DETAILED ACTION
I. Introduction
This Office action addresses U.S. reissue application number 18/640,631 (“’631 Reissue Application” or “instant application”), having a filing date of 19 April 2024. Because the instant application was filed on or after September 16, 2012, the statutory provisions of the America Invents Act (“AIA ”) will govern this proceeding.
The instant application is a reissue of U.S. Patent 8,170,394 (“’394 patent”) titled “MULTIMEDIA PLAYER DISPLAYING OPERATION PANEL DEPENDING ON CONTENTS”, which issued on 1 May 2012 with claims 1-9 (“issued claims”). The application resulting in the ‘394 patent was filed on 23 August 2006 and assigned U.S. patent application number 11/508,209 (“’209 application”).
II. Other Proceedings
On 13 October 2017, applicant Maxell, Ltd. filed a complaint1 against Blackberry Corporation and BlackBerry Ltd., alleging infringement of the claims of several patents, including the ‘394 patent. The litigation was dismissed on 22 April 2019.
On 15 October 2018, BlackBerry Corporation filed a petition for Inter Partes Review (“IPR”)2 of claims 2-9 of the ‘394 patent. On 29 March 2019, the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (“PTAB”) issued a Decision Granting Institution of the IPR. The IPR was terminated on 29 April 2019 following a joint motion to terminate the proceeding due to settlement.
On 30 March 2022, applicant Maxell, Ltd. filed a complaint3 against Lenovo Group, Ltd., Lenovo (United States) Inc., and Motorola Mobility LLC, alleging infringement of the claims of several patents, including the ‘394 patent. The litigation was dismissed on 29 June 2023.
On 28 April 2022, the U.S. International Trade Commission (“USITC”) instituted an investigation 4 (see Fed. Reg. Vol. 87, No. 86, pages 26373-4, 4 May 2022), based upon a complaint, filed by applicant Maxell, Ltd., alleging violations of section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930 by Lenovo Group Ltd., Lenovo (United States) Inc., and Motorola Mobility LLC, by reason of infringement of certain claims of several patents, including claims 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 of the ‘394 patent. The investigation was terminated on 23 September 2022.
On 16 August 2022, the U.S. International Trade Commission (“USITC”) instituted an investigation5 (see Fed. Reg. Vol. 87, No. 161, pages 51445-6, 22 August 2022), based upon a complaint, filed by applicant Maxell, Ltd., alleging violations of section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930 by Lenovo Group Ltd., Lenovo (United States) Inc., and Motorola Mobility LLC, by reason of infringement of certain claims of several patents, including claims 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 of the ‘394 patent. The investigation was terminated on 26 July 2023.
On 18 August 2022, Motorola Mobility LLC filed a petition for Inter Partes Review (“IPR”)6 of claims 2-9 of the ‘394 patent. On 24 February 2023, the PTAB issued a Decision Granting Institution of the IPR. On 23 June 2023, Petitioner and Patent Owner filed a joint motion to terminate the IPR due to a license agreement. On 7 July, after joinder with IPR2023-00316, the PTAB issued an order terminating the proceedings with respect to petitioner Motorola Mobility LLC.
On 17 October 2022, the U.S. International Trade Commission (“USITC”) instituted an investigation 7 (see Fed. Reg. Vol. 87, No. 203, page 64110, 21 October 2022), based upon a complaint, filed by applicant Maxell, Ltd., alleging violations of section 337 of the Tariff Act of 1930 by VIZIO Inc., by reason of infringement of certain claims of several patents, including claims 2, 4, 5, 7, and 8 of the ‘394 patent. The investigation was terminated on 1 October 2023.
On 3 March 2023, VIZIO, Inc. filed a petition for Inter Partes Review (“IPR”)8 of claims 2-9 of the ‘394 patent, along with a petition for joinder to IPR2022-01348. On 6 July 2023, the PTAB issued a decision granting institution of IPR and the motion for joinder. The IPR was terminated on 13 September 2023 following a joint motion to terminate the proceeding due to settlement.
III. Priority
The ‘209 application claims priority to Japanese application JP 2005-248576, filed 30 August 2005. The Office notes that the priority claim has not been perfected through the filing of a certified English language translation of the Japanese priority document, which would establish enablement and written description support for the claims, as well as establishing the precise priority date for any given feature/limitation/claim. See MPEP §§ 216 and 2136(a)(II).
As a reissue application, the instant application is entitled to the priority date of the ’394 patent, the patent being reissued. That being the case, applicants are entitled to a priority date of 30 August 2005, the effective filing date of the ‘209 application, to the extent that the claims are fully supported by the foreign priority application. The priority dates will be determined on a claim-by-claim basis as necessary.
Because the effective filing date of the instant application is not on or after March 16, 2013, the AIA First Inventor to File (“AIA -FITF”) provisions do not apply. Instead, the earlier ‘First to Invent’ provisions will apply.
IV. Claim Construction
During examination, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. See MPEP § 2111 et seq.
Upon review of the original specification and prosecution history, the examiner has found no instances where applicants have included lexicographic definitions, either express or implied. Therefore, for the purposes of claim interpretation, the examiner concludes that there are no claim terms for which applicant is acting as their own lexicographer. See MPEP § 2111.01(IV).
If applicant intended lexicographic definitions that have not been identified as such by the examiner, they are asked to note the term and the location in the specification or prosecution history supporting the lexicographic definition in response to this Office action.
Additionally, upon review of the pending claims, the examiner finds no instances where the claim terms explicitly include functional language which would invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph.
appreciation term
With respect to the claim limitation “appreciation term”, this limitation is not explicitly defined in applicant’s disclosure, although the specification does include the following:
“FIG. 13 shows examples of the attributes and language analysis results. Information on data added digital broadcasting includes up-to-date news, weather forecast and the like. These contents have a nature of an appreciation term and it is difficult to consider that these contents are referred to after, e.g., one month. In this embodiment, therefore, a content appreciation term is set beforehand in accordance with record days and times and information on the contents.” (emphasis added)
In addition, during original prosecution, in response to a rejection9 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) (citing the limitation “appreciation term of said digital contents”), applicant amended10 the claim to read “appreciation term indicating a life span of said digital contents.”
In view of this information, the Office will construe the term “appreciation term” as meaning “a length of time that a given digital content remains relevant to and accessible by a user.”
reproducer and output unit
With respect to the claimed “output unit”, the Office notes that the only “output unit” disclosed is the data input/output control unit 2 in the drawing figures. With respect to the claimed “reproducer”, this term does not appear anywhere in applicant’s disclosure.
However, it is also noted that all of the independent claims include a reproducer for reproducing the content after it has been decoded, and an output unit to output the reproduced content as outputted video content.
Also relevant is the output portion of the drawing Figures, reproduced herein:
Given the claim limitations and contents of applicant’s disclosure, the Office will construe the claimed reproducer as analogous to the disclosed Image Rendering Unit 7. Since the claimed output unit outputs the reproduced digital video content, it is construed as a final stage of Image Rendering Unit 7, producing the output signal representing the “outputted digital video content”, represented in the drawing Figures as the arrow leaving Image Rendering Unit 7, and labeled “Image Output”.
The Office also notes that over the course of several IPRs and US International Trade Commission investigations, the proper construction of several claim terms was at issue.
distinct panels (claim 2)
mutually different (claim 4)
mutually differing functions (claim 7)
These limitations were incorporated into the claims to overcome a rejection11 wherein the prior art taught a panel having several buttons, and whereby in different situations, a subset of buttons were available for selection, with the remaining “unusable” buttons grayed out or otherwise disabled.
It has been argued that these limitations should be construed to require that all buttons and functions of the respective panels are “mutually different”, while applicant has argued that properly construed, the limitations would allow some buttons and/or functions to be common between the panels, as long as there is at least one button/function on each panel that the other panel does not include.
It has been also argued that applicant’s remarks12 supporting the claim amendment amounted to an express disavowal of claim scope, such that all buttons and functions of the panels must be mutually exclusive, because applicant “clearly and unmistakenly argu[ed] that the alleged invention comprises ‘operation panels’ having no shared buttons or functions.”13 However, upon review of the applicant’s remarks filed with the amendment of 8 December 2011, there appears to have been no such argument made, and so no express disavowal of claim scope.
It is also noted that at the same time the limitations at issue were incorporated into the claims, new dependent claims were also added14, including the limitations that “all the buttons are mutually different from each other” (claim 16, emphasis added, issued as claim 5), and “all the buttons of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, provide mutually differing functions from each other” (claim 19, emphasis added, issued as claim 8). These dependent claims seem to reflect the scope that has been argued should be accorded to their respective parent claims.
In view of the dependent claims cited above, the doctrine of claim differentiation supports a broader interpretation. The Federal Circuit has pointed out that “[i]t is highly disfavored to construe terms in a way that renders them void, meaningless, or superfluous.”15 Were the limitations here to be accorded the narrower interpretation, however, dependent claims 5 and 8 would indeed be rendered “void, meaningless, or superfluous.”
The Office therefore adopts the broader construction, that some buttons and/or functions can be common between the panels, as long as there is at least one button/function on each panel that the other panel does not include, and not requiring that all buttons and functions of the panels must be mutually exclusive.
All remaining claim limitations will be construed in accordance with their ordinary and customary meaning under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard.
V. Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement, filed 7 April 2026, has been received and entered into the record. Since the Information Disclosure Statement complies with the provisions of MPEP § 609, the references cited therein have been considered by the examiner. See attached form PTO-1449.
VI. Applicant’s Response
Applicant’s response (“Response”), filed 26 May 2026, has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
The Response includes a new reissue declaration, amendments to the specification and claims, and remarks.
Applicant has amended claims 2, 4, 7, 14, 17, 20, 25, 28, 31, 36, 39, 45, 48, 51, 56, 59, 62, 67, 70, 76, 79, 82, 87, 90, 93, 98, and 101, canceled claims 1, 11-13, 15-16, 18-19, 22-24, 26, 27, 29, 30, 33-35, 37, 38, 40, 42-44, 46, 47, 49, 50, 53-55, 57, 58, 60, 61, 64-66, 68, 69, 71, 73-75, 77, 78, 80, 81, 84-86, 88, 89, 91, 92, 95-97, 99, 100, and 102, and added new claims 103-111. Claims 2-10, 14, 17, 20, 21, 25, 28, 31, 32, 36, 39, 41, 45, 48, 51, 52, 56, 59, 62, 63, 67, 70, 72, 76, 79, 82, 83, 87, 90, 93, 94, 98, 101, and 103-111 are now pending in the application.
VII. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response includes a number of arguments. They are addressed in turn below.
Specification
In view of applicant’s amendment to the specification, the pending objection is withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)
In view of applicant’s amendment to the claims, the pending rejections are withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
In view of applicant’s amendment to the claims, the pending rejections are withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d)
In view of applicant’s amendment to the claims, the pending rejections are withdrawn.
Reissue Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of applicant’s new reissue declaration. Although deficient for lacking a signature, the new reissue declaration has been considered on the merits and found to be otherwise compliant.
Double Patenting
In view of applicant’s amendment to the claims, the pending rejections are withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues that in view of the amendment to the claims, the pending rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 should be withdrawn.
The Office respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, applicant argues (Response, pages 52-54) that the incorporation of the limitations of dependent claims 18, 29, 40, 49, 60, 71, 80, 91, and 102, with respect to the inclusion of appreciation term as part of the attribute information, into their respective independent claims, along with the new limitation that the controller is configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is interactive content distinguishes over the prior art of record.
However, the Office notes that the independent claims already include the limitation “display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen when the outputted digital video content is interactive content.”
Since the existing limitation includes the display of the interactive content operation panel when interactive content is displayed (i.e., anytime interactive content is displayed, the interactive content operation panel is also displayed), the new limitation fails to limit the claim in any way, since it is directed to the same display of the interactive content operation panel when interactive content is displayed, for a subset of the time (appreciation term) that the interactive content operation panel and interactive content are already displayed.
In other words, since the claim includes the limitation that the interactive content operation panel is displayed anytime that interactive content is displayed, adding the limitation that the interactive content operation panel is displayed during the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is interactive content does not further limit the claim.
VIII. Reissue Declaration
The reissue oath/declaration filed with this application is defective (see 37 CFR § 1.175 and MPEP § 1414) because it has not been executed by the assignee of the entire interest, as required by 37 C.F.R. § 1.175(c). This renders the reissue declaration defective.
A new reissue declaration is required in response to this Office action.
IX. Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 251
Claims 2-10, 14, 17, 20, 21, 25, 28, 31, 32, 36, 39, 41, 45, 48, 51, 52, 56, 59, 62, 63, 67, 70, 72, 76, 79, 82, 83, 87, 90, 93, 94, 98, 101, and 103-111 are rejected as being based upon a defective reissue declaration under 35 U.S.C. § 251 as set forth above. See 37 CFR § 1.175.
The nature of the defect(s) in the declaration is set forth in the discussion above in this Office action.
X. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-10, 14, 17, 20, 21, 25, 28, 31, 32, 36, 39, 41, 45, 48, 51, 52, 56, 59, 62, 63, 67, 70, 72, 76, 79, 82, 83, 87, 90, 93, 94, 98, 101, and 103-111 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 7,293,276 to Rick Phillips et al. (“Phillips”) in view of U.S. Patent 5,850,218 to Mike L. LaJoie et al. (“LaJoie”) in view of U.S. Patent 6,038,545 to Richard D. Mandeberg et al. (“Mandeberg”).
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a data recorder (see disclosure of recording device 62, Fig. 2, and col. 10, lines 7-39; see also recording device 66, Fig. 3, and col. 10, line 40 through col. 11, line 32);
b) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
c) an input unit which inputs digital video content, wherein the digital video content corresponds to content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that the input/output 58 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 58, Fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 23-32; see also disclosure that input/output 70 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 70, Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 48-53; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
d) a content decoder for decoding the digital video content (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
e) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
f) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
g) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
h) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
i) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other, which are not generated by a disabling of buttons, and which are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above); and
j) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
k) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
l) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are alternately switched between each other in a same panel rendering area of the screen as alternative operation panels (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9; see also exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48; note that both disclosed operation panels are displayed in the lower part of the display (i.e., the claimed panel rendering area)).
While Phillips does not explicitly teach that the linear content operation panel and interactive content operation panel are common in size, it would have been obvious to include such a feature. The Office notes that changes in size and/or proportion are not patentable distinctions where the claimed device does not perform differently than the prior art device (see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)).
Claim 4
With respect to claim 4, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a data recorder (see disclosure of recording device 62, Fig. 2, and col. 10, lines 7-39; see also recording device 66, Fig. 3, and col. 10, line 40 through col. 11, line 32);
b) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
c) an input unit which inputs digital video content, wherein the digital video content corresponds to content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that the input/output 58 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 58, Fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 23-32; see also disclosure that input/output 70 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 70, Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 48-53; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
d) a content decoder for decoding the digital video content (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
e) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
f) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
g) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
h) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
i) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other and are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above), and buttons of the linear content operation panel are mutually different from buttons of the interactive content operation panel (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a); and
j) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
k) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
l) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 5
With respect to claim 5, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus of claim 4, wherein all the buttons are mutually different from each other (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are all mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a).
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus of claim 4, wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are alternately switched between each other in a same panel rendering area of the screen as alternative operation panels (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9; see also exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48; note that both disclosed operation panels are displayed in the lower part of the display (i.e., the claimed panel rendering area)).
While Phillips does not explicitly teach that the linear content operation panel and interactive content operation panel are common in size, it would have been obvious to include such a feature. The Office notes that changes in size and/or proportion are not patentable distinctions where the claimed device does not perform differently than the prior art device (see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)).
Claim 7
With respect to claim 7, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a data recorder (see disclosure of recording device 62, Fig. 2, and col. 10, lines 7-39; see also recording device 66, Fig. 3, and col. 10, line 40 through col. 11, line 32);
b) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
c) an input unit which inputs digital video content, wherein the digital video content corresponds to content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that the input/output 58 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 58, Fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 23-32; see also disclosure that input/output 70 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 70, Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 48-53; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
d) a content decoder for decoding the digital video content (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
e) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
f) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
g) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
h) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
i) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other and are displayed with the same outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above), and buttons of the linear content operation panel produce mutually differing functions from functions of buttons of the interactive content operation panel (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a); and
j) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
k) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
l) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 8
With respect to claim 8, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus of claim 7, wherein all the buttons of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, provide mutually differing functions from each other (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which produce mutually different functions from the functions of buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a).
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus of claim 7, wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are alternately switched between each other in a same panel rendering area of the screen as alternative operation panels (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9; see also exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48; note that both disclosed operation panels are displayed in the lower part of the display (i.e., the claimed panel rendering area)).
While Phillips does not explicitly teach that the linear content operation panel and interactive content operation panel are common in size, it would have been obvious to include such a feature. The Office notes that changes in size and/or proportion are not patentable distinctions where the claimed device does not perform differently than the prior art device (see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)).
Claim 20
With respect to claim 20, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
b) an input unit which inputs digital video content via the network connector (see disclosure that the system may access on-line program guide information and other information from server 36 via communications path 42 and communication network 34, col. 7, lines 44-55);
c) a content decoder for decoding the digital video content (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
d) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20);
e) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20);
f) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
g) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
h) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other, which are not generated by a disabling of buttons, and which are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above); and
i) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
j) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
k) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 31
With respect to claim 31, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a data recorder (see disclosure of recording device 62, Fig. 2, and col. 10, lines 7-39; see also recording device 66, Fig. 3, and col. 10, line 40 through col. 11, line 32);
b) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
c) an input unit which inputs digital video content, wherein the digital video content corresponds to content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that the input/output 58 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 58, Fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 23-32; see also disclosure that input/output 70 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 70, Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 48-53; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
d) a content decoder for decoding the content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
e) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
f) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
g) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is at least within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
h) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
i) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other, which are not generated by a disabling of buttons, and which are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above); and
j) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area at least within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area at least within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
k) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
l) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 51
With respect to claim 51, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
b) an input unit which inputs digital video content via the network connector (see disclosure that the system may access on-line program guide information and other information from server 36 via communications path 42 and communication network 34, col. 7, lines 44-55);
c) a content decoder for decoding the digital video content (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
d) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20);
e) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20);
f) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
g) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
h) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other and are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above), and buttons of the linear content operation panel are mutually different from buttons of the interactive content operation panel (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a); and
i) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
j) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
k) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 62
With respect to claim 62, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a data recorder (see disclosure of recording device 62, Fig. 2, and col. 10, lines 7-39; see also recording device 66, Fig. 3, and col. 10, line 40 through col. 11, line 32);
b) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
c) an input unit which inputs digital video content, wherein the digital video content corresponds to content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that the input/output 58 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 58, Fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 23-32; see also disclosure that input/output 70 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 70, Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 48-53; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
d) a content decoder for decoding the content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
e) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
f) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
g) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is at least within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
h) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
i) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other and are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above), and buttons of the linear content operation panel are mutually different from buttons of the interactive content operation panel (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a); and
j) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area at least within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area at least within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
k) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
l) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 82
With respect to claim 82, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
b) an input unit which inputs digital video content via the network connector (see disclosure that the system may access on-line program guide information and other information from server 36 via communications path 42 and communication network 34, col. 7, lines 44-55);
c) a content decoder for decoding the digital video content (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
d) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20);
e) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20);
f) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is within a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
g) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
h) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other and are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above), and buttons of the linear content operation panel produce mutually differing functions from functions of buttons of the interactive content operation panel (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a); and
i) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel, wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area at least within the top half of the display and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area within the bottom half of the display (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
j) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
k) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claim 93
With respect to claim 93, Phillips teaches a digital content reproducing apparatus (see disclosure of an interactive television system that can provide video recorder functions, video-on-demand functions, and program guide services, as well as generate screens of interactive television information, col. 1, line 55 through col. 2, line 16; see also User Equipment 18, Fig. 1) as claimed, the apparatus comprising:
a) a data recorder (see disclosure of recording device 62, Fig. 2, and col. 10, lines 7-39; see also recording device 66, Fig. 3, and col. 10, line 40 through col. 11, line 32);
b) a network connector configured to connect to a network (see disclosure that user equipment 18 may include user television equipment 20 or user computer equipment 22, col. 6, lines 51-55 and Fig. 1; see also communication links 42, 46, 48, connecting user equipment 18, user television equipment 20, and user computer equipment 22 with communications network 34, Fig. 1);
Phillips, Figure 1
c) an input unit which inputs digital video content, wherein the digital video content corresponds to content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that the input/output 58 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 58, Fig. 2 and col. 9, lines 23-32; see also disclosure that input/output 70 may be connected to communications paths, and that television programming and other information may be received using input/output 70, Fig. 3 and col. 10, lines 48-53; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
d) a content decoder for decoding the content recorded by the data recorder (see disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain digital decoding circuitry for receiving digital television and music channels, col. 9, lines 36-38; see disclosure that set-top box 60 may be an integrated receiver decoder [IRD] that handles satellite television, col. 9, lines 40-42; see also disclosure that set-top box 60 may contain circuitry for handling cable, over-the-air broadcast, and satellite content, col. 9, lines 42-43);
e) a reproducer which reproduces the inputted digital video content after it has been decoded (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6:
Phillips, Figure 6
see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
f) an output unit which outputs the reproduced digital video content as outputted digital video content (see disclosure of control circuitry 106, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that control circuitry 106 may be based on any suitable processing circuitry 110 such as processing circuitry based on one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, digital signal processors, programmable logic devices, etc., col. 13, line 65 through col. 14, line 1; see also disclosure that circuitry 106 may include tuning circuitry such as one or more analog tuners, one or more MPEG-2 decoders, other digital video circuitry, or any other suitable tuning or video circuits or combinations of such circuits, col. 14, lines 5-9; see also disclosure that the tuning and encoding circuitry may be used by the user equipment to receive and display or play or record a particular television or music channel or other desired audio or video content, col. 14, lines 11-14; see also disclosure that television programming and other video and on-screen options and information may be displayed on display 114, which may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20; see also disclosure that the output of the recording device 62 may be provided to television 64 for display to the user, col. 10, lines 29-30);
g) a display (see display 114, Fig. 6; see also disclosure that display 114 may be a monitor, a television, or any other suitable equipment for displaying visual images, col. 14, lines 16-20) having a first display area and a second display area, wherein the first display area is at least within a top half of the display and the second display area is in a bottom half of the display, the first display area being relatively larger than the second display area (see Fig. 9:
Phillips Figure 9
see also disclosure of flip display 153 (i.e., the claimed second display area), which allows the user to view program information for the channel that the user is currently viewing on display screen 154 (i.e., the claimed first display area), and is displayed at a location on the periphery of the reduced-size video, such as at the bottom of the display, col. 16, lines 40-51);
h) wherein the display is further configured to display the outputted digital video content concurrently together with an alternative display of operation panels, wherein the alternative display comprises one of:
1) a linear content operation panel allowing user-instruction regarding linear reproduction functions of the outputted digital video content (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9
Phillips Figure 21
); and
2) an interactive content operation panel allowing user-instruction of interactive functions to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48;
Phillips Figure 17a
note that option 238, to “buy” content, or option 234, to view a clip of the video, would require the function to operate “to an outside of the digital content reproducing apparatus”);
i) wherein the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel are distinct panels from each other and are displayed with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content (see distinct panels illustrated in Figs. 21 and 17a above), and buttons of the linear content operation panel produce mutually differing functions from functions of buttons of the interactive content operation panel (see option buttons 271 on the display of Fig. 21, which are mutually different from buttons 234, 235, 237, and 238 of Fig. 17a); and
j) a controller (see processing circuitry 110, Fig. 6) configured to control the alternative display of the linear content operation panel and the interactive content operation panel wherein only one of the linear content operation panel or the interactive content operation panel is displayed exclusively at any given time, together with the outputted digital video content depending on whether the outputted digital video content is linear content or interactive content, wherein the display is further configured to:
A) display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the linear content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is linear content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area and the linear content operational panel is displayed in the second display area, the outputted digital video content being displayed relatively larger than the display of the linear content operation panel (see exemplary linear content operation panel illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9); and
B) alternatively display the outputted digital video content concurrently with the interactive content operation panel in one screen, when the outputted digital video content is interactive content, such that the outputted digital video content is displayed in the first display area and the interactive content operation panel is displayed in the second display area (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48);
k) wherein the outputted digital video content is associated with attribute information (see display of attribute information, including program name, rating, etc., displayed in flip display 153 of Fig. 9; see also disclosure that the flip feature allows the user to view flip information (i.e., attribute information) such as the program title and channel information for the current program, col. 16, lines 41-51); and
l) wherein the linear content operation panel is configured to provide one or more functions to control reproduction of the outputted digital video content, the one or more functions including a first option to fast forward the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, a second option to pause the outputted digital video content during the reproduction, and a third option to play the outputted digital video when the outputted digital content is paused during the reproduction (see options 271, Fig. 21; see also col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9).
Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes viewing history which is indicating an elapsed amount of reproducing of the outputted digital video content.
LaJoie, however, discloses the display of a program information banner, including information such as program name, running time, elapsed time, etc. (see elapsed time 176 on Fig. 8, and col. 5, lines 10-22
LaJoie Figure 8
).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA at the time of the invention to maintain and display information such as running time and elapsed time to a user, so that they can determine how much of the current program has already been rendered and how much remains.
Neither Phillips nor LaJoie explicitly discloses the digital content reproducing apparatus wherein the attribute information includes an appreciation term which is relating to the outputted digital video content.
Mandeberg, however, teaches a digital multimedia distribution system wherein the distributed digital multimedia presentations are associated with start and end times (i.e., the claimed appreciation term, indicative of a period of time that the digital multimedia presentation is relevant to potential viewers), and whereby a digital multimedia presentation is automatically played on the digital multimedia display upon occurrence of the assigned start date, and display of the digital multimedia presentation is stopped and deleted upon occurrence of the assigned end date (see col. 1, line 64 through col. 2, line 29).
It would have been obvious to a POSITA to assign an appreciation term to digital content distributed to users, since this would prevent content items that are no longer relevant to viewers from being displayed, thus ensuring that only relevant content is displayed.
With respect to the controller being configured to automatically display the interactive content operation panel within a time represented by the appreciation term when the outputted digital video content is the interactive content, Phillips teaches this limitation by virtue of the disclosure that anytime the outputted digital video content is interactive content, the interactive content operation panel is displayed (see exemplary interactive content operation panel at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; see also illustration of selectable options 234, 235, 237, and 238 on the interactive content operation panel, and col. 19, lines 30-48), which would include the claimed time represented by the appreciation term.
Claims 10, 21, 32, 41, 52, 63, 72, 83, and 94
With respect to claims 10, 21, 32, 41, 52, 63, 72, 83, and 94, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus, wherein the linear content operation panel has a predetermined size and the interactive content operation panel also has a predetermined size (see exemplary linear content operation panel having a predetermined size illustrated in Fig. 21, showing video being played back to the user at 270, and options at 271 for controlling the video, col. 22, line 59 through col. 23, line 9; see also exemplary interactive content operation panel having a predetermined size at the bottom of video-on-demand information screen 232 of Fig. 17a; the Office further notes that claiming the size of user interface elements does not patentably distinguish over prior art user interface elements having identical functionality; see MPEP § 2144.04(IV)).
Claims 14, 25, 36, 45, 56, 67, 76, 87, and 98
With respect to claims 14, 25, 36, 45, 56, 67, 76, 87, and 98, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to control the alternative display based on the attribute information such that the display is configured to concurrently display the outputted digital video content with the linear content operation panel when the attribute information indicates that the outputted digital video content comprises moving image contents (see disclosure of the display of exemplary linear content operation panel when replaying video of selected video recorder item (i.e., moving image contents), Fig. 21 and col. 23, lines 10-22).
Claims 17, 28, 39, 48, 59, 70, 79, 90, and 101
With respect to claims 17, 28, 39, 48, 59, 70, 79, 90, and 101, Phillips teaches the digital content reproducing apparatus, wherein the network connector is configured to connect to a network and receive digital video content via the network (see disclosure of the use of video-on-demand services, col. 1, lines 55-67).
Claims 103-111
With respect to claims 103-111, Phillips does not explicitly disclose the digital content reproducing apparatus including a linear content operation panel that is displayed as a rectangular bar in a longitudinal direction on the display.
However, the courts have concluded that when a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious16.
In this case, the claimed linear content operation panel being displayed as a rectangular bar in a longitudinal direction on the display simply constitutes a rearrangement of the elements of Phillips’ user interface of Fig. 21, with each element having the same functionality. As such, this rearrangement of prior art elements would have been obvious to a POSITA.
XI. Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In accordance with MPEP § 1406, the examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited or of record in the original prosecution of the ‘394 patent. Applicants are reminded that a listing of the information cited or of record in the original prosecution of the ‘394 patent need not be resubmitted in this reissue application unless Applicant(s) desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this reissue application.
Applicant(s) are reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR § 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceeding in which ‘394 patent is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, other post-grant proceedings in the Office, and litigation.
Applicant(s) are further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 C.F.R. § 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue application.
These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Applicant(s) are also reminded that any amendments to the claims must comply with the provisions of 35 U.S.C. § 112 first paragraph, having clear support and antecedent basis in the specification. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
In addition, INFORMAL or DRAFT communications may be faxed directly to the examiner at 571-273-4119. Such communications must be clearly marked as INFORMAL, DRAFT or UNOFFICIAL.
Patent Center
Patent Center is available to all users for electronic filing and management of patent applications. For more information, please visit the Patent Center information page at www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
/LUKE S WASSUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992
Conferees:
/Stephen J. Ralis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992 Michael Fuelling /MF/
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3992
lsw
3 June 2026
1 Maxwell, Ltd. v. Blackberry Corporation et al., 1:17cv01446 (D. Del.).
2 IPR2019-00089.
3 Maxell, Ltd. v. Lenovo Group Ltd. et al., 6:22cv00334 (W.D. Tex.).
4 In the Matter of Certain Mobile Electronic Devices, USITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1312.
5 In the Matter of Certain Mobile Electronic Devices, USITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1324.
6 IPR2022-01348.
7 In the Matter of Certain Smart Televisions, USITC Inv. No. 337-TA-1338.
8 IPR2023-00316.
9 See application 11/508,209, Non-Final Rejection mailed 13 April 2011, page 2.
10 Id., claim amendment filed 15 August 2011.
11 Id., Final Rejection mailed 21 October 2011, pages 8-10.
12 Id., Response to Office Action, filed 8 December 2011, pages 9-16.
13 USITC Inv. 337-TA-1338, “Respondent VIZIO’s Opening Claim Construction Brief”, page 23.
14 See application 11/508,209, claim amendment filed 8 December 2011.
15 Intel Corp. v. Qualcomm Inc., 21 F.4th 801, 810 (Fed. Cir. 2021).
16 Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 (1976) at 282.