DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1 the term “determined based the at least one packet” should read “determined based on the at least one packet.”
In Claim 9 the term “its own a prescribed energy” should read “its own prescribed energy.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claims 6, 11, and 19 it is not clear of what encompasses and is meant by the term “tag.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the claimed reference signal. Claim 1 discloses a “tag reader” and a “wireless tag”, but does not provide antecedent basis for the explicit recitation of the term “tag.” For examination purposes the term “tag” as recited in claim 1 will be read “wireless tag.”
Regarding claim 1 and similarly claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 12, 16, 17, 19, and 20 it is not clear of what encompasses and is meant by the limitation “responsive to a determination at the tag reader of at least one transmission rate of packets.” A review of the specification sets forth the term ”determination”. As claimed the term is excessively broad in nature and the meets and bounds of the claimed limitation cannot be ascertained by one skilled in the art. It is unclear if the term ”determination” is intended to mean that the transmission rate is selected or identified at the tag reader. Review of the specification reveals on paragraph [00041], “As reader 505 moves, the energizing power received by each of tags 507 will change, and hence so will their corresponding transmission rate. Thus, a new determination may be made.” It suggested applicant amend the claims to be consistent with the disclosed “determination” and clearly disclose what the term means as it is not clear how the Applicant intends to limit the term based on review of the specification. For examination purposes the term “determination” in claim 1 will be interpreted to mean “identification.”
Regarding claim 2, it is not clear of what encompasses and is meant by the limitation “transmitting, during the second time window, by the at least one additional tag reader, at least an additional second wireless signal having a controlled, known fourth energy” as recited on lines 11 and 12 of claim 2. A review of the specification sets forth the term ”additional second wireless signal.” As claimed the term is excessively broad in nature and the meets and bounds of the claimed limitation cannot be ascertained by one skilled in the art. Lines 9 and 10 of claim 2 recite the transmission of a “second wireless signal.” As claimed it is unclear if the “second wireless signal” recited on lines 11 and 12 is different from the similar recitation on lines 9 and 10. Review of the specification reveals on paragraph [00010], “transmitting, by the mobile tag reader, during a time window, at least one wireless signal having a controlled known energy;” however, the Examiner cannot find further clarification on the term. It suggested applicant amend the claims to be consistent with the disclosed “second wireless signal” and clearly disclose what the term means as it is not clear how the Applicant intends to limit the term based on review of the specification. For examination purposes the “second wireless signals” in claim 2 will be interpreted refer to separate signals.
Claim 2 recites, “ transmitting during the time window by at least one additional tag reader at least one additional wireless signal having a controlled, known second energy.” As claimed the limitation is excessively broad in nature and the meets and bounds of the claimed limitation cannot be ascertained by one skilled in the art. A review of the specification sets forth the term "additional wireless signal." Review of the specification reveals on paragraph [0008], “transmitting by each of the plurality of tag readers an energizing signal for the battery-less wireless tag during each of a plurality of time windows, wherein the energizing signal transmitted by each respective one of the plurality of tag readers is transmitted with its own a prescribed energy.” Paragraph [0008] discloses that each tag reader transmits a signal in its own time window. The Examiner cannot find a disclosure wherein the additional tag readers transmit within the initial time window. It is unclear what signals are explicitly transmitted during which window. It suggested that the Applicant amend the claims to be consistent with the disclosed "additional wireless signal" and clearly disclose what the term means as it is not clear how the Applicant intends to limit the term based on review of the specification.
Claim 2 further recites, “transmitting, during the second time window, by the at least one additional tag reader, at least an additional second wireless signal having a controlled, known fourth energy.” As claimed the limitation is excessively broad in nature and the meets and bounds of the claimed limitation cannot be ascertained by one skilled in the art. A review of the specification sets forth the term " an additional second wireless signal." Review of the specification reveals on paragraph [0008], “transmitting by each of the plurality of tag readers an energizing signal for the battery-less wireless tag during each of a plurality of time windows, wherein the energizing signal transmitted by each respective one of the plurality of tag readers is transmitted with its own a prescribed energy.” Paragraph [0008] discloses that each tag reader transmits a signal in its own time window. The above limitation discloses wherein additional tag readers transmit in the second time window. The second time window already contains the transmission of the previously claimed “third energy” signal. The Examiner cannot find a disclosure wherein the additional tag readers transmits additional signals in the second time window. It is unclear what signals are explicitly transmitted during which window. It suggested that the Applicant amend the claims to be consistent with the disclosed "additional wireless signal" and clearly disclose what the term means as it is not clear how the Applicant intends to limit the term based on review of the specification.
Regarding claim 4 and similarly claims 5, 12, and 17 it is not clear of what encompasses and is meant by the limitation “the transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number in each of the at least one received pack.” A review of the specification sets forth the term ”packet number.” As claimed the term is excessively broad in nature and the meets and bounds of the claimed limitation cannot be ascertained by one skilled in the art. It is unclear if the claimed “packet number” refers to a total number of packets each tag will transmit or an index for the specific packet that has been transmitted in a sequence of packets. Review of the specification reveals on paragraph [00028], “The actual number of tags transmitted by tag 107 may be deduced by taking into account the packet number included in each transmitted packet. For example, if a packet number of a first received packet is 84 and the next received packet number is 87, it can be deduced that even though only two packets were received, in actuality four packets were transmitted,” suggesting that the term refers to an index for each received packet. It suggested applicant amend the claims to be consistent with the disclosed “packet number” and clearly disclose what the term means as it is not clear how the Applicant intends to limit the term based on review of the specification. For examination purposes the “packet number” will be interpreted refer to an index for each received packet.
Regarding claim 9 and similarly claim 14 , it is not clear of what encompasses and is meant by the limitation “wherein the prescribed energy of at least one of the energizing signals in at least one of the time windows is changed with respect to one of the time windows preceding the at least one of the time windows.” As claimed the limitation “changed with respect to one of the time windows preceding the at least one of the time windows“ is excessively broad in nature and the meets and bounds of the claimed limitation cannot be ascertained by one skilled in the art. It is unclear what is explicitly meant my changing the “prescribed energy” is with respect to one of “the time windows preceding the at least one of the time windows.” Review of the specification reveals both that the “As reader 505 moves, the energizing power received by each of tags 507 will change” [00041] and “changing the output power of the reader simulates changes in channel loss” [00037]. It is not clear if the limitation refers to a change in received energy due to a moving tag, or if the output power is manually adjusted. It suggested applicant amend the claims to be consistent with the disclosed “changed” and clearly disclose what the term means as it is not clear how the Applicant intends to limit the term based on review of the specification. For examination purposes the limitation will be interpreted refer to manually adjusting output power.
Claims 2-8, 10-13, 15 and 17-18 are also rejected based on their dependency of the defected parent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,6-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer(US20060022815A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer discloses
A method for determining a location of a battery-less wireless tag by a tag reader (“ a passive tag powered by inductive coupling, receiving induced power from RF signals transmitted by an RFID reader” [0008]) being at a fixed-location (“the tags attached to these items or individuals may be mobile or stationary, i.e., moving or disposed at fixed locations in the environment” [0014]), comprising: transmitting, by the tag reader, at least one wireless signal having a controlled known energy (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) employed by the reader during the interrogation sequence” [0009]); receiving at the tag reader at least one packet transmitted by the tag (“Each of the plurality of readers 10.1-10.q included in the system architecture 100 (see FIG. 1) is configured to […] to receive RF signals comprising tag data from the tag(s) in response to the message packet [0074]) within a time window (“The window of time to determine concurrency is called the locating or observation window. “ [0193]); responsive to a determination at the tag reader of at least one transmission rate of packets by the wireless tag based on the at least one received packet window (“ the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI)” [0273] & “the directions of tag movement can be determined by subjecting power measurement samples to pattern matching” [0273]), determining information regarding the location of the tag (“readers can also identify the locations of tags within a predetermined area using coordinated RF transmissions” [0176]).
Regarding claim 2, Fischer discloses wherein, the transmitting of the at least one wireless signal having the controlled known energy, which is a first energy, is performed during the time window, the method further comprising: transmitting during the time window by at least one additional tag reader at least one additional wireless signal having a controlled, known second energy (“coordinate multiple readers occupying the same general vicinity within a site or facility and connected through a wired or wireless network such that the readers are time-multiplexed and frequency-multiplexed, and their transmit power is adjusted for desired tasks at specific times” [0168]), the at least one transmission rate of packets includes a first transmission rate by the wireless tag that is determined based the at least one packet received from the wireless tag for the time window transmitting, (“ the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI)” [0273]) by the tag reader, at least a second wireless signal having a controlled known third energy during a second time window (“adaptively adjusting the transmit power of the reader to estimate the power level and the range where the tag becomes visible” [0073]); transmitting, during the second time window, by the at least one additional tag reader, at least an additional second wireless signal having a controlled, known fourth energy (“Each reader can have multiple operating profile […] In the radar mode, the reader operates on a low duty cycle relative to the tag flux in the particular location [0582]), wherein at least one of the first energy, second energy, third energy, and fourth energy is different from the energy of the others of the first energy, second energy, third energy, and fourth energy (“ transmit power is adjusted for desired tasks at specific times, thereby reducing the likelihood of the transmissions of one reader interfering with the receptions of the other readers “ [0168]) and wherein each of the first energy, second energy, third energy, and fourth energy is an energy that is zero or greater (“The interrogation scheduler sub-component uses this information to assure that the available power is not over-consumed by scheduling too many readers or too much transmit power simultaneously.” [0139]), wherein the transmission rate of packets by the wireless tag during the second time window is determined based on at least one packet received from the wireless tag during the second time window and is a second transmission rate (“The power measure unit 1714 (see FIG. 17b) measures the power of the RF signal received from a tag by the RF receiver 1712,” [0274]); and wherein the at least one transmission rate of packets further includes the second transmission rate (“ the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI)” [0273])
Regarding claim 3, Fischer discloses wherein, fixed location of the tag reader is a known location (“information relating to the reader location can be added to the sequential-interrogator-use history list” [0403]).
Regarding claim 6, Fischer discloses wherein, the information regarding location of the tag is based on a channel loss between the wireless tag and the tag reader (“the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) or any other suitable power measuring device” [0273]), wherein the channel loss is based on at least on the wireless tag's transmission rate versus channel loss characteristic and the transmission rate of packets (“The power measure unit 1714 (see FIG. 17b) measures the power of the RF signal received from a tag by the RF receiver 1712, and provides the power measurements to the Sample Averager” [0274]).
Regarding claim 7, Fischer discloses wherein, the transmission rate of packets by the wireless tag is determined based on packets received during the time window (“The receiver 1712 associated with the reader 1704 receives RF signals from the tags 1708.1-1708.2 in response to the interrogations. The power measure unit 1714 associated with the reader 1704 measures the power corresponding to the received RF signals for each interrogation” [0273]).
Regarding claim 8, Fischer discloses wherein, the battery-less wireless tag is moveable with respect to the tag reader (“the tags attached to these items or individuals may be mobile” [0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Fischer discloses
A method for determining a location of a battery-less wireless tag with respect to at least one tag reader of a plurality of tag readers (“ a passive tag powered by inductive coupling, receiving induced power from RF signals transmitted by an RFID reader” [0008] & Fig.1, Parts.12.1-12.p), comprising transmitting by each of the plurality of tag readers an energizing signal for the battery-less wireless tag (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) employed by the reader during the interrogation sequence” [0009]) during each of a plurality of time windows(“The window of time to determine concurrency is called the locating or observation window. “ [0193]), wherein the energizing signal transmitted by each respective one of the plurality of tag readers is transmitted with its own a prescribed energy (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) employed by the reader during the interrogation sequence” [0009]), wherein each respective prescribed energy is zero or greater (“The interrogation scheduler sub-component uses this information to assure that the available power is not over-consumed by scheduling too many readers or too much transmit power simultaneously.” [0139]), wherein the prescribed energy of at least one of the energizing signals in at least one of the time windows is changed with respect to one of the time windows preceding the at least one of the time windows (“ transmit power is adjusted for desired tasks at specific times, thereby reducing the likelihood of the transmissions of one reader interfering with the receptions of the other readers “ [0168]); and determining a location of the battery-less wireless tag based on a transmission rate of the battery-less wireless tag (“For example, the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) or any other suitable power measuring device” [0273]) in each of at least two of the time windows which include the at least one of the time windows and the one of the time windows preceding the at least one of the time windows (“readers can also identify the locations of tags within a predetermined area using coordinated RF transmissions” [0176]).
Regarding claim 10, Fischer discloses
The method of claim 9, wherein the location of the battery-less wireless tag is determined with respect to at least one tag reader of a plurality of tag readers (“readers can also identify the locations of tags within a predetermined area using coordinated RF transmissions” [0176]).
Regarding claim 11, Fischer discloses
The method of claim 9, wherein there are at least three tag readers in the plurality and wherein the location of the tag is further based on triangulation when the at least three tag readers have a known location (“ The time difference of these measurements between readers are used to triangulate the location of the tag” [0175]).
Regarding claim 13, Fischer discloses
The method of claim 9, wherein the battery-less wireless tag is moveable with respect to the tag reader (“the tags attached to these items or individuals may be mobile” [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Fischer discloses
A method for determining a location a of battery-less wireless tag (“readers can also identify the locations of tags within a predetermined area using coordinated RF transmissions” [0176]) by correlating a transmission rate of the battery-less wireless tag (“For example, the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) or any other suitable power measuring device” [0273]) with at least one change in the transmit power level of at least one energizing signal transmitted by a respective at least one tag reader (“adaptively adjusting the transmit power of the reader to estimate the power level and the range where the tag becomes visible” [0073]).
Regarding claim 15, Fischer discloses
The method of claim 14, wherein the battery-less wireless tag is moveable with respect to the tag reader (“the tags attached to these items or individuals may be mobile” [0014]).
Regarding claim 16, Fischer discloses
A method for determining a location of a mobile tag reader (“The array of coordinated readers can also determine the location of a particular reader” [0174]) in an area containing a plurality of battery-less wireless tags that each have a known fixed location (“the tags attached to these items or individuals may be mobile or stationary, i.e., moving or disposed at fixed locations in the environment” [0014]), comprising: transmitting, by the mobile tag reader (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) employed by the reader during the interrogation sequence” [0009]), during a time window (“The window of time to determine concurrency is called the locating or observation window. “ [0193]), at least one wireless signal having a controlled known energy (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) “ [0009]); receiving at the mobile tag reader at least one packet transmitted by each of one or more of the wireless tags within the time window (“Each of the plurality of readers 10.1-10.q included in the system architecture 100 (see FIG. 1) is configured to […] to receive RF signals comprising tag data from the tag(s) in response to the message packet [0074]); responsive to a determination at the mobile tag reader of a transmission rate of packets from each of the one or more wireless tags of the plurality, which is based on the at least one packet received from each of the one or more of the wireless tags (“ the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI)” [0273]), determining a location of the mobile tag reader (“the process of determining the physical location of a reader includes calculating the time differences of signal arrivals by combining information relating to the time-stamped signal receptions.” [0080])
Regarding claim 18, discloses wherein, there are at least three battery-less wireless tags in the plurality and wherein the location of the mobile tag reader is further based on triangulation with respect to the known fixed location of at least three of the battery-less wireless tags (“ The time difference of these measurements between readers are used to triangulate the location of the tag” [0175]).
Regarding claim 19, Fischer discloses
A system for determining a location of a battery-less wireless tag, comprising: a processing circuitry (FIG.2b, Part 224) ; and a memory, the memory containing instructions(“elements of the system architecture 100 may be embodied in whole or in part using hardware or software or some combination thereof […] memory” [0060]) that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the system to: transmit at least one wireless signal having a controlled known energy (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) employed by the reader during the interrogation sequence” [0009]); receive at least one packet transmitted by the tag within a time window (“Each of the plurality of readers 10.1-10.q included in the system architecture 100 (see FIG. 1) is configured to […] to receive RF signals comprising tag data from the tag(s) in response to the message packet [0074] & “The window of time to determine concurrency is called the locating or observation window. “ [0193]); and responsive to a determination of at least one transmission rate of packets by the wireless tag based on the at least one received packet (“ the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) “ [0273]), determine information regarding the location of the tag (“readers can also identify the locations of tags within a predetermined area using coordinated RF transmissions” [0176]).
Regarding claim 20, Fischer discloses
A system for determining a location of a mobile tag reader in an area containing a plurality of battery-less wireless tags that each have a known fixed location, comprising: a processing circuitry (FIG.2b, Part 224); and a memory, the memory containing instructions that (“elements of the system architecture 100 may be embodied in whole or in part using hardware or software or some combination thereof […] memory” [0060]), when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the system to: transmit, during a time window, at least one wireless signal having a controlled known energy (“setting of various parameters (e.g., the transmit power) employed by the reader during the interrogation sequence” [0009]); receive at the mobile tag reader at least one packet transmitted by each of one or more of the wireless tags within the time window (“Each of the plurality of readers 10.1-10.q included in the system architecture 100 (see FIG. 1) is configured to […] to receive RF signals comprising tag data from the tag(s) in response to the message packet [0074] & “The window of time to determine concurrency is called the locating or observation window. “ [0193]) responsive to a determined transmission rate of packets from each of the one or more wireless tags of the plurality, which is based on the at least one packet received from each of the one or more of the wireless tags (“the power measure unit 1714 may comprise a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI)” [0273]), determine a location of the mobile tag reader (“readers can also identify the locations of tags within a predetermined area using coordinated RF transmissions” [0176]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer(US20060022815A1) in view of KIM(KR100738485B1).
Regarding claim 4, Fischer discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Fischer does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number. Kim discloses wherein, the transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number in each of the at least one received packet (“a part of the leader command packet, provides synchronization to the tag, and the clock cycle T0 determines the tag's transmission rate.” [Page.8, ll.8-9]).
KIM teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless tag positioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with the teachings of KIM to incorporate the feature of determining the transmission rate of packets with a packet number so as to gain the advantage of reducing tag recognition time [Page.8 Par.1 Kim]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 5, Fischer discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Fischer does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number. Kim discloses wherein, the transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number (“a part of the leader command packet, provides synchronization to the tag, and the clock cycle T0 determines the tag's transmission rate.” [Page.8, ll.8-9]) in at least one received packet in a prior time window (“The third step is when the leader command packet is transmitted to the tag.” [Page.8, ll.3-4])
KIM teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless tag positioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with the teachings of KIM to incorporate the feature of determining the transmission rate of packets with a packet number so as to gain the advantage of reducing tag recognition time [Page.8 Par.1 Kim]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 12, Fischer discloses all of the limitations of claim 9. Fischer does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number. KIM discloses wherein, transmission rate of the battery-less wireless tag is determined based on a packet number in each of at least one received packet received (“a part of the leader command packet, provides synchronization to the tag, and the clock cycle T0 determines the tag's transmission rate.” [Page.8, ll.8-9]) from the wireless tag during each of the at least two of the time windows (“This is the '[PREAMBLE]' part of the leader command, and energy is supplied to the tag by [PREAMBLE]. The third step is when the leader command packet is transmitted to the tag” [Page.8, ll.2-4]).
KIM teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless tag positioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with the teachings of KIM to incorporate the feature of determining the transmission rate of packets with a packet number so as to gain the advantage of reducing tag recognition time [Page.8 Par.1 Kim]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 17, Fischer as modified by kim discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. Fischer does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein transmission rate of packets is determined based on a packet number. kim discloses wherein, the transmission rate of packets from each of the one or more wireless tags of the plurality is determined based on a packet number in the at least one packet received from each of the one or more of the wireless tags (“a part of the leader command packet, provides synchronization to the tag, and the clock cycle T0 determines the tag's transmission rate.” [Page.8, ll.8-9]).
KIM teaches in the same field of endeavor wireless tag positioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fischer with the teachings of KIM to incorporate the feature of determining the transmission rate of packets with a packet number so as to gain the advantage of reducing tag recognition time [Page.8 Par.1 Kim]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Documents Considered but not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s Disclosure.
Liao(US20140125461A1) is considered analogous art to the instant application as it discloses in [0006] “arranging a working frequency over which the location tag and the mobile tag mutually communicate with each other, setting transmit power and communication time.”
Conclusion
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646