the cap includes a cap inner surface (38 of Redinger); and
wherein a cap liner is molded onto the cap and is mechanically secured to the cap inner surface (see Fig. 2 of Redinger, the portion of the liner 30 of Redinger that is molded onto the inner surface of the cap is the cap liner; see Col. 3 lines 14-20 of Redinger state the liner is formed by injection molding).
Annotated Figure 3
Redinger does not explicitly disclose wherein the cap inner surface has one or more angled cap grooves extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the cap inner surface and wherein the cap liner fills the one or more angled cap grooves such that the cap liner is mechanically secured to the cap inner surface.
Reverchon (Fig. 1-4D) teaches of a similar joint assembly comprising a liner (30) and an molded member (20) that is molded onto the liner (see Col. 7 lines 28-36), wherein the liner comprises a plurality of grooves (321, 322, 323) extending around an outer circumference of on an outer surface (30A) thereof, including a horizontal groove (321) that extends around a circumference of outer surface of the liner (see Fig. 1, 3, see Col. 5 lines 51-55) and two angled grooves (322, 323) that form a crisscrossing pattern and intersect on opposite sides of the liner (see Fig. 1, 3, see crisscrossing and intersections at 33), wherein the two angled grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal groove (see Fig. 1, 3), and wherein the grooves (321, 322, 323) are filled by the material of the molded member (20) during the molding process (see Col. 7 lines 28-33), thereby strengthening the attachment between the liner and the molded member (see Col. 6 lines 40-53).
Being that the cap liner is to be molded to the cap within the joint assembly of Redinger, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Redinger with the teachings of Reverchon, wherein the joint assembly comprises a plurality of cap grooves, including a horizontal cap groove that extends around a circumference and two angled cap grooves that form a crisscrossing pattern and intersect on opposite sides of the cap liner, wherein the two angled cap grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal cap groove, and wherein the cap grooves are to be filled by the molded material of the cap liner, thereby strengthening the attachment between the cap liner and the cap.
While Reverchon teaches that their grooves are formed on an outer surface of the liner, it would be obvious to simply rearrange the grooves such that they are located on the cap inner surface of the cap, such that the cap inner surface of the cap includes a horizontal cap groove that extends around an inner circumference of the cap, wherein the two angled cap grooves extend around the inner circumference and form a crisscrossing pattern and intersect on opposite sides of the cap, the two angled cap grooves being oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal cap groove, and wherein the molded material of the cap liner fills each of the cap grooves. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the cap inner surface further includes a horizontal cap groove, and the cap liner fills the horizontal cap groove (as taught in claim 8).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the horizontal cap groove extends around an inner circumference of the cap (as taught in claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the one or more angled cap grooves are two cap grooves that form a crisscrossing pattern (as taught in claim 8).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the two cap grooves intersect on opposite sides of the cap (as taught in claim 8).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the one or more angled cap grooves are oriented at an angle between zero degrees and ninety degrees from a horizontal axis (as taught in claim 8, the two angled cap grooves are oriented at an angle between zero and ninety degrees relative to the horizontal cap groove, which serves as the horizontal axis).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the cap liner is constructed of a polymer (the cap liner is an elastomer, i.e. polymer, as stated in Col. 3 lines 18-20 of Redinger).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach of the joint assembly further comprising:
a ball (22 of Redinger) nested within the inner cup (see Fig. 2 of Redinger), and
wherein the cap is configured to nest within the cap receptacle to at least partially enclose the ball (see Fig. 2 of Redinger, see cap receptacle in Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein a bearing surface exists between the ball and the liner (see inner surface of liner 30 of Redinger that bears against the ball 22).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the joint assembly is part of a tie rod (Col. 1 lines 13-17 state that the joint assembly can be part of a rod end, i.e. a tie rod).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Redinger and Reverchon further teach wherein the joint assembly is part of a ball joint (see ball 22 within Fig. 2 of Redinger of the joint assembly forming a ball joint).
Regarding claim 19, Redinger (Fig. 1-4) discloses a method of manufacturing a joint assembly, comprising:
providing a housing (28) having a concave inner cup (see Fig. 2-3), wherein the concave inner cup includes an inner surface (38);
injecting or molding a liner material (30) into the inner cup (see Col. 3 lines 14-20 state the liner is injection molded into the inner cup); and
curing the liner material to form a liner (30) that is secured to the inner cup (see Col. 3 lines 14-20).
Redinger does not explicitly disclose of the inner surface having one or more grooves extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the inner surface, wherein the liner material enters and fills into the one or more grooves, and wherein the liner is incorporated into the one or more grooves and mechanically secured to the inner cup.
Reverchon (Fig. 1-4D) teaches of a similar joint assembly comprising a liner (30) and an molded member (20) that is molded onto the liner (see Col. 7 lines 28-36), wherein the liner comprises a plurality of grooves (321, 322, 323) extending around an outer circumference of on an outer surface (30A) thereof, including a horizontal groove (322) and two angled grooves (322, 323) that extend around a circumference of the outer surface of the liner (see Fig. 1, 3, see Col. 5 lines 51-55), wherein the grooves (321, 322, 323) are filled by the material of the molded member (20) during the molding process (see Col. 7 lines 28-33), thereby strengthening the attachment between the liner and the molded member (see Col. 6 lines 40-53).
Being that the liner is to be molded to the housing within the joint assembly of Redinger, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Redinger with the teachings of Reverchon, wherein the joint assembly comprises a plurality of grooves, including a horizontal groove and two angled grooves that extend around a circumference, wherein the grooves are to be filled by the molded material of the liner, thereby strengthening the attachment between the liner and the housing.
While Reverchon teaches that their grooves are formed on an outer surface of the liner, it would be obvious to simply rearrange the grooves such that they are located on the inner surface of the inner cup of the housing, such that the inner surface of the inner cup includes a horizontal groove and two angled grooves that extend around an inner circumference of the inner surface, and wherein the molded material of the liner fills each of the grooves. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In doing such, during the injection molding, the liner material will enter and fill into the grooves and cure to have the liner be incorporated into the grooves and mechanically secure the liner to the cup.
Regarding claim 20, Redinger further discloses of providing a cap (26 of Redinger) that has a concave shape (see Fig. 2, 4 of Redinger), wherein the cap includes a cap inner surface (38 of Redinger)
injecting or molding a cap liner material into the cap (see Fig. 2 of Redinger, the portion of the liner 30 of Redinger that is molded onto the inner surface of the cap is cap liner; see Col. 3 lines 14-20 state the cap liner is formed by injection molding); and
curing the cap liner material to form a cap liner that is secured to the walls of the cap (see Col. 3 lines 14-20 of Redinger).
Redinger does not explicitly disclose of wherein the cap inner surface has one or more cap grooves extending around at least a portion of a circumference of the cap inner surface, wherein the cap liner material enters and fills into the one or more cap grooves, and wherein the cap liner is incorporated into the one or more cap grooves and mechanically secured to walls of the cap.
Reverchon (Fig. 1-4D) teaches of a similar joint assembly comprising a liner (30) and an molded member (20) that is molded onto the liner (see Col. 7 lines 28-36), wherein the liner comprises a plurality of grooves (321, 322, 323) extending around an outer circumference of on an outer surface (30A) thereof, including a horizontal groove (322) and two angled grooves (322, 323) that extend around a circumference of the outer surface of the liner (see Fig. 1, 3, see Col. 5 lines 51-55), wherein the grooves (321, 322, 323) are filled by the material of the molded member (20) during the molding process (see Col. 7 lines 28-33), thereby strengthening the attachment between the liner and the molded member (see Col. 6 lines 40-53).
Being that the cap liner is to be molded to the cap within the joint assembly of Redinger, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Redinger with the teachings of Reverchon, wherein the joint assembly comprises a plurality of cap grooves, including a horizontal cap groove and two angled cap grooves that extend around a circumference, wherein the cap grooves are to be filled by the molded material of the cap liner, thereby strengthening the attachment between the cap liner and the cap.
While Reverchon teaches that their grooves are formed on an outer surface of the liner, it would be obvious to simply rearrange the grooves such that they are located on the inner surface of the cap inner surface of the cap, such that the cap inner surface of the cap includes a horizontal cap groove and two angled cap grooves that extend around an inner circumference of the cap, and wherein the molded material of the cap liner fills each of the cap grooves. Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In doing such, during the injection molding, the cap liner material will enter and fill into the cap grooves and cure to have the cap liner be incorporated into the cap grooves and mechanically secure the cap liner to walls of the cap.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678