Detail Action
This office action is in response to the application filed on 4/15/2024.
Preliminary amendment filed on 8/16/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakra (“Advancing Performance Benchmarking and Co-design using Standardized Execution Trace“, per IDS) in view of ENRICI (US 2022/0345535 Al).
Per claim 1,
Chakra discloses
receiving, at a test platform, a graph-based representation of AI/ML workload execution comprising a collective communication node; (pp. 5, see ML framework collecting execution traces of ML model…identify communication nodes in PyTorch, “3.3.3” see execution graphs, “3.3.1-2” discloses multi-nodes execution )
implementing, by the test platform, graph-based representation of AI/ML workload in an emulated test case using an emulation engine. (section 3.3 discloses simulating and emulating using execution graph. Chakra section “5.4 Test Case generator” for generating test case)
Chakra does not, however, ENRICI discloses
expanding, by the test platform, the collective communication node by replacing a collective communication operation of the collective communication node with low-level processing instructions; ([0080], disclose partition data-flow graph G of a ML application into sets of nodes and edges…send/receive primitives…create a graph G’ that is reducible, where G’ is modified from G and it is reducible corresponding to expanded; see also [0081-0099])
generating, by the test platform, a modified graph-based representation of AI/ML workload execution comprising the low-level processing instructions(continue, graph G’ corresponds to modified graph comprising low-level instructions)
implementing, modified graph-based representation of AI/ML workload (see above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of ENRICI into the teachings of Chakra to include the limitation disclosed by ENRICI. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to evaluate performance of scheduling solutions as suggested by ENRICI ([0114])
Per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
wherein the low-level processing instructions comprise send and receive primitives. (ENRICI, [0080], send/receive primitives)
Per claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
wherein expanding the collective communication node comprises replacing the collective communication node with send and receive nodes. (ENRICI, [0083-84], see transform graph G into graph G’ with new nodes and edges)
Per claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
displaying a representation of the expanded collective communication node for a single rank. (ENRICI , [0080], disclose partitioned graph G’ where nodes are subgraphs of graph G. [0114], see single partitioned graph G’. [0121] see user output devic
Per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
comprising defining a collective communication algorithm based on the low-level processing instructions, wherein the emulated test case uses the collective communication algorithm. (ENRICI, [0079-0080], discloses partitioning attempts to match the same objective function and therefore the same communication algorithm.)
Per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
reporting at least one performance metric from the executed emulated test case. (Chakra, see “6 USE CASES…benchmark to generate…performance and system-level metrics)
Per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
wherein the low-level processing instructions are based on the collective communication operation. (ENRICI , [0079-0080], see objective function corresponding to collective communication operation partitioned into send/receive primitives.)
Per claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
comprising revising the low-level processing instructions to define a revised collective communication algorithm. (ENRICI, [0080], discloses selecting a different algorithm corresponding to revision of via repeating)
Per claims 10-17, see rejections of claims 1-8.
Per claims 19-20, see rejections of claims 1 and 3.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakra (“Advancing Performance Benchmarking and Co-design using Standardized Execution Trace“, per IDS) in view of ENRICI (US 2022/0345535 Al) and further in view of Tellado et al. (US 20180249406 A1)
Per claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated.
Chakra/ ENRICI discloses
a first executed emulated test case using the low-level processing instructions based on the collective communication operation and from a second executed emulated test case using the revised collective low-level processing instructions. ([0080] discloses different algorithm corresponding a first and a second emulated test cases.)
Chakra/ ENRICI does not, however, Tellado discloses
comparing performance metrics of the first and second test cases.( [0033], disclose performance metrics of selected test cases are compared. [0065] so as to select the best metrics.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tellado into the teachings of Chakra/ ENRICI to include the limitation disclosed by Tellado. The modification would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to want to select the best metrics as suggested by Tellado ([0065])
Per claim 18, see rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PHILIP WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199