DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the argument that “How does not disclose each and every element as recited in claim 1 and the amended claim 1”. How does indeed disclose a rug for a horse, however the rejection is not anticipatory, it is an obviousness type rejection. The examiner’s stance is that the teachings of How would be able to motivate one of ordinary skill to utilize such a pattern to minimize fly landings on any given surface not explicitly on horses. As such, the rejection in view of How has herein been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by the NPL titled, “Zebra stripes, tabanid biting flies and the aperture effect” from How, et al., provided on the PTO-892 mailed on 5/19/2025, herein referred to as How.
Re claim 1, How discloses method of preventing insects, comprising:
providing an insect prevention item (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the striped and checkered horse rugs), wherein a plurality of repeating patterns (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the darker fabric) and a plurality of spacer patterns (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the lighter fabric) are represented on a surface of the insect prevention item (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the pattern is located on the horse rugs for the experiment), each of the plurality of repeating patterns is spaced apart by each of the plurality of spacer patterns (again see fig. 2-6), each of the plurality of repeating patterns comprises an upper edge of a repeating pattern (fig. 2-6, the top of the patterns dark portions), and each of the plurality of spacer patterns comprises a lower edge of a spacer pattern (fig. 2-6, the bottom of the patterns light portions), the upper edge of the repeating pattern and the lower edge of the spacer pattern are opposite and isolated from each other (Methods, formed of separate fabrics), and wherein a viewing angle of one of the plurality of repeating patterns and one of the plurality of spacer patterns neighboring to the one of plurality of the repeating patterns is visualized on a plurality of ommatidia of a flying insect as less than twice an inter-ommatidial angle of the flying insect (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, specifically page 7, the conclusions of the experiment show the value of aliasing occurs when the interommatidial angle falls near half of the angular period which is why the flies initiated the fast turns approaching the pattern); and
disposing the insect prevention item on an outer site of a target item (fig. 2, the horse being the target of the flies).
How discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the insect prevention item comprises a shed, a tent, a bag, a fruit bagging or a combination thereof, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to employ the patterns disclosed in the experiment on surfaces of fly prone areas such as a fruit bag, a bag for protecting other plants or personal objects, on tents, etc., since it has been held that the selection of any aesthetics for ornamental purposes is a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 I.
Re claim 2, the modification How discloses the invention of claim 1, How further discloses wherein the flying insect comprises flies (Introduction, tabanids are the insect of interest within the experimentation).
Re claim 3, the modification of How discloses the invention of claim 1, How further discloses wherein the inter-ommatidial angle is an angle between a first central axis of a first ommatidia and a second central axis of a second ommatidia adjacent to the first ommatidia while the first central axis and the second central axis extend toward an intersection point (best visualized in fig. 3, as the flies approach the pattern), and the first central axis and the second central axis intersect with the insect prevention item respectively while extending in a direction of the insect prevention item (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, this angle occurs approximately 1m away from the pattern).
Re claim 4, the modification How discloses the invention of claim 3, How further discloses wherein the viewing angle is an angle between the upper edge of the repeating pattern and the lower edge of the spacer pattern while the upper edge of the repeating pattern and the lower edge of the spacer pattern extend toward the intersection point (best visualized in fig. 3, the flies approach the pattern from a side).
Re claim 5, the modification How discloses the invention of claim 1, How further discloses wherein when the flying insect is within 60 cm of the insect prevention item, the viewing angle of the one of the plurality of repeating patterns and the one of the plurality of spacer patterns neighboring to the one of plurality of the repeating patterns is visualized on the plurality of ommatidia of the flying insect as less than twice of the inter-ommatidial angle of each of the plurality of ommatidia of the flying insect (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, specifically page 7, at 1m, or approximately 70cm the flies make sharp turns, after flies pass the 1m mark the interommatidial angle is typically less than twice the ommatidia causing the aliasing effect and sharp turns as they approach the pattern decreasing the likely hood of landing thereon).
Re claim 8, the modification How discloses the invention of claim 1, How further discloses wherein each of the plurality of spacer patterns comprises a wavy/irregular shape (4. Discussion; lines 18-25 and page 7; lines 16-23, to form the contrast about the irregular circular pattern).
Re claim 9, the modification How discloses the invention of claim 1, How further discloses wherein the plurality of repeating patterns are a first repeating pattern (fig. 2-6, the top dark section), a second repeating pattern (fig. 2-6, the second dark section from the top) and a third repeating pattern in sequence (fig. 2-6, the third dark section from the top), wherein the first repeating pattern, the second repeating pattern and the third repeating pattern have the same shape, size and color (fig. 2-6 and Methods, they are all the same shape and the dark fabric on each rug), wherein the plurality of spacer patterns are a first spacer pattern (fig. 2-6, the top light section) and a second spacer pattern (fig. 2-6, the second light section from the top), the first repeating pattern is spaced apart from the second repeating pattern by the first spacer pattern (fig. 2-6), and the second repeating pattern is spaced apart from the third repeating pattern by the second spacer pattern (fig. 2-6), and the first spacer pattern and the second spacer pattern have different patterns (fig. 2-6, the checkered print have different square patterns from row to row).
Re claim 10, the modification How discloses the invention of claim 1, How further discloses wherein disposing the insect prevention item on the outer site of the target item comprises disposing the insect prevention item between the target item and the flying insect (fig. 2-6, the pattern is between the fly and horse).
Re claim 18, How discloses a method of preventing insects, comprising:
providing an insect prevention item (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the striped and checkered horse rugs), wherein a plurality of repeating patterns (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the darker fabric) and a plurality of spacer patterns (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the lighter fabric) are represented on a surface of the insect prevention item (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the pattern is located on the horse rugs for the experiment), each of the plurality of repeating patterns is spaced apart by each of the plurality of spacer patterns (again see fig. 2-6), each of the plurality of repeating patterns comprises an upper edge of a repeating pattern (fig. 2-6, the top of the patterns dark portions), and each of the plurality of spacer patterns comprises a lower edge of a spacer pattern (fig. 2-6, the bottom of the patterns light portions), the upper edge of the repeating pattern and the lower edge of the spacer pattern are opposite and isolated from each other (Methods, formed of separate fabrics), and wherein a viewing angle of one of the plurality of repeating patterns and one of the plurality of spacer patterns neighboring to the one of plurality of the repeating patterns is visualized on a plurality of ommatidia of a flying insect as less than twice an inter-ommatidial angle of the flying insect (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, specifically page 7, the conclusions of the experiment show the value of aliasing occurs when the interommatidial angle falls near half of the angular period which is why the flies initiated the fast turns approaching the pattern);
wherein the plurality of repeating patterns are a first repeating pattern (fig. 2-6, the top dark section), a second repeating pattern (fig. 2-6, the second dark section from the top) and a third repeating pattern in sequence (fig. 2-6, the third dark section from the top), wherein the first repeating pattern, the second repeating pattern and the third repeating pattern have the same shape, size and color (fig. 2-6 and Methods, they are all the same shape and the dark fabric on each rug), wherein the plurality of spacer patterns are a first spacer pattern (fig. 2-6, the top light section) and a second spacer pattern (fig. 2-6, the second light section from the top), the first repeating pattern is spaced apart from the second repeating pattern by the first spacer pattern (fig. 2-6), and the second repeating pattern is spaced apart from the third repeating pattern by the second spacer pattern (fig. 2-6), and the first spacer pattern and the second spacer pattern have different colors (fig. 2-6, the checkered print have different square patterns from row to row, thus different colorings are present for each pattern); and
disposing the insect prevention item on an outer site of a target item (fig. 2, the horse being the target of the flies).
Claim 11-13 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over How in view of the NPL from Blaho et al., titled “Spottier Targets Are Less Attractive to Tabanid Flies: On the Tabanid-Repellency of Spotty Fur Patterns,” https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3410892/; herein Bla.
Re claim 11, How discloses a method of preventing insects from staying in an area, comprising:
providing an insect prevention item (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the striped and checkered horse rugs), wherein a plurality of patterns side by side are represented on a surface of the insect prevention item (fig. 2-6 and Methods, the stripes and checkered patterns), each of the plurality of periodic patterns comprises a first unit cut line (along a first period of dark fabric) and a second unit cut line (along a first period of light fabric) opposite to the first unit cut line (the pattern sections oppose each other along an axis), wherein the first unit cut line and the second unit cut line are opposite and isolated from each other (wherein the unit cut line is anywhere but, the direct boarder of the two fabrics), and wherein a viewing angle of one of the plurality of patterns are visualized on a plurality of ommatidia of the flying insect as less than twice of an inter-ommatidial angle of each of the plurality of ommatidia of the flying insect (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, specifically page 7, the conclusions of the experiment show the value of aliasing occurs when the interommatidial angle falls near half of the angular period which is why the flies initiated the fast turns approaching the pattern); and
disposing the insect prevention item on an outer site of a target item (fig. 2, the horse being the target of the flies).
How fails to disclose a periodic pattern. However, Bla discloses a periodic pattern that (fig. 1, H16, the dark pattern being the repeating pattern).
The only distinction between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art fails to disclose a periodic pattern however, Bla discloses such structure. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the design of the pattern by utilizing a simple substitution of the known pattern taught by the prior art for the periodic pattern shown by Bla in order to obtain the predictable result of creating a high contrast surface for repelling tabanids. See MPEP 2143 I. (B).
The combination of How and Bla discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the insect prevention item comprises a shed, a tent, a bag, a fruit bagging or a combination thereof, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to employ the patterns disclosed in the experiment on surfaces of fly prone areas such as a fruit bag, a bag for protecting other plants or personal objects, on tents, etc., since it has been held that the selection of any aesthetics for ornamental purposes is a matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.04 I.
Re claim 12, the modification of How and Bla discloses the invention of claim 11, How further discloses wherein the inter-ommatidial angle is an angle between a first central axis of a first ommatidia and a second central axis of a second ommatidia adjacent to the first ommatidia while the first central axis and the second central axis extend toward an intersection point (best visualized in fig. 3, as the flies approach the pattern), and the first central axis and the second central axis intersect with the insect prevention item respectively while extending in a direction of the insect prevention item (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, this angle occurs approximately 1m away from the pattern).
Re claim 13, the modification of How and Bla discloses the invention of claim 12, the modification of How further discloses wherein the viewing angle is an angle between the first unit cut line and the second unit cut line while the first unit cut line and the second unit cut line extend toward the intersection point (best visualized in fig. 3, the flies approach the pattern from a side).
Re claim 15, the modification of How and Bla discloses the invention of claim 11, Bla as applied to How further discloses wherein the repeating pattern and the spacer pattern have different shapes, figures, sizes, and colors (again see fig. 1, H16).
Re claim 16, the modification of How and Bla discloses the invention of claim 15, Bla as applied to How further discloses wherein the repeating patterns of the plurality of periodic patterns neighboring to each other are spaced apart by the spacer pattern (again see fig. 1, H16).
Re claim 17, the modification of How discloses the invention of claim 11, the modification of How further discloses wherein when the flying insect is within 60 cm of the insect prevention item, the viewing angle of the one of the plurality of periodic patterns is visualized on the plurality of ommatidia of the flying insect as less than twice of the inter-ommatidial angle of each of the plurality of ommatidia of the flying insect (fig. 3-6 and Discussion, specifically page 7, at 1m, or approximately 70cm the flies make sharp turns, after flies pass the 1m mark the interommatidial angle is typically less than twice the ommatidia causing the aliasing effect and sharp turns as they approach the pattern decreasing the likely hood of landing thereon).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 14, the prior art of record fails to show or fairly render obvious the combined limitations of the invention specifically, wherein the flying insect is a bee and the corresponding first and second unit cut lines being 0.1-1 cm which is taught by the disclosure to induce an effect to prevent the bee from approaching the item (instant specification para 46). As such, the examiner has come to the determination that both alone or in combination the prior art of record it would not have been obvious to meet the overall claim without impermissible hindsight.
This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details of why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth. See MPEP 1302.14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE PAIGE MACCRATE/Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642