DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 12/4/2025. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Therefore claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowers (US 10,066,900 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Bowers discloses a handgun (fig. 2C), the handgun comprising: a handgun frame (fig. 2C); a handgun grip (fig. 2C) attached to the handgun frame and configured to be gripped by a trigger hand (fig. 5A) of a shooter; a thumb support (paddle 208) supported from the handgun frame adjacent to a lateral side (fig. 5B) of the handgun frame opposite from the trigger hand of the shooter; the thumb support pivotable (col. 2 lines 53 to 63) relative to the handgun frame between a collapsed position wherein the thumb support is folded up adjacent to the lateral side of the handgun frame and an extended position wherein the thumb support is pivoted away from the lateral side of the handgun frame (col. 2 lines 53 to 63); and the thumb support configured in the extended position to be engaged by a thumb of a non-trigger hand of the shooter in a two-handed grip of the handgun (fig. 5A-5C) wherein the thumbrest is operable to replace a component of the handgun.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Bowers discloses a thumbrest (paddle 208) for a handgun, the thumbrest comprising:
a support base (204 – fig. 3E) configured for mounting to the handgun;
a thumb support (paddle 208) pivotable relative to the support base between a collapsed position wherein the thumb support is folded up adjacent to the support base and an extended position wherein the thumb support is pivoted away from the support base (col. 2 lines 53 to 63);
a spring (spring 216) configured to bias the thumb support toward the extended position (col. 2 lines 53 to 63); and
a stop structure (fig. 4B) configured to limit pivotal movement of the thumb support to define the extended position.
Regarding claim 2, Bowers discloses the handgun of claim 1, wherein: in the collapsed position the thumb support is in a range of 0 degrees to 10 degrees measured with respect to the lateral side of the handgun frame (0 degrees as shown in fig. 4B); and in the extended position the thumb support is in a range of 70 degrees to 100 degrees measured with respect to the lateral side of the handgun frame (in use position shown in fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 3, Bowers discloses the handgun of claim 1, further comprising: a spring (216) configured to bias the thumb support toward the extended position; and a stop structure configured to limit pivotal movement of the thumb support to define the extended position (col. 2 lines 53 to 63).
Regarding claim 4, Bowers discloses the handgun of claim 1, further comprising: a hinge (224) configured to allow pivotable movement of the thumb support relative to the handgun frame.
Regarding claims 8 and 14, see the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claims 9 and 15, see the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
In the alternative, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bowers (US 10,066,900 B2).
Regarding claims 1-20, and particularly claims 5, 7, 10-12, and 16-20 Bowers discloses the claimed invention except he does not explicitly disclose the exact recited arrangement or shapes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the same arrangement, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70, or to have the same shapes, since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12117262. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims (at least claim 1) appear to be broader than the prior patent claims.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant amended independent claims 1 and 12 to recite that the thumbrest is “operable to replace a component of the handgun” or “operable to replace a traditional handgun component without the thumb support.” Applicant asserts that this feature distinguishes the claims over the applied prior art.
The arguments are not persuasive.
Bowers discloses a thumbrest apparatus that is mounted to the handgun in place of, or instead of, existing handgun components located at the same mounting interface (see, e.g., Bowers figs. 3A–3E, 4A–4C, 6A–6C). In particular, Bowers discloses an elongated support member and associated structures that functionally replace conventional handgun hardware at the frame/slide interface while providing a pivotable thumb support.
The newly added limitation that the thumbrest is “operable to replace a component of the handgun” is functional in nature and does not impose any positive structural limitation distinguishing the claimed apparatus from Bowers. Functional language that merely states an intended use or result does not render the claim patentably distinct where the prior art structure is capable of performing the recited function. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Further, the newly added limitation that the thumbrest is “operable to replace a component of the handgun” does not impose a structural distinction over Bowers. Dependent claims further define the alleged replacement as involving a slide-lock-type structure, which Bowers already discloses. Therefore, the amendment merely states an intended capability of the disclosed structure and does not exclude the applied reference.
Applicant argues that the amended claims recite structural differences sufficient to overcome obviousness. This argument is not persuasive.
As discussed above, the added “replace a component” limitation is functional and does not require any structure not already disclosed or suggested by Bowers. To the extent applicant contends that Bowers does not expressly disclose every claimed shape, contour, or arrangement, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosed structures, since rearranging parts or altering shapes without changing their function involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019 (CCPA 1950); Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous, 261 F.2d 804 (CCPA 1958).
Applicant has not identified any critical structural feature or unexpected result that would overcome the prima facie case of obviousness.
Accordingly, the § 103 rejection is maintained.
Applicant has not filed a terminal disclaimer, nor have the amended claims been shown to be patentably distinct from the reference claims. The amendments do not narrow the claims in a manner that avoids overlap with the reference patent. At least independent claim 1 remains coextensive with or broader than the claims of the reference patent.
Accordingly, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
*Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant. Applicant is welcome to file an electronic communication authorization (sb439) form at any time if he/she would like to communicate via e-mail:
https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdfWithout a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via Internet e-mail to any Internet correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122. A paper copy of such correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application.
/MICHAEL D DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641