DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 14, 2026. In response to applicant’s assertion that there would be no search and examination burden, the examiner respectfully points out that the claimed can be used for materially different use, and there may be non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. §112 (a) and/or §101 present in one set of claims and not present in the other. Searching and examining the both product and process claim groups would impose burden on the examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ratay et al. (“TRI microspheres prevent key signs of dry eye disease in a murine, inflammatory model”, Sci Rep 7:17527, 2017, cited in IDS) (“Ratay” hereunder).
Claim 15 is directed to a composition for use in the treatment of a gastrointestinal condition, wherein the composition comprises at least two of:
a) a controlled release microparticle comprising a transforming growth factor beta (TGF-β) polypeptide;
b) a controlled release microparticle comprising an interleukin polypeptide; or
c) a controlled release microparticle comprising a macrolide.
Ratay discloses an injection composition comprising a combination of microspheres comprising TGF- β polypeptide, Rapamycin and IL-2 (interleukin-2) polypeptide. The microparticles provide “local controlled release system” and “a slow continuous release”. See abstract; p. 3, Characterization of TRI MS: IL-2, TGF-β1 and Rapamycin; instant claims 15 and 19.
The present claim 15 recites “for use in the treatment of a gastrointestinal condition”. The phrase requires no structural limitation and is considered a preamble reciting the intended future use or purpose of the composition. See MPEP 2111.02. As the Ratay composition is suitable for administration in vivo, the prior art composition is capable and suitable for the presently recited intended use. It also follows that the prior art composition is suitable and capable for treating the specifically defined gastrointestinal conditions in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the microparticles comprise poly(lactic-co-glycolic) acid (PLGA-50:50: lactide: glycolide, acid terminated) (MW:7k-17k) and PEG-PLGA.
Claims 15-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Little et al. (WO 2013112456 A1, published on August 1, 2013, cited in IDS) (“Little” hereunder).
Little discloses a combination of controlled-release microparticles individually comprising IL-2 polypeptide, TGF-β polypeptide and rapamycin. Abstract; Table 2. The composition is useful in treating immunological disorders and/or transplant rejection reactions locally, without systemic immunosuppression. See the present claims 15 and 19.
The present claim 15 recites “for use in the treatment of a gastrointestinal condition”. The phrase requires no structural limitation and is considered a preamble reciting the intended future use or purpose of the composition. As Little teaches an embodiment wherein the target tissue is an intestinal or gut tissue, it is viewed that the prior art composition is capable and suitable for the presently recited intended use. The reference particularly mentions adding a vasoactive intestinal peptide to treat Crohn’s disease. See p. 31, line 27. It also follows that the prior art composition is suitable and capable for treating the specifically defined gastrointestinal conditions in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Little discloses that polyethylene glycol and poly(lactide-co-glycolide) polymer are used to make the microparticles. See p. 4, line 19 – p. 5, line 6.
Regarding claim 20, the reference discloses kits for using the composition. See p. 42, lines 17 – 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratay as applied to claims 15-17 and 19 as above, and further in view of DeFail et al. (“Controlled release of bioactive TGF-β1 from microspheres embedded within biodegradable hydrogels”, Biomaterials, March 2006, vol. 27, Iss 8, p. 1579-1585) (“DeFail” hereunder).
Ratay fails to teach hydrogel formulations.
DeFail teaches controlled release microspheres comprising TGF-β, the microspheres are embedded within biodegradable hydrogels to prevent initial burst. See abstract. The reference teaches that the hydrogel can act as a scaffold that “permits containment and conformation of the spheres to the defect shape” and provide “controlled release of TGF-β1 to a cartilage wound site.” See Introduction. The reference further teaches that combining microspheres and scaffolds for controlled drug delivery is commonly studied in biomedical and pharmaceutical projects. See pp 1582-1583, bridging paragraph.
Given the teachings of Ratay of the TRI microspheres which slowly release the active ingredients that increase the regulatory T-cells in the eye to stop inflammation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the teachings of Ratay and combine the microspheres with hydrogels to research and study the release behaviors and potential for localized delivery system of the medicaments. As DeFail specifically teaches that such study had been conducted for developing controlled drug delivery, the POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of the references to conduct further research and study on developing controlled release microparticle formulations.
Regarding claim 20, although the disclosed claims does not specifically mention a kit, it is viewed prima facie obvious for a POSITA to provide materials to conveniently use the disclosed composition.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Little as applied to claims 15-17, 19 and 20 as above, and further in view of DeFail.
Little fails to teach hydrogel formulations.
DeFail teaches controlled release microspheres comprising TGF-β, the microspheres are embedded within biodegradable hydrogels to prevent initial burst. See abstract. The reference teaches that the hydrogel can act as a scaffold that “permits containment and conformation of the spheres to the defect shape” and provide “controlled release of TGF-β1 to a cartilage wound site.” See Introduction. The reference further teaches that combining microspheres and scaffolds for controlled drug delivery is commonly studied in biomedical and pharmaceutical projects. See pp 1582-1583, bridging paragraph.
Given the teachings of Little of the controlled-release microspheres for treating immunological disorders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the teachings of Little and combine the microspheres with hydrogels as motivated by DeFail as 1) both references teach controlled-release microparticles and immunomodulatory agents; and 2) DeFail specifically teaches that the microparticles embedded in hydrogel exhibit reduced initial burst. As both references teach using the same microparticle materials and TGF-β, the POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of the references to develop stable composition with reduced initial burst of the microparticles.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-17, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12491159 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a composition comprising a first controlled release microparticles comprising a first therapeutic agent, wherein the first therapeutic agent is transforming growth factor beta (TGF-β) and a second controlled release microparticle comprising a second therapeutic agent, wherein the second therapeutic agent is IL-2. See the present claim 15; reference claim 1. The present claim 15 also recites “for use in the treatment of a gastrointestinal condition”. The phrase requires no structural limitation and is considered a preamble reciting the intended future use or purpose of the composition. The “tissue” of the subject in the reference claim is defined to include intestinal tissue, thus the prior art composition is capable and suitable for the presently recited intended use. It also follows that the prior art composition is suitable and capable for treating the specifically defined gastrointestinal conditions in claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, the polymers of the controlled release particles are disclosed in the reference claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the reference claim 5 requires that the composition comprises a third controlled release microparticle comprising rapamycin.
Regarding claim 20, although the disclosed claims does not specifically mention a kit, it is viewed prima facie obvious for a POSITA to provide materials to conveniently use the disclosed composition.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12491159 B2 as applied to the present claims 15-17, 19 and 20 as above, and further in view of DeFail.
The ‘159 claims fail to teach hydrogel formulations.
DeFail teaches controlled release microspheres comprising TGF-β, the microspheres are embedded within biodegradable hydrogels to prevent initial burst. See abstract. The reference teaches that the hydrogel can act as a scaffold that “permits containment and conformation of the spheres to the defect shape” and provide “controlled release of TGF-β1 to a cartilage wound site.” See Introduction. The reference further teaches that combining microspheres and scaffolds for controlled drug delivery is commonly studied in biomedical and pharmaceutical projects. See pp 1582-1583, bridging paragraph.
Given the teachings of the ‘159 claims of the controlled-release microspheres for treating immunological disorders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the teachings and combine the microspheres with hydrogels as motivated by DeFail as 1) both references teach controlled-release microparticles and immunomodulatory agents; and 2) DeFail specifically teaches that the microparticles embedded in hydrogel exhibit reduced initial burst. As both references teach using the same microparticle materials and TGF-β, the POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of the references to develop stable composition with reduced initial burst of the microparticles.
Claims 15, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10765634 B2.
The reference claim 1 discloses a formulation for administering to a tissue of a subject, the formulation comprising a first sustained release microparticle population comprising TGF-B, a second sustained release microparticle population comprising rapamycin, and a third sustained release microparticle population comprising IL-2. The present claim 15 recites “for use in the treatment of a gastrointestinal condition”. The phrase requires no structural limitation and is considered a preamble reciting the intended future use or purpose of the composition. The “tissue” of the subject in the reference claim is defined to include intestinal tissue, thus the prior art composition is capable and suitable for the presently recited intended use. It also follows that the prior art composition is suitable and capable for treating the specifically defined gastrointestinal conditions in claim 16.
Regarding claim 20, although the disclosed claims does not specifically mention a kit, it is viewed prima facie obvious for a POSITA to provide materials to conveniently use the disclosed composition.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10765634 B2 as applied to the present claims 15, 16, 19 and 20 as above, and further in view of DeFail.
The ‘634 claims fail to teach hydrogel formulations.
DeFail teaches controlled release microspheres comprising TGF-β, the microspheres are embedded within biodegradable hydrogels to prevent initial burst. See abstract. The reference teaches that the hydrogel can act as a scaffold that “permits containment and conformation of the spheres to the defect shape” and provide “controlled release of TGF-β1 to a cartilage wound site.” See Introduction. The reference further teaches that combining microspheres and scaffolds for controlled drug delivery is commonly studied in biomedical and pharmaceutical projects. See pp 1582-1583, bridging paragraph.
Given the teachings of the ‘634 claims of the controlled-release microspheres for treating immunological disorders, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the teachings and combine the microspheres with hydrogels as motivated by DeFail as 1) both references teach controlled-release microparticles and immunomodulatory agents; and 2) DeFail specifically teaches that the microparticles embedded in hydrogel exhibit reduced initial burst. As both references teach using the same microparticle materials and TGF-β, the POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of the references to develop stable composition with reduced initial burst of the microparticles.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617