DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/19/2024 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation, “wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of:”. This limitation lacks clear antecedent basis as claim 9 depends on claim 8 which recites, “adjusting at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique upper area of the aerial vehicle” and therefore it is unclear whether “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of” of claim 9 is referring to the adjusting as noted in claim 1 or the adjusting that is in response to the flight mode being ascent in claim 8. The same rejection rationale applies to claims 11,13, 15 and 17 where these claims depend on other claims which introduce an “adjusting…” feature in response to specific modes and therefore the “adjusting…” features in claims 11,13, 15 and 17 lack clear antecedent basis.
The terms “small”, “narrow”, “large” and “wide” in claim 18 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. These are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner would like to point out that several method claims in the application recite contingent limitations which result in those limitations carrying no patentable weight. The Examiner has detailed the contingent limitations below:
Claim 7 recites the contingent limitation of “and in response to detecting an obstacle in the obstacle avoidance area, controlling the aerial vehicle to perform an obstacle avoidance operation.”. In this limitation, the feature of “controlling the aerial vehicle to perform an obstacle avoidance operation” is contingent on the step of “in response to detecting an obstacle in the obstacle avoidance area”. The feature of “detecting an obstacle in the obstacle avoidance area” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “controlling the aerial vehicle to perform an obstacle avoidance operation” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 7 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to detecting an obstacle in the obstacle avoidance area, controlling the aerial vehicle to perform an obstacle avoidance operation” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 8 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the flight mode being ascent, adjusting at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique upper area of the aerial vehicle.”. In this limitation, the feature of “adjusting at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique upper area of the aerial vehicle” is contingent on the step of “in response to the flight mode being ascent”. The feature of “the flight mode being ascent” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “adjusting at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique upper area of the aerial vehicle” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 8 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to the flight mode being ascent, adjusting at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique upper area of the aerial vehicle.” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 10 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the flight mode being hover, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an area around the aerial vehicle.”. In this limitation, the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an area around the aerial vehicle” is contingent on the step of “in response to the flight mode being hover”. The feature of “the flight mode being hover” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an area around the aerial vehicle” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 10 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to the flight mode being hover, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an area around the aerial vehicle.” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 12 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the flight mode being route flight, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an aera corresponding to a flight direction of the aerial vehicle.”. In this limitation, the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an aera corresponding to a flight direction of the aerial vehicle” is contingent on the step of “in response to the flight mode being route flight”. The feature of “the flight mode being route flight” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an aera corresponding to a flight direction of the aerial vehicle” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 12 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to the flight mode being route flight, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an aera corresponding to a flight direction of the aerial vehicle.” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 14 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the flight mode being landing, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique lower aera of the aerial vehicle.”. In this limitation, the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique lower aera of the aerial vehicle” is contingent on the step of “in response to the flight mode being landing”. The feature of “the flight mode being landing” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique lower aera of the aerial vehicle.” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 14 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to the flight mode being landing, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique lower aera of the aerial vehicle.” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 16 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the flight mode being terrain-following flight, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover a ground area in front of flight of the aerial vehicle.”. In this limitation, the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover a ground area in front of flight of the aerial vehicle.” is contingent on the step of “in response to the flight mode being terrain-following flight”. The feature of “the flight mode being terrain-following flight” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover a ground area in front of flight of the aerial vehicle.” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 16 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to the flight mode being terrain-following flight, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover a ground area in front of flight of the aerial vehicle.” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 17 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the flight mode being terrain-following, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to an inclined angle of ground.”. In this limitation, the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to an inclined angle of ground.” is contingent on the step of “in response to the flight mode being terrain-following”. The feature of “the flight mode being terrain-following” does not need to happen in order to fulfill the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the method claim and therefore the feature of “adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to an inclined angle of ground.” does not need to happen. Therefore, claim 17 is being interpreted based on its BRI where the feature of “in response to the flight mode being terrain-following, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to an inclined angle of ground.” is not performed and does not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
Claim 18 recites the contingent limitation of “in response to the inclined angle of the ground being small, adjusting the beam width to be narrow; and in response to the inclined angle of the ground being large, adjusting the beam width to be wide.”. Both of these limitations are contingent on the contingent limitation of claim 17 and therefore these features of claim 18 also do not need to be performed and do not carry patentable weight. (SEE MPEP 2111.04, II. Contingent Limitations)
For every contingent limitation in the claims above, the Examiner has not provided a prior art rejection for the contingent limitations. The Applicant must amend the limitations to carry patentable weight. The Examiner suggests that that Applicant amend the limitations to positively recite that the contingent step is performed prior to the “in response to…” limitations. For example, “determining the flight is in hover mode” and then recite “in response to determining the flight is in hover mode, adjusting…” etc..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4,6-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vacanti (US 20180259641 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vacanti discloses
A control method (see Fig. 1A, where aircraft 2 implements a control method, further see paragraph 0033, “An FMCW radar device may electronically scan transmit beam 42 approximately forty-five degrees on either side of a centerline, relative to the FMCW radar device. In some examples FMCW radar device may scan transmit beam 42 up to plus or minus sixty degrees. The FMCW radar device controls beam steering by phase shifting the output of a transmit array, which will be explained in more detail below in relation to FIG. 4”) comprising:
obtaining a flight mode of an aerial vehicle, the flight mode including at least one of scent, hover, route flight, terrain-following flight, or landing (see paragraph 0102, “All modes may be used individually or in combination with any other mode or set of modes according to flight phase of aircraft 2, or the operation of another type of vehicle. Modes may be interleaved to provide the greatest benefit to the vehicle operator. Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, further see the list of modes in Table 1 where the “mode” corresponds to radar operations for specific “flight modes” for example, “terrain following mode” (terrain-following flight mode), “navigation mode” (i.e. landing flight mode), etc and enabling a mode according to the flight phase of the aircraft is indeed “obtaining a flight mode of an aerial vehicle” and enabling the radar mode according to the flight “mode”); and
adjusting at least one of a beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or a beam width of an antenna of a radar module of the aerial vehicle according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1, further see for support paragraph 0053, “In addition to the weather radar functions, the high aspect ratio transmit beam 42 may provide additional functions for vehicles in which radar system 10 is installed. As described above, the high aspect ratio transmit beam, with a wide field of regard in elevation provides several advantages in analyzing weather, when compared to other mechanically or electronically steered pencil beam radars that must use a raster scan to illuminate an area of interest. In the example of an aircraft, radar system 10 may use the plurality of receive beams 44 for analysis beyond weather analysis as well as execute different functions in different phases of flight. For example, lower receive beams may be used for terrain avoidance or terrain following applications while upper beams simultaneously provide airborne target detection or weather detection.”).
Regarding claim 4, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein:
the antenna includes a phased array antenna including a plurality of antenna units (see Fig. 3, where Fig. 3 depicts a “phased array antenna”, further see paragraph 0022, “The FMCW radar device may be referred to as a digital active phased array (DAPA) radar.”); and
adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna by adjusting a phase of a signal fed into each antenna unit (see paragraph 0041, “Transmit electronics associated with a transmit array, such as transmit array 18 in FIG. 3, may be configured to scan, or steer, transmit beam 42 in azimuth (e.g., the second illumination direction), as indicated by arrow 46. In some examples, the transmit electronics may be configured to apply a phase shift to each transmit antenna element of the plurality of transmit antenna elements (for example, transmit elements 24 described in FIG. 3) which changes as a function of time. Shifting the phase as a function of time results in transmit beam 42 being scanned in azimuth.”); or
adjusting the beam width of the antenna by adjusting an amplitude of the signal fed into each antenna unit.
Regarding claim 6, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to the flight mode includes:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna in a pitch direction according to the flight mode (see Fig. 1A where the beam direction is being adjusting in a pitch direction and this is while the flight is in “route flight”, further see paragraph 0028, “FIG. 1A depicts aircraft 2, which includes a weather radar system 10 that outputs an FMCW transmit beam 42 that illuminates an area in a first illumination direction 45. In the example of FIG. 1A the first illumination direction 45 is in elevation and, in some examples, may be at least +/−30 degrees with respect to weather radar system 10. Transmit beam 42 simultaneously illuminates the area in the first illumination direction in front of aircraft 2. The weather radar system depicted in FIG. 1A may scan the FMCW transmit beam in azimuth. In some examples, weather radar system 10 may not scan the FMCW transmit beam in elevation, yet still illuminate the area in front of aircraft 2.”, further see paragraph 0037, “In the example of a weather radar mounted on an aircraft, as depicted in FIG. 1A, where the aircraft is flying at a normal cruising altitude of approximately 30,000 feet (8000 to 10,000 meters), the transmit beam in the first illumination direction 45 may reflect from targets or weather on the ground and as high as the troposphere without scanning in elevation. In other words, at a given point in time, transmit beam 42 may simultaneously transmit radar energy from radar system 10 to illuminate the entire vertical dimension of predetermined area 48 in the first illumination direction 45.”).
Regarding claim 7, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
adjusting a detection distance of the radar module according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0054-0055, “When in the vicinity of known active volcanoes, radar system 10 may provide a dedicated scan of the volcano top and air above the volcano to detect possible volcanic eruptions where the ash is the most dense and therefore more detectable. In some examples radar system 10 may perform an optimization process on a waveform to improve range resolution and detection range based on distance to the volcano…In some examples, radar system 10 may combine radar signal information with a volcano location and height database as part of the terrain map capability. The signal processing in radar system 10 may use multiple receive beams to establish ground level and multiple receive beamwidths to reduce azimuth sidelobe clutter from the ground.”, where performing this optimization process to avoid volcanic ash falls under the “terrain-following flight mode”);
determining an obstacle avoidance area of the aerial vehicle according to the detection distance (see paragraph 0054-0055, “When in the vicinity of known active volcanoes, radar system 10 may provide a dedicated scan of the volcano top and air above the volcano to detect possible volcanic eruptions where the ash is the most dense and therefore more detectable. In some examples radar system 10 may perform an optimization process on a waveform to improve range resolution and detection range based on distance to the volcano…In some examples, radar system 10 may combine radar signal information with a volcano location and height database as part of the terrain map capability. The signal processing in radar system 10 may use multiple receive beams to establish ground level and multiple receive beamwidths to reduce azimuth sidelobe clutter from the ground.”, where performing this optimization process to avoid volcanic ash falls under the “terrain-following flight mode”); and
in response to detecting an obstacle in the obstacle avoidance area, controlling the aerial vehicle to perform an obstacle avoidance operation (Note: this claim does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 8, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction or the beam width of the antenna according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1) includes:
in response to the flight mode being ascent, adjusting at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique upper area of the aerial vehicle (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 9, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 8, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to a pitch angle, the pitch angle ranging from 30° to 50° (see Fig. 1A which depicts a pitch angle for the beamsteering, further see paragraph 0028, “FIG. 1A depicts aircraft 2, which includes a weather radar system 10 that outputs an FMCW transmit beam 42 that illuminates an area in a first illumination direction 45. In the example of FIG. 1A the first illumination direction 45 is in elevation and, in some examples, may be at least +/−30 degrees with respect to weather radar system 10. Transmit beam 42 simultaneously illuminates the area in the first illumination direction in front of aircraft 2.”); or
adjusting the beam width of the antenna according to a field of view angle, the field of view angle ranging from ±15° to ±25°.
Regarding claim 10, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1) includes:
in response to the flight mode being hover, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an area around the aerial vehicle (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 11, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 10, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to a pitch angle, the pitch angle ranging from -10° to 10° (see paragraph 0028, “FIG. 1A depicts aircraft 2, which includes a weather radar system 10 that outputs an FMCW transmit beam 42 that illuminates an area in a first illumination direction 45. In the example of FIG. 1A the first illumination direction 45 is in elevation and, in some examples, may be at least +/−30 degrees with respect to weather radar system 10.”, where “at least +/−30 degrees” fulfills the BRI of 10° to 10°); or
adjusting the beam width of the antenna according to a field of view angle, the field of view angle ranging from ±45° to ±55°.
Regarding claim 12, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1) includes:
in response to the flight mode being route flight, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an aera corresponding to a flight direction of the aerial vehicle (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 13, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 12, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to a pitch angle, the pitch angle ranging from -10° to 10° (see paragraph 0028, “FIG. 1A depicts aircraft 2, which includes a weather radar system 10 that outputs an FMCW transmit beam 42 that illuminates an area in a first illumination direction 45. In the example of FIG. 1A the first illumination direction 45 is in elevation and, in some examples, may be at least +/−30 degrees with respect to weather radar system 10.”, where “at least +/−30 degrees” fulfills the BRI of 10° to 10°); and/or
adjusting the beam width of the antenna according to a field of view angle, the field of view angle ranging from ±10° to ±20°.
Regarding claim 14, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1) includes:
in response to the flight mode being landing, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover an oblique lower aera of the aerial vehicle (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 15, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 14, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna includes at least one of:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to a pitch angle, the pitch angle ranging from -30° to -50° (see paragraph 0028, “FIG. 1A depicts aircraft 2, which includes a weather radar system 10 that outputs an FMCW transmit beam 42 that illuminates an area in a first illumination direction 45. In the example of FIG. 1A the first illumination direction 45 is in elevation and, in some examples, may be at least +/−30 degrees with respect to weather radar system 10.”, where “at least +/−30 degrees” fulfills the BRI of 10° to 10°); and/or
adjusting the beam width of the antenna according to a field of view angle, the field of view angle ranging from ±15° to ±25°.
Regarding claim 16, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to the flight mode (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1) includes:
in response to the flight mode being terrain-following flight, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna to cause a detection range of the radar module of the aerial vehicle to cover a ground area in front of flight of the aerial vehicle (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 17, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 16, wherein adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna (see paragraph 0102, “Modes may be used with “Chaotic Beam Steering,” e.g. non-linear or random scans as required to achieve the functions of each mode. Some example modes as well as features and advantages of modes are listed in the table below.”, where “beam steering” is adjusting beam direction relative to the vehicle and this is according to the “mode” listed in Table 1) includes:
in response to the flight mode being terrain-following, adjusting the at least one of the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle or the beam width of the antenna according to an inclined angle of ground (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 18, Vacanti discloses
The method according to claim 17, wherein adjusting the beam width of the antenna according to the inclined angle of the ground includes:
in response to the inclined angle of the ground being small, adjusting the beam width to be narrow (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section); and
in response to the inclined angle of the ground being large, adjusting the beam width to be wide (Note: this feature does not carry patentable weight, see claim interpretation section).
Regarding claim 20, the same cited section and rationale as claim 1 is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 20180259641 A1) in view of JALALI (US 20150236778 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Vacanti discloses [Note: what Vacanti fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 1, wherein adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to the flight mode includes:
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to the flight mode
JALALI discloses,
obtaining pose information of the aerial vehicle (see paragraph 0080, “It is further appreciated that vehicles travel on inclines and make turns, thus requiring real time adjustment to the vehicle antenna's beam. Airplanes also make turns along their routes, and even along a given route the airplanes go through roll, pitch and yaw motions. Therefore, the antenna fixture on the vehicle and the airplane is designed to steer its beam dynamically as the vehicle and/or airplane makes turns, or changes orientation. The antenna beam steering may be done mechanically or electronically.”); and
adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna according to the pose information (see paragraph 0080, “It is further appreciated that vehicles travel on inclines and make turns, thus requiring real time adjustment to the vehicle antenna's beam. Airplanes also make turns along their routes, and even along a given route the airplanes go through roll, pitch and yaw motions. Therefore, the antenna fixture on the vehicle and the airplane is designed to steer its beam dynamically as the vehicle and/or airplane makes turns, or changes orientation. The antenna beam steering may be done mechanically or electronically.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by JALALI into the invention of Vacanti. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose an aerial vehicle with a radar system which performs beam steering. Vacanti discloses the feature of performing beam steering according to a specified operation (i.e. a flight mode); however, fails to clearly disclose that the vehicle’s pose information is taken into account when performing the beam steering. This feature is disclosed by JALALI. The combination of Vacanti and JALALI would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enhance beam steering accuracy by considering the pose of the vehicle and thereby more efficiently perform specified beam steering operations.
Regarding claim 3, Vacanti further discloses
The method according to claim 2, wherein the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna is adjusted to cause a beam emitted by the antenna toward a flight direction corresponding to the flight mode (see paragraph 0028, “FIG. 1A depicts aircraft 2, which includes a weather radar system 10 that outputs an FMCW transmit beam 42 that illuminates an area in a first illumination direction 45. In the example of FIG. 1A the first illumination direction 45 is in elevation and, in some examples, may be at least +/−30 degrees with respect to weather radar system 10. Transmit beam 42 simultaneously illuminates the area in the first illumination direction in front of aircraft 2. The weather radar system depicted in FIG. 1A may scan the FMCW transmit beam in azimuth. In some examples, weather radar system 10 may not scan the FMCW transmit beam in elevation, yet still illuminate the area in front of aircraft 2.”, where the flight is in “route flight”).
Regarding claim 5, Vacanti discloses [Note: what Vacanti fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 1,
JALALI discloses,
wherein adjusting the beam direction relative to the aerial vehicle of the antenna includes adjusting the beam direction of the antenna through a rotation structure (see paragraph 0080, “It is further appreciated that vehicles travel on inclines and make turns, thus requiring real time adjustment to the vehicle antenna's beam. Airplanes also make turns along their routes, and even along a given route the airplanes go through roll, pitch and yaw motions. Therefore, the antenna fixture on the vehicle and the airplane is designed to steer its beam dynamically as the vehicle and/or airplane makes turns, or changes orientation. The antenna beam steering may be done mechanically or electronically.”, where mechanical beam steering is using “a rotation structure”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by JALALI into the invention of Vacanti. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose an aerial vehicle with a radar system which performs beam steering. Vacanti discloses the feature of performing electronics beam steering; however, fails to clearly disclose that mechanical beam steering (i.e. using a rotation structure) is also provided. This feature is disclosed by JALALI. The combination of Vacanti and JALALI would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enhance beam steering accuracy and thereby more efficiently perform specified beam steering operations.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vacanti (US 20180259641 A1) in view of Kreitmair-Steck et al. (US 20130265185 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Vacanti discloses [Note: what Vacanti fails to clearly disclose is strike-through]
The method according to claim 1, wherein:
the radar module is a first radar module (see paragraph 0032, “Radar system 10 may include one or more FMCW radar devices which may be mounted to a frame attached to aircraft 2. In the example of radar system 10 with two or more FMCW radar devices, the frame may be configured to hold the plurality of devices at an angle with respect to each other. The FMCW radar devices may include a plurality of transmit and receive arrays. The FMCW radar device may include transmit electronics and a transmit array including a plurality of transmit antenna elements. The transmit electronics with the transmit array may be configured to output FMCW transmit beam 42 electronically scan FMCW transmit beam 42 in the second illumination direction 46, which is in azimuth, or the horizontal beamwidth in the example of FIG. 1B.”); and
Kreitmair-Steck discloses,
the aerial vehicle further includes a second radar module configured to compensate a detection blind spot of the first radar module (see paragraph 0060, “According to FIG. 8 corresponding features are referred to with the references of FIG. 1-7. An adequate overlap of the scanning regions 7, 9 of two adjacent radar units 1, 3, each having a scanning amplitude of more than 120.degree., allows reduction of any blind regions 41, 42, 43 of the proximity warning system. The left hand and right hand radar sensors 1 and 3 each provide different blind regions at an empennage 44 and at a casing 45 for a tail rotor. The right hand radar sensor 1 provides blind regions 46, 47 at the empennage 44 and a blind region 48 at the casing 45 for the tail rotor. The left hand radar sensor 3 provides blind regions 49, 50 at the empennage 44 and a blind region 51 at the casing 45 for the tail rotor. The combination of both overlapping scanning regions 7, 9 of the radar sensors 1 and 3 results in smaller blind spot regions 41, 42, 43 compared to the blind regions 46-51 resulting from the individual radar sensors 1 and 3.”).
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features as disclosed by Kreitmair-Steck into the invention of Vacanti. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose an aerial vehicle with a radar system which performs beam steering. Kreitmair-Steck discloses the feature of unitizing multiple radar units on the aerial vehicle with specific units providing specified blind spot detection. The combination of Vacanti and Kreitmair-Steck would be obvious with a reasonable expectation of success in order to accurately detect obstacles within blind spots of the vehicle and thereby avoid collisions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KARLSSON et al. (US 20210021028 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system on an aerial vehicle where beam steering is performed based on the vehicles attitude (i.e. pose).
Holt et al. (US 20190064338 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system on an aerial vehicle where beam steering is performed electronically and mechanically.
Choi et al. (US 20190019423 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system on an aerial vehicle use to determine obstacles in the way of the vehicle’s flight path.
Dana et al. (US 20180246205 A1) is considered close pertinent art to the claimed invention as it discloses a radar system on an aerial vehicle to perform beam steering.
/NAZRA NUR WAHEED/Examiner, Art Unit 3648