DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the telescopic forklift must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation:
"each side wall"
in
line 5.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation:
"each side wall"
in
line 5.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 2-10 and 12-20:
the claims are rejected for depending from a rejected claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 3343693 A) in view of Weinmann (DE 19701242 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Becker teaches:
A mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine (10) rotator system (52) comprising:
(a) a frame comprising a top plate (132); a bottom plate (130) positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (133 & 134); and a gusset (142 & 143) connecting the side plates (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11), wherein the frame is configured to house each component of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system (Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13), and wherein each side wall comprises a hole configured to secure a tilt drive assembly to the frame (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10) [Column 6 Lines 53-75];
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output left arm (50) connected to a tilt output right arm (50) through a shaft (51), each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector (47), wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [Column 1 Lines 11-32 & Column 3 Lines 30-40 & Column 6 Lines 53-75 & Column 7 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 42-50]; and
(c) a rotatable mount (54) extending from the top plate in a direction pointing away from the bottom plate (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11), wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support [Column 3 Lines 41-75].
Becker does not teach:
the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine is a telescopic forklift;
the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame.
Weinmann teaches:
A construction forklift rotator system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) comprising:
(a) a frame comprising a top plate (2000); a plurality of side plates (7) [0006 & 0014 & 0021 & 0022]; wherein the frame is configured to support each component of the construction forklift rotator system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), and wherein each side wall comprises a hole configured to secure a tilt drive assembly (8 & 10 & 11 & 12 & 13 & 14 & 15 & 16 & 17) to the frame (9 & 9a);
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output left arm (14) connected to a tilt output right (14) arm through a truss (15) [0014 & 0015 & 0021 & 0022], each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector [bolts fastening sliding elements (17) to the plate (15)], wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2); and
(c) a rotatable mount (1 & 4 & 5 & 6) extending from the top plate in a direction pointing away from a bottom (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0012 & 0013].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a telescopic forklift in place of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine in order to provide a system with increased reach capable of operating in areas with lower traveling clearance and higher reach requirements since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of the equivalence of mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine and telescopic forklifts for their use in the construction and transportation art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to transport articles and material would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Becker teaches:
each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm further comprises two or more connectors (46 & 47) configured to secure the tilt drive assembly to a truss (42 & 43) (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10).
Weinmann also teaches:
each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm further comprises two or more connectors [bolts fastening sliding elements (17) to the truss (15)] configured to secure the tilt drive assembly to the truss (15).
Regarding Claim 3, Becker teaches:
a motor (155) mechanically connected to the frame and the tilt drive (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [Column 7 Lines 20-50]; the motor configured to:
provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame [Column 6 Lines 68-75 & Column 7 Lines 1-50].
Becker does not teach:
a motor mechanically connected to the frame and the rotatable mount; the motor configured to:
provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame.
Weinmann teaches:
a motor (5 & 8) mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2); the motor configured to:
provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame [0006 & 0015 & 0021]; and
provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame and the tilt drive to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame and provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Regarding Claim 4, Becker does not teach:
the rotatable mount comprises a cylindrical body and at least one bolt connection port.
Weinmann teaches:
the rotatable mount comprises a cylindrical body and at least one bolt connection port (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, where the rotatable mount comprises a cylindrical body and at least one bolt connection port taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Regarding Claim 5, Becker teaches:
a direct-attachment connector (31 & 54 & 55 & 56) attached to the top plate (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11).
Becker does not teach:
the direct-attachment connector attached to a rotatable mount.
Weinmann teaches:
a direct-attachment connector (1 & 9c & 9d) attached to the rotatable mount (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, and a direct-attachment connector attached to the top plate taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a direct-attachment connector attached to the rotatable mount taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Becker teaches:
A mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine (10) rotator system (52) comprising:
(a) a frame comprising a top plate (132); a bottom plate (130) positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (133 & 134); and a gusset (142 & 143) connecting the side plates (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11), wherein the frame is configured to house each component of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system (Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13), and wherein each side wall comprises a hole configured to secure a tilt drive assembly to the frame (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10) [Column 6 Lines 53-75];
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output left arm (50) connected to a tilt output right arm (50) through a shaft (51), each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector (47), wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11) [Column 1 Lines 11-32 & Column 3 Lines 30-40 & Column 6 Lines 53-75 & Column 7 Lines 1-6 & Column 7 Lines 42-50]; and
(c) a rotatable mount (54) extending from the top plate in a direction pointing away from the bottom plate (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11), wherein the rotatable mount comprises a cylindrical body and at least one bolt connection port and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support [Column 3 Lines 41-75]; and
(d) a connector (31) attached to the rotatable mount through the bolt connection port and configured to attach the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system to a mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine (Fig. 9) [Column 3 Lines 41-45].
Becker does not teach:
the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine is a telescopic forklift;
the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame.
Weinmann teaches:
A construction forklift rotator system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) comprising:
(a) a frame comprising a top plate (2000); a plurality of side plates (7) [0006 & 0014 & 0021 & 0022]; wherein the frame is configured to support each component of the construction forklift rotator system (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), and wherein each side wall comprises a hole configured to secure a tilt drive assembly (8 & 10 & 11 & 12 & 13 & 14 & 15 & 16 & 17) to the frame (9 & 9a);
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output left arm (14) connected to a tilt output right (14) arm through a truss (15) [0014 & 0015 & 0021 & 0022], each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector [bolts fastening sliding elements (17) to the plate (15)], wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2); and
(c) a rotatable mount (1 & 4 & 5 & 6) extending from the top plate in a direction pointing away from the bottom plate (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2), wherein the rotatable mount comprises a cylindrical body and at least one bolt connection port (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0012] and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0012 & 0013]; and
(d) a connector (9d) attached to the rotatable mount through the bolt connection port and configured to attach the construction forklift rotator system to a construction forklift (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0016].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a telescopic forklift in place of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine in order to provide a system with increased reach capable of operating in areas with lower traveling clearance and higher reach requirements since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE of the equivalence of mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine and telescopic forklifts for their use in the construction and transportation art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to transport articles and material would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Regarding Claim 14, Becker teaches:
the connector comprises a direct-attachment connector (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [Column 3 Lines 41-45].
Weinmann also teaches:
the connector comprises a direct-attachment connector (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2) [0016].
Regarding Claim 16, Becker teaches:
each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm further comprises two or more connectors (46 & 47) configured to secure the tilt drive assembly to a truss (42 & 43) (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10).
Weinmann also teaches:
each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm further comprises two or more connectors [bolts fastening sliding elements (17) to the truss (15)] configured to secure the tilt drive assembly to the truss (15).
Regarding Claim 17, Becker teaches:
a motor (155) mechanically connected to the frame and the tilt drive (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) [Column 7 Lines 20-50].
Becker does not teach:
a motor mechanically connected to the rotatable mount.
Weinmann teaches:
a motor (5 & 8) mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame and the tilt drive to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame and provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Regarding Claim 18, Becker teaches:
the motor is configured to
provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame [Column 6 Lines 68-75 & Column 7 Lines 1-50].
Becker does not teach:
the motor is configured to
provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame.
Weinmann teaches:
the motor is configured to
provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame [0006 & 0015 & 0021]; and
provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame and the tilt drive to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame taught by Becker with the construction forklift rotator system having a frame supporting each component of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system and a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame and provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame taught by Weinmann in order to provide a rotator system with an additional degree of rotation for positioning a tool in order to increase the utility of the system.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 3343693 A) in view of Weinmann (DE 19701242 A1) as applied to Claims 5 and 14 above, further in view of Wimmer et al. (US 20090255151 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Becker teaches:
the direct-attachment connector comprises:
a pair of side plates (54 & 55) connected to the top plate and extending outward form the top plate, the pair of side plates each comprising a connection opening (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12) [Column 6 Lines 53-67];
Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
a bottom plate connected to the rotatable mount through at least one bolt;
a spacer plate connected to and extending outward from the bottom plate; and
the spacer plate runs perpendicular to and connects the pair of side plates, the pair of side plates each comprising a hook.
Wimmer teaches:
a direct-attachment connector for connecting a tool [abstract] to a work machine [abstract], the direct-attachment connector comprises:
a bottom plate (19) connected to the a mount through at least one bolt (3000) [0036];
a spacer plate (3001) connected to and extending outward from the bottom plate (Fig. 3 & Fig. 7); and
a pair of side plates (18) connected to and extending outward form the bottom plate in a same direction as the spacer plate while the spacer plate runs perpendicular to and connects the pair of side plates (Fig. 3 & Fig. 7), the pair of side plates each comprising a hook (3’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a direct-attachment connector attached to the rotatable mount taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the direct-attachment connector for connecting a tool to a work machine having a bottom plate connected to the a mount through at least one bolt, a spacer plate connected to and extending outward from the bottom plate, and a pair of side plates connected to and extending outward form the bottom plate in a same direction as the spacer plate while the spacer plate runs perpendicular to and connects the pair of side plates, the pair of side plates each comprising a hook taught by Wimmer in order to provide a rotator system with quick connection system for reducing the time required to connect and disconnect the system thereby reducing working time of the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Becker teaches:
the direct-attachment connector comprises:
a pair of side plates (54 & 55) connected to the top plate and extending outward form the top plate, the pair of side plates each comprising a connection opening (Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 12) [Column 6 Lines 53-67];
Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
a bottom plate connected to the rotatable mount through at least one bolt;
a spacer plate connected to and extending outward from the bottom plate; and
the spacer plate runs perpendicular to and connects the pair of side plates, the pair of side plates each comprising a hook.
Wimmer teaches:
a direct-attachment connector for connecting a tool [abstract] to a work machine [abstract], the direct-attachment connector comprises:
a bottom plate (19) connected to the a mount through at least one bolt (3000) [0036];
a spacer plate (3001) connected to and extending outward from the bottom plate (Fig. 3 & Fig. 7); and
a pair of side plates (18) connected to and extending outward form the bottom plate in a same direction as the spacer plate while the spacer plate runs perpendicular to and connects the pair of side plates (Fig. 3 & Fig. 7), the pair of side plates each comprising a hook (3’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, a rotatable mount extending from the frame and provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a direct-attachment connector attached to the rotatable mount taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the direct-attachment connector for connecting a tool to a work machine having a bottom plate connected to the a mount through at least one bolt, a spacer plate connected to and extending outward from the bottom plate, and a pair of side plates connected to and extending outward form the bottom plate in a same direction as the spacer plate while the spacer plate runs perpendicular to and connects the pair of side plates, the pair of side plates each comprising a hook taught by Wimmer in order to provide a rotator system with quick connection system for reducing the time required to connect and disconnect the system thereby reducing working time of the system.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 3343693 A) in view of Weinmann (DE 19701242 A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, further in view of Cullen et al. (US 5642979 A).
Regarding Claim 7, Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
a fork-secure connector attached to the rotatable mount.
Cullen teaches:
A forklift rotator system comprising:
(a) a frame (49) comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 1-A); wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly (11) to the frame (Fig. 1-A & Fig. 3-A);
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support (Fig. 3-A) [hoist (11) cable], the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector (Fig. 3-A) [hook connected to hoist cable], wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation (18) for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 3-A); and
a fork-secure connector (20) attached to the tilt drive assembly (Fig. 1-A & Fig. 3-A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly, the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support, the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, and a fork-secure connector attached to the tilt drive assembly taught by Cullen in order to provide a rotator system with quick connection system for reducing the time required to connect and disconnect the system to another tool thereby allowing the use of two different tools with a reduced changeover time between the tools thereby reducing working time of the system.
Regarding Claim 8, Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
the fork-secure connector comprises:
a rectangular prismatic frame comprising a bottom surface that connects to the rotatable mount;
a plurality of fork plate gussets protruding outward from a top surface of the rectangular prismatic frame; and
at least one tie down lug protruding outward from a side of the rectangular prismatic frame in a direction pointing away from the bottom surface, the tie down lug configured to attach to a chain.
Cullen teaches:
the fork-secure connector comprises:
a rectangular prismatic frame comprising a surface that connects to the frame (Fig. 1-A);
a plurality of fork plate gussets (4000) protruding outward from a top surface of the rectangular prismatic frame (Fig. 1-A); and
at least one tie down lug (4001) protruding outward from a side of the rectangular prismatic frame in a direction pointing away from the bottom surface (Fig. 1-A), the tie down lug configured to attach to a chain (4002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly, the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support, the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, and a fork-secure connector attached to the tilt drive assembly having a rectangular prismatic frame comprising a surface that connects to the frame, a plurality of fork plate gussets protruding outward from a top surface of the rectangular prismatic frame, and at least one tie down lug protruding outward from a side of the rectangular prismatic frame in a direction pointing away from the bottom surface, the tie down lug configured to attach to a chain taught by Cullen in order to provide a rotator system with quick connection system for reducing the time required to connect and disconnect the system to another tool thereby allowing the use of two different tools with a reduced changeover time between the tools thereby reducing working time of the system.
Regarding Claim 12, Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
the connector comprises a fork-secure connector.
Cullen teaches:
A forklift rotator system comprising:
(a) a frame (49) comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 1-A); wherein each a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly (11) to the frame (Fig. 1-A & Fig. 3-A);
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support (Fig. 3-A) [hoist (11) cable], the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector (Fig. 3-A) [hook connected to hoist cable], wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation (18) for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 3-A); and
a fork-secure connector (20) attached to the tilt drive assembly (Fig. 1-A & Fig. 3-A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly, the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support, the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, and a fork-secure connector attached to the tilt drive assembly taught by Cullen in order to provide a rotator system with quick connection system for reducing the time required to connect and disconnect the system to another tool thereby allowing the use of two different tools with a reduced changeover time between the tools thereby reducing working time of the system.
Regarding Claim 13, Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
the fork-secure connector comprises:
a rectangular prismatic frame comprising a bottom surface that connects to the rotatable mount;
a plurality of fork plate gussets protruding outward from a top surface of the rectangular prismatic frame; and
at least one tie down lug protruding outward from a side of the rectangular prismatic frame in a direction pointing away from the bottom surface, the tie down lug configured to attach to a chain.
Cullen teaches:
A forklift rotator system comprising:
(a) a frame (49) comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 1-A); wherein each a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly (11) to the frame (Fig. 1-A & Fig. 3-A);
(b) the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support (Fig. 3-A) [hoist (11) cable], the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector (Fig. 3-A) [hook connected to hoist cable], wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation (18) for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame (Fig. 3-A); and
a fork-secure connector (20) attached to the tilt drive assembly (Fig. 1-A & Fig. 3-A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly, the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support, the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, and a fork-secure connector attached to the tilt drive assembly having a rectangular prismatic frame comprising a surface that connects to the frame, a plurality of fork plate gussets protruding outward from a top surface of the rectangular prismatic frame, and at least one tie down lug protruding outward from a side of the rectangular prismatic frame in a direction pointing away from the bottom surface, the tie down lug configured to attach to a chain taught by Cullen in order to provide a rotator system with quick connection system for reducing the time required to connect and disconnect the system to another tool thereby allowing the use of two different tools with a reduced changeover time between the tools thereby reducing working time of the system.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker (US 3343693 A) in view of Weinmann (DE 19701242 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 3 and 11 above, further in view of Smith (US 20070189882 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Becker teaches:
a hydraulic supply line (156 & 160 & 161) attached to an inside surface of the frame (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) and configured to provide hydraulic power to the motor [Column 7 Lines 20-50].
Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
a battery to provide electrical power to the motor.
Smith teaches:
A telescopic forklift rotator system (10) [0007] comprising:
(a) a frame (25) comprising a top plate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); wherein the frame is configured to house each control component of the telescopic forklift rotator system [0035],
(b) a tilt drive assembly (21) comprising a tilt output left arm connected to a tilt output right arm through a shaft (5000), each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector (22), wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame [0032];
(c) a rotatable mount (32), wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0032 & 0033]; and
a battery attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide electrical power to the motor [0005 & 0035 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame and provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame, with a hydraulic supply line attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide hydraulic power to the motor taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the A telescopic forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate, a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein the frame is configured to house each control component of the telescopic forklift rotator system, a tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output left arm connected to a tilt output right arm through a shaft, each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, a rotatable mount, wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a battery attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide electrical power to the motor taught by Smith in order to provide a rotator system having a power system with a power backup in order to control the system in the event of a shutdown to allow the article to be manipulated to a safe position thereby preventing failure of the power supply from causing damage to the article being handled.
Regarding Claim 10, Becker teaches:
a controller module (66) mounted proximate to the frame (Fig. 9) and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system [Column 3 Lines 73-75 & Column 4 Lines 1-18 & Column 5 Lines 1-19].
Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
the controller module attached to an inside surface of the frame.
Smith teaches:
A telescopic forklift rotator system (10) [0007] comprising:
(a) a frame (25) comprising a top plate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); wherein the frame is configured to house each control component of the telescopic forklift rotator system [0035],
(b) a tilt drive assembly (21) comprising a tilt output left arm connected to a tilt output right arm through a shaft (5000), each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector (22), wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame [0032];
(c) a rotatable mount (32), wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0032 & 0033]; and
a controller module (PLC) attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the telescopic forklift rotator system [0035 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, with a controller module mounted proximate to the frame and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly, the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support, the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, and a fork-secure connector attached to the tilt drive assembly, with a controller module attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the telescopic forklift rotator system taught by Smith in order to provide a rotator system having a control system which is local to the rotator system for ease of maintenance and a protective enclosure to prevent damage to the control system from elements or unintentional contact.
Regarding Claim 19, Becker teaches:
a controller module (66) mounted proximate to the frame (Fig. 9) and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system [Column 3 Lines 73-75 & Column 4 Lines 1-18 & Column 5 Lines 1-19].
Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
the controller module attached to an inside surface of the frame.
Smith teaches:
A telescopic forklift rotator system (10) [0007] comprising:
(a) a frame (25) comprising a top plate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); wherein the frame is configured to house each control component of the telescopic forklift rotator system [0035],
(b) a tilt drive assembly (21) comprising a tilt output left arm connected to a tilt output right arm through a shaft (5000), each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector (22), wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame [0032];
(c) a rotatable mount (32), wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0032 & 0033]; and
a controller module (PLC) attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the telescopic forklift rotator system [0035 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, with a controller module mounted proximate to the frame and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the mobile jointed-arm material handling construction machine rotator system taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate; a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein a wall comprises a means configured to secure a tilt drive assembly, the tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output support, the tilt output support comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, and a fork-secure connector attached to the tilt drive assembly, with a controller module attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide a user with control over each component of the telescopic forklift rotator system taught by Smith in order to provide a rotator system having a control system which is local to the rotator system for ease of maintenance and a protective enclosure to prevent damage to the control system from elements or unintentional contact.
Regarding Claim 20, Becker teaches:
a hydraulic supply line (156 & 160 & 161) attached to an inside surface of the frame (Fig. 12 & Fig. 13) and configured to provide hydraulic power to the motor [Column 7 Lines 20-50].
Becker in view of Weinmann does not teach:
a battery to provide electrical power to the motor.
Smith teaches:
A telescopic forklift rotator system (10) [0007] comprising:
(a) a frame (25) comprising a top plate (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3); wherein the frame is configured to house each control component of the telescopic forklift rotator system [0035],
(b) a tilt drive assembly (21) comprising a tilt output left arm connected to a tilt output right arm through a shaft (5000), each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector (22), wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame [0032];
(c) a rotatable mount (32), wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame [0032 & 0033]; and
a battery attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide electrical power to the motor [0005 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the construction forklift rotator system having a frame housing the driving components of the rotator system and a tilt drive assembly extending therefrom and driving a tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm for tilting a tool connected to the rotator system, and a rotatable mount extending from the frame where the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to machine support, and a motor mechanically connected to the frame, the tilt drive, and the rotatable mount to provide mechanical power for rotating the truss relative to the frame and provide mechanical power for rotating the rotatable mount relative to the frame, with a hydraulic supply line attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide hydraulic power to the motor taught by Becker in view of Weinmann with the A telescopic forklift rotator system having a frame comprising a top plate, a bottom plate positioned opposite the top plate and connected to the top plate by a plurality of side plates, wherein the frame is configured to house each control component of the telescopic forklift rotator system, a tilt drive assembly comprising a tilt output left arm connected to a tilt output right arm through a shaft, each of the tilt output left arm and tilt output right arm comprising a tilt connector, wherein the tilt drive assembly provides a first axis of rotation for the tilt drive assembly relative to the frame, a rotatable mount, wherein the rotatable mount provides a second axis of rotation for the rotatable mount relative to the frame, and a battery attached to an inside surface of the frame and configured to provide electrical power to the motor taught by Smith in order to provide a rotator system having a power system with a power backup in order to control the system in the event of a shutdown to allow the article to be manipulated to a safe position thereby preventing failure of the power supply from causing damage to the article being handled.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20090057019 A1, US 20130004265 A1, US 11905720 B2, and US 4542929 A have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: construction machine rotator systems.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652