Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 10, 13, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimonosono (JP H11204151 A, cited in IDS, machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Shimonosono teaches an apparatus for heat management, the apparatus comprising: a first heat exchange unit, provided with an energy storage material (Fig. 1, 6, [0009]), and connected to a battery cell (Fig. 1, 1) using a heat conducting pipe (Fig. 1, 3);
and a second heat exchange unit, having a first cooling pipe (Fig. 1, 7, 8, [0011]) internally provided with a refrigerant ([0005] water), wherein at least a part of the first cooling pipe (Fig. 1, 7) is disposed in the energy storage material (Fig. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 2, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first cooling pipe is in a straight-line shape (Fig. 1, 7, 8).
Regarding claim 5, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage material is a phase-change energy storage material ([0016] paraffin).
Regarding claim 7, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a control apparatus (Fig. 1, 11), configured to: control the second heat exchange unit to cool the energy storage material when a temperature of the energy storage material is higher than a first temperature threshold ([0017], [0021]). The first temperature threshold is the melting point.
Regarding claim 10, Shimonosono teaches a control apparatus for a heat management apparatus, comprising: an obtaining module, configured to obtain a temperature of an energy storage material in a first heat exchange unit (Fig. 1, 12, [0019])wherein the first heat exchange unit is provided with an energy storage material (Fig. 1, 6, [0009]), and connected to a battery cell (Fig. 1, 1) using a heat conducting pipe (Fig. 1, 3); and
a control module (Fig. 1, 11), configured to control a second heat exchange unit to cool the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is higher than a first temperature threshold [0017], wherein the second heat exchange unit comprises a first cooling pipe internally (Fig. 1, 7, 8, [0011]) provided with a refrigerant ([0005] water), and at least a part of the first cooling pipe (Fig. 1, 7) is disposed in the energy storage material (Fig. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 13, Shimonosono teaches a vehicle [0005], comprising:
a heat management apparatus; and
a battery pack; wherein the heat management apparatus comprises:
a first heat exchange unit, provided with an energy storage material (Fig. 1, 6, [0009]), and connected to a battery cell (Fig. 1, 1) using a heat conducting pipe (Fig. 1, 3); and
a second heat exchange unit, having a first cooling pipe (Fig. 1, 7, 8, [0011]) internally provided with a refrigerant ([0005] water), wherein at least a part of the first cooling pipe (Fig. 1, 7) is disposed in the energy storage material (Fig. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 17, Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the energy storage material is a phase-change energy storage material ([0016] paraffin).
Regarding claim 19, Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the heat management apparatus further comprises a control apparatus (Fig. 1, 11), configured to: control the second heat exchange unit to cool the energy storage material when a temperature of the energy storage material is higher than a first temperature threshold [0017].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimonosono and Xu et al. (CN 109830775 A, cited in IDS, machine translation attached), hereinafter Xu.
Regarding claim 3, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the heat conducting pipe comprises a first heat pipe (Fig. 1, 3), one end of the first heat pipe is in contact with the battery cell (Fig. 1, 1), but does not specifically teach that the other end of the first heat pipe is disposed in the energy storage material.
Xu, however, teaches an apparatus for a heat management system consisting of a battery, heat pipes, and a phase-change material [0010] Xu also teaches that the other end of the first heat pipe is disposed in the energy storage material [0012].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Xu apparatus so that the heat pipes are embedded in the phase-change material as taught by Xu because this allows for positioning and fixation (Xu et al. [0059]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the first heat pipe comprises one or more of the following: a flat-plate heat pipe and or a curved heat pipe (Shimonosono [0009] planar shape).
Regarding claim 15, Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the heat conducting pipe comprises a first heat pipe (Fig. 1, 3), one end of the first heat pipe is in contact with the battery cell (Fig. 1, 1), but does not specifically teach that the other end of the first heat pipe is disposed in the energy storage material.
Xu, however, teaches an apparatus for a heat management system consisting a battery, heat pipes, and a phase-change material [0010] Xu also teaches that the other end of the first heat pipe is disposed in the energy storage material [0012].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Xu apparatus so that the heat pipes are embedded in the phase-change material as taught by Xu because this allows for positioning and fixation (Xu et al. [0059]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 15, wherein the first heat pipe comprises one or more of the following: a flat-plate heat pipe and or a curved heat pipe (Shimonosono [0009] planar shape).
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimonosono in view of Yuan et al. (WO2020177338A1, cited in IDS, machine translation attached), hereinafter Yuan.
Regarding claim 6, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 5, but does not specifically teach that the phase-change energy storage material is mixed with expanded graphite particles and/or foamed metal.
Yuan, however, teaches an apparatus for heat management containing a phase-change energy storage material that includes paraffin [0024]. Yuan also teaches that the phase-change energy storage material is mixed with expanded graphite particles [0024].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Shimonosono apparatus to have graphite mixed into the energy storage material as taught by Yuan because this can improve its thermal conductivity and maintain a certain shape at high temperatures without leakage (Yuan et al. [0024]).
Regarding claim 18, Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 17, but does not specifically teach that the phase-change energy storage material is mixed with expanded graphite particles and/or foamed metal.
Yuan, however, teaches that the phase-change energy storage material is mixed with expanded graphite particles [0024].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Shimonosono apparatus to have graphite mixed into the energy storage material as taught by Yuan because this can improve its thermal conductivity and maintain a certain shape at high temperatures without leakage (Yuan et al. [0024]).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimonosono in view of Wang et al. (CN109962317A, machine translation attached), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 8, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, but does not specifically teach that the control apparatus controls the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold.
Wang, however, teaches of an apparatus for heat management for a battery pack that includes a control apparatus that controls the temperature [0008]. Wang also teaches that the control apparatus controls the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold [0029].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Shimonosono control apparatus so that it can control the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature is lower than the second temperature threshold as taught in Wang. This is because when the battery is used at low temperatures, the rate of chemical reaction inside the battery slows down, resulting in a significant reduction in charging and discharging capacity and voltage, which leads to insufficient power in electric vehicles and a significant reduction in driving range (Wang et al. [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, the control apparatus controls the second heat exchange unit to stop cooling the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is higher than the second temperature threshold and lower than the first temperature threshold.(Shimonosono [0021]) Since the melting point is the first temperature threshold, then modified Shimonosono teaches that the pump stops when the temperature is lower than the first temperature threshold and then heats the energy storage material when the temperature is lower than the second temperature threshold.
Regarding claim 11, Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, but does not specifically teach that the control module is further configured to control the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold.
Wang, however, teaches that the control apparatus controls the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold [0029].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Shimonosono control apparatus so that it can control the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature is lower than the second temperature threshold as taught in Wang. This is because when the battery is used at low temperatures, the rate of chemical reaction inside the battery slows down, resulting in a significant reduction in charging and discharging capacity and voltage, which leads to insufficient power in electric vehicles and a significant reduction in driving range (Wang et al. [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Shimonosono teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the control module is further configured to control the second heat exchange unit to stop cooling the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is higher than the second temperature threshold and lower than the first temperature threshold (Shimonosono [0021]). Since the melting point is the first temperature threshold, then modified Shimonosono teaches that the pump stops when the temperature is lower than the first temperature threshold and then heats the energy storage material when the temperature is lower than the second temperature threshold.
Regarding claim 19, Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 13, but does not specifically teach that the control module is further configured to control the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold.
Wang, however, teaches that the control apparatus controls the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold [0029].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Shimonosono control apparatus so that it can control the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature is lower than the second temperature threshold as taught in Wang. This is because when the battery is used at low temperatures, the rate of chemical reaction inside the battery slows down, resulting in a significant reduction in charging and discharging capacity and voltage, which leads to insufficient power in electric vehicles and a significant reduction in driving range (Wang et al. [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 19, wherein the control apparatus controls the second heat exchange unit to heat the energy storage material when the temperature of the energy storage material is lower than a second temperature threshold (Shimonosono [0021]). Since the melting point is the first temperature threshold, then modified Shimonosono teaches that the pump stops when the temperature is lower than the first temperature threshold and then heats the energy storage material when the temperature is lower than the second temperature threshold.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimonosono in view of Yun et al. (US20240234858A9), hereinafter Yun.
Regarding claim 14, Shimonosono teaches the vehicle according to claim 13, but does not specifically teach that the battery pack comprises: a compartment; and a battery module, accommodated in the box compartment and comprising one or more battery cells, wherein the first heat exchange unit is accommodated in the compartment.
Yun, however, teaches a battery pack for a vehicle that includes a heat-dissipating bus bar inside (Abstract). Yun also teaches that the battery pack comprises: a compartment (Fig. 1, 200, [0043]); and a battery module, accommodated in the box compartment and comprising one or more battery cells (Fig. 1, 110).
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Shimonosono vehicle so that the battery pack comprises a compartment that accommodates battery cells and the first heat exchange unit in order to protect the contents inside (Yun et al. [0044]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Du et al. (US20190299812A1) teaches a heat dissipating apparatus configured to cool a battery pack in an electric vehicle. The apparatus includes coolant circulating pumps and a phase change material (Abstract).
/YVONNE WEI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722